$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
782 out of 782
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael C Nc
Business
Wilmington, nc
Jun 30, 2012

Great trip

The beach, food, room were excellent. If I wanted to get picky the bed and pillows could have been better. The only real complaint that I could have and I have been to another Excellence property in Mexico is that some of staff were unfriendly . But that being said other members of the staff were exceptional including Omar and Gabriel serving drinks on the beach. Would definitely go back. One other thing -the drive from the airport is one hour plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reviewed123
Business
Central, IL
Jul 14, 2012

Not bad but save some money and go somewhere else

This is a nice resort situated more on the atlantic than the carribbean side of the ocean. The beach is pretty but large waves and big under tow keep red flags up year round. So don't expect to snorkel onsite easily. And those free water sports look good on paper. Also no Jetski rental onsite. The pool is nice, large, even has free rafts. The seating and bedding around pool is very nice and also on beach if you book an excellence club room. We felt the food was not that awesome. The service was not fast either. We were always waiting for them to just bring us even water when we sat down. The no reservations are required at restaraunts is nice but doesn't mean you won't have to wait like back home. The swim up bar is a plus but the bartenders usually only make like 1 drink at once it seemed like. Free horseback ride we got was great and we booked a sunset ride as well. Room had some interesting features but A/C worked enough and minibar as stocked well. Staff would openly take tips compared to other all inclusives that frown on that. For the price it should be truely all inclusive. Nightly entertainment seems better than maybe cheaper resorts. Compared to other trips to all inclusives we felt we didn't get our monies worth. This brand is not worthly of these rates yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We use prestige limo for private transfers and they provided very good and afforable transfer. In a private transfer zooming around cars and mopeds still took 50 mins to get to resort, expect shared transfers to take as much as 1.5 hrs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YAMAHA
Business
PUNTA CANA
Jul 14, 2012

Excellence

GREAT TIME JUST LEFT JULY 13, 12 BEAUTIFUL PLACE GREAT PLACE FOR CUPLUS. THE ONLY BACK THING IF YOU THINK ITS A BAD THING IS ITS 35 MILES FROM THE AIRPORT SO, ITS A WILD RIDE TO GET THERE BUT ONCE YOU GET THERE YOU WILL FORGET ABOUT THE RIDE. SUPER DANNY AND MIGUEL ARE GREAT GUYS IF YOU NEED ANYTHING ASK FOR THEM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Joe
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 12, 2012

Excellence Punta Cana 8/4 to 8/11/12

My wife and I recently spent 7 days ay the Excellence Punta Cana. The staff was wonderful and couldn't be more accommodating. The resort grounds were beautiful and well kept. Our room was quite nice but the bed was extremely hard and after a week took its toll on my back. Initially our room was cleaned in the late afternoon which we were not happy with. After complaining to the front desk the problem was taken care of. The wifi service in our room was often not working. The elevator In our building went out of service in the middle of our stay and had not been fixed at the time of our departure. The food was above average. We had very good meals at Spice, Agave and Toscano. We enjoyed the variety of foods at the breakfast and lunch buffets. The waitstaff was pleasant and attentive in all the restaurants. The house wines were generally good. We were pleased with the drinks at the bars throughout the resort. The evening entertainment was good on some nights. We had the couple massage at the spa which was an excellent experience. The horseback riding on the beach was fun. There were always some type of activity going on during the day to keep you entertained. Overall, except for some minor problems, it was a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you bring enough suntan lotion, aloe, tylenol and other personal items because they are absurdly expensive at the resort stores. I paid $25 for a small tube of bacitracin ointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDEV
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Sep 4, 2012

Excellence

What is perhaps an unfair comparison, our vacation at Excellence was just a bit below our expectations. Last year we went to a resort in Mexico and everything was just a bit better...the food, the service, the evening programs, and overall quality. We still had a wonderful vacation at Excellence in Punta Cana and I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went on 2 excursions...the speed boat/snorkle/snuba was very good. The dune buggies - was average.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfonso McBeachalot
Business
KS
Sep 21, 2012

Excellent vacation spot

Everything here was pretty great. The pool and beach weren't as crowded as other all-inclusives we've been to. The staff seemed friendlier and more helpful as well. The food is good, although not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j.killi
Business
Arizona
Sep 26, 2012

great resort for a great price

We have been to 2 Sandals resorts and now decided to try out another resort brand since the Sandals were a bit more expensive and we are glad that we did. The Excellence Punta Cana was the exact same caliber all-inclusive resort as Sandals and was about $1200 cheaper for an 8 day stay than Sandals. Very friendly staff and great room. The sea was a bit choppy with a good wind every day coming off the water, but no problems just laying on the beach and wading into the water waist deep. We will definately be trying out one of the other Excellence resorts locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are locals that set up little tourist shops on the beach just outside of the hotel property that are more than willing to barter with you as long as you can sneak them something from the mini bar in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AWJW
Business
Michigan
Sep 26, 2012

Relaxing Honeymoon

We had a great time relaxing at Excellence. The ride from the airport is almost an hour, but you will be greeted with champagne and a smile. We had booked a room with the excellence club and definitely recommend the upgrade. The staff really make this hotel awesome. The staff will do everything they can for you and they remember you even in different areas of the hotel. Esperanza was our absolute favorite and made sure my new husband's brithday was also wonderfully celebrated even thought we were on our honeymoon. Elias was also a great server in more than one restaurant. Overall we had a great time and will hopefully return for more coco locos with banana for an anniversary some day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBK Girl
Business
California
Nov 29, 2012

Good but needs improvement

While the resort is lovely and most of the stay was good we had a few problems. We went to celebrate a special birthday and the concierge was suppose to make arrangements for a small celebration including a cake. That evening no one at the restaurant knew anything about it. Nothing happened. When I went back to let them know there had been a problem, they looked into it and said it was a miscommunication between room service and the restaurant. They offered to send a cake to the room. No other service recovery was offered. We took a tour with a 7AM pick-up and placed a wake-up call request for 6AM. Again nothing happened - no call. We ate dinner at 6 of the restaurants and the food was mediocre at best. The staff do try very hard to please everyone most of the time and we found their entertainment was quite good. The beach was great, but the resort is a good 75 minute drive from the airport and quite a distance away from everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joerick
Business
NYC
Feb 5, 2013

Group getaway

I highly recommend this hotel. It's nice and clean. Food and drinks were great unlike other all-inlcusive resorts that we've been too where drinks ar usually watered down. I would have given it 5 stars if it weren;t for the beach. It wasn't that nice but I guess the hotel really cant do much about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top