$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
811 out of 811
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geornina
Business
Lanett, Alabama
Mar 15, 2014

Beautiful Resort

The beach was outstanding and the staff was so friendly. Everything was absolutely awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rebecca of Sunnybrook
Business
PA
Feb 25, 2014

Disappointed

We've stayed at lots of all-inclusives. For this price, we were expecting more. The staff was all great, except in the Flavor restaurant, where orders were slow and usually wrong. Food in the restaurants was good-not bad, not terrific. Desserts were terrible. Almost all of the meat was badly overcooked. The hotel wasn't filthy, but wasn't super clean either. Public bathrooms were dirty even right after cleaning women walked out. Our tub had sand in the bottom, and there's pink mildew all over the bathroom tiles. Who knows if it would come off if scrubbed. The towels smelled mildewy. Activities were lacking. No water sports were available because the water was rough, but return visitors said that's alway been the case. Not the resort's fault, but false advertising if not really ever available. The mini-golf was a joke-TERRIBLE condition. We had to find our own balls for ping-pong, and one of the two pool tables was missing a ball. The pool was fairly narrow and was pretty cold, maybe because of partial shade because the air was warm. The craft activity was stringing beads every day. Shooting was never available, archery twice during a week. Snorkeling was not available, except as extra paid excursion. Night shows were good, but theater is not great, so you have to get there pretty early to be able to see. Excellence Club level was included in our package, but would not be worth the extra expense. It's just more free alcohol and snacks, and you could borrow an iPad to use right there. There's free Wi-fi all over the resort that worked reasonably well. The spa was pretty good. The hydrotherapy was a nice "extra". Unfortunately, I would not go here again or recommend this resort. For the same amount, you can have much more in Cancun or the Bahamas. People who'd been to other Excellence hotels said this one did not compare. Without a major facelift, this resort will struggle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DEE O
Business
Absecon,NJ
Feb 22, 2014

disappointing

The hotel needs to be updated; food not so good. Food in Mexico a lot better. Staff need to learn to communicate better.The water and the beach were beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Asian restaurant was the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss B and Mr C
Business
Vicenza, Italy
Feb 5, 2014

Awsome Resort

My husband and I spend 10 nights at Excellence Punta Cana. Everything was exactly the way we hoped it would be. I have never met a Hotel staff more friendly and helpful as this one. I also loved the fact that everything was in walking distance and you didn't have to ride all over the resort to get to a restaurant, like in so many other resorts. The beds were a little to hard for my taste, but that's just me...my husband loved it . There was water volleyball and water Zumba, beach volleyball, bingo and funny pool games . There was a jazz musician, a show and dancing every night......something for everyone . The resort has 9 restaurants and we tried them all !! The food was absolutely great. We will definitely go back and I can't wait !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Syd Sr.
Business
Park Forest, Illinois
Feb 1, 2014

Annual Trip

Best getaway ever. Will be making a return trip next January and every January after that. Extremely happy with the total experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dandydon1
Business
Iowa
Jan 27, 2014

Great time

The staff was great. The food was very good, somethings were not to our liking buts that's the local food, They always made sure we had something to eat. Ramone at the Martini bar knows his drinks. Enjoyed hanging out there before and after the show, good place to meet people. Our room in bldg. faced the pool and ocean on the second floor. Great quiet location. The beach is the most beautiful, turquoise water as far as you can go out. Never a problem getting a chair by the pool or beach. Very clean place with lots to do. Fernando at the front desk was exceptional. Took care of all of our wishes. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chadillac
Business
fords.nj
Jan 15, 2014

winter getaway

my wife and I had an excellent time. weather was perfect (January). mid 80's all week long with a nice breeze. breakfast and lunch is offered in a form of a buffet. plenty of choices, but nothing is spectacular. its good but not breathtaking. on the other hand, dinner is absolutely amazing. they have 8 restaurants. our favorite was the lobster house and the Barcelona. rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. the nightly shows are entertaining. not Vegas entertaining, but its not bad. overall we had an amazing time. the only thing I would change is the beds. it is a bit hard. would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for an awesome time without kids screaming 24/7. remember ADULTS only.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Barcelona and Lobster House was our fav

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jens travel stay
Business
California
Jan 13, 2014

Jens travel stay with friends

This hotel is breathtaking. Nothing about it looks cheap. The staff is so nice. I liked how we see the same staff everyday, your able to build a bond. Also the food was pretty good as well. Considering we are in the DR, you can't expect them to have the best food but it was good enough. By far the Mexican and Asian resultant were the best. The spa was nice. A little bit pricy but was so nice. Oh! Everyone speaks English!! French!! Spanish!! The cons ... This resort is defiantly for older people and a couples resort. This isn't a place to go of you are young and single! Lesson learned haha. All the night shows and activities are based on having a love one with you. The drinks .. There is only so much you can choose from. Their alcohol choice is very Minimal. And only have three types of beer, their beer, corona and coolers. Coolers and corona is very hard to find!! Almost impossible! Yes the wifi is free!! Pool closes at 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ladies, you can just wear Your beach Sandals! No need to wear heels when going to dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne and Al
Business
Los angeles
Jan 11, 2014

Perfect relaxing vacation

From the moment we arrived we were spoiled with a glass of champagne! Everywhere in the hotel staff were the friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble The pool area was wonderful and only steps from the beach We would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fish dishes were good The meat in the grill were the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamming jamika
Business
atlanta ga
Jan 5, 2014

Great time in punta cana

The property was beautiful. Very spacious but not too huge that you need a golf cart to get around. The restaurants were great. The french, Mexican and tapas were our favs. The staff is amazing. If you can go for an ocean view room. We upgraded once we got there. The activities were plenty and fun. Loved aqua aerobics. Gym and spa are awesome. We had a great time and was so worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We asked the concierge to get us a cab ride into the city to experience authentic dominican food, tourist attractions, and get cheaper souvenirs. Cab ride was about $90 u.s. but he stayed with us all day and took us all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top