$321 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york NY
Jul 29, 2010

Fairly decent

The front desk checked me in quickly and efficiently and I went up to my room. To my surprise there was only one bed in the room. Since I was traveling with my grandmother who was standing right next to me as I was checking in, this was surprising. So I simply called the front desk who promptly told me that there were no rooms available at this time. I decided that maybe calling was considered rude in this country so I made the decision to walk back across to the front desk. However I was could not leave immediately as I had to wait for the porter to bring up my bags, a supposedly five minute process that took half an hour. I was told to call again later on the day and they won that round as I eventually gave up and walked away. After calling and going down there a few more times, I decided to give up completely. So I shared a bed for the duration of the stay. I quickly determined not to make it too much of a problem. However, the malevolent room seemed also as determined to disrupt my good intentions. I tried to set up the ironing board and it refused to sit up on its little haunches and chose instead to slump over onto one side. I turned the iron on and poured water into it lifted it in the traditional way that one would hold an iron and all the water promptly flowed out through the plug. Since I had no intention of being found dead by electrocution, clutching an old iron in a foreign country, I called the front desk and asked for an iron. I am still waiting on that iron. The room was consistently damp which should be expected in the tropical atmosphere but one would assume that that would be the perfect opportunity to constantly change everything everyday. 'Twas not to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelhopefully
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 2, 2010

It was just okay!

Check-in was very difficult (3 rooms, all preferred club) because the rooms were misrepresented -- an oceanview room is actually quite far from the ocean, which you can barely see. So, that's not a problem if you don't expect that you'll be right on the ocean! Partial oceanview rooms don't even face the water. The preferred club manager did change all of our rooms to "better" locations, but the view was impossible to change since there are probably only 5 suites in the entire resort that actually view the ocean. We expected more due to the fact that we paid hundreds of extra dollars per room to be in an oceanview, versus a partial oceanview or tropical view. The resort is showing its age, and the rooms have deteriorated due to the humidity and elements. The sheets on our beds were damp every day, and no amount of air conditioning in the room (or keeping the fan on) helped to dry them out! I will say that based on prior reviews, we expected there to be many mosquitoes.. I only got one bite the entire time and wore no repellant. They fumigated our rooms once during our stay, too. The beaches aren't kept very clean (lots of plastic straws, cigarette butts, tree branches), though there were workers sweeping up tree debris right at the waterline throughout the day. The food was just okay, and you pretty much eat the same thing every day, just displayed in a different way. There are limited vegetarian options at dinner, but we never went hungry if we went to the buffet. Others in the party said the beef, chicken, and seafood were "just okay" and could have been better quality for the price we paid overall. The spa massage was nice, but the masseuse didn't speak English (which is fine, the resort is in a Spanish-speaking country), so it was difficult to communicate what you wanted. Overpriced, even when using a resort coupon. Two people in our party decided to do horseback riding on the beach with Rancho El Diferente, which was fun! The only setback was that we had to drive 1 hour and 15 minutes each way (the guide promised a 40 minute drive) to the ranch, in an open-back truck with extreme diesel exhaust to inhale the whole drive. Make sure you get basic horse steering instruction from the ranchers if you are not horse-experienced, otherwise they will assume you'll be fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are traveling in a group, be sure to send someone in your party to the hostess approximately 1-1.5 hours before you want to eat, to get your party on the waiting list. There are no reservations accepted at the restaurants in this resort, and the hostesses will NOT give you an estimated time you might be seated.. they can only give you a pager, and you just wait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 13, 2010

Not as described. Disappointed!

When we checked in we were given a room with many broken things such as a recessed light fixture hanging from the ceiling, lightbulbs out from the ceiling fan, a clogged (with hair YUCK) jacuzzi/shower, a broken lock on the door, a broken hinge on the wooden window from the room to the jacuzzi, a moldy pillow and a broken shelf in the bathroom! When I complained they said they could not offer me another room that was comparable unless I paid more $ to upgrade! They tried to fix some things but they did not succeed! The next day I complained again and they gave us another room that was available but not what we paid for. They were not accomodating at all! The breakfast and lunch buffet style was not good at all however, the dinner was very good. Wine is not included and it is extremely expensive so if you are wine drinker do not go here. A bottle that would only cost $15 in the US will run you about $45 at this hotel. The property is quite small and only has one main pool, a children's pool and a pool for the preferred guests who pay more money. The beach was very nice but it seemed like every lounge chair was broken! In addition, when we put on the life vests for the water sports they smelled so bad we could not bear it and were unable to participate in many water sports. We also booked the transfer from hotel to airport and the man who was to arrange the transfer was not there both times when he told us to go see him which was alarming as this was two hours before we were supposed to be picked up for our return flight home. The hotel did take care of our transfers right away. In terms of the entertainment staff, they were actually quite good in getting the guests involved and being personable. As for the casino staff, they were miserable and rude! I do want to say that housekeeping was great and they did a great job in maintaining our room very clean. The hotel was just built in 2008 but it presents as having been there much longer than that. This was not exactly a cheap hotel so we were disappointed. I would probably never stay here again. For young groups traveling to party this is a fine hotel so long as you get a cheap deal on it. For couples who want luxury, great food and drinks, skip this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2010

