$321 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Lenny
Chicago
Nov 29, 2012

Wonderful staff

Beautiful resort, great amenities but what really makes this place great is the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovetotravelnj
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Cruise Ship on Land

Went for a week in April with my husband and 6 year old daughter. We booked this place due to it being a 4 star resort and the great deal we got here. Details of the hotel below: Front desk: At check in we were treated rudely by the female front desk clerk. She would not answer our questions and when we asked for a room with 2 beds she told us the hotel was sold out (which it was not as we found out later). Speaking with other guests they all had simlar stories of the front desk and found them to be no help at all. Hotel Rooms: everything in the room is old and breaking apart. The matresses were sunken, the dresser drawers were broken, chair fabric was torn up and the bathroom had mismatched tiles and stained grout, stained toilet (it grossed me out) The shower would not drain and they had to repair it 2 times (by squirting something down the drain). It kept draining very slow but we just dealt with it. Chairs on the patio were all torn up also and could not even be sat in. Also had a few roaches in our room. The pool area was very nice and great options with the 3 pools, however everyone puts their things on the chairs before 8am and even though management states they will take unattended items off the chairs - they never did this, so my family never got to eat bfast together as we needed to get chairs under umbrellas early. Waitress service was horrible at the pool as there seemed to be on 3 working for all the people at the pool. We had to get up and get our own drinks. Beach: crazy soft sand! Plenty of chairs on the beach - never a problem. We only were able to swim one day out of seven as there were some storms off shore which made the ocean very wavy. However the day we did swim the water was crystal clear and so warm. There are some vendors walking the beach but they dont come into the chair area so it was nice not to get accosted. Activities: so much going on during the day. Games, work outs, scuba diving lessons...it goes on and on. We did not participate and did not get pressured by the entertainment staff to join. The entertainment team however are all fantastic and you can tell they actually like their jobs! Kids Club: My daughter had mixed reviews on the Club. Not for a lack of things to do or the wonderful Awilda who works there - but just that all the other kids that were there that week were from South America and all spoke Spanish so she felt pretty left out. Food: The best restaurant is the Seaside Grill. We all enjoyed our meal there and the great wait staff. The buffet got old after a few days and the French restaurant was just awful! Burgers on the beach was great during the afternoon and there was a big Carribean night on the beach which was yummy as well. Net net: if you are looking for a place to go and dont really care about your food or the room but want a place where you can play all day at various activities then this is the place for you. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation where you feel catered to and tucked in - then look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Give me more travel
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 1, 2012

Close but not quite 4-star quality.

OVERALL: They try hard but seem to fall short of full expectation or quality, considering their self-imposed goal to be like an American resort. I travel internationally a lot, and have an adjusted standard of expectation than many Americans. This is not Florida. I don't typically go to all-inclusive beach resorts; came for a wedding. STAFF: Overall the staff was incredibly friendly. But the waitstaff in the restaurants don't come by to refill drinks as often as they should (even water), and being part of a big loud group, our orders weren't matched correctly and some were missed. FOOD: Quality of the restaurants: Mexican = okay, French = disappointing, Italian= they managed to mess that up, Hibachi = great. Seaside Grill was my favorite restaurant for quality food and open view of the beach. The all day buffet at the World Cafe was an excellent American food selection. Too bad there wasn't any local cuisine representation. ROOMS: My room was great and they keep them really clean. But the rest of my group had issues with shower drain overflowing once or twice, broken hairdryers (replaced) and refrigerators, placement of handicapped in non ADA rooms. In at least one instance, the hotel moved someone from a room that needed service, only to immediately place someone new there without making proper repairs. ACTIVITIES: Its like being on a cruise ship with multiple things happening all day to entertain. But the best ones were Karaoke, Bonfire, and Disco on the beach. Unfortunately they only lasted an hour each. All events seemed to end by 10pm. So people would retreat to the only bar still open, till midnight, in the hotel lobby. There is a Disco attached to the small casino, but I don't know anyone that hung out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best to stick with seafood and steaks, which they cook excellently...the sides/fixings were meh at most of the restaurants. Favorite drink was the Island Kiss. Oh, and another pointer: The shower stall gives hot water when the lever is in the MIDDLE, not one side or the other.

