Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive ★★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$521
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

Great Vacation

Would recommend Fri, Apr 10, 2015
The Excellence Resort was beautiful, my wife and I along with the couple traveling with us had a really great time, we felt very relaxed and pampered. There is a lot to say so I will list as pros/cons. Pros: The grounds are immaculate, the lobby and common areas are very well cared for. The gym was state of the art everything, the ecological park was a nice surprise. The staff was great (except for the concierge) Everyone else though was friendly, attentive, and very upbeat. My favorites of the week - Cassandra from the entertainment team Hector Luis, Basillio, John, & Edward from the beach bars Joell & Sandy from Chez Isabelle, they treated us like royalty and even sang to us LOL...The best restaurants are Chez Isabelle and Las Olas Grille, the Dominican night on the beach was amazing. I have family from DR so I was anxious to try some authentic Dominican cuisine. Paula, our housekeeper was as sweet as pie. The mini bar service was awesome, they refilled drinks, snacks and coffee daily, they even switched out a bottle of liquor for something that we would like better than what was in the room. I loved the location we were in, because we were not constantly surrounded by noise and partying. When we were ready to relax, we were able to. If you stay and need that, DO REQUEST IT. Cons: The rooms and the building need some freshening up. Small repairs here and there, and some painting would make a huge difference. In the sports bar, the air hockey table is beyond repair, for the cost of ONE night stay, I am sure it could be replaced. The water on this side of the island is a bit too rough to swim in, so don't expect much time in the ocean. The concierge, I am sorry to say... not polite at all. Very short, as if annoyed to be approached. There is not enough authentic Dominican food available. My thought is that one of the 9 restaurants should be all about DR. The rest of the food was OK, but nothing spectacular. I must say having been to an all inclusive twice before, this seems to be a pattern with them all. The bike ride was a bit scary, and if you are an animal lover, don't do it. They will take you to a farm, where the animals do not look well fed at all. Overall it was a great trip. One more thing....THIS IS SPANISH SPEAKING COUNTRY! There a million apps that can be downloaded to your phone/tablet that can give you the basics of Spanish. If you at least try, they sincerely appreciate it, and will show you by the extra special attention they give you while there. At least that was our experience.

| SOUTH EUCLID Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Resort!

Would recommend Mon, Apr 6, 2015
We've stayed at Excellence Riveria Cancun so that's why we chose to stay at Excellence Punta Cana. We had a great time!! The room was clean, food was good, service was good (had a small mix up with transportation that the resort had set up, but I believe it was due to the fact we actually missed our flight and had a new landing time which I did call them and make them aware of and they said they would still be there but weren't however, in the end they paid for our transportation back to the airport when we left which was nice) and we had an overall great time!! Would definitely return!!

| Smyrna Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Pure Excellence

Would recommend Tue, Mar 31, 2015
Prior to booking I read many reviews and there were several reviews that were average! The resort is small and compact, great pools, beach, excellent food options, bars etc. It's a perfect retreat out of the way from ultra touristy Bavaro Beach. Taxi transfer was easily arranged prior to visit with hotel concierge and cost $70 each way! The sea is has a lot of waves but the constant breeze is great relief from the hot weather. The average reviews are from Americans who love to complain about everything, quite pathetic people, I witnessed this first hand! Book this hotel, it's great!!!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Overall ok, not everything I had hoped for.

