$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playas Uvero Alto 55, La Altagracia, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
653 reviews
Would love to return!

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic and we fell in love with Punta Cana! The Dreams... See full review

  • robinesse
  • Jul 20, 2014
Our $0th anniversary trip

The resort was very clean and the employees were polite. We had a great time. The only drawback was... See full review

  • Eddie77
  • Jul 7, 2014
All-inclusive Punta Cana beach oasis with resort-wide freeform pool
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa – All Inclusive brings fantasy to life on the secluded beachfront landscape at Playas Uvero Alto in Punta Cana. The resort design angles accommodations away from the beach in rows so that most guest rooms offer views of the ocean. Freeform swimming pools wind throughout the property like Venice canals, lined with rustic bridges and coconut trees. The all-inclusive deal means hassle-free international dining at six restaurants and fun family activities ranging from tennis to an ocean trampoline.
Highlights
  • Celebrate sanctuary at Playas Uvero Alto, in a more remote corner of Punta Cana
  • Swim in one of the largest pools in the Dominican Republic, one which winds throughout the resort
  • Enjoy extraordinary activities such as Euro-bungee and an ocean trampoline
Location
Dreams Punta Cana sits oceanfront at Playas Uvero Alto in Punta Cana. Located in La Altagracia, the easternmost province of the Dominican Republic, the Punta Cana area is legendary for a sunny climate, miles of picture-perfect beaches, golfing, historic sites, nature preserves and upscale resorts.
Rooms
Sweet dreams at Dreams Punta Cana begin with a deluxe nonsmoking guest room or suite. All include a four-poster bed, satellite television, air conditioning, minibar, balcony or patio, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), bathrobes, twice-daily housekeeping, luxury bath amenities and alarm clock with MP3 docking station.
Dining
Guests at Dreams Punta Cana enjoy all-inclusive dining at six different restaurants, including the pan-Asian Himitsu, al fresco seafood restaurant Oceana and international buffet at World Cafe. The resort also offers room service as well as private romantic dinner service on the beach. Ten bars and lounges add spice to a stay.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (29.2 mi/47 km)
Attractions
  • Basilica de Higuey (19.6 mi/31.5 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (19.7 mi/31.6 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (30.6 mi/49.2 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (41.1 mi/66.2 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (52.7 mi/84.8 km)
  • Santo Domingo (121 mi/194 km)

Hotel Map

18.8119 -68.5802
Area served
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
PUJ-Punta Cana Intl. Airport (80 Kms South) / LRM-La Romana/Casa de Campo Intl. Airport (100 Kms SW) / SDQ-Santo Domingo/Las Americas Intl. Airport (150 Kms SW).
Area description
Located in Uvero Alto on the north east coast of the Dominican Republic. It has a 30-minute drive to the north of Bavaro; 60-minute drive from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75-minute drive from La Romana Intl. Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Swim-out Room
This room category includes lounge chairs in the terrace, pool towels in the room, and direct access to the pool.
Deluxe Room
Magnificent view to the mountains gardens or pool.
Honeymoon Suite
Spacious 57.05 m2 / 614.08 sq ft suite with an oversized living room, private terrace with Jacuzzi, television set including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower, and pool towels.
Preferred Club Deluxe Room
In addition to the amenities received in the Premium Deluxe Room guests staying in the preferred club receive the additional amenities: private lounge, private check-in and check-out, VIP status and amenities, upgraded toiletries, concierge service, complimentary newspaper in room everyday, upgraded minibar and room service, use of the Preferred Club with daily continental breakfast, afternoon and evening hors d'oeuvres and exquisite desserts, complimentary internet access.
Preferred Club Honeymoon Suite
Larger than Premium Deluxe Room with a living room, private terrace with jacuzzi, plasma TV including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower and beach towels. With the Preferred Club amenities.
Preferred Club Junior Suite
Larger than Premium Deluxe Room with a living room, private terrace with jacuzzi, plasma TV including a DVD player, double vanity sink, separate shower and beach towels. With the Preferred Club amenities.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Dining

