Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas Uvero Alto 55, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
648 reviews
great wedding packages

The food was good the service was great the help were fantanstic love the grounds See full review

  • MadelaineMcGrath
  • May 1, 2014
FABULOUS!!!!

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary at Dreams Resort and Spa Punta Cana. Where do I... See full review

  • Reb Buster
  • Apr 27, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach oasis with resort-wide freeform pool
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa – All Inclusive brings fantasy to life on the secluded beachfront landscape at Playas Uvero Alto in Punta Cana. The resort design angles accommodations away from the beach in rows so that most guest rooms offer views of the ocean. Freeform swimming pools wind throughout the property like Venice canals, lined with rustic bridges and coconut trees. The all-inclusive deal means hassle-free international dining at six restaurants and fun family activities ranging from tennis to an ocean trampoline.
Highlights
  • Celebrate sanctuary at Playas Uvero Alto, in a more remote corner of Punta Cana
  • Swim in one of the largest pools in the Dominican Republic, one which winds throughout the resort
  • Enjoy extraordinary activities such as Euro-bungee and an ocean trampoline
Location
Dreams Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playas Uvero Alto in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Sweet dreams at Dreams Punta Cana begin with a deluxe nonsmoking guest room or suite. All include a four-poster bed, satellite television, air conditioning, minibar, balcony or patio, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), bathrobes, twice-daily housekeeping, luxury bath amenities and alarm clock with MP3 docking station.
Dining
Guests at Dreams Punta Cana enjoy all-inclusive dining at six different restaurants, including the pan-Asian Himitsu, al fresco seafood restaurant Oceana and international buffet at World Cafe. The resort also offers room service as well as private romantic dinner service on the beach. Ten bars and lounges add spice to a stay.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (29.2 mi/47 km)
Attractions
  • Basilica de Higuey (19.6 mi/31.5 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (19.7 mi/31.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (30.6 mi/49.2 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (41.1 mi/66.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (52.7 mi/84.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (121 mi/194 km)

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Swim-out Room
This room category includes lounge chairs in the terrace, pool towels in the room, and direct access to the pool.
Deluxe Room
Magnificent view to the mountains gardens or pool.
Honeymoon Suite
Spacious 57.05 m2 / 614.08 sq ft suite with an oversized living room, private terrace with Jacuzzi, television set including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower, and pool towels.
Preferred Club Deluxe Room
In addition to the amenities received in the Premium Deluxe Room guests staying in the preferred club receive the additional amenities: private lounge, private check-in and check-out, VIP status and amenities, upgraded toiletries, concierge service, complimentary newspaper in room everyday, upgraded minibar and room service, use of the Preferred Club with daily continental breakfast, afternoon and evening hors d'oeuvres and exquisite desserts, complimentary internet access.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite
Larger than Premium Deluxe Room with a living room, private terrace with jacuzzi, plasma TV including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower and beach towels. With the Preferred Club amenities.
Preferred Club Junior Suite
Larger than Premium Deluxe Room with a living room, private terrace with jacuzzi, plasma TV including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower and beach towels. With the Preferred Club amenities.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Hotel Map

18.8119 -68.5802
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
PUJ-Punta Cana Intl. Airport (80 Kms South) / LRM-La Romana/Casa de Campo Intl. Airport (100 Kms SW) / SDQ-Santo Domingo/Las Americas Intl. Airport (150 Kms SW).
Area description
Located in Uvero Alto on the north east coast of the Dominican Republic. It has a 30-minute drive to the north of Bavaro; 60-minute drive from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75-minute drive from La Romana Intl. Airport.

