$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
768 out of 768
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mgel99
Business
NYC
Jul 15, 2013

Excellence in Punta Cana

From the first minute we arrived the staff treated us with courtesy and efficiency. The grounds were beautiful, the pool was unlike I've ever seen, they stretched throughout the entire front part of the property. Plus there was a second, smaller secluded pool as well. The beach was beautiful, the ocean was extremely wavy (we arrived a few days before Trop Storm Chantal). Our room was beautiful, full of amenities and modern appliances (one problem was shaky wi-fi throughout the grounds, obviously a minor problem). The restaurants were all great, we loved just about everything we ate Before we arrived we read that there would be problems getting places to lounge at the pool and at the beach. The beach was never close to being a problem, although the pools were usually crowded. Overall we loved the place and have already recommened it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DMTrip
Business
washington, dc
Jul 14, 2013

Not so great

The main disappointment was the food. The first night I couldn't eat most of my meal and while we had some good meals later in the week nothing was excellent. My husband and I both disliked having people approach us around the resort to buy excursions. The room was good except when they forgot to leave clean towels a couple of times. It would have been much nicer for us if there had been smoking areas around the resort so that we weren't exposed to cigarette and cigar smoke in public areas. The best thing was that the staff is very friendly. The grounds are also very well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stritt
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 13, 2013

Amazing Anniversary Trip

My wife and I traveled to the Excellence resort for our two year anniversary with a couple we met on our honeymoon two years ago. We had an UNBELIEVABLE time. The staff at the resort was amazing, especially Hector, Edgar, and Yerlin. They not only make you feel at home, but they desire to ensure that your trip is everything you dream it to be. The pool bars are amazing, and the restaurants, especially the Lobster House, are second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to try the lobster house for dinner. Believe it or not, the lobster is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30 something couples
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 27, 2013

Nice Resort

Beautiful Beach: deep beach with plenty of seating options and clean water. Waiter Service at the pool and beach was a nice surprise, even though we were did not upgrade to the Elegance Club. It's a long drive from the airport (1 hour), but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet was very good, but the room was hot and stuffy. Get 'to go' containers and eat brekfast overlooking the beach at Las Olas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SunnyBrittany
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 21, 2013

Best vacation

We stayed for 6 nights, every night we went to a different restaurant and every time we had delicious food. The portions are big and cooked perfectly. They have activities planned all day everyday that you can participate in and win prizes. The beach is very close and there is a bar always in reach. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to have a good time without kids being around. The staff is great. Everyone is very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the shows they have at night. The Michael Jackson show was amazing. They are very talented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
liljay
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 17, 2013

Will never go anywhere else

First, I can't believe how clean it was. They have people cleaning EVERYTHING all day, every day. The staff works a 12-16 hour day and they have smiles on their faces the entire time. The food was good, overall. Was there some stuff not that great? Sure... but I was not there for the culinary stylings of an all-inclusive resort. I was there for the atmosphere and relaxation. Still, the food was pretty darn good. We will have a hard time trying a different resort company after the service and value that we received with Excellence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Guys, make sure to bring a pair of long pants as they have a dress code at dinner for most restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cindy A
Business
Massachusettes
Jun 5, 2013

Excellent!!!!!!

We could not of had a better time. The food was great! The whole resort was beautiful! We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

was great on the resort, not worth leaving the resort to shop 55 minutes to get to a little convenient tourist trap!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carribean Pirate
Business
NY, NY
Jun 3, 2013

Great Hotel for a couple getaway

Ive been to excellence palaya mujeres which was a fantastic experience so I chose to come try it again at punta cana. It was not as good but, still a great hotel with great food, drinks and WIFI!. It's all inclusive with 8 different restaurants all around in the hotel. For example, there's a beach grill, and bars are always near by. In your room, you get 24hrs room service, free mini bar and liqour bottles all included. Everynight they have an entertainment show which I enjoyed very much. Service by the pool and beach could be better but, I guess you can be asking for a lot like me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use hotel tour desk attractions staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Regular Houston Traveler
Business
Houston
May 26, 2013

Nice Couples Place

If you're a Newlywed and want to be around other Newlyweds, this is a great place or if you like to smoke cigars or cigarettes, you'll love this place. The food was average but the pool and the service was great. The Staff was very happy and wanted to please you at all times. The other problem we had were cockroaches. We complained to the Resort and they did react quickly but it didn't completely eliminate the problem. Will we go back? Probably not but if I were a Newlywed would it be a place to go? Yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newly Wed K and G
Business
Greensboro, NC
May 24, 2013

Great Trip

We took our honeymoon here. It is a bit off the beaten path but compared to other resorts we pulled up at dropping people off for excursions or airport pickups - it was super nice. Also, we were able to see the country side and how people live away from the resort. If you are interested in an all-inclusive, this is a great location. Tried all of the restaurants but Barcelona and they were all good. In room bar is top notch with 4 full bottles of liquor. Of course there are some language barriers with some of the staff but we worked it out. Go see Cheap Charlie at Nancy's right off the resort if you want to buy from local vendors. He doesn't harass or bother you and has great prices. Also, Mel from VIP was very helpful. We did dune buggies, scuba diving, Saona Island trip and Canopy ziplines. Wigi Wigi from Canopy made our ride to the zipline a lot of fun :) If you visit this beautiful country, get out and SEE the country! The mountains are awesome! Great place to visit. My husband called it his best trip ever! Would definitely recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top