$173 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto 55, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
385 out of 385
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gk
Business
punta cana dominican republic
Jun 9, 2010

ok resort

Not as good as riviera maya mexico .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all resturants are not open every day.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
parsippany, new jersey
May 31, 2011

Hotel needs improvement

Some of the worker were very friendly>>> You can never find a manager on this resort site. Room size was good, A/C didn't work right for 3 nights and Dreams didn't give us another room til the 4th night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone in the future. Also the grounds were not sprayed for misquotes. All restaurants are outside, but 1 mgr at ocean rest. gave us a can of off to spray ourselves. great job...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food was good

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brant Wegleman
Business
The Left Coast
May 27, 2011

Dream Location - Blah Resort

From beginning to end, this Resort had the opportunity to blow us away. It was our first trip to the Carribean, we were with 40 friends for a wedding, and man was the scene set for a great time. Thankfully, despite a below average hotel experience, we still managed to have a blast on our trip to Punta Cana, in spite - instead of because of - our hotel experience. The food was borderline terrible, the beach was nice - but ocean for the most part is unswimable due to a large, dead, corral reef around it, and there just generally seemed to be zero attention to detail. The good: The Staff - for the most part. Good thing to know, not all bartenders are created equal. $2 goes a long way with anyone. A few were generally rude and inconsiderate, but any hotel in the world can have this problem, so I give them a star for the staff. The pool - Lots and lots of space. Plenty of room to separate kiddos from adults and lots of water-based activities. The beach itself: On the sand, lots of chairs, cabanas, thatched huts, etc... Slow, but consistent wait service and a nearby bar. Oh, and a perfect corona commercial leaning palm tree...yes, it actually was very memorable. The Bad: The Food: I know I covered this earlier, but god it was awful. The buffet easily was the best of it and thats not saying much. One helpful tip here, eat in the "wine room" between Oceanea and Sea Side grill, you can order from any restaurant, its quiet, and you just have to buy one bottle of wine. The food will still suck, but with enough people its a fun time. Booze: I know most people are just looking for island cocktails, but for me a "5-Star Resort" should have mid to high end booze. There selection was easily below cheap college bar status. Cigars: Bring you own or buy off the resort. Sky high prices in the resort for obvious fakes. If you must buy here - buy the Sabor Cubano, they'll ask 25, but they'll take 8-10 bucks for it. They sell for about $80 a box retail, but are nice smokes. Avoid everything Cohiba, its all fake and many were showing signs of mold and mites. Facilities: Everything except the "disco" closed at 11p. Boo hiss. Ocean: Most of the beach isn't swimable due to a large corral reef surrounding it. Lots of people in our party were seriously cut/bloodied trying to swim nearby. Service Providers/Excursion/Transportation: PRINT EVERY CONFIRMATION YOU HAVE. There is a serious lack of organization between the hotel and the vendors they host. If we hadn't have had printed copies of everything we'd have been out of luck on a couple of trips/transports etc.... Room: Actually, this is more of a neutral. We had the swimout room and it was very nice. However, the air conditioner wasn't particularly effective, they removed the secondary unit from our room 1/2 way through our stay w/o notice, and the electricity would randomly pop on/off. Did provide very nice robes as well though. The Details: Yes, this is vague. But if you've stayed in enough hotels/resorts you know what I mean. They just didn't sweat the small stuff that can make the difference between a great stay and purely an average one. In Summation: It was actually a pretty okay experience, but they claim to by a 5-Star Resort and as such it should be expected to really blow me away. They fell very very very short of that mark. I'd suggest checking out another resort unless you can get this one at a smoking rate (less than $70 pp per night.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a temperature controlled wine cellar between their two beach front restaurants, Oceanea and Seaside Grill. There are a very few tables in the room and as long as you buy a bottle of wine you can dine in here. The food will still be terrible, but we had 10-people, 5-bottles of wine, a great server, an appearance by the marriachies (or Dominican Equivalent) and a heck of a good time.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mass
Nov 17, 2009

Ok resort

The hotel is huge, but the pool that was the main selling point happened to be 3feet deep throughout....no deep ends at all, and the ocean was rocky...the food well lets just say I lost 3 pounds on this vacation I have been to the DR 3 times before and loved it but if I go back its worth spending alittle more money and staying at a nicer resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicgao il
Jan 18, 2010

People not friendly food bad

No one spoke english food bad room small prices to high in shops .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daylyn
Business
North Bergen, NJ
Oct 15, 2009

Would never do this again.