Dining

Seaside Grill
Under a giant open-air palapa located seaside offering a variety of a la carte grilled steaks and burgers with an appetizer salad and dessert bar. Located beachside offering a variety of la carte grilled specialties; breakfast and lunch available to Preferred Club guests. A la carte dinner 6:30pm - 10:30pm; Dress code: Casual.
World Cafe
World Cafe is our main buffet restaurant featuring a variety of local and international cuisine. Open air restaurant Continental Breakfast: 6:30am - 7am / Breakfast: 7am - 11am / Lunch: 12:30pm - 4pm / Dinner: 6:30pm - 11pm Dress Code: Breakfast and Lunch - Informal / Dress Code: Dinner - Casual.
Bordeaux
Enjoy gourmet dining at this elegant and exquisite French restaurant. la carte dinner: 7pm - 10:30pm; Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed. Adults only (18 years and older) / Air-conditioned.
Portofino
Featuring a variety of gourmet Italian specialties; Air-conditioned. la carte dinner: 6:30pm - 10:30pm.
Barefoot Grill
Delicious burgers and hot dogs served beachside; lunch: 12:30pm - 5pm.
CoCo Cozy Corner Cafe
Open from 6am - 6pm serving coffee, tea and pastries.
Oceana
Talented chefs using the best local and imported ingredients create a variety of a la carte fresh grilled local and international seafood specialties served in the fresh air palapa located by the beach.
La Trattoria
Located just inside the World Cafe to the right, this candle-lit restaurant offers a variety of innovative and traditional Italian specialties.
Himitsu
Asian cuisine featuring Tepanyaki grill tables in an elegant oriental atmosphere - Tepanyaki tables are restricted to guests age 12 and older. Air-conditioned, a la carte dinner: 6:30pm - 10:30pm. Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed.
El Patio
Authentic la carte restaurant with the aromas and flavors of traditional Mexican cuisine. Air-conditioned, a la carte dinner 6:30pm - 10:30pm. Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Facilities Room Size (Sq. Mts.) Size (Sq. Ft.) Meal Capacity Santo Domingo Ball Room 366 3939 300 1 Break out Room 121 1302 100 1 Break out Room 125 1345 100 1 Break out Room 120 1292 100 The same ballrooms converts into 3 break out rooms according to the capacity above. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subjects to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (648)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
648 out of 648
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Qmaureen
Scotia, NY
Jan 24, 2011

It is all about the perspective.

I wondered why I read one-star reviews and also five-star reviews? I knew the answer - it is about perspectives. My husband is one with high expectations, and I am more of a 'go with the flow' kind of person. This is the second time we and some friends have gone to Dreams Punta Cana. I am a middle aged New Yorker, and this is the review. Service - The first thing noticed is the awe-inspiring beauty of the resort and the friendliness of the staff. Check in was quick, and if they were not ready, check your luggage and grab a bite to eat or a drink. The staff is helpful with their cheery "Hola!", "Excelente!" and "It's my pleasure." It is noticeable that most of the staff is under the age of 30. Some speak decent English, some don't, some not at all. If we needed something from the maid service - I'd leave a note in Spanish. Maid service was spotty. Things go much slower in the Dominican Republic - except the taxi services which flys down the streets at 70 miles an hour just barely missing the people on scooters. Tipping made little difference overall. Room - The room smelled musty, but since I have been there before, we brought air freshener. The beds were comfy, the air conditioner worked decently (in our room). Sunscreen 15, toothbrushes, tooth paste et, were provided, but the shampoo was very harsh. The shower ran from coolish to fairly warm. We did have to request washclothes, toilet paper and restock the refrigerator. The television has a dozen or so English speaking stations, including USA and Encore and Fox news. Bring Advil, Pepto, bandaids.. Restaurants - Ahh, Americans. When we order food, we expect big portions. The first dinner I ordered shrimp. I received an artistic plate with seven shrimp. No sides, no veggies, just the seven shrimp. For dessert, I ordered cheesecake. It was again artistically presented and one inch square. It also made me laugh when we'd order from the menu a "philly cheese steak and onion sandwich" and it would have no onions, but peppers. Or order fries and get yuca. And so on. Some food is not like what we expect. Dim sum, creme brule, hamburgers - not the American version. The Portafino was pretentious, the hibachi tables were wonderful - reserve early. Best bets: Breakfast at the World Buffet. They have everything. Seriously, everything. For breakfast my husband had omelets, pancakes, crepes, bacon, sausage, cookies,et. I had chicken wings, BLT, Italian mix sandwich and beef fajitas. Lunch: Oceana. Nice easy sandwiches. Good service, relaxing. Dinner: SeaSide Grill. Good portions, good beef, seafood, sides. Beach and Pool - warm with pleanty of large clean towels. Chairs and beds are taken early in the primo spots. The beach is cooler and breezy, the pool area is hot. There are bars and waiters all over. The beach is federally owned. No lifeguards are on duty. There are kayaks, snorkels and so on for free loan. Vendors - a common complaint that twice a week the outside vendors come to hawk their wares. A few years ago they were vicious and harassing, but over time, Dreams must have set rules. The vendors are a pain, but just raise your hand and wave them off as you walk by. They now stay in their area and do not yell rude things, especially around security. Spa - My friend and I went for massages. It was a two-for-one special. The spa is beautiful, but the massages is more like a backrub. Nice pools, saunas, showers, salon but a bit on the expensive side. Internet Cafe - $4 for 15 minutes, $12 for an hour. You can bring your own computer and pay $60 for a week, but I am so glad I didn't. I would have missed my vacation time. They open at 9 am Dominican time (9:20 ish) and are open until around 10 pm. Other Guests - the best and worst part. 2/3 North American and 1/3 European of all ages. We met wonderful people; and we had jerks who run through the halls whooping at 2 am. We had people ignore the rules (no topless sunbat...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Qmaureen
Scotia, NY
Jan 24, 2011

It is all about the perspective.

