$376 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas Uvero Alto 55, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
427 reviews
Awesome honeymoon

The service and employees were very nice. Would go back in a heartbeat. See full review

  • Nathaniel M.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Perfect getaway

My experience was excellent. All the staff in the property was very helpful. I stayed for 10 days... See full review

  • Frank and Olga
  • Nov 30, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach oasis with resort-wide freeform pool
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa – All Inclusive brings fantasy to life on the secluded beachfront landscape at Playas Uvero Alto in Punta Cana. The resort design angles accommodations away from the beach in rows so that most guest rooms offer views of the ocean. Freeform swimming pools wind throughout the property like Venice canals, lined with rustic bridges and coconut trees. The all-inclusive deal means hassle-free international dining at six restaurants and fun family activities ranging from tennis to an ocean trampoline.
Highlights
  • Celebrate sanctuary at Playas Uvero Alto, in a more remote corner of Punta Cana
  • Swim in one of the largest pools in the Dominican Republic, one which winds throughout the resort
  • Enjoy extraordinary activities such as Euro-bungee and an ocean trampoline
Location
Dreams Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playas Uvero Alto in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Sweet dreams at Dreams Punta Cana begin with a deluxe nonsmoking guest room or suite. All include a four-poster bed, satellite television, air conditioning, minibar, balcony or patio, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), bathrobes, twice-daily housekeeping, luxury bath amenities and alarm clock with MP3 docking station.
Dining
Guests at Dreams Punta Cana enjoy all-inclusive dining at six different restaurants, including the pan-Asian Himitsu, al fresco seafood restaurant Oceana and international buffet at World Cafe. The resort also offers room service as well as private romantic dinner service on the beach. Ten bars and lounges add spice to a stay.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (29.2 mi/47 km)
Attractions
  • Basilica de Higuey (19.6 mi/31.5 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (19.7 mi/31.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (30.6 mi/49.2 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (41.1 mi/66.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (52.7 mi/84.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (121 mi/194 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Swim-out Room
This room category includes lounge chairs in the terrace, pool towels in the room, and direct access to the pool.
Deluxe Room
Magnificent view to the mountains gardens or pool.
Honeymoon Suite
Spacious 57.05 m2 / 614.08 sq ft suite with an oversized living room, private terrace with Jacuzzi, television set including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower, and pool towels.
Preferred Club Deluxe Room
In addition to the amenities received in the Premium Deluxe Room guests staying in the preferred club receive the additional amenities: private lounge, private check-in and check-out, VIP status and amenities, upgraded toiletries, concierge service, complimentary newspaper in room everyday, upgraded minibar and room service, use of the Preferred Club with daily continental breakfast, afternoon and evening hors d'oeuvres and exquisite desserts, complimentary internet access.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite
Larger than Premium Deluxe Room with a living room, private terrace with jacuzzi, plasma TV including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower and beach towels. With the Preferred Club amenities.
Preferred Club Junior Suite
Larger than Premium Deluxe Room with a living room, private terrace with jacuzzi, plasma TV including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower and beach towels. With the Preferred Club amenities.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

Seaside Grill
Under a giant open-air palapa located seaside offering a variety of a la carte grilled steaks and burgers with an appetizer salad and dessert bar. Located beachside offering a variety of la carte grilled specialties; breakfast and lunch available to Preferred Club guests. A la carte dinner 6:30pm - 10:30pm; Dress code: Casual.
World Cafe
World Cafe is our main buffet restaurant featuring a variety of local and international cuisine. Open air restaurant Continental Breakfast: 6:30am - 7am / Breakfast: 7am - 11am / Lunch: 12:30pm - 4pm / Dinner: 6:30pm - 11pm Dress Code: Breakfast and Lunch - Informal / Dress Code: Dinner - Casual.
Bordeaux
Enjoy gourmet dining at this elegant and exquisite French restaurant. la carte dinner: 7pm - 10:30pm; Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed. Adults only (18 years and older) / Air-conditioned.
Portofino
Featuring a variety of gourmet Italian specialties; Air-conditioned. la carte dinner: 6:30pm - 10:30pm.
Barefoot Grill
Delicious burgers and hot dogs served beachside; lunch: 12:30pm - 5pm.
CoCo Cozy Corner Cafe
Open from 6am - 6pm serving coffee, tea and pastries.
Oceana
Talented chefs using the best local and imported ingredients create a variety of a la carte fresh grilled local and international seafood specialties served in the fresh air palapa located by the beach.
La Trattoria
Located just inside the World Cafe to the right, this candle-lit restaurant offers a variety of innovative and traditional Italian specialties.
Himitsu
Asian cuisine featuring Tepanyaki grill tables in an elegant oriental atmosphere - Tepanyaki tables are restricted to guests age 12 and older. Air-conditioned, a la carte dinner: 6:30pm - 10:30pm. Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed.
El Patio
Authentic la carte restaurant with the aromas and flavors of traditional Mexican cuisine. Air-conditioned, a la carte dinner 6:30pm - 10:30pm. Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Facilities Room Size (Sq. Mts.) Size (Sq. Ft.) Meal Capacity Santo Domingo Ball Room 366 3939 300 1 Break out Room 121 1302 100 1 Break out Room 125 1345 100 1 Break out Room 120 1292 100 The same ballrooms converts into 3 break out rooms according to the capacity above. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subjects to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (427)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
427 out of 427
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J Who Likes to Go Away
Business
Hartford, CT
Jan 17, 2013

