$361 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 25, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
815 out of 815
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDMH
Business
Boston MA
May 3, 2013

Relaxation Vacation

Great service...great pool...great drinks Adults only was great. Food was really good and our intent was to do nothing and that's what we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn from VA
Business
Washington, DC
May 2, 2013

Excellence at the Excellence

I was thoroughly impressed with the friendliness of the staff at the resort. Service was top notch all the way around. Great food and drink selections, beautiful landscape and amenities, fun activities and nighttime entertainment. Great for couples honeymooning, vacationing, or just wanting to relax. We were celebrating my birthday, and the staff made sure it was extra special. I will definitely be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
COGrammy
Business
Broomfield, CO
May 1, 2013

Overall a good trip

A family group of 5 stayed here April 11-17, 2013. Overall, it was a good experience. The public areas are beautiful, but we found the rooms to be tired and slightly worn. They could use an update, but are perfectly adequate. I had called ahead and requested that our three rooms be close together. There was mix-up over this. They immediately tried to fix the problem which resulted in our rooms being in the farthest building. This was a hassle for a family member with a knee problem. The staff was just plain wonderful. We found the food to be very good and were delighted with the staff in all the restaurants. Although there was an Activity Staff, we were not aware of a lot that was going on. This could be because of our location in Building 14. This could be improved. Overall, it was a lovely vacation for our family, but I don't think we would make the LONG trip to Punta Cana again. Travel from the east coast was definitely worth the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crispen
Business
New Jersey
Apr 26, 2013

Very nice and food was better than expected

The hotel was great and the staff was overly nice. Most of the restaurants like Lobster House, The Grill and Toscana were good but there are 2 resturants and stood much higher than the rest. An absolute must would be Spice (the asian fusion) and Chez Isabella (the french). These two resturants were excellent!!! If i had to do it over again i would probably go to both twice and use the other resturants for lunches and breakfast. Overall great time, just be careful with some of the staff being flirty with your significant other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CardioNazi
Business
Camarillo, CA
Apr 20, 2013

Paradise in Punta Cana!

This was my first trip to Punta Cana and Excellence Resort exceeded any expectations I had prior to arrival. The staff here is amazing and will go out of their way to help in any way they can and will always tell you it is no problem. The resort property itself is immaculate. The rooms are spacious and luxurious and the property is kept very clean at all times. My friend and I dined at six of the eight restaurants and were delighted with the food and loved the appropriate portion sizes (unlike the U.S.). The view and beach on this property will take your breath away. I spent four days on teh beach enjoying the sun and reading and never tired of the view. The gym here has all up to date equipment and Wander teaches pilates or yoga every morning except for Sunday. He gives you a great workout. Edwin at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us arrange a taxi to take us to a nightclub in Bavaro for dancing, even getting us drinks to take with us on the way. The absolute only downfall to this trip for me was that my friend and I were the ONLY singles on the entire resort. If you are in a couple this place could not be any better for you. If you are single and not looking to mingle this place is for you. You will not be bothered. If you are single and looking to mingle I would try a different singles oriented resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Welch
Business
OKC
Apr 8, 2013

First Honeymoon second excellence resort

This resort is the oldest of the excellence resorts but it has had some more modern upgrades to the rooms. We booked in advance for the lowest rate and then called to book our trip as an anniversary for the extra perks. Last year at the same time we went to the Playa Mujeres excellence. I would have to say overall I liked the newer Playa Mujeres resort more, but there were definitely things that were better at the Punta Cana resort. Pros: 1. At check in we were offered an upgrade to a honeymoon suite for about $100 extra a day. Not sure if this was a worth the money but the honeymoon suite was much bigger than the excellence club jr suite oceanview and had 2 bathrooms and 2 Jacuzzis. Our balcony was much larger and private than the other rooms. 2. Coco Loco drinks made using a coconut. The Mexican resort had certain days were they would dress up a pineapple or coconut with a face which my wife really enjoyed. The DR resort would give you as many drinks as you wanted made out of a coconut. They poured the coconut water into the frozen mix and then filled it back up. 3. The recreation area was large and had many choices. Basketball, tennis, squash, Foosball, pool, and a mini golf course. The gym was large and the equipment all modern as well as free weights. 4. The beach is great but there is a con as many others note that the water is rough and the red flag always out. So take pictures and listen to it. You can also get in it but don't go out too far. No seaweed on this beach. 5. Beach grill is a nice touch and allows you to get food right by the beach with your sandy feet. Saves you going inside. They cook a different special each day and have nachos and brick oven pizzas. Hot dogs and hamburgers too but I didn't really enjoy the burger to me it tasted weird. 6. The Mexican restaurant is really good and it is the only place that serves Coronas. So stop in and order one since you can't get it anywhere else on the resort. Cons 1. The balconies on most rooms are small with no hot tub. In Mexico every room had a hot tub on the balcony. 2. The regular rooms seemed small, keep in mind I only peaked in as my room was the honeymoon and was pretty large, closer to what we had in Mexico but that room wasn't at the same price point. 3. We had mostly great service but there were lapses. We are easy going so any issues didn't really affect our enjoyment. 4. The road there can be a bit scary. The locals seem to cut each other off and pass without good visibility. We got a private transport which was comfortable. We saw many buses completely filled with new vacationers who didn't look to happy. The trip there was about an hour and another hour to get back. 5. The entertainment was pretty good but not as good as the Mexican resort (although there was overlap like the Michael Jackson show). The fun and games staff did a good job of setting up events during the day. I would recommend getting to know them and doing some of the activities they offer. 6. The Punta Cana airport is slow and the restrooms were flooded and didn't seem clean. It is open air and you will have to walk outside to and from your airplane to the gate. 7. Views of the ocean were ok but not great. Try to get a room on a third floor. Second floor can see the ocean through palm trees unless you get a room with a clear path. 8. They only have 4 beers that you can get in your room. Presidente, Presidente Light, The One, and Coors Light. Last word. The resort is great. I would definitely say it is hard to not enjoy. The food was good, the staff good and the room well appointed. My list of items are just to help you know the things I experienced in case they help you in your decision or trip once you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbboston
Business
boston ma
Mar 23, 2013

excellent family vacation

Beautiful beach ..great food fun time! Perfect getaway foe our family vacation !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Opie from Iowa
Business
Hiawatha, Iowa
Mar 22, 2013

GOING BACK

I honestly can say, I would suggest this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Adan is amazing in the Lobster house! Tito doing the games is an amazing person!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jurian1971
Business
Russia
Mar 19, 2013

yuriy

An unforgettable holiday! We were in heaven! I recommend it 100%

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jurian1971
Business
Russia
Mar 19, 2013

yuriy

An unforgettable holiday! We were in heaven! I recommend it 100%

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top