$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
1,231 reviews
Nice adult get away

It was very nice quite vacation . We had a good relaxing time. Clean pool and beach. Very friendly... See full review

  • Caring mom
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff,... See full review

  • The Bow
  • Jul 8, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1231)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
1231 out of 1231
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, GA
Sep 26, 2012

Excellence Resort Punta Cana

The staff is outstanding and always exceeds expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't use Fast Trac. They will not pick up at the international terminal thus causing a time delay and inconvenience to use another shuttle from the international terminal to where FAST TRAC will pick you up.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dobbs722
San Antonio, TX
Jul 28, 2012

Wonderful All-Inclusive Resort!!

This was my wife's and my first trip to the Dominican Republic and we could not have had a more-perfect experience than we did at Excellence Punta Cana. The staff was wonderful from check-in to check-out. They catered to our every needs and we never heard the word "no" the entire week we were there. The value was also incredible... we received much more than we expected for the price. Our favorite part of this resort was that it's an adult only resort, so not only were we able to escape our 2 year-old for the week, but also didn't have to endure anyone else's children while on vacation. All-in-all I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting an exceptional, all-inclusive, luxury, adults-only vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We purchased an excursion from the VIP travel company that took us through the Dominican countryside, toured plantations and a typical Dominican house, went horseback riding through the mountain, and many other breathtaking activities. I would recommend this to anyone who visits Punta Cana.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cactusrvd
Carbondale, IL
Jul 17, 2012

First Time at An All-Inclusive Resort - Honeymooners

Our stay at Excellence Punta Cana was amazing. This was our first time booking an all-inclusive resort and it was for our honeymoon, so we were really worried about some of the horror stories we had heard about other resorts regarding hidden fees. But at Excellence they really mean it when they say "all-inclusive." The only things that were not included (spa treatments/massages, bottles of wine from the wine list at dinner, and phone calls) are clearly marked so that the guest doesn't have to worry that he/she will get a bunch of hidden charges added to the bill upon checkout. The restaurants are plentiful and all of them serve delicious food. You also have the option to order room service, which is NOT an additional charge (a definite plus for honeymooners or travelers that want to rest and refresh when they first arrive). Each night Excellence offers a special entertainment option that revolves around a different theme. For example, the most popular show is their "Michael Jackson Show," which involves a performer dressed as Jackson performing some pretty elaborately choreographed dance numbers with back-up dancers. But get there early as most of the shows are well attended and the seating can become limited. Another plus for this resort is its location; it is located about an hour outside of Punta Cana, so you are secluded from the noise and chaos of the city and are free to relax. This also goes for the beach, as there are no other resorts around for you to have to compete with for chairs and umbrellas on the beach. We were also really impressed with the professionalism of the Excellence staff, and their dedication to providing the guests with an enjoyable and relaxing experience. The only issue we ran into is a slight language barrier with some of the staff, so if you do not know any Spanish (I have had a few years of elementary Spanish in high school and college, but I am by no means fluent and we got along just fine), then you may want to make sure that you bring along a pocket dictionary or a translating device. Overall, this resort offers amazing amenities for an exceptional value, and we will definitely be visiting this resort and the others in the Excellence chain in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Get there about an hour before the start of each night's show to get a seat.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
worf2ronn
Florida
Jul 16, 2012

Honeymood delight

We arrived at the hotel and we up graded to the Excellence Club. The rooms were big and comfortable and the private beach was great. The service from the beach area was none stop and very friendly. When we plan our next trip we will stay at the Excellence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shop at the Wal Mart next to the resort. They are little beach shops that you can find better prices.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reviewed123
Central, IL
Jul 14, 2012

Not bad but save some money and go somewhere else

This is a nice resort situated more on the atlantic than the carribbean side of the ocean. The beach is pretty but large waves and big under tow keep red flags up year round. So don't expect to snorkel onsite easily. And those free water sports look good on paper. Also no Jetski rental onsite. The pool is nice, large, even has free rafts. The seating and bedding around pool is very nice and also on beach if you book an excellence club room. We felt the food was not that awesome. The service was not fast either. We were always waiting for them to just bring us even water when we sat down. The no reservations are required at restaraunts is nice but doesn't mean you won't have to wait like back home. The swim up bar is a plus but the bartenders usually only make like 1 drink at once it seemed like. Free horseback ride we got was great and we booked a sunset ride as well. Room had some interesting features but A/C worked enough and minibar as stocked well. Staff would openly take tips compared to other all inclusives that frown on that. For the price it should be truely all inclusive. Nightly entertainment seems better than maybe cheaper resorts. Compared to other trips to all inclusives we felt we didn't get our monies worth. This brand is not worthly of these rates yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We use prestige limo for private transfers and they provided very good and afforable transfer. In a private transfer zooming around cars and mopeds still took 50 mins to get to resort, expect shared transfers to take as much as 1.5 hrs.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YAMAHA
PUNTA CANA
Jul 14, 2012

Excellence

GREAT TIME JUST LEFT JULY 13, 12 BEAUTIFUL PLACE GREAT PLACE FOR CUPLUS. THE ONLY BACK THING IF YOU THINK ITS A BAD THING IS ITS 35 MILES FROM THE AIRPORT SO, ITS A WILD RIDE TO GET THERE BUT ONCE YOU GET THERE YOU WILL FORGET ABOUT THE RIDE. SUPER DANNY AND MIGUEL ARE GREAT GUYS IF YOU NEED ANYTHING ASK FOR THEM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Islander2
NY
Jul 8, 2012

Good for 3 or 4days

If you stay only at the hotel without going out, it's perfect. Ocean was a little bit rough, so we couldn't swim. The lagoon at the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael C Nc
Wilmington, nc
Jun 30, 2012

Great trip

The beach, food, room were excellent. If I wanted to get picky the bed and pillows could have been better. The only real complaint that I could have and I have been to another Excellence property in Mexico is that some of staff were unfriendly . But that being said other members of the staff were exceptional including Omar and Gabriel serving drinks on the beach. Would definitely go back. One other thing -the drive from the airport is one hour plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann and Wall
Western, NY, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Nice hotel. However it is not a five star.

This hotel seems to very old and the rooms are a bit run down. Dont count on having internet acess at this hotel. Room service on average is about a two hour wait and the order was wrong seven out of eight times we ordered. Over all i would give the food a B- and room service food a C. That staff at this hotel do an excellent job and the people in the region are some of the nicest we have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boogie Adventures dune buggy excursion. Top notch and tons of fun!!!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love bird
Ohio
Jun 2, 2012

Second visit

My husband and I have been to this resort twice - in 2009 & 2012. Both times were wonderful. The location and ambiance are unbeatable!! The rooms are decent. We usually stay 5 star and the rooms are not 5 star, but they are good enough for the value of the all-inclusive price. They are clean, but the quality of products (the bed) are okay. The staff is amazing!! They make the vacation amazing!! The staff is incredibly kind and accomodating. It was refreshing to see some of the same staff members (Mario at the bar) that we met 3 years ago. The food is wonderful at the Lobster House, the Mexican and French restaurants. We also enjoyed the lunch buffet best. The ground floor rooms with the hammocks are great- especially if you have an ocean view!! The activities are endless and the staff make everything even better!!! We will definitely be going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WillieV
Sleepy Hollow, New York
May 22, 2012

a perfect couples experience

This is a resort which no one couple should miss. The staff was excellent from top to bottom. Restaurants were all excellent. Cleanliness all around, from pools to beach etc,etc. The Excellence resort is exactly what it says, EXCELLENCE!!!! P.S. shows were also great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top