$326 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Lenny
Chicago
Nov 29, 2012

Wonderful staff

Beautiful resort, great amenities but what really makes this place great is the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 30, 2009

Middle of the Road

The hotel was just okay. It is definitely not top of the line. I thought Orbitz had this as a 5 star hotel. I give it 3 tops. The best thing about this hotel is how close it is to the airport. The service was horrible. Two days in a row we came back to our room after being gone all day and the room still wasn't clean (bed not made, towels not replaced, etc.) They randomly turned down the bed at night. There was also no sense of urgency among the staff. For example, I called down for additional towels and I got them 4 hours later. I also didn't like the location or view of our room. I thought we get a view of the gardens. The so-called "gardens" were totally bush league. Most of the rooms do not have an ocean view. We were also not aware (as Orbitz did not indicate on their website) that there was a preferred VIP option for stay at the hotel. Not that we would have chosen it (because others we spoke to said it wasn't worth the extra $80 per night), but it would have been nice to know. Also, I didn't like the way they try to trap you with regard to the hotel transportation to and from the airport. You definitely need it, but then in order to get a ride back to the airport on the day you leave, you are requied to sit with a sales guy on your first day there who tells you all about the day trips you can go on. When we didn't schedule anything with the guy, he snubbed us when we went to confirm our ride back to the airport. I was concerned that he would purposely screw things up because we didn't buy anything from him. I also didn't like that the hotel staff went around every day practically begging people to participate in their sponsored day trip activities that you would have to pay for. I just wanted to be left alone. But at least a dozen people a day asked me if I wanted to go horseback riding or dunebuggy riding. One day my husband and I wanted to take windsurfing lessons. I was surprised at how rude and impatient the guy giving the lessons were. I think I would have got the hang of it if I had a chance, but his impatience with me made me just leave. Another thing I wasn't to crazy about was all of the boats in the water. For as beautiful as the beach and water were, I did not want to go in because I felt that the water was polluted from all of the boats in the water. The topper was the buffet at the World Cafe. I realize that everything is outside, however, there were birds stealing food right off of the cold buffets. They were also hopping all over the bread and then stealing it. We noticed they weren't eating the hot stuff, so that's all we ate. We were even more surprised to see people eating the bread and the cold buffet food after they watched the birds hopping all over it and stealing it. Overall the food was okay. I eat healthy so the birds really put a damper on my dibs on the cold buffet. The food in the nighttime restaurants was pretty good, especially the Asian and the French restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat off the cold buffets...you don't want bird diseases.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Rich
Business
Temecula,Ca
Jun 21, 2010

Honest Review

The best part of the Hotel is the Staff and grounds. The food is average at best. If you are a foodie do not go here, you will be disappointed. The beach was clean, but when we happen to go there, there was a lot of sea grass in the water and on the beach. They came by and cleaned it often but it was still all over the water and on the beach. The rooms were a disappointment, the images that they show you are of the honeymoon suite and not what you actually get. Also be warned that the rooms smell musty/moldy, we spoke to several other people at the airport and they all had the same situation at the other resorts. Entertainment was ok. If you do decide to go here pay for the preferred package, [...] at the preferred desk will remember you and accommodate you as best as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the day trip to the carribean side of the island. They take you on a catamaran to an island state park that has the most beautiful water you ever saw

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not thrilled.
Business
Maryland
Oct 22, 2009