I wondered why I read one-star reviews and also five-star reviews? I knew the answer - it is about perspectives. My husband is one with high expectations, and I am more of a 'go with the flow' kind of person. This is the second time we and some friends have gone to Dreams Punta Cana. I am a middle aged New Yorker, and this is the review. Service - The first thing noticed is the awe-inspiring beauty of the resort and the friendliness of the staff. Check in was quick, and if they were not ready, check your luggage and grab a bite to eat or a drink. The staff is helpful with their cheery "Hola!", "Excelente!" and "It's my pleasure." It is noticeable that most of the staff is under the age of 30. Some speak decent English, some don't, some not at all. If we needed something from the maid service - I'd leave a note in Spanish. Maid service was spotty. Things go much slower in the Dominican Republic - except the taxi services which flys down the streets at 70 miles an hour just barely missing the people on scooters. Tipping made little difference overall. Room - The room smelled musty, but since I have been there before, we brought air freshener. The beds were comfy, the air conditioner worked decently (in our room). Sunscreen 15, toothbrushes, tooth paste et, were provided, but the shampoo was very harsh. The shower ran from coolish to fairly warm. We did have to request washclothes, toilet paper and restock the refrigerator. The television has a dozen or so English speaking stations, including USA and Encore and Fox news. Bring Advil, Pepto, bandaids.. Restaurants - Ahh, Americans. When we order food, we expect big portions. The first dinner I ordered shrimp. I received an artistic plate with seven shrimp. No sides, no veggies, just the seven shrimp. For dessert, I ordered cheesecake. It was again artistically presented and one inch square. It also made me laugh when we'd order from the menu a "philly cheese steak and onion sandwich" and it would have no onions, but peppers. Or order fries and get yuca. And so on. Some food is not like what we expect. Dim sum, creme brule, hamburgers - not the American version. The Portafino was pretentious, the hibachi tables were wonderful - reserve early. Best bets: Breakfast at the World Buffet. They have everything. Seriously, everything. For breakfast my husband had omelets, pancakes, crepes, bacon, sausage, cookies,et. I had chicken wings, BLT, Italian mix sandwich and beef fajitas. Lunch: Oceana. Nice easy sandwiches. Good service, relaxing. Dinner: SeaSide Grill. Good portions, good beef, seafood, sides. Beach and Pool - warm with pleanty of large clean towels. Chairs and beds are taken early in the primo spots. The beach is cooler and breezy, the pool area is hot. There are bars and waiters all over. The beach is federally owned. No lifeguards are on duty. There are kayaks, snorkels and so on for free loan. Vendors - a common complaint that twice a week the outside vendors come to hawk their wares. A few years ago they were vicious and harassing, but over time, Dreams must have set rules. The vendors are a pain, but just raise your hand and wave them off as you walk by. They now stay in their area and do not yell rude things, especially around security. Spa - My friend and I went for massages. It was a two-for-one special. The spa is beautiful, but the massages is more like a backrub. Nice pools, saunas, showers, salon but a bit on the expensive side. Internet Cafe - $4 for 15 minutes, $12 for an hour. You can bring your own computer and pay $60 for a week, but I am so glad I didn't. I would have missed my vacation time. They open at 9 am Dominican time (9:20 ish) and are open until around 10 pm. Other Guests - the best and worst part. 2/3 North American and 1/3 European of all ages. We met wonderful people; and we had jerks who run through the halls whooping at 2 am. We had people ignore the rules (no topless sunbat...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrsnar16
Denver, CO
Jan 19, 2011

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RESORT

This all-inclusive resort was absolutely amazing, I loved every minute of our 7 day vacation there. The food was good, the drinks were great and the staff was just wonderful. The beach was beautiful and the pool was everything you could want. The rooms were very nice and super clean and comfy. Total luxury and relaxation at this resort! I highly recommend this resort, we will definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrsnar16
Denver, CO
Jan 19, 2011

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RESORT

This all-inclusive resort was absolutely amazing, I loved every minute of our 7 day vacation there. The food was good, the drinks were great and the staff was just wonderful. The beach was beautiful and the pool was everything you could want. The rooms were very nice and super clean and comfy. Total luxury and relaxation at this resort! I highly recommend this resort, we will definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreams Lovers
Knoxville, TN
Jan 18, 2011

