$321 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucy World Traveler
Business
Omaha, NE
Aug 7, 2012

Just ok

Didn't like the room. The hotel is very old. Very good service but falls short in regards to the amenities and the comfort. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. People should better choose well known hotel chains. We felt that we were in a 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robin 1632
Business
South Carolina
Dec 24, 2012

Standard Rooms are not 4 Star!

The resort is decent, however if you book a standard room be prepared for something not up to 3 star standards. The bathroom tiles are older and not clean looking. The room only has two small drawers and a very small closet for storage. The shower is designed so the bathroom floor gets soaked everytime someone showers. The staff is great and the kids club was a plus, however I would not stay there again based on the condition of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tunga
Business
Boston
Aug 10, 2013

Ok

The staff was awesome, pool was great, rooms were nice. Beach was not what I expected. Not that beautiful Caribbean ocean. Food was terrible, though, and for that reason I would never go back. Everyone got sick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kristy2347
Business
Chicago IL
Sep 4, 2013

Not too happy

This is 4 star hotel but its actually probably 3 or so. The service is not that good. people not polite. We had a vacation last year in Punta Cana but we chose Melia Tropical - we had much better experience. Dreams palm Beach has a lot of disadvantages so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who likes and cares about quality of service. Cons: 1. Room - very old and dirty. sheets and blankets so old and dirty. the cleaning no good 2. Food - terrible. It was the same food every day. We go every year to all inclusive resorts and this is the first time I was hungry mostly of the times. 3. Pools - were good but not clean mostly of the times. 4. children's pool doesn't have any shades. it was getting so hot and they had only two sun umbrellas for such a big pool. no trees and greens around like for the other big pools. Pros: 1. Beach - very nice, it is close to the pool and to the restaurants, clean and water was good. 2. Entertainment - was good as well. Overall in general good hotel but it is not for people who care about best service. it wasn't cheap. we paid a lots of money and we could have gotten somewhere better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big sexxxxy
Business
New York
May 31, 2014

Anniversary stay

Not the very best I've been to, staff was great but the food was awful, drinks were horrible too much bottom shelf booze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 13, 2010

Ok Trip. Nothing Speical

Not a four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YAstman
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Apr 7, 2011

Vacation from hell

My wife and I couldn't wait to go to the DR - a trip there has been on the list for awhile and we finally had the chance to go for about a week. We did lots of research and chose Dreams because we have stayed at other Dreams resorts in Mexico and they were all fabulous. We arrived in the afternoon after flying all night - we flew from LA to Ft. Lauderdale then took a cab to Miami International. It was quite the journey! We arrived to very heavy rain and had to walk from the plane to the airport without any kind of coverage which was about a block long. We flew American Airlines and only recived 1 out of 2 bags. Of course, the bag with all of our clothes was the one that went missing! We only had 1 change of clothes and bathing suits. The people at the airport told us that the bag was on the next flight and we would have it the following morning. The drive from the airport to the hotel was very depressing. DR is very poverty stricken and the area leading into the resort looked a bit sketchy (the hotel staff even advised not to leave the property after the sun sets). The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff took good care of us (for the most part). Our room was very spacious and decorated nicely and we had a big balcony however it was on the 3rd floor and there aren't any elevators. We read other reviews about how the room had a musty smell and those were accurate. We packed a candle but the hotel provided the room with incense. So here we are in the DR, checked in, somewhat rested and ready to go eat dinner. Luckily I had a bathing suit (that looked like shorts) to change into because the jeans I wore on the plane were soaked from the walk at the airport. I had to argue with the hotel manager because there is a "pants only" rule for dining in the restaurants. We were able to have dinner at the Italian restaurant only because it was empty. The food was amazing and the servers were very friendly. Day 2: still raining and after numerous calls throughout the day to American Air, we were told that our luggage was "on the next flight" which meant it was coming the following day. We went to the pool for a bit but the water was freezing cold so we headed over to the only jacuzzi on the property to warm up. We were there for a short time before a child began jumping into the jacuzzi. After the 4th time he jumped, I asked him nicely to stop jumping. He did it again so I asked again for him to stop. He did it again so I raised my voice and told him to stop. His mother wasn't too far away and she perked up when she heard me. I asked her nicely to tell her son to stop jumping and she replied with "it's a free jacuzzi and he can do whatever he wants to do". Great parenting right? Long story short, it turned into a huge yelling match with the mother and when the manager came to help resolve the situation, we were told that we weren't allowed to be in the jacuzzi because it's for "preferred guests only". That night we had to put on our dirty clothes so we could eat dinner without any hassle. Day 3: still raining and the airline "has no idea where our bag is". The closest mall was 45 minutes away and the clothes at the hotel were very expensive so we only bought what they had - shorts and tshirts. We attempted to go to the pool again but it was still ice cold so we went back to the jacuzzi to warm up (only if that crazy lady wasn't there). Sure enough, a few minutes after we got there, she appeared, marched right over to us and began screaming racial and derrogatory comments at us...so we left and went to the spa for a couples massage to relax (which didn't help because the massage basically felt like someone was coating our bodies in lotion - not actually massaging us). That night we attempted to go to dinner in our new shorts and tshirts and were told that we weren't allowed in any of the restaurants. The manager gave me 2 options: 1 was to borrow pants that the servers in the restaurants wear an...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

My advice to anyone flying American Airlines: take a carry on bag with bathing suits, toiletries, flip flops and a change of clothes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
g35girl
Business
North Carolina
Aug 3, 2009

Inconsistent at best...