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana -

This is a nice okay place to stay with a lot of activities and entertainment. Best things are the beach and pools. Beautiful grounds and quite a variety of amenities (some are included some are not). Restaurant seating availability is limited since they are small and quickly fill up at prime times. Each restaurant closes twice a week with no published schedule; you show up and they are either open or closed. Service is attentive but fawning as the staff are openly maneuvering for a gratuity. There is nothing to do off of the resort; the one shopping excursion is at a small two store mall that obviously worked with the resort; very expensive as was anything on the resort that wasn't included in the package you buy, i.e. spa treatments, wine at dinner. There is a local open market a hundred yards up the road from the resort that had a great deal of "touristy" items and was a lot of fun if you enjoy bartering. The food at the resort's restaurants was fair to average; no gourmet dining. We were members of the "Preferred Club" which was not worth the added expense. Save your money. In general it was a pleasant experience that I would rate 3 stars out of five because there were little things done poorly that were aggravating and drew down the overall experience. I would be ambivalent if asked to recommend this resort to a friend because while it had many good points and it did have some bad. We will try another resort for our next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lot's of things to do but stick to those scheduled and included in your "all inclusive" package. Anything else is extremely overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenakins
Business
Hull, GA
Jul 25, 2009

Expected more-but overall great vacation

This was a first trip out of the USA for my husband and myself so it was a learing experience. The resort overall is very nice and most of the staff were wonderful. We paid extra for the preferred club ocean front room but really don't think it was worth it. The ocean front room was on the other side of the resort away from the preferred pool and preferred area. We had batting cages, boats, and the dive shop in our view and I would have rather just had a pool view or resort view than that. The preferred club was also suppose to include an upgraded minibar but we had less in our minibar than the normal minibar. We were suppose to have internet service included and this is how we planned to keep in touch with our children because the price of phone calls is VERY expensive but we we were told we would have to wait till the next day about 9:30am to get a password and when we went the next day we were told about 5 times to come back in 20 minutes to get it but each time we went back it was not ready and when we were told it was finally ready we had to go all the way to the internet cafe and get a username and password. We also purchased round trip transportation to and from the resort thru Orbitz and the ticket said for us to call Coco Tours 24 hours before leaving to arrange transportation. Well that was a nightmare as when we arrived at the airport coming in Coco Tours told us we had to meet a guy at the resort the next morning at 9:30 am to see when we would need to be ready to leave. Well we went to meet the guy and we were early but he was suppose to be there at 8:30 everyday anyway and another man said he would be there in 10 min. Well we went to see if we could handle the internet during that time and came back a little after 9:30 and he was not there so we walked off and came back a little while later and he was finally there but was helping another couple. So about 10:20 we were helped and learned that we would have to come back the night before we left and he would tell us when to meet at the front for pick up. So we wasted the ENTIRE morning dealing with this and the internet situation. But the drivers at Coco Tours both coming and going were wonderful and we also ended up booking a dune buggy tour thru our Coco Tour representative that was great. The food was overall very good but for some reason we had trouble getting drinks especially in the morning. We asked for sprite and coke which was readily available in our rooms and at the bars and for lunch but at breakfast we normally had to ask several times and would almost be done with our food before we got our drinks. Also the "dress code" they have established is ridiculous!!! We dressed accordingly every time and each time we saw people in blue jeans, short shorts, tons of tee shirts & flip flops. We were so worried about if our clothes were good enough and purchased so much for this trip to wear to make sure we were able to eat in all the restaurants. I was only told by one person that one of the restaurants would not let them in with shorts an we went to that restuarant and saw blue jeans and shorts and that same person was able to go into the French restaurant with shorts and that was the one that was suppose to be the strictest on the dress code. But the food was very good at the Seaside grill, World Cafe & the Italian restaurants. And the alcohol drinks were GREAT-we especially loved the seaside grill bar and would walk across the resort just to go to that one. The only other thing was the room-it was beautiful and very clean but like i read in so many other reviews it was damp and nothing was dry and by the second day it started to smell musky. Our bed was damp and very uncomfortable to sleep in. We would open the doors and keep the fan in the bathroom on but it still did not help. Our clothes were all damp feeling also and even hanging wet things outside they would not dry. I expected some of this but they really need to do someth...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a quick walk from the resort is a shopping area that is great for souvenirs. Just make sure you haggle with them. They start at ridiculous prices and we offered normally to start 60% less and normally got it for that. They will hound you but if you just tell them to let you look or walk off they will back off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hagerstown, maryland
Aug 14, 2009

dreams palm beach - good, bad & ugly!

