$173 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto 55, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
389 out of 389
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Water Worshipper
Couples
Ontario, Canada
Nov 5, 2012

Loved it!

Enjoyed this hotel greatly! I was staying at this resort because I was a guest at a wedding at the resort. Everything during our stay was perfect. Our room faced the garden and was quiet, the food selection was good, the staff very friendly. The only aspect that could have been improved is that the pool closes at 6pm and I find that this is pretty early. I would have been great to have the pool area available in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elle and M
Couples
KSq, PA
Jun 15, 2009

Not what I expected

We attended a destination wedding. The wedding was very nice, and I was happy to be there, but it was so hot and humid - all day and every day. There was simply no escape from the heat and the humidity except for your room. The wedded couple had prepared welcome bags for each of the guests who would be attending their wedding, and we had never received ours. We had called the front desk to ask about it and was told rather rudely "that they didn't understand what we were saying". I'm all for culture, but it would be recommended to travel with someone who speaks the native language or has at least some knowledge of it. I am very much a beach person, so if you are looking to go to the beach, it is not recommended that you go here. The resort is not on the Carribean side of the island. It's still on the Atlantic so there were no crystal blue waters that we were expecting. The beach was rocky, and I actually heard another traveller complain that he almost cut his foot open on one of the rocks. We did take one excursion and were not impressed. The ATV 4-wheeling tour was a disaster. It had rained in the evening the night prior to our tour. We had gotten covered in mud that is impossible to get out. We were all herded down into the "cave" to go swimming in the natural spring. There was trash and broken bottles lying about - exactly where you want to walk when you have bare feet. The only nice thing about this excursion was the beach which was on the Carribean side but we only remained for about 20 minutes. Most often, the maid service was running late, and we did not receive all of the amenities and niceties that the other guests had received. The pool was very nice and if you do go, I would recommend getting a swim-up room since the ocean was an extreme disappointment. The service was first-class. The food was simply alright. Nothing really to brag about. There were lots of food options, but some of the restaurants were a little disappointing. For a romantic evening try El Bordeaux (adults only), and for good steak and seafood, The Seaside Grill. One of the waitstaff actually kicked us out of the bar side while we were waiting on our table at El Bordeaux because a wedding was taking place a few feet over. We were standing at a very respectful distance in order to give them privacy. There was no way of knowing that we weren't allowed to stand there. We had watched other couples go up and stand in the exact same place that we had stood, and they weren't asked to leave. I'm not really sure what that was all about, but I was on vacation so I tried not to get too ruffled by it. Our room was literally falling apart - the ceiling was falling in, and none of the doors appeared to be hung right. I would give it a rating of Average. We won't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Jun 12, 2009

Fabulous Vacation!

The hotel was wonderful! The staff was amazing!! They always went above and beyond to make our stay perfect! The only bad part of our trip was the drive to and from the airport.....SCARY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baltimore, Maryland
Jun 11, 2009

Great Getaway

Enjoyed a four day getaway with my wife and another couple and had a very enjoyable stay. There was a nice mix of couples, groups and families staying at Dreams. Very clean rooms, pool area and beach. Good food with a nice mix of restaurants to choose from. Zero bugs. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fairfield, NJ
Jun 8, 2009

Nice Stay

I stay at an all inclusive at least once a year so I judge each resort compared to others I've stayed in. The pros of this resort were: There are great activities available. Fun and entertaining shows. Large pool with plenty of chairs. Large beach with plenty of room to spread out. Well manicure grounds. The bartenders were great. Lastly, Great kids entertainments. The cons were: The food selection was very poor. The buffet didn't selections didn't change much from day to day. And not much variety. No reservations were available at restaurants so most of the time the wait was over an hour. The restaurant schedule was random. Most days there was at least 3 restaurants closed a day. The wait staff around the pool and beach was poor. Even though I fluently speak Spanish it was hard to get an order right. Lastly, we stayed as a prefered guest and didn't notice a real benefit to doing so. Overall this is a good resort but priced as a five star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you bring goggles you can snorkel at the hotel's beach.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dkmfan
Couples
Boston, MA
Jun 8, 2009

Stay somewhere else

My Fiance and I went to Dreams for a wedding. This is the truth: an insane 1.5 hour ride to the hotel from the airport, weaving around trucks and mopeds on third world roadways; a cockroach the size of a dollar bill in our room as soon as we checked in; roaches (normal size this time) on the wall in the World Cafe, which was the first restaraunt we went to; and TERRIBLE food everywhere in the resort. When you have 7 restaraunts under one roof, you're not getting 7 different food deliveries! All of the restaraunts, grill spots and lounges served the same terrible food! I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere if you plan on going to the DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is no good food.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Arlington, VA
Jun 5, 2009

Beautiful location, but just OK

The DR is a pretty new resort destination, so I think it's still catching up to other Caribbean locations as far as quality of vacation. If you're a no frills person just looking for a beautiful tropical location for a vacation, this is it. The pool is large, but never gets any deeper than 3 feet. Most people hang out at the end of the pool where the swim-up bar is located, but the pool is large enough that it never got crowded. There are serious rocks in the water across a large section of the beach, so it is really only safe for bare feet in the area around the water trampoline. The casino is pretty small, but OK. The cashier in the casino is a good place to get change if you're looking to break large bills. The nightclub is just OK also, but is large and could be fun with the right group of people. The staff is very willing to help, but many have no English at all, so even knowing a few Spanish words really helps. The restaurants were all very nice, but we were there about a week before peak season and half the restaurants were closed each night. 24 hour room service is really nice, but the menu is very limited. Champagne is an extra charge if you have it delivered to the room. The resort appeared to let vendors onto the property one or two nights a week and they were very aggressive and a little annoying. We jacked up the AC in our room and the AC unit condensation started to leak through the ceiling about halfway through the trip. BRING BUG SPRAY!!! This a VERY family-friendly resort with many kids activities. We paid for the preferred club status, which was convenient for coordinating my wedding events, but may not otherwise have been worth it. However, preferred club status comes with unlimited wifi access in your room, so that might make it worth it. The preferred club was very conveniently located. Overall, I was not wowed, but I had a great time. I would certainly recommend this location to a friend, but if I ever go back to the DR, I may try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teresa Super Mom
Family
Memphis, TN
Jun 4, 2009

This place is paradise!!!

This place is grest for a group of friends or just for two. There were so many things to do and the service was great. Fun in the sun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
al rph
Couples
bedford, nh
May 31, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

We really enjoyed the pool the most, food was good at the buffett and sea side grill. Language was a barrier with most of the staff (they speak only spanish for the most part). May is a very hot and humid month there. The beach was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
May 13, 2009

Amazing Resort

It was a VERY good experience. The absolutely only problem I had was Orbitz booked me a safari that was no longer offered. I had to pay $10 more for the one the hotel did offer. The hotel must beautiful, very good time. The beach was perfect no to far away from the rooms, the pool was right outside the bottom floor rooms, the bars and service were out of this world, the spa was pleasant as can be, and the resturants were very good food optional kinds of dining/culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

OCEANIANA excellent seafood!!!!!

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sco & San
Couples
Centerville, Ohio
May 12, 2009

Marvelous Place

The entire staff at Dreams were awesome - we have never experienced such pleasant happy people anywhere else we've been! There were activities to do constantly if you wanted to participate. The food was good, the drinks "top shelf"!. I would highly recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top