Would not recommend Thu, Mar 26, 2015
The resort is beautiful. I love the winding pools and to be able to get a drink at the pool bar. It was great laying under the cabana on the beach - we were on the private Excellence Club beach. Below are some pros and cons. They do have some room for improvement before I'd consider this a 5 star. Pros: -Great large beach with no other resorts next to it. Feeling of seclusion. -Winding pools with bars in the pool. -Everything is very clean and the staff is constantly busy cleaning. -We experienced no wait time for eating. Although we are the type to get there as soon as they open. -No wait time for drinks either. -It did not feel crowded at all. -No kids, as you know it's adults only. -The gardens on the property is nice. There's flamingos, ducks, cranes and geese that you can feed. There's also fish and turtles in the water that feed as well. They have boxes with old bread and rolls to feed them. They all come really close to you. - I love the shower head on the ceiling and the optional wand to spray off with. There's also a little spot to sit if you need to. Cons: -The elevator stopped working in our building two days before the end of our trip and was not fixed by the time we left. -There were several things we had called for such as soap, towels, restocking of the mini bar that didn't get done the first time. We had to call two or three times to get it done. -The Mexican restaurant didn't have anything truly authentic in the way I think of Mexican food and believe me, I've been to Mexico and have eaten off the resorts to know what authentic Mexican is. -The buffet breakfast really didn't have much variety. They don't know how to cook bacon - it was not always fully done. -There was only two main places to have lunch. The buffet or the Grill. There was another place on the beach that had pretty much a buffet, but we never tried it. -Most dinner restaurants required long pants and either formal or casual. I believe there was only the Lobster House and Oregano that you could wear shorts for dinner. -We had upgraded to the Excellence Club upon arrival as they offered it for a reasonable price. We had an ocean view on our original room and expected it to be the same in the upgrade. When we got there, we had a pool view. It was stressful just getting checked in to the correct room that we feel we paid for and reserved. They finally put us in an ocean view Excellence Club corner room with 2 balconies. -Some loud and obnoxious partiers around the pool bar. -There were salesmen trying to sell activities on the beach. We were laying under the cabana sleeping and one came up and woke us up and laughed when we woke and asked us if we want to fish. How rude. The next time somebody approached me in the pool, I just turned and swam off and he said "don't move away from me". I ignored, but I spent money to have a relaxing time, not be badgered by salesmen. If I want to do some activities, I'll ask the concierge. - I didn't like the window looking into the shower from the room and you can see the toilet as well. When I go to the toilet, I like privacy. You remedy this by placing a towel over the shower door to block the toilet. - I didn't like the mini window in the bathroom either because you can't block the light. I like having the room pitch black. For GLBT folks: -We felt discrimination only a couple times by staff. And it wasn't blatant, it was just a sense of uneasiness. One waiter asked if we were brothers/twins-it was sort of awkward. One other waiter never even offered us the dessert menu like he did other patrons. -There was a very kind concierge that went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. He set up a romantic dinner at one restaurant by reserving us a table and they had placed flower petals on the table. Then when we got back to the room, there was swan figures made out of towels and flower petals all around and inside the hot tub. It was special.

| Indianapolis Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Amazing 30th Anniversary vacation

Would recommend Sun, Mar 22, 2015
We had a fantastic time from the moment we arrived. Beautiful resort with amazing service. We feel you can not go wrong booking this resort.

| Frederick Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great escape.

Would recommend Fri, Mar 20, 2015
The hotel was beautiful and the staff was amazing. The location is beautiful in that it is somewhat secluded, however this is a bit of an issue with off-site excursions. Overall, a great experience, Would definitely stay there again.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

GREAT TIME

Would recommend Tue, Mar 17, 2015
THE EXCELLENCE RESORT WAS BEAUTIFUL RESORT, THE STAFF WAS GREAT. GREAT TIME !!!! WE TRAVELED WITH SEVERAL COUPLES(MID 40'S) AND THE EXCELLENCE RESORT POLICY OF "ADULTS ONLY" MADE THE TRIP FANTASTIC. THE GROUNDS, POOLS, OCEAN WERE BEAUTIFUL. ROOMS WERE VERY COMFORTABLE. THE STAFF SERVICE WAS "EXCELLENTE" WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RESORT .

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

firstime

Would recommend Mon, Mar 2, 2015
This was our first time in the Dominican and an all inclusive adult resort. The staff and people in the country are very welcoming. While the "free" booze flows the food at the resort while copious is merely adequate. It goes down hill throughout the day. Breakfast is excellent, lunch good and dinners, most times inedible. Soups tasted like brothy water. Veal was steak and not even that. So, go for the value but at this place don't expect the Four Seasons.

| N/A Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Honeymoon

Would recommend Fri, Feb 20, 2015
This was a great place to stay. The hotel grounds were fairly nice, but the staff was EXCELLENT. They catered to our every need and were fun and friendly to boot. Great people.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent

Would recommend Mon, Feb 9, 2015
We went for our honey moon and had a great time. The restaurants were great. I wish they had some food options during the day by the pool. Staff was friendly, room was clean. I would go back.

| Lowell Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5