Seaside Grill
Under a giant open-air palapa located seaside offering a variety of a la carte grilled steaks and burgers with an appetizer salad and dessert bar. Located beachside offering a variety of la carte grilled specialties; breakfast and lunch available to Preferred Club guests. A la carte dinner 6:30pm - 10:30pm; Dress code: Casual.
World Cafe
World Cafe is our main buffet restaurant featuring a variety of local and international cuisine. Open air restaurant Continental Breakfast: 6:30am - 7am / Breakfast: 7am - 11am / Lunch: 12:30pm - 4pm / Dinner: 6:30pm - 11pm Dress Code: Breakfast and Lunch - Informal / Dress Code: Dinner - Casual.
Bordeaux
Enjoy gourmet dining at this elegant and exquisite French restaurant. la carte dinner: 7pm - 10:30pm; Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed. Adults only (18 years and older) / Air-conditioned.
Portofino
Featuring a variety of gourmet Italian specialties; Air-conditioned. la carte dinner: 6:30pm - 10:30pm.
Barefoot Grill
Delicious burgers and hot dogs served beachside; lunch: 12:30pm - 5pm.
CoCo Cozy Corner Cafe
Open from 6am - 6pm serving coffee, tea and pastries.
Oceana
Talented chefs using the best local and imported ingredients create a variety of a la carte fresh grilled local and international seafood specialties served in the fresh air palapa located by the beach.
La Trattoria
Located just inside the World Cafe to the right, this candle-lit restaurant offers a variety of innovative and traditional Italian specialties.
Himitsu
Asian cuisine featuring Tepanyaki grill tables in an elegant oriental atmosphere - Tepanyaki tables are restricted to guests age 12 and older. Air-conditioned, a la carte dinner: 6:30pm - 10:30pm. Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed.
El Patio
Authentic la carte restaurant with the aromas and flavors of traditional Mexican cuisine. Air-conditioned, a la carte dinner 6:30pm - 10:30pm. Dress code: Casual Elegance - Long pants and short sleeved shirt with collar required for men, ladies are required to wear skirts, dresses or pants suit. No flip flops allowed.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Facilities Room Size (Sq. Mts.) Size (Sq. Ft.) Meal Capacity Santo Domingo Ball Room 366 3939 300 1 Break out Room 121 1302 100 1 Break out Room 125 1345 100 1 Break out Room 120 1292 100 The same ballrooms converts into 3 break out rooms according to the capacity above. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subjects to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (653)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
653 out of 653
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anniversary Vacation
Orlando, FL
Jul 22, 2011

Dissapointed

The air conditioning in all of the rooms, and restaurants did not work well. In fact, be ready to sweat if your staying at this resort. We had the deluxe swim-out room, which was far from deluxe. The bedding and pillows to say the least were quite uncomfortable. The breakfast buffet was average and the lunch and dinner were below average in taste and selection. My wife and I did enjoy the romantic candlelight dinner, which ranges from $100-$160USD, the lobster was excellent. Be careful, they harass you to go to another hotel, so you can save money on your next visit, which is actually a time share sales scheme. The candle light dinner on the beach was the best experience from the vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Candlelight Dinner was excellent.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ecuariqueno
Queens, New York
Jul 22, 2011

Nice but not for me...

The Hotel itself is beautiful even though it is about an hour away from the airport. Its a large resort so there was lots and lots of walking back and forth which after a coupld of days got annoying. The pool was great even though it was only 3 feet deep. The beach shockingly wasnt what i expected. Beautiful sand but the water was horrible. Walking into the water i was told beware of the rocks. Silly me i shrugged it off thinking it was small rocks you see on the ocean floor at most beaches. To my surprise there were rocks coming up from the ground, some a foot to two feet high. What made it worse was that the water wasnt clear so you could not see where the rocks were. it made the beach undesirable. The buffet had great food. the specialty restaurants were even better. i recommend doing hibachi. The only down fall was that some days certain restaurants had a 2 hr wait for a table and none of the places take reservations. so i recommend if the wait is more then half hour go to another restaurant or to the buffet, cuz once you seated they tend to rush you since they are so busy. Casino even though a bit small was fun. the slots had good pay outs. the blackjack tables (they play a bit different but nothing too crazy) also was fun. as long as you know how to play you can easily walk out with more money then when you went in. im not sure if i would go back to this hotel in particular. im more of a beach person and i was upset on how poor the beach was. the service from the front desk, bartenders and all other staff were amazing. they always went out of the way to help you out, talk to you and just give you advice on what to do aroudn the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dang I Enjoy Travelling
Windsor, Ontario
Jul 21, 2011