Some Bumps that Got in the Way of a Great Trip

Dreams Punta Cana is an ok hotel. It's about what you would expect, except for a few specific issues we had. The first was that we woke up the first morning there to discover that the sheets had moved and under neath was . . . a bloodstain! We talked to the front desk who said they would change it, and never did. When we went back to complain they actually said - and I am sure this is a language barrier issue - that all the mattresses were the same?!?! Finally they did switch out the mattress, but did nothing to compensate us for our time, effort to get the issue fixed, and our horror. The next big issue I have with Dreams is that while they say they have 6 restaurants (and they do) they do not tell you that for breakfast and lunch you can only eat at one (plus a little coffee stand) unless you are a member! Also bottles of wine were an extra change. Finally, there was all together too much selling going on at the resort. When we arrived we were subjected to a sales pitch for another of their resorts (we would get free stuff if we would listen to a longer one!). Then there were vendors both on the walkways at the resort and offering excursions by the beach. I felt like I was being hassled almost constantly. I have visited another all inclusive in Punta Cana a few years ago and did not feel that way. Maybe things have changed in the past few years. Overall, the food was good and sometimes great, the drinks were plentiful, and the staff was nice and helpful. Again, if it weren't for the few bumps and the way they were handled (or not handled) I would have given this a higher rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Learn a few words or phrases in the local language and do not expect everyone to speak fluent English.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hlang
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 23, 2013

Everything is great until...

The hospitality was exellent. That is until I checked out. I was asked to pay $50 for "phone" usage. They said I made a call outside and it was 20 minutes. That was questionable since I did not make any calls outside. So I asked about it. They asked me if I made any calls outside, and I told them the only calls I made was to the front desk. 20 minutes later or so, I was "allowed" to leave. When we got to the front gate, they refused to open the gate and asked us to go back to the hotel. When I got back to the hotel, they "night manager" came out and said I had to pay because I was a liar. He said I asked this gentleman (a guy I don't know who) to transfer me to this number (he pointed to a number). Then he continued to say I was a liar and said "I do not want you in my hotel, you must pay the bill and leave". First, I did not lie, I wanted to know what I was paying for, second the only "transfer" I got was to a number that was to the wrong place. I had called the front desk and asked how I could check into my flight and they said let me find out... and before I knew it I heard on the phone, "if you have a lost baggage, please stay on the line..." I did not so I waited a few minutes hoping to talk to someone, but no one ever got on the line so I hung up. According to them, that was a transfer (I'm unaware) but if they had just told me that then I am ok to pay for that. However the "night Manager" just came out and accused me of lying, yelling and insulting me. I only stayed at the hotel for a total of 13 hours and really wanted to go back, but after this, I definetely would never go back and never would recommend to any of my family or friends. The "nightly Manager" name was Junior S... There are many hotels there, choose other so you won't leave with a headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reading, Pa.
Nov 16, 2010

NOT the best Hotel in the area

The staff was great, the chef's have good quality food but they don't know how to cook it. ex. they burnt the lobster and the duck was so dry you couldn't eat it. It was not a 4-4 1/2 star hotel at best it was a 2- 1/2 or 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not expecting too much
Business
Crown Point, IN
Sep 3, 2010