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elaine rx
Business
new york
Jul 4, 2012

great family resort

good value, good food choices,paiella and sangria on beach a treat. beautiful beach and pools. Beautiful grounds, well kept. Resort located within 15 - 20 minutes of airport. Resort staff went out of their way to make sure all had a good time. Night life could be better. There was a show each nite, nothing to talk about. Bartenders very friendly in lobby bar/ tipping does get you better drinks and service. pool swimup bar closes at 5pm. A bit early for some. Rooms a bit musty and dated but it was a standard room. When we had a issue with shower drain, they came next day to repair. Spa quite expensive, fitness room small. 2 Tennis courts one of which was in bad shape for a serious player. Plenty of activities to do on beach for a fee. We enjoyed Boogie ride to Macao Beach and cave. We did not venture too far from resort when we took morning jog, felt safer on beach. All in all a good time by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French Restaurant best food. Several restuarants have staeks.Morningbreaskfast huge selection at buffet. Heard some say go to restaurants at nite then go to buffet for second round and huge selection of deserts. Open late,late there is a good amount of food to be had.

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
seagirl1
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 29, 2012

a good family hotel

That was our 2nd vacation in a Dreams hotel in Dominican Republic and I wasn't impressed as much as the first one (Dreams La Romana). The hotel is smaller, there are fewer restaurants and entertainment program is not that various. The staff is OK, I can say average. We were prepared to tip them but it seems that even that was not a motivation to perform better than average. Maybe preferred club is better. The explorer club is the best part of the hotel, the girls are extraordinary! The beach is very nice, sometimes there is sea weed but it is cleaned regularly. I was a pleasant vacation and we had a good time there but if I have to compare the amenities they weren't as better as the other places where we've been in DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss not to happy
Business
NY
Jul 16, 2013

Family vacation

The hotel was alright certainly not a 4 star experience. Food was pretty good, pools were ok, and ambiance was good. The room was not good at all!! Dirty, old, and very musky! The sheets and towels had a very bad smell to them. We were given a king size bed for the five of us (2 adults + 3 kids) they could not accomodate us into a better room quick enough. The staff was not so friendly some did help and were nice but some of them were rude and not very helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kyhoneymooner
Business
lexington Ky
Oct 13, 2013

Great Value

The pros: FRIENDLY STAFF, value price, true all inclusive, FRIENDLY STAFF The cons: food so-so & no real dominican food options, room contained lots of ants, not much in means of entertainment while on the resort This place was great for the price, I really feel as if I got my moneys worth. Just make sure you stay at the preferred level, you'll get a lot more perks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Annual Mexico Vacationer
Business
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Nov 22, 2013

Nice Place just not near anything

Went with a group of 20 for a friends wedding. My wife and I chose to upgrade to preferred club after reading the reviews. Let me just say this, preferred club is nothing special. Check-in was made easier because you check in with a concierge rather than the front desk. Other than that it's nothing special and really not worth it. If you do decide book preferred now rather than wait, they tried charging an arm and a leg to our friends who wanted to upgrade when they got down there. No one uses the preferred pool, and the preferred lounge takes FOREVER to make your drinks. Free wi-fi though in the lounge. Food at the hotel was ok but nothing to write home about. I tend to be a picky eater so I'll leave that up to someone else to opinionate on. The beach at the hotel was well taken care of as opposed to the other hotels on the same beach some of them were literally covered in seaweed. If you leave the resort to go shopping be prepared to be harassed and hounded into buying something, I thought Mexico was bad, you haven't seen nothing until you come here. They corner you in their store and almost MAKE you buy something very very pushy. Drinks at the hotel are great and not watered down by anymeans. For those reviews that say otherwise, I'll say this, your drinking the wrong drink and it wouldn't hurt to tip them every now and then. Staff at the hotel was very pleasant and will try to please you no matter what. There is a little bit of a language barrier but not to bad. Pools were nice and warm and clean. My wife and I didn't have anything really bad to say about the hotel itself but that part of the island is very undeveloped and there is no scenery other than at your hotel which is very isolated from anything other than a few other hotels. But if I could pick between Mexico (as my wife and I travel there usually every year) or Dominican Republic, hands down I'd pick Mexico every time. More to do, more to see, and you can venture from your hotel and experience something outside of your hotel's culture and activities. I would reccomend this hotel only if you are going to Punta Cana as it was nicer than most others we walked by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The japanese restaurant was excellent, As was the seaside grill for dinner, Buffet was well a buffet, it is what it is something for everyone just not that good.

