$326 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 1, 2009

Wonderful vacation

The staff is great and they are very hospitable. Food was good with several restaurants to choose from, as well as the buffet which offered a wide variety of foods. Pools and beach areas had huts and plenty of lounge chairs. Very comfortable along with the great service. relaxing under palm trees with drink in hand, can't ask for much more than that. Many activities if you choose or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Oct 27, 2009

Fantastic trip

I got my bags next day to the arrived. I nedd to buy some clothes to pass my first day. My fligt was tru AA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spectacular

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VB Girl
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 26, 2009

The Good and Bad

Check-in was quick and we were greeted with Mimosas and lemony-scented cool washcloths. We should have held onto those washcloths as they were some of the very few we got the entire seven days. The location is super. Grounds and beach are beautiful and well maintained. Pools are fabulous; however, the staff allows guests to throw a towel on lounge chairs early in the morning to save them for as long as they wish. The resort states the staff will remove items on unused chairs after 20 minutes but they never did this. In one instance we noticed nearby lounge chairs saved for seven hours with guests not showing up to use them. Feel free to remove those towels and use the chairs yourself. We did. Seaside Grill and Himitsu are excellent. El Patio and Portofino are fairly good and although Bordeaux is fairly good it took almost two hours to eat. There is plenty to be found at the World Cafe Buffet. Drinks are good. Only had bar service at the beach three times in seven days. Had to walk back to pool bar to get them remainder of time. Rooms are spacious. We hung a Damp Rid bag and it accumulated a half bag of water in seven days. Air conditioning is not reliable. During the night it became extremely hot in the room. Did not encounter any mosquitoes in the room and only a few on the beach after dark. The showers are strange with no door or curtain but pick up an extra beach towel and put on the floor to soak up the water. Bathroom sinks are the bowls on top the counter and are quite worthless for anything but washing your hands. The faucet extends so far you cannot get close enough to wash your face. They do not have drain plugs -- we asked. Housekeeping is one huge issue at this resort. Our room was not cleaned until 3:30 to 4:30 each day and we almost always had to chase down someone to get towels and washcloths so we could take showers. We had to specifically ask for tissues, shower gel, and shampoo. It was challenging as the housekeepers do not speak English. Entertainment is poor. The theater is a big room with a stage and plastic straight-back outdoor chairs. The romantic bonfire on the beach one night was nice. The casino has 22 slot machines and several tables. On two nights local vendors brought their wares on the property and hounded you as you tried to pass. We encountered some great service and some that bordered on rude. Front desk personnel are generally not friendly. Concierge was great and attempted to take care of our issues. Bartenders and waiters are great. We received a call the night before our departure to ask what time we would like a bellman to pick up our luggage. Nice gesture, but unfortunately he did not show at all and we had to lug the bags down three flights of stairs (no elevators here). That sure left a bad last impression. Overall the trip was good. The beach is superb and food and drinks plentiful. Unfortunately the service at this resort is not up to standard. If I were to return to Punta Cana I would definitely not stay at Dreams Palm Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Himitsu and Seaside Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
morristown,N.J.
Oct 26, 2009

nice resort at a decent price

Arrived at Dreams only to be told there was a dress code for 75% of resturants at hotel. I had to purchase dress slacks and dress shoes in order to enter these resturants.I questioned the front desk only to be told that this has happened in the past and ther's nothing they can do about it. A dismal and upsetting way to start your vacation.Aside from that our stay was enjoyable.Having visited Punta Cana before I would say that ther are some other all-inclusive hotels that fare better then Dreams.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not thrilled.
Business
Maryland
Oct 22, 2009

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana -

This is a nice okay place to stay with a lot of activities and entertainment. Best things are the beach and pools. Beautiful grounds and quite a variety of amenities (some are included some are not). Restaurant seating availability is limited since they are small and quickly fill up at prime times. Each restaurant closes twice a week with no published schedule; you show up and they are either open or closed. Service is attentive but fawning as the staff are openly maneuvering for a gratuity. There is nothing to do off of the resort; the one shopping excursion is at a small two store mall that obviously worked with the resort; very expensive as was anything on the resort that wasn't included in the package you buy, i.e. spa treatments, wine at dinner. There is a local open market a hundred yards up the road from the resort that had a great deal of "touristy" items and was a lot of fun if you enjoy bartering. The food at the resort's restaurants was fair to average; no gourmet dining. We were members of the "Preferred Club" which was not worth the added expense. Save your money. In general it was a pleasant experience that I would rate 3 stars out of five because there were little things done poorly that were aggravating and drew down the overall experience. I would be ambivalent if asked to recommend this resort to a friend because while it had many good points and it did have some bad. We will try another resort for our next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Lot's of things to do but stick to those scheduled and included in your "all inclusive" package. Anything else is extremely overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 9, 2009

