$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
768 out of 768
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tylerldt
Business
Odenton, MD, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Very Nice All Adult Hotel

We enjoyed our stay very much!! The only problem was with the food selection and clothing requirements. You will need to bring long pants for dining. That's too fancy for a beach front resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the facilities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Hicks
Business
Clinton, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Excellent Getaway

This was our second time at the Secrets Excellence, as we were there in 2003 for our honeymoon. The resort is still as beautiful as it was in 2003, but we noticed a distinct positive change in the food quality - specifically for dinner. Anyone who reads a review of the DR realizes that you don't go there for the food. But, by far, this was the best food we had ever received in the DR. Breakfast and lunch were still fairly ordinary and common. But dinner was pretty darn good every night. We actually ate beef that tasted like beef. We upgraded to the Excellence Club - we wouldn't do it again. With free drinks everywhere, why do we need a bottles of liquor in our room? The amenities were nice, but once again, not worth the extra expense. Be aware that this hotel is the furthest from the airport. We secured a private bus with our travel companions and it was worth every penny. Love that the resort is adult-only. I don't spend that kind of money to hear crying children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We took advantage of couple's massage deal one rainy morning. It was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chanel 96
Business
Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Mar 17, 2012

great resort

We really enjoyed our stay at Excellence. The staff were fantastic. The food was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. The beds could have been more comfortable, but the beach beds were great! The lobsters at the lobster house were small, but delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
agesoto
Business
Puerto Rico
Apr 11, 2012

It is AVERAGE

It was a great stay. However, we have stay in several in the Dominican Republic that are cheaper than this one and there is nothing really different. They do have the best Mangu I have ever tried in my life. The food in general is excellent but not that different from other good hotels. The beds are not that good since it feels like you are sleeping in a stone bed (they ned to improve that). If you really like a pool with a waterfall this is the place for you. It is a really beatufiful pool with a lovely cascade. The staff in the pool bar is the best. They have the hability to manage drunk guys and to be the best friend at the same time. Breakfast was excellent. The thing with the restaurants is that you go to the Dom. ep. and you will expect to try caribbean food. But none of the restaurants offer dominican food for dinner. In general it is an excellent hotel but you may find the same excellent stuff at other cheaper hotels like the Dreams and Bahia Principe for example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The circus show is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt 48169
Business
Michigan
Apr 15, 2012

Excellent Romantic Getaway

The resort and staff were excellent. Plenty of room at the beach and pool and the waiters were always bringing whatever you needed. The only downside was that it is an hour from the airport and the food was not the greatest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chizzle
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Honeymoon getaway

The Excellence Punta Cana was a great resort. The reason I rated it 4 stars for location is this resort is far (45 minutes) from the actual city of Punta Cana. So it does take longer to get to the excursions. As far as being away from everyone else the location is great. We never saw any kids which was nice on this vacation. The reason I gave 4 stars for room cleanliness was because they didn't always make our room up in the evening or give us the chocolate, flowers or towel figures. This was not a big deal and was not the normal for the resort. We met several couples while we were there and they said they received these things. In fact we wouldn't have known we should get them if it wasn't for them. Other than that the room was clean. We did have a leak from the roof and they tried to fix it but instead offered us another comparable room. We did not move because it seemed like to much of a hassle to pack move and unpack again on a vacation. I gave room comfort 4 stars because the bed wasn't the most comfortable neither were the pillows. However these are all small things. In general it was great and we really enjoyed it. Activities and food were good. Room service food was not the best (cheese pizza was pretty good) Definitely recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The shows were very impressive and great to watch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GiGi1970
Business
Louisiana, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Kid-less tranquility!!

This vacation was wonderful...much needed rest and relaxation in a beautiful resort that included the works!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Prices are about 4x's more than in the US...sunscreen was $48!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robertused2
Business
Webster, NY 14580, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Like a cruise on land!

Excellent! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Some waiters & waitresses know very limited English so brush up on your Spanish! Plenty to do and see or....do nothing but lay around the beach or at one of the pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stifler118
Business
Rochester, MN
Apr 22, 2012

Hotel Excellence

We stayed at the Excellence, Punta Cana the week of April 14th. The resort met our expectations of a All-Inclusive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shellysuez
Business
Hartford, CT, USA
May 2, 2012

Great all inclusive luxury!

The grounds, pool and beach are beautiful. Wonderful food variety and quality. water on premises is filtered so u don't have to worry about getting sick. Wonderful time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top