$294 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto 55, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
491 out of 491
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Water Worshipper
Ontario, Canada
Nov 5, 2012

Loved it!

Enjoyed this hotel greatly! I was staying at this resort because I was a guest at a wedding at the resort. Everything during our stay was perfect. Our room faced the garden and was quiet, the food selection was good, the staff very friendly. The only aspect that could have been improved is that the pool closes at 6pm and I find that this is pretty early. I would have been great to have the pool area available in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oshhkosh WI
Jan 31, 2011

Good Time

We had an awesome time playing in the ocean. The entertainment crew was awesome. The entertainment crew also put on amazing shows the last two nights that we were there. We needed to take some time and find out what activities that we could do during our stay. There were many things we would have liked to do but felt they were too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

They are very pushy. Never pay what they tell first tell you the items are worth.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nyc
Jan 28, 2011

dreams punta cana

amazing, best trip ever, kids had a blast, very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

get up early to reserve spot at pool or beach, best locations fill up early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Qmaureen
Business
Scotia, NY
Jan 24, 2011

It is all about the perspective.

I wondered why I read one-star reviews and also five-star reviews? I knew the answer - it is about perspectives. My husband is one with high expectations, and I am more of a 'go with the flow' kind of person. This is the second time we and some friends have gone to Dreams Punta Cana. I am a middle aged New Yorker, and this is the review. Service - The first thing noticed is the awe-inspiring beauty of the resort and the friendliness of the staff. Check in was quick, and if they were not ready, check your luggage and grab a bite to eat or a drink. The staff is helpful with their cheery "Hola!", "Excelente!" and "It's my pleasure." It is noticeable that most of the staff is under the age of 30. Some speak decent English, some don't, some not at all. If we needed something from the maid service - I'd leave a note in Spanish. Maid service was spotty. Things go much slower in the Dominican Republic - except the taxi services which flys down the streets at 70 miles an hour just barely missing the people on scooters. Tipping made little difference overall. Room - The room smelled musty, but since I have been there before, we brought air freshener. The beds were comfy, the air conditioner worked decently (in our room). Sunscreen 15, toothbrushes, tooth paste et, were provided, but the shampoo was very harsh. The shower ran from coolish to fairly warm. We did have to request washclothes, toilet paper and restock the refrigerator. The television has a dozen or so English speaking stations, including USA and Encore and Fox news. Bring Advil, Pepto, bandaids.. Restaurants - Ahh, Americans. When we order food, we expect big portions. The first dinner I ordered shrimp. I received an artistic plate with seven shrimp. No sides, no veggies, just the seven shrimp. For dessert, I ordered cheesecake. It was again artistically presented and one inch square. It also made me laugh when we'd order from the menu a "philly cheese steak and onion sandwich" and it would have no onions, but peppers. Or order fries and get yuca. And so on. Some food is not like what we expect. Dim sum, creme brule, hamburgers - not the American version. The Portafino was pretentious, the hibachi tables were wonderful - reserve early. Best bets: Breakfast at the World Buffet. They have everything. Seriously, everything. For breakfast my husband had omelets, pancakes, crepes, bacon, sausage, cookies,et. I had chicken wings, BLT, Italian mix sandwich and beef fajitas. Lunch: Oceana. Nice easy sandwiches. Good service, relaxing. Dinner: SeaSide Grill. Good portions, good beef, seafood, sides. Beach and Pool - warm with pleanty of large clean towels. Chairs and beds are taken early in the primo spots. The beach is cooler and breezy, the pool area is hot. There are bars and waiters all over. The beach is federally owned. No lifeguards are on duty. There are kayaks, snorkels and so on for free loan. Vendors - a common complaint that twice a week the outside vendors come to hawk their wares. A few years ago they were vicious and harassing, but over time, Dreams must have set rules. The vendors are a pain, but just raise your hand and wave them off as you walk by. They now stay in their area and do not yell rude things, especially around security. Spa - My friend and I went for massages. It was a two-for-one special. The spa is beautiful, but the massages is more like a backrub. Nice pools, saunas, showers, salon but a bit on the expensive side. Internet Cafe - $4 for 15 minutes, $12 for an hour. You can bring your own computer and pay $60 for a week, but I am so glad I didn't. I would have missed my vacation time. They open at 9 am Dominican time (9:20 ish) and are open until around 10 pm. Other Guests - the best and worst part. 2/3 North American and 1/3 European of all ages. We met wonderful people; and we had jerks who run through the halls whooping at 2 am. We had people ignore the rules (no topless sunbat...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrsnar16
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 19, 2011

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RESORT

This all-inclusive resort was absolutely amazing, I loved every minute of our 7 day vacation there. The food was good, the drinks were great and the staff was just wonderful. The beach was beautiful and the pool was everything you could want. The rooms were very nice and super clean and comfy. Total luxury and relaxation at this resort! I highly recommend this resort, we will definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreams Lovers
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jan 18, 2011