Just Ok

The hotel was ok- it was open and breezy which was nice. There were two negatives for me. The first being that people saved chairs for hours and hours. I would go out to the pool/beach/preferred club areas at 9 or 10 (after breakfast) and there were no chairs available. Every day I had to drag a chair up from the beach to a spot in the sun/pool. One day I witnessed about 8 chairs being saved by one women. Her party showed up sometime around 1pm. The hotel states you cannot save for more than 20 minutes but it is not enforced and the employees don't do anything about it. I wasn't a huge fan of the food. I found most of it to be bland. The French restaurant was probably the best, though the service is that one was the worst of the ones we went too (all but the Italian). If I go back to the DR, I don't think I'd stay at Palm Beach. I'd give Dreams another shot, as people rave about it but just not this location- it didn't do it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat Hibachi, go about an hour + before the time you'd like to eat. They do 3 seatings, and they fill up quickly. To eat at about 8:30-9, we had to go in and get a beeper around 7-7:30. They don't take reservations so plan ahead!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Sep 14, 2010

Not as expected!

Having been to Punta Cana the year before and staying last year at Colonial Majestic, I was quite disappointed in Dreams Palm Beach. They were listed as "deluxe plus", but I did not find that at all. The hotel staff were VERY nice and helpful. The room smelled terrible and moldy the whole time, the air conditioner did not work properly, it cooled the room but did not take the humidity out, everything in the room was damp, even the floor would be wet. Our room tropical view faced the service road. We tried to change rooms but had to come back to the lobby for two days and we wanted to unpack, so finally said forget it, we'll stay where we were. Overall, the hotel and the location were not nearly as beautiful as Colonial Majestic. Food was pretty good. We liked the French restaurant the best. Always you have the chairsavers up at the crack of dawn to save pool chairs! Clemente and Juan at the lobby bar were great! All in all, we had a good time, however, I wouldn't be back to this particular hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Skip the casino, it's tiny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 29, 2009

Good Times

Hotel was ok. Our air conditioner did not ever get below 73 degrees and our water was never really hot in the jacuzzi tub which was very disappointing especially since we upgraded to a room with a tub in it. Pools were very nice and staff was extremely helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Aug 16, 2009

Dreams Palm Beach

Had a major problem checking into the Hotel, they wanted to charge me another $200/nite for my 14 year old daughter (even though it was already on my Orbitz package) - took 2 hours to clear up - not a good start. Beach had alot of seaweed on it all the time in the water and on the beach - kinda gross. We went on an excursion to another beach that was beautiful. Staff was friendly and food OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

ATV tour to beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dream4U01
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Jul 20, 2009

Honeymoon...sort of

This was our honeymoon vacation that started off strong but ended poorly. We enjoyed the pool and beach scenery as well as the availability of bars, but the food was not what we expected. We listened to warnings about the water, so I only drank bottled water, but by our 4th day I was sick and could not eat much for the rest of our trip. I tried to avoid any questionable food, but apparently not well enough. We were also not prepared with dress clothes for 4 of the restaurants that required no flip-flops or shorts. Make sure you have these and hopefully you will enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eviet24
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 3, 2014

DR experience

The resort itself was alright, nothing exceptional about it. We experienced roaches from day 1. Others in our party had received notice of bug spraying in the rooms we did not and we had more bugs after the spraying. The 2 of the 3 lamps did not work. The use of the ceiling fan was useless, could not feel any air from it. The mattress sagged in a "V" shape and rolled to the middle. Very disappointed that we could not visit local economy. We have the attitude of been there done that. Probably will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

don't waste your time on the restaurants, you are at a resort and the men have to wear slacks and shoes to them. You are at a tropical resort, REALLY? Use the World Café buffet. Forget about the room service, what was that?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ooh That Smell
Business
Pittsburgh Pa
Jul 14, 2014

Good service but ground floor rooms stink

Above par service. Not gluten free beer. Ground floor rooms have musty smell with toilet drainage problems during certain times of the day. Beach is good but lots of sea weed. Good size for destination weddings but would not recommend as first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top