$335 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
744 out of 744
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SunnyBrittany
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 21, 2013

Best vacation

We stayed for 6 nights, every night we went to a different restaurant and every time we had delicious food. The portions are big and cooked perfectly. They have activities planned all day everyday that you can participate in and win prizes. The beach is very close and there is a bar always in reach. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to have a good time without kids being around. The staff is great. Everyone is very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the shows they have at night. The Michael Jackson show was amazing. They are very talented.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
liljay
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jun 17, 2013

Will never go anywhere else

First, I can't believe how clean it was. They have people cleaning EVERYTHING all day, every day. The staff works a 12-16 hour day and they have smiles on their faces the entire time. The food was good, overall. Was there some stuff not that great? Sure... but I was not there for the culinary stylings of an all-inclusive resort. I was there for the atmosphere and relaxation. Still, the food was pretty darn good. We will have a hard time trying a different resort company after the service and value that we received with Excellence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Guys, make sure to bring a pair of long pants as they have a dress code at dinner for most restaurants.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy A
Couples
Massachusettes
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent!!!!!!

We could not of had a better time. The food was great! The whole resort was beautiful! We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

was great on the resort, not worth leaving the resort to shop 55 minutes to get to a little convenient tourist trap!!!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carribean Pirate
Couples
NY, NY
Jun 3, 2013

Great Hotel for a couple getaway

Ive been to excellence palaya mujeres which was a fantastic experience so I chose to come try it again at punta cana. It was not as good but, still a great hotel with great food, drinks and WIFI!. It's all inclusive with 8 different restaurants all around in the hotel. For example, there's a beach grill, and bars are always near by. In your room, you get 24hrs room service, free mini bar and liqour bottles all included. Everynight they have an entertainment show which I enjoyed very much. Service by the pool and beach could be better but, I guess you can be asking for a lot like me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use hotel tour desk attractions staff.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regular Houston Traveler
Couples
Houston
May 26, 2013

Nice Couples Place

If you're a Newlywed and want to be around other Newlyweds, this is a great place or if you like to smoke cigars or cigarettes, you'll love this place. The food was average but the pool and the service was great. The Staff was very happy and wanted to please you at all times. The other problem we had were cockroaches. We complained to the Resort and they did react quickly but it didn't completely eliminate the problem. Will we go back? Probably not but if I were a Newlywed would it be a place to go? Yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newly Wed K and G
Couples
Greensboro, NC
May 24, 2013

Great Trip

We took our honeymoon here. It is a bit off the beaten path but compared to other resorts we pulled up at dropping people off for excursions or airport pickups - it was super nice. Also, we were able to see the country side and how people live away from the resort. If you are interested in an all-inclusive, this is a great location. Tried all of the restaurants but Barcelona and they were all good. In room bar is top notch with 4 full bottles of liquor. Of course there are some language barriers with some of the staff but we worked it out. Go see Cheap Charlie at Nancy's right off the resort if you want to buy from local vendors. He doesn't harass or bother you and has great prices. Also, Mel from VIP was very helpful. We did dune buggies, scuba diving, Saona Island trip and Canopy ziplines. Wigi Wigi from Canopy made our ride to the zipline a lot of fun :) If you visit this beautiful country, get out and SEE the country! The mountains are awesome! Great place to visit. My husband called it his best trip ever! Would definitely recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobwiland
Couples
Long Island, NY
May 15, 2013

Great Vacation - some minor issues.

This was one of our best vacations ever - both relaxing and exciting! We stayed from 5/7/2013 to 5/14/2013 in a Junior Swim-up Suite that was right on the upper level of the cascade pool. (Request rooms 1001-1005 or 2001-2005). I don't think we could have made a better room choice. There's nothing like stepping out onto your private patio and jumping into a beautiful pool! Unfortunately, there were no steps in the pool to get back onto our patio, so we either had to use the stairs at the far end of the pool and walk around the pool edge or try to boost ourselves up (not easy for us approaching senior status!) The staff was very attentive and friendly. The hotel grounds were immaculate and beautiful. The shows in the evening were very good - much better production values and quality than we have experienced at other resorts. The food in general was good - but not great. The hotel is situated a long distance from the airport - well over an hour's drive at times. It was also over an hour to get to the one snorkel trip we took. The ocean was fairly rough for our entire stay, with red flags - but we did go in the ocean every day to ride the waves. Lounge chairs were always available at the beach and by the pool - no getting up at dawn to reserve a spot as we have experienced in some other resorts. The reservation included a free 30 minute horseback ride on the beach which we took advantage of. We loved it and recommend it, even for novice riders like ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

We thought the French and Asian restaurants were the best, followed by the Lobster House and Mediterranean. The Grille was OK for lunch, but for dinner both our rib-eye and t-bone steaks were overdone and tough.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizzle Rizzle
Couples
New Jersey
May 14, 2013

GREAT ALL INCLUSIVE!