5th Visit to Dreams

This was our 5th visit to this resort, and we will most definitely go back for a 6th visit. The only negative I can say about the resort comes from it's transition from Sunscape the Beach to Dreams Punta Cana. Our first 2 visits, the resort was named Sunscape and it seemed to just have a more "personal" touch to the service and amenities. For instance, on Wednesday nights they shut the main restaraunt down and had an out door buffet in the massive courtyard for all the guests. Dreams does not do this anymore. And where the food at the various venues is still excellent, Dreams has drastically cut back on the varieties served. I really don't know how to say this without it sounding negative, but it just seems that the 3 years that the resort has been Dreams, they have done away with some little things that Sunscape did that endeared the resort to us. It is still a top notch resort, with top notch service, that I would highly recommend and that we will definitely return to again. We have stayed in all the room types, from the run of the house room, to the honeymoon suite. All are quite comfortable and you get what you pay for. One true negative that arose this year that I really did not like and will take up with the resort is that they now have sales persons in a high traffic area trying to sell you upgraded packages and memberships to a Dreams travel club. They are not pushy and will take a "no thank you" or a "not at this time" for an answer, but you have to walk by them every time you go the World Cafe to eat. We have not done any of the excursions available on the island, but the hotel can arrange for them if you choose. The resort grounds are well maintained. The pool is amazing. The service is first rate. The food is excellent. The staff is very accomodating and they offer many things to do throughout the day if you are not beach bums like us. Although we miss some of the things that seperated Sunscape from Dreams, it is still the best place we have been in our many trips and we plan to return again many more times. Also, this resort is almost the furthest one from the airport. It takes a little over an hour to get to it. With the new road they are building, the trip is getting shorter each year. It used to take over 2 hours. But, you get to see some of the local life on the trip, so just enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all of the restaraunts. The Italian one named Portifino is superb.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreams Lovers
Knoxville, TN
Jan 18, 2011

5th Visit to Dreams

This was our 5th visit to this resort, and we will most definitely go back for a 6th visit. The only negative I can say about the resort comes from it's transition from Sunscape the Beach to Dreams Punta Cana. Our first 2 visits, the resort was named Sunscape and it seemed to just have a more "personal" touch to the service and amenities. For instance, on Wednesday nights they shut the main restaraunt down and had an out door buffet in the massive courtyard for all the guests. Dreams does not do this anymore. And where the food at the various venues is still excellent, Dreams has drastically cut back on the varieties served. I really don't know how to say this without it sounding negative, but it just seems that the 3 years that the resort has been Dreams, they have done away with some little things that Sunscape did that endeared the resort to us. It is still a top notch resort, with top notch service, that I would highly recommend and that we will definitely return to again. We have stayed in all the room types, from the run of the house room, to the honeymoon suite. All are quite comfortable and you get what you pay for. One true negative that arose this year that I really did not like and will take up with the resort is that they now have sales persons in a high traffic area trying to sell you upgraded packages and memberships to a Dreams travel club. They are not pushy and will take a "no thank you" or a "not at this time" for an answer, but you have to walk by them every time you go the World Cafe to eat. We have not done any of the excursions available on the island, but the hotel can arrange for them if you choose. The resort grounds are well maintained. The pool is amazing. The service is first rate. The food is excellent. The staff is very accomodating and they offer many things to do throughout the day if you are not beach bums like us. Although we miss some of the things that seperated Sunscape from Dreams, it is still the best place we have been in our many trips and we plan to return again many more times. Also, this resort is almost the furthest one from the airport. It takes a little over an hour to get to it. With the new road they are building, the trip is getting shorter each year. It used to take over 2 hours. But, you get to see some of the local life on the trip, so just enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all of the restaraunts. The Italian one named Portifino is superb.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guyonthedancefloor
new york, ny
Jan 17, 2011

awesome swim up bar

was there for a wedding, great week of partying with friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nastypoet
edison, nj
Jan 17, 2011

honeymoon

Excent time to relax japanese resturant gets busy so make reservations at 540 or u will wait. Friendly staff and a nice pool and beach. Ocean had some rocks and coral in a section but it is roped off sort of. Coronas only in preferred level and mexican resturant. At all resturants order your own app portion are small but filling if you eat app meal deserts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nastypoet
edison, nj
Jan 17, 2011

honeymoon

Excent time to relax japanese resturant gets busy so make reservations at 540 or u will wait. Friendly staff and a nice pool and beach. Ocean had some rocks and coral in a section but it is roped off sort of. Coronas only in preferred level and mexican resturant. At all resturants order your own app portion are small but filling if you eat app meal deserts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guyonthedancefloor
new york, ny
Jan 17, 2011

awesome swim up bar

was there for a wedding, great week of partying with friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top