$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
812 out of 812
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M M S
Business
Greensburg PA
Mar 10, 2013

Return Visit

Again our trip to the Excellence Resort was great. The resort is very neat and clean, and the staff very friendly. The food was good and nicely presented. I would recommend a few more selections at the Lobster House, and the dessert portions could be larger, but all and all a good deal. The drinks were good and not watered down. A good choice for a Punta Cana trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Shows are good but I wish they had an early and a late seating

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coco Loco Queen
Business
Maine
Feb 25, 2013

Stress Free vacation

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Excellence resort in Punta Cana. This is our second time here and we were just as happy this time as we were before. The staff and overall experience at the resort is second to none. We truely enjoyed our time here and were not disappointed. Our room was perfect and beach and pools were terrific. The only complaint I would have is about the bed - mattress' was hard as a rock. I would suggest adding pillow tops or foam pads. overall - we had a perfect vacation! Cannot wait to book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rugby Ralphy
Business
Bayonne New Jersey
Feb 22, 2013

Couples retreat, fall in love all over again

The setting is absolutely beautiful, just amazing. The grounds are meticulously well kept and boast a wonderful ecological park. The amenities are top quality with most of the fixtures having been upgraded or refitted within the last few years. The staff is absolutely amazing, the restaurants excellent and the all-inclusive package offers everything, top shelf liquors, room service, etc. The only thing you'll go out of pocket for are special services or upgrades (meals on the beach or a great bottle of wine with dinner). Evenings are elegant with casual dress codes at most restaurants and NO cafeteria dining. All dinner restaurants are sit down affairs with no reservations and very rarely a wait. Only downsides, if there are any, the resort is an hour from the hotel, a bit more travel there but totally worth it. The resort sits on the Atlantic face of the island, the water is warm but can be rough on days, limiting local water sports (although excursions are available to sheltered bays for all day water adventures. Just returned from my 4th trip with my wife. can't wait to get back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joerick
Business
NYC
Feb 5, 2013

Group getaway

I highly recommend this hotel. It's nice and clean. Food and drinks were great unlike other all-inlcusive resorts that we've been too where drinks ar usually watered down. I would have given it 5 stars if it weren;t for the beach. It wasn't that nice but I guess the hotel really cant do much about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xindi's Mom
Business
Orange County, California
Dec 31, 2012

Wonderful Birthday Vacation

The hotel is fantastic! Upgrade to a room with an ocean view and you won't be dissapointed. The service is great, the food is great, and we enjoyed walking the beach every day for exercise without fear of crime. We stayed at the resort and did not do any tours and there was enough amenities to keep us busy for the week,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to go into town to shop. There are plenty of local vendors within a short walk and it is safe to walk around and shop. Everyone is very friendly.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBK Girl
Business
California
Nov 29, 2012

Good but needs improvement

While the resort is lovely and most of the stay was good we had a few problems. We went to celebrate a special birthday and the concierge was suppose to make arrangements for a small celebration including a cake. That evening no one at the restaurant knew anything about it. Nothing happened. When I went back to let them know there had been a problem, they looked into it and said it was a miscommunication between room service and the restaurant. They offered to send a cake to the room. No other service recovery was offered. We took a tour with a 7AM pick-up and placed a wake-up call request for 6AM. Again nothing happened - no call. We ate dinner at 6 of the restaurants and the food was mediocre at best. The staff do try very hard to please everyone most of the time and we found their entertainment was quite good. The beach was great, but the resort is a good 75 minute drive from the airport and quite a distance away from everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katya nova
Business
punta cana, dominican republic
Nov 20, 2012

best value for a romantic getaway!

my husband & i live on the island and travel to different resorts a lot - we are wedding photographers here. excellence stands above the rest when it comes to food, service, and room coziness. we staff are fantastic and the coconuts at the cascade pool are the perfect touch! love the decor - picture-perfect. we also love that there are mostly north-american couples in love, which makes for great conversations around the pool. last but certainly not least, lightning-fast wireless internet almost everywhere around the property!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the sit-down breakfasts & lunches are better than buffet...

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j.killi
Business
Arizona
Sep 26, 2012

great resort for a great price

We have been to 2 Sandals resorts and now decided to try out another resort brand since the Sandals were a bit more expensive and we are glad that we did. The Excellence Punta Cana was the exact same caliber all-inclusive resort as Sandals and was about $1200 cheaper for an 8 day stay than Sandals. Very friendly staff and great room. The sea was a bit choppy with a good wind every day coming off the water, but no problems just laying on the beach and wading into the water waist deep. We will definately be trying out one of the other Excellence resorts locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are locals that set up little tourist shops on the beach just outside of the hotel property that are more than willing to barter with you as long as you can sneak them something from the mini bar in your room.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, GA
Sep 26, 2012

Excellence Resort Punta Cana

The staff is outstanding and always exceeds expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't use Fast Trac. They will not pick up at the international terminal thus causing a time delay and inconvenience to use another shuttle from the international terminal to where FAST TRAC will pick you up.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AWJW
Business
Michigan
Sep 26, 2012

Relaxing Honeymoon

We had a great time relaxing at Excellence. The ride from the airport is almost an hour, but you will be greeted with champagne and a smile. We had booked a room with the excellence club and definitely recommend the upgrade. The staff really make this hotel awesome. The staff will do everything they can for you and they remember you even in different areas of the hotel. Esperanza was our absolute favorite and made sure my new husband's brithday was also wonderfully celebrated even thought we were on our honeymoon. Elias was also a great server in more than one restaurant. Overall we had a great time and will hopefully return for more coco locos with banana for an anniversary some day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top