$294 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto 55, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
455 out of 455
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
May 23, 2011

Quiet escape

My boyfriend and I were there from May 12th - 19th [...] The room was nice and clean and beds were comfortable. We were dissapointed that we had to walk so far to get anywhere in the resort. Also, there are no elevators in that hotel so it's not very handicapped friendly or if you have things to carry. We were put on the 3rd floor which was a walk for us everytime we left our room. It's a quite large resort but you will have to walk to get where you're going. We had a lot of rain so it was a mess trying to get in our room when it started raining, most of the resort is out doors. It wasn't hard to find a seat on the beach or by the pool because it's so spread out. which was nice. The restaurants were a dissapointment so we resorted to the buffet 6 out of the 7 days we were there. The Asian restaurant "Hitmitsu" was a popular place to dine but it was very hectic to get in, it took us 4 tries to finally dine there on our last night there. The staff are friendly but not accomodating, over all we made the best of our trip but we would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to dine at Himitsu, go there right when it opens which is 5:30 and put in your name. Oceana had terrible food, don't eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 30, 2009

Not bad

My traveling companions all agreed that the resort has some very nice amenities like a massive pool, a first rate spa, and a beautifully landscaped property. The guestrooms were disappointing and best described as "tired". The air conditioning did not work well which left the room feeling warm and damp. The food was spotty. The Mexican restaurant was by far our best experience--the food was excellent, the service was excellent. Stay away from the Chinese restaurant! The food tasted prepackaged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bohunk06
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 8, 2009

Dreams Punta Cana Review

All-in-all, we had a good time. We were there for my brothers wedding so there was about 25 family and friends there. The resort screwed up the wedding details which was pretty upsetting to my brother and his fiance. They had to switch the day of the wedding because they overbooked other weddings. It turned out to not be a legal marriage which they were told would be. And other small problems as well. Aside from that, the staff were not very friendly. Some were very friendly, but about 75% seemed to give the impression that people are an inconvenience to them. One restaurant took 2 1/2 hours from start to finish to eat. And the resort was just too big! Yes, it had a lot of stuff to do, but a 6 minute walk (probably close to a half mile) from my room to the lobby where I had to go every morning for breakfast is too far for me. But there were pleny of things that we did like. The beach was really nice. The food was pretty good. The drinks weren't too bad. I did hear a lot of complaints that they were weak on alcohol (which I agree). We would ask for extra rum, etc. but never got it. The pool was great. It was probably the nicest and biggest pool I have ever seen and been in. The entertainment was pretty good. Although the main entertainment area is very hot and uncomfortable. They need to get some fans or something to move the air. Even at 9:00 in the evening, the air was hot, humid and stagnant. Again, all-in-all we had fun. I would rate it about a 6.5 out of 10. I would not go there again and would probably not refer anyone to them either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Try to get room in the middle buildings. That would be buildings 2,3,7 and 8. That way you are in the middle of everything and can save some time walking. If you are in building 1 like I was, you would spend 20 minutes in walking time to get from the room, to the lobby for breakfast and back down to the beach. And thats a brisk walk. I had a grandmother there that never stopped complaining because she couldn't make it to anything walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macomb, MI
Jul 1, 2009

Wedding Vacation

It was nice; I wouldn't say it was great. My son got married and it was a beautiful wedding. I was disappointed in the beach area so I stayed by the pool the whole week. The rooms were a bit smelly and somewhat clean. They probaly could be updated a bit. The pool area was really nice. The resturants were o.k. There was some wait staff that did not know any English at all. At times that was very fustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New jersey
Jul 21, 2009

Decent value.

The hotel had a lot to offer as far as entertainment and activities. The staff was extremely friendly, and the food was decent. The rooms were average at best. The location was my biggest complaint about the resort. It was about an hour from the airport, and was on the Atlantic ocean rather than the carribbean sea. The beach was not as nice as the last resort I stayed at, melia caribe y tropical. Overall I enjoyed my stay, it was a definite upgrade over th last resort I stayed at, but I probably would look to stay somewhere with a nicer beach next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Scuba

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erik Anthony
Business
Warner Robins, GA
Aug 26, 2009