Great Service & food -rooms disappoint

Looking at the pictures online and reading the reviews we were really excited. When we arrived we found there are many things they don't tell you. The rooms are small, clean but not nice if you know what I mean and the beds are uncomfortable. The mini-fridge was never really all that cold. The bathroom mirror had discolorations, the tub had paint on the tiles and in general it felt subpar. The service is amazing however, the employees are ALL really really nice and pleasant and offer really great service. We planned on getting really dressed up each evening because several restaurants have a dress code. But after sunning during the day and the high humidity, it is uncomfortable because the restaurants are not air conditioned. If I could pack all over again, I would only bring nice polos or long sleeve button downs and summer slacks. Overall I suppose you can we say we were really pumped up about this vacation and we wanted to leave after seeing our hotel. Of course we couldn't and it ended up being fun because we made it fun, but don't expect nice rooms like a five star hotel in the U.S. The pool is no deeper than 3 feet but it is HUGE. It wraps around the entire grounds. A couple restaurants have really nice breezes coming in off the ocean. The food overall was better than average. The french restaurant Bordeaux was a standout. The only beer offered is El Presidente..tastes a little watered down. I did ok for a week but then came down with a little intestinal distress if you know what I mean. Be careful - don't drink from the tap or even brush your teeth with tap water. They do offer unlimited bottled water. We have to say the price is right though, if we had to pay for all those nice meals it would have really added up. I like to think of this place as like going to a buddies lakehouse where the surroundings are a little rough, but you can eat a bunch of really great food and get loaded everyday if that is what suits you. It could have been a much much better experience for us if the rooms where on another level. It cost us 70 bucks each way from the hotel for a cab. It costs you 10 bucks per person to enter and 20 per person to exit. You don't need a lot of money to spend while there. We did go on the snorkeling tour which was fun...89 pp. Only go here if you are not super concerned with room quality and looking to save money on meals..the free drinks are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The 200 dollar coupon they offer only brings the price down for the spa to at home type prices. Not worth it. They try to sell you bottles of wine at every meal too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Dreams is more of a nightmare

When we arrived, they had lost our reservation, and had no room for us. After waiting hours, they finally found us a room but the resort had lost our luggage!!! Every time we left and then returned to our room, the clock was back to 12:00, the room was sweltering hot, and the refrigerator was warm. Afour 4 days of this, we found out from another guest that there were motion detectors in the rooms, and if there was no activity, they turned the power off!!! They claim there is maid service twice a day, but we had days that the room was not cleaned at all. The ocean is beautiful, but you can't go in it. There is a major seaweed problem at this resort. There were tons of it washed up on the beach. If you could get through the seaweed, you could only wade out about to your waist, and would then smash your legs into giant, jagged rocks (felt like broken concrete). I gashed my shin wide open, and our daughter was covered with bruises from hitting the rocks. On the brighter side, the food and the entertainment were both wonderful. The staff were friendly and personable, but VERY underpaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anniversary Vacation
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 22, 2011

Dissapointed

The air conditioning in all of the rooms, and restaurants did not work well. In fact, be ready to sweat if your staying at this resort. We had the deluxe swim-out room, which was far from deluxe. The bedding and pillows to say the least were quite uncomfortable. The breakfast buffet was average and the lunch and dinner were below average in taste and selection. My wife and I did enjoy the romantic candlelight dinner, which ranges from $100-$160USD, the lobster was excellent. Be careful, they harass you to go to another hotel, so you can save money on your next visit, which is actually a time share sales scheme. The candle light dinner on the beach was the best experience from the vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Candlelight Dinner was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st.louis, mo.
Jul 23, 2010

less than average

the hotel had a poor beach with big rocks in water, it was hot everywhere meaning the casino etc were too hot. the food was below average and the rooms were tiny. the whole place just needs a makeover. the a/c in the rooms was pretty good though. we stayed at the majestic last time and it was average but way better than this place. i dont understand why these mega resorts dont do everything they can to make everyone comfortable at all times. that means installing big fans and creating a breeze in the lobby, the theatre, everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the food at the japanese place was good. the rest was less than average. the vendors were very rude.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton/Akron, OH
Sep 7, 2007

Excellent Pool

The Sunscape the Beach Punta Cana had one of the nicest pools and beach areas I've visited. The grounds of the resort were nicely landscaped and maintained. The room we stayed in (2 double beds with pool view) was very small. The beds resembled cots,and the sheets/comforters were thread bare. The room had vinyl flooring throughout, and often smelled like antiseptic from the cleaning crew. We also found a cockroach upon returning to our room one evening. The staff was polite, but not over-enthusiastic or very expedient. Overall it is a nice resort for anyone who wants to spend their days laying in the sun. But if you are a person who enjoys activities and sightseeing, this is not the best choice as there is nothing to do or see near this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Jul 9, 2011

It was ok

The beach on the resort was not clear as most Carribean island beaches are. If you like to party, this is the place for you. Drinks were great and did not have to make reservations for dinner. If you like a more quiet setting, this is not a place for you. There really is no teenage program. Perfect for big groups to visit. The Chinese and Mexican restaurants is excellent. The rooms are not air conditioned well and issues with the door locks. We were locked out of our room 3 times before they transferred us to a new room. Another couple could not lock there door. The bartenders and waiters were great, they even served you on the beach, where it is quiet. :) Lots and lots of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the horse back riding, buggies and snorkeling with the Marinarium. Resort is nestled away which we enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justanother vacationer
Business
Illinois
Jul 5, 2011

Hot, Hot, Hot

The pool was great. But it was so hot and the hotel restaurants and casino did not have working air conditioning. Even some rooms were warm. The food was average at best. I would not return even though the facility is beautiful. The beach had a lot of coral and you had to be careful wadding into the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top