dreams palm beach is a nice setting with averabe rooms, horrible bathrooms (actually falling apart), decent liquor (though some watered-down), good beer (even bottled u.s. beer), good food (steaks at sea-side grille are huge; beach grille good hamburgers and chicken every day; french restaurant excellent lambchops; cafe - good coffee and pastries). maid service was not good at all - no matter how many times you told them about a problem it didn't get fixed! we didn't have a dvd player (all rooms have) in one of our rooms and it took 3 days to get one put in! also, the "stocked" refrigerator often did not get replenished every day as it was supposed to. rooms are very ordinary but clean. walls were so thin you could hear every conversation in surrounding rooms and above you. in bathrooms which were literally falling apart you could acually hear the people in the room above going to the bathroom - horrible! bathroom doors are glass swinging doors with no way to lock and in both rooms were falling off their hinges! looked like the bathrooms were 20 years older than the rest of the hotel! entertainment staff might as well not even exist (except for some exercise classes). they had no enthusiasm as you normally see throughout domrep and the rest of the caribbean! though not travelling with children met several couple who were and they highly praised the "explorer club" which occupies younger children with fun activities allowing the parents to enjoy time alone! lay out of the resort is excellent! pool bar needs new bartenders - seemed to cater to young guests and were not very pleasant. [...] at the side bar near the pool is excellent as are the bartenders at the lobby bar. was shocked to find not only presidente, one and bohemia dominican beers in bottles but also heineken, budweiser and carona! disco needs better management - actual 14-17 year olds in there acting very drunk, sexual and obnoxious. some nights played 90% spanish music while maybe 10% of patrons were non-spanish. avoid the "flea market" outside hotel at all costs - very aggressive, rude and ignorant shop keepers. go to #13 at flea market if you must go - american owned and gives good no hassle prices! was travelling with grown children 24 (son), 26 (daughter with boyfriend from denver), 28 (son with girlfriend from orlando). all had a great time. if you modernize the bathrooms and make a little more private this would be an excellent 3STAR resort worth the $$$. incidentally i have travelled extensively in the caribbean (4th time in domrep, 5 times in jamaica, 2 times in cancun, 1 in st thomas and 1 in st marten) all in the last 5 years and never on cruises!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

see winston at shop #13 for all souvenir needs - best no hassle prices. he's american. shop located right next to small bar/snack shop at flea market! all other shop keepers are rude, nasty and aggressive trying to rip off people. they will agree on a price and renege.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Igli Como
Business
Clifton, NJ
Jul 7, 2009

Dreams Resort Revie

My trip to Dreams Resort Punta Cana DR. the resort was located not too far from the airport, about 20 minutes from PUJ airport. Taxi fare for six $40. you can also take a bus but since we arrived late at 9pm we did not want to wait. When we arrived at the resort we went to the front desk and they gave us our rooms. We went to our rooms only to find not what we booked online. I and my wife ordered a king size bed, instead we got 2 double beds and there was leaking from the ceiling in the bathroom and smell of molding. right away we called the front desk and they told us to wait till next morning until 10am. we were not happy with their answer so we went and complained in the front desk that same night. We did not want to waiste our morning switching rooms so we wanted to get it over with that same night. after half hour "arguing" they finally switched us to another room. next day we had a great time at the beach but when we went back to our room at 6PM we found out our room was not made and we had no towels. Again we complained to the front desk and they sent 3 people to clean our room right away. In 2 days there and we were already tired of complaining. THe 3rd day things started getting better. we were getting our room cleaned on time and everything was great. we tried the restaurants but the wait time was ridiculous 1-1/2 hours at the Italian restaurant, 2-1/2 hours at the French, only the Japanese Hibachi style was the fastest cause they were cooking right in front of you. The best overall place to eat was the buffet. The entertainers in the resort were excellent they were always full of life and energy and made us feel great. The shows at night were excellent. P.S. tipping would always produce good results. Service was faster and they were paying more attention to me at the bar. for 7 days spent about $100 of tip in singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Aug 9, 2010

Clean and modern, but would not go back.