Not all that, McDonnalds in PC

Made a mistake for what we wanted. It was all american resort, couples and older folks. If you like that and are with kids, this is a great place. But if you wan to have the DR experiance, not the place for it. The serve Burgers and HotDogs on the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Sep 19, 2009

Friendly Staff

All staff members were very friendly. The rooms have a nice contemporary look but was very damp with a lot of mosquitos. The plumbing also did not work well, our tub was 1/5 filled everytime we took a shower, the water just did not go down well. Overall, the level of service could be better. For ex, the mini bar was supposed to be re-stocked everyday but wasn't and when we requested it to be re-stocked, we had to call several times. We also had to call several times about the bathtub issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't expect too much. It's an all-inclusive so the food is OK, nothing great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Totally relaxed after 3 nights @ Dreams
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Sep 17, 2009

Beautiful vacation spot

This was a beautiful resort with a beautiful beach and great pools. Also liked the swim-up bar in the pool. The Spa services were very nice and reasonably priced. The only negative was that many of the activities were not "all inclusive" compared to other "all inclusive" resorts we have visited. At Dreams Palm Beach you can either book via the concierge desk or there are many people on the beach selling various activities. So if you are looking for adventure trips, glass bottom boat trips, horseback riding, etc, remember to budget at least $500 USD extra. The vendors on the beach were a little aggressive at times and there were many of them. But when we stayed closer to the hotel on the beach, they didn't bother us. The only activities included in hotel price was 30min windsurfing and 30min canoeing (to my knowledge, there may have been a few more). The entertainment staff was EXCELLENT! There was plenty entertainment all day and night (much better than other resorts we have been to). Daily schedules are left in your room showing different events for that day for both adults and children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Try to bring everything from home! The gift shop was very expensive and they were not interested in bargaining. Mostly in DR you can bargain the price down but not really in the gift shop. We forgot sun screen and had to pay $18 USD for 118ml or 4oz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dgsmar
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 15, 2009

Wonderful experience

We spent most of the time on the beach which was beautiful. Workers came by atleast twice a day to pick up seaweed so the beach was clean. Plenty of chairs, huts and towels. The pools were great as was the poolside bar. The staff made the trip an even better experience. Everyone was so polite and hard-working and it was appreciated. There was always a staff member around if you needed something. We were in the preferred club and check in was quick and simple. When we got to our room the batteries were out in our safe and our mini bar wasn't fully stocked so we made a call to the front desk and both were taken care of in 5 minutes! We didn't do any of the activities (we just loved the pool and beach) but there was plenty to do all day and night. We ate at all of the restaurants except the Asian one and they were all good. Make sure you bring some singles to tip the staff. They are very friendly and accommodating so you won't mind giving them a couple bucks. There was a slight odor in the room due to the humidity, so you may want to bring a candle. Also, make sure you try some [...] from the bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring the essentials (such as toiletries, sunscreen, etc) because they are expensive to buy at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

You get what you pay for

The hotel was o.k. After to traveling to several other islands, it's possible our expectations were a bit too high for the price we paid. The only major complaint was the food. Although there were 5 different restaurants, all of the food tasted pretty much the same. I found hair on my food at one place only to find a bug on my plate once they took the hairy food away. The buffet, although initially impressive, got old quick. Most of the food was either luke warm, over cooked, under cooked, or had a re-heated taste. The food prepared fresh at the grills at the buffet, but with a limited selection became not nearly as appealing after 8 days. Like most islands in the Caribbean, there's not cream to be found anywhere. So, if you like you're coffee light, look elsewhere. To say the coffee was strong was and understatement....it was downright potent! The resort itself was a decent size. The pools were nice and clean. There also seemed to be a fair amount of things to do, although most of the activities we participated in were off the resort excursions. Our room was located directley across from the kids playground and babysitting center. Not exactly what I would call and ideal location. Kids do have a tendency to be loud when there's a large group of them. I'm reasonably certain, however, if I requested, the staff would have changed our room. The rooms were clean and well kept. The shower was very poorly designed as it was difficult to keep the water in the shower! The rooms didn't keep out the noise from the hallways very well and you could hear pretty clear conversations from the neighbors upstairs via the bathroom vent. I'd have to say our overall experience was ok. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and polite. If you're looking for a cheap getaway, this isn't a bad deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top