Wow, what a disappointment! 3 of the 4 rooms we had for our family were so wet, that water literally dripped from the ceiling. Matches left to light incense (now I know why they provide incense burners) would not light. Only one room was acceptable and it was on the first floor. Some in room safes worked, others didn't. Some rooms had great housekeeping, others didn't. Not one room, although same booking class and building had the same amenities (coffee maker, blow dryers etc...). But the clincher was when some money, was stolen over a course of 2 hours. All week, the safe was used religiously, and one morning we left to get breakfast and forgot about some cash left in pants (which were folded and placed in the suitcase). When we returned from breakfast the pants had been removed from the suitcase and the money missing. It's not a vacation when you have to constantly worry about your belongings. The food was hit or miss. Service in the restaurants and buffet - again hit or miss. One thing that was consistent in the buffet - birds landing on fruit, bread, desserts etc and eating away!! The birds are so accustomed to this that they won't even fly away when approached - DISGUSTING!!!! The best part of the resort - the pools, swim-up bar and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PuntaCana1234
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 21, 2011

Average Review

Hotel was decent. Would go back to Punta Cana again but would not go back to this particular resort. The other Dreams resort in Punta Cana appeared to be a bit nicer as we stopped there briefly on the Horse Back tour. Horse Back ride was 1 hour long with a 1.5 hour drive to the ranch. Friendly staff, excellent food. Had problems with the room AC. Staff took 6 hours to initially show up to fix the problem in the room. Bar in the lobby had decent liquor, booze in the pool bar was not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to the Hibachi grill as soon as it opens to ensure you receive a seat around the grill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 8, 2011

Over priced and Over rated

My girlfriend and I recently spent 6 nights at the Dreams Palm Beach at Punta Cana to attend a friend's destination wedding. We had been looking forward to the all-inclusive package, white sand beaches, and relaxing atmosphere for months. 7 days later, we confirmed we would never visit this, or any other, Dreams resort again. We were greeted by tall palm trees, friendly smiles from the bell-hop, and mimosas at the lobby entrance. The main lobby really is impressive, and it turns out a main congregation area for most adults after 7pm. As the bell-hop brought our baggage up to the room, we noted the modestly appointed bedroom area, tiled floors and balcony. We also noted a very musty smell in the room. This persisted for the entirety of the trip (the HVAC has trouble keeping up with the humidity). The bathroom was FAR from luxurious. The plastered walls had been patched several times, but never completely repainted. Several areas were still brown from water damage. The bathtub was a standard Home-Depot style tub. The tub lacked a full curtain or sliding door to block water, having only a half-length piece of fixed glazing. The result? All water touching the glazing ran down, around, and off the side of the tub onto the floor (this was not just a small amount of spray, and explained the water stained walls). Water pressure and temperature were also spotty... sometimes providing plenty of each, sometimes only cold, trickling water. 2 of the 6 nights the cleaning service didn't even make it to our room to clean it (I had to swipe clean towels from a maid's cart in the hallway). The grounds are generally well manicured and landscaped. Crews clean the walks and grass areas with machettes, which is actually kind of fun to watch (and quiet). What was not as well kept were the pools. The "activity" pool, with the volleyball net, attached to the "kiddy" pool, was mostly clean, but the adult pool, with the swim-up bar... I kid you not, you could not see your feet some evenings. Empty plastic cups lined the edge, left until later in the evening when the staff would finally collect the trash. In the "whirlpool" area of the pool, there was, for 6 straight days, some sort of floating, bubbly, yellowish slush. It reminded me of Pina Colada, but we weren't sure if it was pre- or post- digestion. The kicker, was that even IF the pools were kept clean and tidy, they CLOSE AT 7PM. That's right, no swimming, at all, after 7pm any night. That's not the only time we noticed things close early throughout the resort. Staff begin to close up items like the kayaks, giant chess board (very cool, btw), ping-pong table and others around 6pm. The beaches close at 8pm or dark, whichever comes first. The pool bar closes at 5pm. So what stays open after 7pm? Well, the restaurants (which I'll get to in a moment), the lobby bar, usually some form of entertainment which ranged from lame to modestly entertaining, the "casino" (about 12 slots and 4 tables of dealers who can't count chips correctly) and the "discotheque" that doubles as the sports bar. That's it. So, they've closed up all the fun, relaxing items for the evening and what are you to do now? Eat! You have the options of a Chinese/Japanese, Mexican, French, Italian, a Steak/Seafood Grill, and the standard all-inclusive buffet. The buffet is open 22 hours a day. It was good for breakfast, providing decent options to start your day. Lunch was less than stellar and dinners were usually just... blah. And don't even bother with the late night options at the buffet. It's full of leftovers from the day, so they are dried out and tough to chew. Chinese / Japanese - if you want Japanese Hibachi, get there at 6pm and put your name on the list, as they only seat what appeared to be 4-5 tables of 8 per night. The Chinese was... decent, certainly better than your fast-food local Chinese shop at home, but nothing that wowed me. I take that back. The pre-assembled, pre-frozen sushi rolls did "wow" me, but not ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit the Barefoot Grill for nachos, chili-cheese fries and cheeseburgers. The best food we ate all week, which is kind of sad when you think about it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top