Wedding Stay July 8 - 18

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Dreams Punta Cana along with 63 other family members and friends. Our experience with the hotel would be different than many of our friends experiences. This was our first time in DR so we had no expectations other than we've stayed at a Dreams on the Mayan and we were pleased with the experience there. Accommodations: We had a ground floor swim up room with king size bed. Loved it. AC could have worked better but it worked better than most everyone else in our group. Small problem dealt with in a timely fashion. Cleanliness good. Food: Enjoyed the variety of restaurants (5 a la carte and 1 buffet). There is a no reservation system in place so that can work for you or against you depending on how many people your party has. (I hate lining up in the mornings to get a reservation like in some other hotels) and there is no limit on number of times you can go to a particular one. The Japanese restaurant was difficult to get into. Our favorite was the Italian - Portofino. Least favorite the Chinese. One problem is that none are air-conditioned well. May not be a problem in fall or winter but in the heat of the summer an enclosed restaurant could get quite stuffy. Service in all of these restaurants for us was good to great but again that was not necessarily the same experience for all our group. We had some folks (2 groups of 6) that waited a long time 50 - 70 minutes to get in to the Sea Side Grill for dinner one night only to have to wait along time for their food to arrive. I think that particular restaurant had an off night that evening. Drinks: Wide variety of domestic and international. I enjoy Scotch and brandy/cognac and they had 4-5 varieties of each. You have to specify a brand when you order or they will give the DR brand if there is one. Service on the beach was "excellente". For bar service it didn't seem to matter whether you tipped or didn't but for beach side service we felt it worked out better if you did. They seemed to come around more often. Beach and other amenities: Not a great beach for swimming at. There are areas at either end and some a little off the property where there are no rocks but for the middle busy part of the beach you had to be careful. As other folks have posted in the past "stay to the left side of the beach". They had your usual variety of water sports and crafts and one nice thing is that they gave you lessons on the hobbie cats and windsurfers if you asked for the. Great rec area with rock wall, tennis, archery, air rifle, pool & ping pong, mechanical bull, video game, internet. Fitness and spa areas were first class. A little warm working out in the fitness area. The entertainment ranged from ok to great. The circus night was very good - kind of Cirque du Soleilish. Other: The wedding which was held on the beach at 4:00 pm went off with just a small delay. The weather was beautiful. The dinner was also on the beach and served buffet style. It ran from 7 - 10 with dancing on a stage. Food and service was great. We were blessed with great weather. Not so unfortunately for a wedding the next day which had to get moved from the beach due to rain. The day before it got very gray and threatening at the same time. There are a lot of weddings held at this resort. Usually 2 -3 per day. A summer wedding here outside is a crapshoot with regards to the weather. We were in Cuba same time last year and it rained everyday during that critical 3 pm - 10 pm. It is the rainy season in that part of the world! Being the rainy season there are mosquitos, noseemum's and sand fleas that bite. I was fortunate because I didn't get any but my wife was bitten pretty good on her ankles and legs. So were many others. The grounds were gorgeous and well kept. They have a preferred club area but to be quite honest I didn't see a real upside to it other than free internet. I think in this day free Wi-Fi if you have your own computer should be the norm. All in all it was a very...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Find out what night the Asian restaurant is closed and then choose wisely where you want to go and when you want to go. The other a la carte restaurants seemed to be crazy busy in the 7:30 - 9:30 time frame. If you have a big group 8 or more plan on waiting for the restaurants or go early 6:30 ish.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dang I Enjoy Travelling
Windsor, Ontario
Jul 21, 2011

Wedding Stay July 8 - 18

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Dreams Punta Cana along with 63 other family members and friends. Our experience with the hotel would be different than many of our friends experiences. This was our first time in DR so we had no expectations other than we've stayed at a Dreams on the Mayan and we were pleased with the experience there. Accommodations: We had a ground floor swim up room with king size bed. Loved it. AC could have worked better but it worked better than most everyone else in our group. Small problem dealt with in a timely fashion. Cleanliness good. Food: Enjoyed the variety of restaurants (5 a la carte and 1 buffet). There is a no reservation system in place so that can work for you or against you depending on how many people your party has. (I hate lining up in the mornings to get a reservation like in some other hotels) and there is no limit on number of times you can go to a particular one. The Japanese restaurant was difficult to get into. Our favorite was the Italian - Portofino. Least favorite the Chinese. One problem is that none are air-conditioned well. May not be a problem in fall or winter but in the heat of the summer an enclosed restaurant could get quite stuffy. Service in all of these restaurants for us was good to great but again that was not necessarily the same experience for all our group. We had some folks (2 groups of 6) that waited a long time 50 - 70 minutes to get in to the Sea Side Grill for dinner one night only to have to wait along time for their food to arrive. I think that particular restaurant had an off night that evening. Drinks: Wide variety of domestic and international. I enjoy Scotch and brandy/cognac and they had 4-5 varieties of each. You have to specify a brand when you order or they will give the DR brand if there is one. Service on the beach was "excellente". For bar service it didn't seem to matter whether you tipped or didn't but for beach side service we felt it worked out better if you did. They seemed to come around more often. Beach and other amenities: Not a great beach for swimming at. There are areas at either end and some a little off the property where there are no rocks but for the middle busy part of the beach you had to be careful. As other folks have posted in the past "stay to the left side of the beach". They had your usual variety of water sports and crafts and one nice thing is that they gave you lessons on the hobbie cats and windsurfers if you asked for the. Great rec area with rock wall, tennis, archery, air rifle, pool & ping pong, mechanical bull, video game, internet. Fitness and spa areas were first class. A little warm working out in the fitness area. The entertainment ranged from ok to great. The circus night was very good - kind of Cirque du Soleilish. Other: The wedding which was held on the beach at 4:00 pm went off with just a small delay. The weather was beautiful. The dinner was also on the beach and served buffet style. It ran from 7 - 10 with dancing on a stage. Food and service was great. We were blessed with great weather. Not so unfortunately for a wedding the next day which had to get moved from the beach due to rain. The day before it got very gray and threatening at the same time. There are a lot of weddings held at this resort. Usually 2 -3 per day. A summer wedding here outside is a crapshoot with regards to the weather. We were in Cuba same time last year and it rained everyday during that critical 3 pm - 10 pm. It is the rainy season in that part of the world! Being the rainy season there are mosquitos, noseemum's and sand fleas that bite. I was fortunate because I didn't get any but my wife was bitten pretty good on her ankles and legs. So were many others. The grounds were gorgeous and well kept. They have a preferred club area but to be quite honest I didn't see a real upside to it other than free internet. I think in this day free Wi-Fi if you have your own computer should be the norm. All in all it was a very...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Find out what night the Asian restaurant is closed and then choose wisely where you want to go and when you want to go. The other a la carte restaurants seemed to be crazy busy in the 7:30 - 9:30 time frame. If you have a big group 8 or more plan on waiting for the restaurants or go early 6:30 ish.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Bellhop
Canajoharie, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Great place for a wedding

