$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
811 out of 811
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce440
Business
BloomIngton MN
Jan 2, 2014

Great getaway

The staff way super friendly. Alway had chairs avallable for the beach. Sometimes towels were hard to find But stall would away get one for you thou. NIce 2 person jacuzzi in the room. Great room service for the food 24 hrs Wave were pretty big in the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobJC
Business
Missour, USA
Jan 2, 2014

20th anniversary

My husband & I had a marvelous 7 night stay for our 20th anniversary at the Punta Cana Excellence. I can't say enough about the staff, they met every need & want we had. Tons of staffers always working from before sun up to after sun down. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The room was amazing! We booked an ocean view & first room had more of a pool bar view but they put us in a wonderful ocean view first thing next morning. Just like any all inclusive you will stay at, you tend to like some of the food and not some of it, but could always find something to your liking. Get real - this is all inclusive there's always unlimited food. If you go hungry it's your own fault. We tried all but 1 of the 8 restaurants & even had room service a few times. The restaurants were amazing and so fun to go to. We really enjoyed not having armbands and not having to make reservations. If you like to take long walks on the beach this is the place for you. We had a massage & even went horseback riding in the ocean-- you gotta do everything!! The wind and water is slightly rougher because it is on the Atlantic side of island, but we knew that before going there. Those who didn't like wind went to the pool-- which is like no other pool I've ever seen in my life!!! We had a couple of situations, one of us getting sick on deep sea fishing excursion & misplacing luggage on way back to airport but everything worked out fine. The best thing to do is research your resort and then go expecting to have a good time no matter what happens!!!! We will definitely be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamespatrickschmidt
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 30, 2013

Great place to go, especially on a budget - long drive from airport

Was here for my honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Staff was wonderfully attentive and the resort is a great place to be. There are "excursions" available, but you never need to leave the resort to have a fabulous vacation. There were only two downsides to this resort. First, since the resort is located along the open ocean, the beach is super rough. It's hard to swim in, and even harder to boat in. I was hoping to do more watersports but that wasn't possible. (of course, there are a variety of excursions that go to the calmer side of the island, so that's a good option if you're looking to do any of that) Second, this resort is VERY FAR from the airport and the roads are super rough. It was supposed to be an hour according to our transportation, but it was more like 2+ hours. Lots of road construction and lots of potholes. But for the deal we got, I'd deal with those rough roads again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JD99
Business
Boston
Dec 26, 2013

The Excellence is just that

We stayed at the Excellence in Punta Cana for 8 days. The hotel staff is the most welcoming friendly and accommodating group of people I've ever met. Every single staff member we interacted with was overwhelmingly helpful - made out stay so enjoyable. The hotel is SPOTLESS everything is super clean and well maintained The beach was perfect and the drink service was great as well. The food was good, it's always had with all inclusive resorts to find good food. Each restaurant had tons of excellent choices and great wines to match. The shows at night were super entertaining and a lot of fun. I can't stop taking about our time here - I'd recommend this place to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmondaybest
Business
Atlanta, GA
Dec 17, 2013

What an awesome vacation!!

All I can say is that i didn't want to come back!! From the moment we got there till the time we left we were treated like we were something special. First class treatment. If there was anything that we needed it was provided! The shows were great and entertaining. The poolside manner - no one was left out! Don't be expecting 5 star food... this is a different country and the cooking is probably something we aren't used to but it was enjoyable. Has plenty of restaurants to enjoy with different atmospheres! I will be returning... tomorrow isn't soon enough!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zto03
Business
lampasas, texas
Dec 17, 2013

Excellence

The food was below average, the fact that there are 9 restaurants but it was hard to piece together a really good diner. There's only one pool bar for those who like to drink which is kind of a pain. The biggest disappointment was the bed which was rock hard...and by rock hard I mean the floor was probably softer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DBONE
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 2, 2013

Excellente

The staff was awesome, the food was great, the weather perfect. It is an older resort but they are constantly upgrading different areas. They will make your stay special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super happy honeymooner
Business
Oxford, Mississippi
Dec 1, 2013

Amazing honeymoon

My husband and I chose excellence punta Cana for our honeymoon. We went the week of thanksgiving break. Everything about the trip was perfect. We enjoyed every moment. Excellence was the bests! The staff, amenities, beach, pool were all wonderful. We went on a couple excursions booked through people on the beah also, and they were so much fun! I would recommend doing excellence club solely for the private beach area. We just got home yesterday, and I am already ready to go back! Thanks so much excellence punta Cana!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The lobster house was my favorite restaurant! Wish we would've gone there more for dinner. All the restaurants are fabulous though!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pita2013
Business
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Nov 30, 2013

Romantic

Beautiful hotel for couples. The staff was very friendly and respectful. They respect your space and try to make you feel like you're in Paradise. They promote love and closeness without invading your space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen83
Business
Teaneck, NJ
Nov 23, 2013

Good times!

I went to The Excellence with a few of my friends for my 30th birthday. We had a great time with great food and great drinks. My only complaint is that the resort is a bit off the beaten path. There really is no reason to leave the resort unless you are going on an excursion which they completely set everything up for you. However, if you did want to do something not associated with the resort or go for a walk or shop there is really not much you can do because there is nothing around outside the immediate area. The Excellence really does have anything that would need in a nice relaxing adult vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you want to go out to a club there is not much of an option. The club is about 45 minutes and you can set up a shuttle with the hotel but, they do have a minimum amount of people that they would have to take and you have to stay out until they pick you up when the club is closing. It is just easier to hang out at the resort and go to the casino or the "disco" they have there.

Back to menu Return to top