I apologize if this review is a bit harsh, but this is an honest account of how my wife and I felt about our trip after returning and while at the resort. Overall, resort was clean, modern and relaxing. The pools were nice, however the staff should monitor who is placing towels on chairs just to reserve. This seems to be a problem at a lot of resorts. Often it was difficult to communicate with staff because of language barrier (Spanish to English). Gift shop prices were high, but not entirely unreasonable. The Botique, however, was a complete ripoff. $48 for a pair of rubber flip-flops? Give me a break. The exchange service charges more than 20% to take out cash with credit/debit ($243 to take out $200) so bring PLENTY of cash. A small bottle of sunscreen was $23 at the gift shop, but sandles were $14. Dinner restaurant food was good and no reservations are required. Once again communication was difficult at times with waiters, but some were O.K. Buffet was sub-par. I would rate it about a 5 out of 10. Many food choices, but not a lot of appealing food (i.e. lots of breads, fruits, but not a good variety of heated choices). Buffet is open air so the food is essentially sitting outside. Frequently had to hunt for a table that was cleaned and had new silverware, napkins, etc. Vendors are allowed on the resort twice a week at night. As with most places, they harass you like nothing else to buy jewelry. We did not enjoy that at all. We didn't appreciate being harassed by vendors on our way to supper. On top of that there is a company that is permanently at the resort and harasses you by the pool to sign up for excursions. It gets really old after you've been there for a few days and are still being asked. Our only other trip experiences have been cruises and the cruises (Carnival and Disney) were much more fun. We don't plan to return to this resort or maybe even the Dominican Republic at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment wasn't the best. I felt some shows were inappropriate for children. For example, the "True Love" show required couples to pop balloons in between each other while in what were obviously sexual positions and the balloons rarely popped the first few tries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 29, 2010

Just ok...

Pretty standard all inclusive resort. Service is ok- great at times- bad at others- slow when restaurants are busy. My one complaint is that the main lobby along with some of the restaurants are not in enclosed buildings but rather in open air structures. If you've ever been the DR, you know the it is always hot and humid, and having lounge and eating space without air conditioning is kind unbearable. Other than that, nice pools, pretty nice people, nice beach and pretty nice bang for your buck. Don't do the romantic dinner- its kind of a waste of money. They give you too much food and by the time your on the main course you can barely eat anything else. It's nice to have a table on the beach by the ocean, but for no money at all you can take a walk or even sit on chairs with that special someone on the same beach with the same view with the drink of your choice. Go that route

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

When in the Casino playing blackjack be careful. The dealers either don't know what they are doing, or are very good at acting like they don't know how to add in an effort to increase their odds and take your money when your not paying attention (I assume the prior)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, MI
Jul 26, 2011

Review on Dreams Palm Beach resort

The restaurants and variety of food, especially in the buffet, were great, as well as the 24 hour room service included in the all inclusive. The resort was beautiful, and I didn't see a single bug, bird, or creature of any sort, so they do a great job keeping all of those away. The beach was absolutely beautiful, and they work hard to keep the seaweed clear. The staff is extremely friendly and fun, and had many fun activities planned for each day. However, I was disappointed by the size of the room, and the shower had only half a door so the floor got soaked everytime you shower, and they were very slow checking us in and made a big mistake of giving us keys to a room that was already occupied so it made me nervous that just anyone could get a key to our room with our personal belongings sitting in there. They did not do anything to make up for this. Overall it was a great experience, but I will probably try a different resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dolphin Explorer excursion was great, worth the money, since you get to swim with sharks/stingrays, and a sea lion, and then snorkel and go to a natural pool, and fun crew and dancing on the boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tjkargue
Business
Centerville, OH
May 11, 2011

Much Needed R&R

Staff was great. We just relaxed & drank. It was easier to go to the bar & get a drink. Plan to stay on the resort. There isn't anything to do around the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top