Where do I start... The food was so bad... I have been to so many hotels and have never encountered such nasty food. I went for a wedding and we ate ate at the Mexican restaurant for a rehearsal dinner.. oh boy was I two steps from throwing up at the table! The Japaneses food made half if not most became violently ill! My husband was within the people who became ill and I needed some Gatoraid does that sound like an extreme request... Well apparently they felt it was and told me that I had to go to the main shop which is not associated with the hotel(?) hmmmm usually I would just go get it but.. my husband had a high fever and just not well.. AND I had to walk 20 min to the main lobby! The room was located to steps from the beach and pool.. but a world away for everything else! (20 min) THE ROOM KEY FROM HE!! 1st time it was during the day so no prob I go get it fixed... 2nd time..So the room key stops working again.. Okay it happens but the lobby is a world away but hey I walk threw.. I wait at the desk for 30 min before I can get help. They fixed the key..I go to the room.. guess what the key is still not working! I called them up from the hallway the desk tells me well you have to come back up here because I need to verify who you are.. HELLO I was just at the desk.. So finally after begging yes I said begging.. they said they would send someone.. we waited and waited and waited.. I stopped a man that worked there that happened to be a security guard he allowed us in to the room. The key person came an hour latter. Room service gone wrong.. So room service is 24 hours.. YAY...Aaaa no they only have 5 items on the menau and you have to wait up to 3 hours for it to come to your room! To top everything off they forced me to complete a survey and said that it was mandatory for check out are you kidding me. Good attentive staff. minus the front desk and customer service were awesome. Someone could not pay me to go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Geesh
Business
Bristol, CT
Mar 29, 2011

Falls Short of Expectations

Resort was picked by my brother for their wedding. After looking it over, the price was right and it looked decent (even considering the kids allowed). As unbiased as I can be (you'll find out why later) - the hotel fell flat compared to the Excellence in Punta Cana or other Excellence's at other locations. The employees were hit and miss - some where enjoyable will others were horrible. Had ZERO personality and frankly didn't do a very good job. And this comes from a Spanish speaking (white) family - where we can normally get them going, as they are always VERY surprised that we speak Spanish. The rooms were subpar, not terrible, but the "swimouts" were NOT the type that you can get at other all-inclusive resorts. We had the refurbished which were better on the eye than the older - but not much. The food was also hit and miss - the "Grill" was god awful but other than that it was passable. The Hotel and Beach were decent to look at - actually the Beach/Waves were better than other places. Last but not least - We had our Cell phone stolen by an employee while at the pool. Fortunately, he was idiotic enough to make phone calls to his buddies from it and it was trackable (new Droid X) using Google Lattitude. However, the Hotel still hasn't done much. It's a company phone, so the financial impact really hasn't affected my review (but seriously - do you want to pick a place that won't take responsibility for their own employees???)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 24, 2009

Great service but not a nice beach

Far away from Punta Cana, the beach is not nice, I was very dissapointed. The service was good. The swiming pool is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The sushi was the best meal.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sheryl R.
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 8, 2011

Customer Service HORRIBLE!!!

Hotel was absolutely beautiful however the front desk customer service was horrible. Swim out room that we paid extra for was not what we expected. In order to "swim out" we had to either jump over a huge hedge or walk all the way around the building. I asked for the Manager but was never even given his name. I will NEVER stay at another Dreams resort!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Punta couple
Business
Boston
Mar 19, 2009

Bad Food!

The resort is gorgeous, but the food was not edible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top