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BK321
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 4, 2014

Average

This hotel was overall very average. The restaurants were the best part of the stay. The rooms were just okay, but they were starting to make renovations on the rooms. The minibar in the room was not good. They had a couple sodas and water and 2 beers. Even if requested they still only gave you 2 beers. There was nothing that stood out to me as amazing. Overall an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Show up either early or late to dinner. If you show up at dinner time you will be sweating your butt of outside in the humidity waiting to eat.

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 30, 2009

Middle of the Road

The hotel was just okay. It is definitely not top of the line. I thought Orbitz had this as a 5 star hotel. I give it 3 tops. The best thing about this hotel is how close it is to the airport. The service was horrible. Two days in a row we came back to our room after being gone all day and the room still wasn't clean (bed not made, towels not replaced, etc.) They randomly turned down the bed at night. There was also no sense of urgency among the staff. For example, I called down for additional towels and I got them 4 hours later. I also didn't like the location or view of our room. I thought we get a view of the gardens. The so-called "gardens" were totally bush league. Most of the rooms do not have an ocean view. We were also not aware (as Orbitz did not indicate on their website) that there was a preferred VIP option for stay at the hotel. Not that we would have chosen it (because others we spoke to said it wasn't worth the extra $80 per night), but it would have been nice to know. Also, I didn't like the way they try to trap you with regard to the hotel transportation to and from the airport. You definitely need it, but then in order to get a ride back to the airport on the day you leave, you are requied to sit with a sales guy on your first day there who tells you all about the day trips you can go on. When we didn't schedule anything with the guy, he snubbed us when we went to confirm our ride back to the airport. I was concerned that he would purposely screw things up because we didn't buy anything from him. I also didn't like that the hotel staff went around every day practically begging people to participate in their sponsored day trip activities that you would have to pay for. I just wanted to be left alone. But at least a dozen people a day asked me if I wanted to go horseback riding or dunebuggy riding. One day my husband and I wanted to take windsurfing lessons. I was surprised at how rude and impatient the guy giving the lessons were. I think I would have got the hang of it if I had a chance, but his impatience with me made me just leave. Another thing I wasn't to crazy about was all of the boats in the water. For as beautiful as the beach and water were, I did not want to go in because I felt that the water was polluted from all of the boats in the water. The topper was the buffet at the World Cafe. I realize that everything is outside, however, there were birds stealing food right off of the cold buffets. They were also hopping all over the bread and then stealing it. We noticed they weren't eating the hot stuff, so that's all we ate. We were even more surprised to see people eating the bread and the cold buffet food after they watched the birds hopping all over it and stealing it. Overall the food was okay. I eat healthy so the birds really put a damper on my dibs on the cold buffet. The food in the nighttime restaurants was pretty good, especially the Asian and the French restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat off the cold buffets...you don't want bird diseases.

Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Rich
Business
Temecula,Ca
Jun 21, 2010

Honest Review

The best part of the Hotel is the Staff and grounds. The food is average at best. If you are a foodie do not go here, you will be disappointed. The beach was clean, but when we happen to go there, there was a lot of sea grass in the water and on the beach. They came by and cleaned it often but it was still all over the water and on the beach. The rooms were a disappointment, the images that they show you are of the honeymoon suite and not what you actually get. Also be warned that the rooms smell musty/moldy, we spoke to several other people at the airport and they all had the same situation at the other resorts. Entertainment was ok. If you do decide to go here pay for the preferred package, [...] at the preferred desk will remember you and accommodate you as best as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the day trip to the carribean side of the island. They take you on a catamaran to an island state park that has the most beautiful water you ever saw

Back to menu Return to top