$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
1,231 reviews
Nice adult get away

It was very nice quite vacation . We had a good relaxing time. Clean pool and beach. Very friendly... See full review

  • Caring mom
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff,... See full review

  • The Bow
  • Jul 8, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1231)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
1231 out of 1231
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enrico
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 2, 2010

Lost quality

We were very satisfied from our stay in this resort in 2009. That's why we repeated this trip. This time, it began bad with the transfer to the resort. What takes normally 1 hour, took 2 hours as driver was first dropping off people at 2 other resorts, then also had to wait for some people coming back from an excursion to bring them also to our resort.( [...]). The quality of the food and the service all over at the resort went down by 50%. Saving money seems to be first goal. Will not go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelby Township, MI
Jan 25, 2010

Avoid Excellence Punta Cana

We went to this resort 4 and 5 years ago and it was great. Now it has gone downhill considerably. It appears that this resort is in financial trouble. They have reduced meal portions, meal selections and meal quality. They are now watering down drinks and have reduced drink glass sizes. My wife and I were very dissapointed. Next year we will go back to one of the Excellence clubs near Cancun. They are truely a 5 star resort. This Excellence Club Punta Cana neads to be reduced to a 2-3 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Sep 28, 2007

terrible for singles

this hotel should be couples only not adults only. it was the worst vacation i ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 24, 2008

Disappointing trip

If you do not speak Spanish, this is not the resort for you! 75% of the staff had a severe problem communicating & understanding what we were saying to them. Food orders were never taken correctly, menu choices were limited, all of the resturants are NOT open for lunch and some are not open for dinner on certain nights which limits your options. The cleaning staff knocked on our door at ALL hours of the day up until 10pm, even when the do not disturb sign was up. They also began cleaning each morning at 8am and shout to each other from outside your door, banging things and making quite a racket. The resort is an hour and a half by bus on dirt roads from the airport so be ready to bounce around on a bus!! The final straw was my husband getting sick on the 3rd day. The resort gets points for having a doctor who lives on the premises but locating his was a bit of a challenge. On the up side, the resort was pretty, beaches were nice, room was clean & the gym facility was fully equipt. But if I knew that many American came down with bacterial infections in this area, I would have never gone in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EXCELLENCE NEW YORKER
NY
Jul 8, 2010

PLEASE READ!!

Being that I have traveled to many different countries and have stayed at many different all inclusives, I would have to rank the excellence as the worst of the bunch. Now, I am a New Yorker who loves to eat. But lets be honest, you can't expect much when leaving the states. I didn't expect to have top of the line food in DR, but the food there was just miserable. I chose to upgrade to the excellence club, BIG MISTAKE!!! Here are the only two positives of the excellence club- 1. You share a private pool with everyone who upgraded 2. You share a private area on the beach with everyone who upgraded. Here are all the negatives- The excellence club lists that you have a private lounge with food; the food in the lounge consists of a tiny piece of bread with a slice of meat and a cheese, fruits, and pastries majority of the time (just miserable)- it also lists that in your room you have top shelf bar and drinks, we'll i went to DR for six days, and the excellence refilled my fridge maybe twice. - listed was that you would receive beach bag and towels, well i got the towels on the first day, and that's it. NO bag, or towels on the other days. - didn't have hot water one night (but i cannot blame the hotel staff) - had the front desk call me on day two of my trip asking what time i was checking out, when i told them i wasnt, they were shocked. All in All, the Excellence is by far not Excellent. If you do choose to go, I would make sure you DO NOT UPGRADE TO THE EXCELLENCE CLUB, It is not worth it. You get the same service as if you were in a regular room. I am not a complainer nor do I usually write reviews, but after this trip, I had to warn people. I did complain to the manage of the Excellence club after day three of my trip. He told me that he'll make sure everything would be taken care of. We'll it was, for that one day. Then it went back to garbage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Entertainment casino & club....if you like to party with your wife, husband this by far has the best nightlife

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rebecca of Sunnybrook
PA
Feb 25, 2014