My daughter got married. Many things did not work in our swim out room. Food was okay. Otherwise, its a beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albany, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Dreams is more of a nightmare

When we arrived, they had lost our reservation, and had no room for us. After waiting hours, they finally found us a room but the resort had lost our luggage!!! Every time we left and then returned to our room, the clock was back to 12:00, the room was sweltering hot, and the refrigerator was warm. Afour 4 days of this, we found out from another guest that there were motion detectors in the rooms, and if there was no activity, they turned the power off!!! They claim there is maid service twice a day, but we had days that the room was not cleaned at all. The ocean is beautiful, but you can't go in it. There is a major seaweed problem at this resort. There were tons of it washed up on the beach. If you could get through the seaweed, you could only wade out about to your waist, and would then smash your legs into giant, jagged rocks (felt like broken concrete). I gashed my shin wide open, and our daughter was covered with bruises from hitting the rocks. On the brighter side, the food and the entertainment were both wonderful. The staff were friendly and personable, but VERY underpaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albany, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Dreams is more of a nightmare

When we arrived, they had lost our reservation, and had no room for us. After waiting hours, they finally found us a room but the resort had lost our luggage!!! Every time we left and then returned to our room, the clock was back to 12:00, the room was sweltering hot, and the refrigerator was warm. Afour 4 days of this, we found out from another guest that there were motion detectors in the rooms, and if there was no activity, they turned the power off!!! They claim there is maid service twice a day, but we had days that the room was not cleaned at all. The ocean is beautiful, but you can't go in it. There is a major seaweed problem at this resort. There were tons of it washed up on the beach. If you could get through the seaweed, you could only wade out about to your waist, and would then smash your legs into giant, jagged rocks (felt like broken concrete). I gashed my shin wide open, and our daughter was covered with bruises from hitting the rocks. On the brighter side, the food and the entertainment were both wonderful. The staff were friendly and personable, but VERY underpaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Bellhop
Canajoharie, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Great place for a wedding

My daughter got married. Many things did not work in our swim out room. Food was okay. Otherwise, its a beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doug B
st augustine FL
Jul 18, 2011

very well kept hotel & grounds

very good hotel complex, particularly for kids, their Explorers Club is terrific. Elongated grounds entailed quite a bit of walking. Most staff very friendly, but some had "chip on the shoulder' attitude & there was a slight language barrier with some. Food was not up to the usual A&M Dreams or Secrets standard. World Cafe for breakfast & lunch was very good, speciality restaurants only "so so". Pool, bars & games all good & evening entertainment excellent. Our rooms were very spacious & clean, morning make-up very good but we only received evening turn-down service twice in the 7 days we were there. Morning paper only once delivered to room & we had to call to get mini-bar restocked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

evening entertainment in the theater excellent & staff at the Core-Zone were very, very good.

Review of Dreams Punta Cana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elegido88
lehigh acres fl
Jul 18, 2011

unimaginable paradise

is a very roomantic and gentle place like a paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top