We loved our stay at The Excellence Punta Cana. when we first arrived we were greeted with champagne and a "welcome home" it was very nice! we went may 5 to may 9, 2013 and it seemed like there were barely any guests there. we never had to wait for anything. it was a great time to go. the only thing was we had 1 sunny day and the other days were overcast/rain but it didnt spoil our trip at all.The grounds and beach are just beautiful! we stayed on the first floor in a jr suite and it was large, tv and dvd, large jetted tub, very nice rain shower and large closet space. mini bar includes beer, water, soda and 5 large bottles of liquor of varities. during one of our excursions we heard people talking about bugs in their room, but we didnt have any problems. we got a couples massage at miile spa. it was amazing! the people there are so nice and the spa is gorgeous. definitely worth the money and they offer decent discounts. we also spent the extra 35$ for the in room spa experience where someone from the spa comes in and fills your tub with special lathers/bubbles and it was a delight! highly recommend if you have the extra $, its vacation so what! unfortunately we didnt get to eat at every restaurant but the food was good. not the best i ever had but it was good. the best was chez isabel the french restaurant. delicious from start to finish and its beautiful if you sit outside in the back there is a fountain and its so pretty. the grill was good steak and american food. barcelona was ok. and for breakfast either the buffet or continental was good. room service offers about the same things as the sit down continental. we got room service once and was told 50 minutes and it came in 30 minutes. not bad at al! i have experience with one other all inclusive in mexico riviera maya el dorado royale, excellence is just as good for a cheaper price. the thing about excellence is people were telling us when you stay at their resorts 2, 3 + times, they treat you like royalty with all of these extra services like free bags and towels with flowers already set up on your beach chairs in the morning. it is very personal service there. whatever you ask them to do they are very willing to accomodate you. all of the staff were great. very friendly always with a buenos dias or hola! other downfall is it is a very long hour ride from punta cana airport. you pass about 8 resorts getting to your resort. its not THAT bad but take into account the extra hour traveling. we also did an excursion offered through our airport shuttle service the sailiing adventures catamaran. it was a lof of fun filled of drinks and snorkeling and volleyball. be aware that it is an hour ride to the caribbean side of DR, then a 4 and a half hour catamaran ride with lunch then another hour ride back. we were unaware of the 2 hour extra ride but what are ya gonna do. the shows at night were entertaining, the sax player is AMAZING definitely sit down by the lobby bar and listen to him play. bring sunscreen its 30$ a bottle in the gift shop. the pool is awesome. pool bar is alot of fun and youll be hanging out at the pool bar and people will just ask you if you want food or drink or pizza. we did not get the specical excellence upgrade. honestly i dont know what the difference is. we used all the ammenities and had no problems on the beach at all with chairs int he am. someone we met there who did have excellence said they had different liquor in the room and could order off of special wine lists. its not worth it to me. we had an amazing time without the upgrade. overall i would definitely recommend this resort. it was so fun, beautiful beautiful beach even if it is on the atlantic side. it was rougher than the still caribbean but my boyfriend still swam in it. had a great time, highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If doing excursions, ask how long the drive is to the excursion and how long the actual excursion is and see if its worth it to you!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Punta Cana
Couples
Vermont
May 8, 2013

Nice Beach Getaway

My wife and I spend 6 days in this hotel. I have to say the premises are nice, they have a nice pool, the lobby, bars and restaurants are really good, but some of them lack of air conditioning so sometimes where a little hot. We love the beach that it was the excellent part you are surrounding by a beautiful beach and palms and you can just relax. The staff was great they treat you very good and always there to help you. The bad part for us was the room is not that excellent. It was old and have a weird glass window on the bathroom that you can see your bed is just awkward. For us it was a good hotel not an excellent hotel, we might never come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoJo Princess
Couples
Centerville, Ohio
May 6, 2013

perfect adult getaway

Fab resort! Great service, great food, great people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top