Disappointed

We've stayed at lots of all-inclusives. For this price, we were expecting more. The staff was all great, except in the Flavor restaurant, where orders were slow and usually wrong. Food in the restaurants was good-not bad, not terrific. Desserts were terrible. Almost all of the meat was badly overcooked. The hotel wasn't filthy, but wasn't super clean either. Public bathrooms were dirty even right after cleaning women walked out. Our tub had sand in the bottom, and there's pink mildew all over the bathroom tiles. Who knows if it would come off if scrubbed. The towels smelled mildewy. Activities were lacking. No water sports were available because the water was rough, but return visitors said that's alway been the case. Not the resort's fault, but false advertising if not really ever available. The mini-golf was a joke-TERRIBLE condition. We had to find our own balls for ping-pong, and one of the two pool tables was missing a ball. The pool was fairly narrow and was pretty cold, maybe because of partial shade because the air was warm. The craft activity was stringing beads every day. Shooting was never available, archery twice during a week. Snorkeling was not available, except as extra paid excursion. Night shows were good, but theater is not great, so you have to get there pretty early to be able to see. Excellence Club level was included in our package, but would not be worth the extra expense. It's just more free alcohol and snacks, and you could borrow an iPad to use right there. There's free Wi-fi all over the resort that worked reasonably well. The spa was pretty good. The hydrotherapy was a nice "extra". Unfortunately, I would not go here again or recommend this resort. For the same amount, you can have much more in Cancun or the Bahamas. People who'd been to other Excellence hotels said this one did not compare. Without a major facelift, this resort will struggle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 16, 2008

Not a 5 star

We stated for 10 nights,twice the room wasnt cleaned,turndown service recived only 3 times,beaktest and lunch so so,diners ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

best meal was at Barcelona rest. the red snapper

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 4, 2011

Disappointing

The welcome was the best part of the trip from then it's all down hill. We got the Excellence Club room (their top of the line option) it comes with full size liquor bottles in your room that are restocked daily (good way to stock up for your trip home). This is the only time you will drink decent alcohol. We have noticed that all the drinks they serve use very cheap liquor poured into premium bottles. They do this so poorly that I had to order 5 vodka drinks before they found a bottle that actually had vodka in it rather than light rum (this happened at every bar every time). Food is average and portions are almost entertaining they are so small. We had everyone in our group get really sick at least once during the trip and they didn't even drink the water. The staff is very laid back, too laid back to get the most simple thing to happen you would easily need 2 hours and that's if you were lucky. We kept tipping hoping that would get better but no luck. Make sure to reserve your free horseback riding before you go, they have minimal spots and none of us were able to get a chance to go. Bottom line the liquor is cheap, the food is average, and service is nonexistent. The positives were the scenery, nightly shows, and company we brought with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Order 2 of the dinners you want because the portion sizes are tiny and it's already all inclusive.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 4, 2011

Disappointing

The welcome was the best part of the trip from then it's all down hill. We got the Excellence Club room (their top of the line option) it comes with full size liquor bottles in your room that are restocked daily (good way to stock up for your trip home). This is the only time you will drink decent alcohol. We have noticed that all the drinks they serve use very cheap liquor poured into premium bottles. They do this so poorly that I had to order 5 vodka drinks before they found a bottle that actually had vodka in it rather than light rum (this happened at every bar every time). Food is average and portions are almost entertaining they are so small. We had everyone in our group get really sick at least once during the trip and they didn't even drink the water. The staff is very laid back, too laid back to get the most simple thing to happen you would easily need 2 hours and that's if you were lucky. We kept tipping hoping that would get better but no luck. Make sure to reserve your free horseback riding before you go, they have minimal spots and none of us were able to get a chance to go. Bottom line the liquor is cheap, the food is average, and service is nonexistent. The positives were the scenery, nightly shows, and company we brought with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Order 2 of the dinners you want because the portion sizes are tiny and it's already all inclusive.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hampton, IL
Aug 8, 2010

OK Resort, Bad Rooms

Most trips are a long bus ride (at least an hour on bad roads and questionable buses...ours broke down). Rooms were turned to the max with Air Conditioning and fans, still very uncomfortable - never a good night sleep. This made for a wonderful mildew smell that overwhelmed you every time you entered the room. I opened my suitcase when I got home, and got a fresh reminder of the smell. We took along a plug in air freshener, but it didn't stand a chance. We traveled with several other couples, all rooms were the same. Very few friendly host/hostess on the resort. Most of the time, you had to wave down a bar tender even though it wasn't very busy. Hardly any smiled, they didn't look like they wanted to be there, which made the experience a lot less fun. Restaurants were OK, not bad, but nothing special. A couple of the night shows were good, some were really bad. Sometimes very difficult to understand if you don't speak a little Spanish. I will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top