Dream Wedding, but not average hotel

My fiance and I went to Dreams with a group of nine friends and family. The resort is very beautiful and the pool is amazing. If you are a beach and ocean person this resort might not be for you. The rooms are nice, we stayed in a honeymoon suite, but dated which isn't a big thing. We ate at 5 of the 7 restaurants and from our experience and talking with friends we made the restaurants are hit or miss. Sometimes the food is good and sometimes it's not, probably a situation of trying to teach people from a third world country how to prepare food for an upscale restaurant. In all we all had fun and were good for the first 5 days. Days 6 and 7 were not so good, my fiance and I both got sick she was vomitting and I was nauseaus. Most people tend to blame this on unprofessionalism as far as food handling. I believe that the problem lies in the way that the food is prepared, not cleanliness issues but maybe certain ingredients used in the Domincan Republic that don't get along with Americans. My only real problem is with the medical office at the resort. My fiance was vomitting so much the night before our trip back home that I was worried she would get dehydrated. So I called the hotel's medical office, after I managed to get her to the office we were greeted by what appeared to be a nice young man that was a doctor. After spending 20 minutes with him I believe that he was some kind of witch doctor. He told us he was giving my now wife medication that was given to kemotheropy patients for nausea. We really believe it was one syringe of saline solution and another syringe of something that burned to make her think she was getting medication. When we left the office she didn't feel any better than when we got there. He also tried to talk us into going into town for her to get an IV for 6 to 8 hours, seemed to me like he was fishing for more money. My insurance company will definitely be made aware of any unusual things on our bill. We both started feeling better as soon as we left the resort on the way to the Domincan airport. In all I would say that if you are looking for a cheap but beautiful resort Dreams is a good place to go. If you want a Carribbean beach don't bother and if you want fabulous food go somewhere else. But if you want a great wedding this resort and I would geuss the other Dreams resorts are good. We did have alot of fun the first 5 days and the great people at the bar in the middle pool area are the best, [...], [...], [...], and [...]. They are a new extention of my familiy as far as I am concerned. But unfortunatley I will not see them again because I will never return to Dreams resort in Punta Cana. I honestly believe that 20 years from now the Dominican Republic will catch up on tourism to where Jamaica and Mexico are today but right now they aren't quite there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Of the places we ate I think that Oceana is the best restaurant in the whole resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 29, 2008

cleanest hotel Ive ever seen

Very clean, staff is great, service perfect, beach the best,pool beautiful. The food was ok at best but one night I had a surprise in my fried chicken peice, I tore into the peice and found that it was a paper towel or napkin that was breaded and deep fried, the manager came over and quickly wisked it off my table and took it to the kitchen, when he came back he told me they ran a first class kitchen. I have worked in kitchens and that never happens unintentionaly. When you walked through the court yard people were selling jewlery and did not know the meaning of the word no, one guy followed my wife to our building, it made my wife feel very uneasy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 4, 2009

Just OK

LOCATION Dreams Punta Cana is an hour drive from the Punta Cana airport. It is not located on the Carribean side so the water is not clear-blue like you might imageine it. THE RESORT The resort is very beautiful - looks new and clean. The pool is huge and is almost the entire length of the resort - very nice! There are beds on the beach which are amazing but in mid July it is a little too hot to lay out there! It's more of a family resort - lots of families and children. I would not recommend this resort for couples. Service is great, especially as the bars and reception. Not so nice in the casino though! The spa is nice, very clean and has little bungalo's for each massage room, very relaxing! - I got an hour massage which was suppose to be a "deep tissue massage" but was nothing special. FOOD My stomach didn't feel right the whole week I was there. We always felt sick after meals. The buffet is the only thing thats available for breakfast. The french restaurant was the best because it was adults only but the food was nothing great. The habachi in the Japanese restaurant is a disgrace! He didn't tell any jokes and just let the rice sit there and burn the whole time. The chinese was OK. The seafood restaurant was gross. The Mexican was OK, but don't order a margarita - NOT good! There are bars located throughout the resort so you can pretty much get a drink anywhere. You can order anything you want to drink and they will make it. The alcohol was not watered down or anything and they will give you extra shots if you ask. ROOMS Don't let the pictures fool you - the rooms are not that big! We stayed in the basic room and although the rooms are fairly nice and clean we seemed to have a different problem everyday and ended up switching rooms twice. Some of the problems we had were ants, air conditioner didn't work, alarm clock didn't work, blow dry didn't work, and weird smell coming from somewhere. Bed was hard. The resort was nice but nothing exceptional, if the food was better and better suited for couples and adults I might go back. But for those reasons you will not see me back at Dreams!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LENA B
Business
new york
Oct 12, 2009

GREAT PLACE WITH TOO MANY PROBLEMS

Service is nice. rooms are very clean but old. toilet was getting clogged every time of use. Light block outs happened at night about 3 times....so no air conditining in the room when its about 90 degrees outside. Workers were polite and very helpful. Food was ok. Beach is very nice....and pool is huge and nice. over all we had great time over there. i might never go back just because i do change up places all the time. I would recommend going only after u speak with hotel people and see if they electricity problems were solved. My friend had wedding over there and we were with out light for 1 hour waiting for music to go on, food to be cooked. night life was great! shows were excelent! good entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
point pleasent new jersey
Sep 8, 2009

ok for the 2nd timer

electrical blackouts,with no generation back up for air conditioned rooms with the heat was bad . and this happened two nights ,sept 3rd and sept 4th... very hot .long electrial repair time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

long walks to rooms.do most sun protection at duty free at airport. stores at resort very very expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top