5th Visit to Dreams

This was our 5th visit to this resort, and we will most definitely go back for a 6th visit. The only negative I can say about the resort comes from it's transition from Sunscape the Beach to Dreams Punta Cana. Our first 2 visits, the resort was named Sunscape and it seemed to just have a more "personal" touch to the service and amenities. For instance, on Wednesday nights they shut the main restaraunt down and had an out door buffet in the massive courtyard for all the guests. Dreams does not do this anymore. And where the food at the various venues is still excellent, Dreams has drastically cut back on the varieties served. I really don't know how to say this without it sounding negative, but it just seems that the 3 years that the resort has been Dreams, they have done away with some little things that Sunscape did that endeared the resort to us. It is still a top notch resort, with top notch service, that I would highly recommend and that we will definitely return to again. We have stayed in all the room types, from the run of the house room, to the honeymoon suite. All are quite comfortable and you get what you pay for. One true negative that arose this year that I really did not like and will take up with the resort is that they now have sales persons in a high traffic area trying to sell you upgraded packages and memberships to a Dreams travel club. They are not pushy and will take a "no thank you" or a "not at this time" for an answer, but you have to walk by them every time you go the World Cafe to eat. We have not done any of the excursions available on the island, but the hotel can arrange for them if you choose. The resort grounds are well maintained. The pool is amazing. The service is first rate. The food is excellent. The staff is very accomodating and they offer many things to do throughout the day if you are not beach bums like us. Although we miss some of the things that seperated Sunscape from Dreams, it is still the best place we have been in our many trips and we plan to return again many more times. Also, this resort is almost the furthest one from the airport. It takes a little over an hour to get to it. With the new road they are building, the trip is getting shorter each year. It used to take over 2 hours. But, you get to see some of the local life on the trip, so just enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all of the restaraunts. The Italian one named Portifino is superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guyonthedancefloor
Business
new york, ny
Jan 17, 2011

awesome swim up bar

was there for a wedding, great week of partying with friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nastypoet
Business
edison, nj
Jan 17, 2011

honeymoon

Excent time to relax japanese resturant gets busy so make reservations at 540 or u will wait. Friendly staff and a nice pool and beach. Ocean had some rocks and coral in a section but it is roped off sort of. Coronas only in preferred level and mexican resturant. At all resturants order your own app portion are small but filling if you eat app meal deserts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BWH
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Jan 16, 2011

worst place ever

At arrival w/another couple our best friends the front desk leaves us waiting for about 30min. Then they proceed to tell us our swim-up room up grade is unavailable for the night and they where going to down grade our rooms but give us all 25min massages each for the inconvenience.We didnt unerstand since we booked this trip on 6/2/10 and it was 12/27/10.They told us that rooms would be ready at 1pm on 12/28/10.We go to front desk at 1pm on 12/28/10 and they informed us that rooms would'nt be ready until 2:30pm.We were not happy at all so we asked for the manager the man we were talking to said he was the manager and he was the man that checked us in the day before. We were getting no where w/he so we decide to go back to rooms to lie down til 2:30pm.But they are changing out mattresses in our building and both room we where in.They decided to throw all of our stuff on floor and sheets.We go back to front but on the way to front we looked at mattresses outside of building all of them had mold all over them.We get back to front to talk to same man and after voices get raised someome higher comes out.So we explain to him about our down graded room w/two double beds,sorry a/c,room not being ready,and mold on beds.Still not gettin anywhere until about 20 min of talking to him they all of sudden get us rooms.They said we could still get massages but we needed to sign a paper that said by taking massages excused them of any wrong doing.We said no. Their customer service sucks.ALL food sucked.My wife had food poisoning one night.Everyday one of us four where sick atleast one day.Resort didnt have purified water had to use bottled water all the time. Hard to believe that water and ice at restuants was bottled water.We couldnt do anything in water ocean was rough.Resort looks nothing like pictures it looks half run down.Resort is every bit of a hour from airport.Also noticed employees only understood you when they wanted to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, Md
Jan 12, 2011

Sams Wedding

Very good vibe! A little pushy at times with sales pitches for excursions. Great people though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mexican place for the first night is great for a couple.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ravioli King
Business
New York
Jan 10, 2011

Had an Awesome Time

I had an awesome time! There's so much to do - pool, beach, volleyball, kayaking, tennis, basketball, movies, gym, spa, pool tables, ping pong, live entertainment show every night. There are also some off-resort activities that can be arranged through the hotel - horseback riding, dune buggies, safari. Also being able to eat and drink anything you want at any time is a real luxury! We liked the World Cafe and the Patio (Mexican evening restaurant) the best. If you're solely an English speaker, you might run into a language barrier at times, e.g. once I wanted tartar sauce with a meal, and had trouble communicating it. The staff is very well-trained though, and they all have great attitudes, which goes a long way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Order a round-trip shuttle service from the airport to the resort. (The resort doesn't offer one.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top