$297 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
punta cana
May 12, 2009

no so friendly staff

food was overly salty staff lied often same food at every meal!! boring you got the feeling that they didnt like u

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Owen6000
Business
Sarnia, Ontario
Dec 14, 2009

Terrible in every way

This place is a joke. The staff are liars at every turn. We asked for water in the restaurant 3 times and did not get it. When we were leaving the restaurant they asked why and we said that we didn't get any water, they actually said that they don't have any. The front desk lies, the cleaners lie, the bartenders lie, the concierge lies, the waiters lie. The rooms are terrible and small. Most services don't work. Internet did not work in any of the rooms. They don't clean your rooms until after 5 so you have no time to get ready for dinner. The toilet leaked. They don't give you shampoo or soap, or face cloths. It is hard to get towels or robes. Had a staff member lie and say that he does not work here yet he was there everyday. Food wasn't anything special, but it was by far the best thing about this place. I will never ever go back here and can't possibly recommend it to anyone. Much better at Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
California Joe 9000
Business
Pittsbrugh, PA
Jul 7, 2014

Low Quality at a High Price

Resort looked great in pictures but we were unpleasantly surprised with low quality. Resort is very overpriced for the quality of the rooms, food, drinks, etc. Most of our party got sick. The bartender poured us a shot of tequila out of the Stolichnaya vodka bottle. Very obvious they were refilling "top shelf" liquor bottles with well liquor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Aug 21, 2009

vac nightmare

when we check in the supervisor told me he is going to give us a room we paid for and if we want a better room we have to pay $125.00us,more per night i disagreed he did not want to be bothered with us anymore he made someone else help us when we went to the room the toilet seat was broken the bathtub was dirthy and clogged.i complained i was promised another room the next day ,next day no running water in the bathroom i call and complain and ask for the room to be changed as promised instead of someone trying to help us the front desk were yelling at me after i demanded to speak to the manager they decided to change the room that room was not great but better the tv was not working.I was agravated for the first two days the only thing i like was the beach the food was good but after the second day it was too much of the same thing.i would definately not go there again or recomend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VB Girl
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 26, 2009

The Good and Bad

Check-in was quick and we were greeted with Mimosas and lemony-scented cool washcloths. We should have held onto those washcloths as they were some of the very few we got the entire seven days. The location is super. Grounds and beach are beautiful and well maintained. Pools are fabulous; however, the staff allows guests to throw a towel on lounge chairs early in the morning to save them for as long as they wish. The resort states the staff will remove items on unused chairs after 20 minutes but they never did this. In one instance we noticed nearby lounge chairs saved for seven hours with guests not showing up to use them. Feel free to remove those towels and use the chairs yourself. We did. Seaside Grill and Himitsu are excellent. El Patio and Portofino are fairly good and although Bordeaux is fairly good it took almost two hours to eat. There is plenty to be found at the World Cafe Buffet. Drinks are good. Only had bar service at the beach three times in seven days. Had to walk back to pool bar to get them remainder of time. Rooms are spacious. We hung a Damp Rid bag and it accumulated a half bag of water in seven days. Air conditioning is not reliable. During the night it became extremely hot in the room. Did not encounter any mosquitoes in the room and only a few on the beach after dark. The showers are strange with no door or curtain but pick up an extra beach towel and put on the floor to soak up the water. Bathroom sinks are the bowls on top the counter and are quite worthless for anything but washing your hands. The faucet extends so far you cannot get close enough to wash your face. They do not have drain plugs -- we asked. Housekeeping is one huge issue at this resort. Our room was not cleaned until 3:30 to 4:30 each day and we almost always had to chase down someone to get towels and washcloths so we could take showers. We had to specifically ask for tissues, shower gel, and shampoo. It was challenging as the housekeepers do not speak English. Entertainment is poor. The theater is a big room with a stage and plastic straight-back outdoor chairs. The romantic bonfire on the beach one night was nice. The casino has 22 slot machines and several tables. On two nights local vendors brought their wares on the property and hounded you as you tried to pass. We encountered some great service and some that bordered on rude. Front desk personnel are generally not friendly. Concierge was great and attempted to take care of our issues. Bartenders and waiters are great. We received a call the night before our departure to ask what time we would like a bellman to pick up our luggage. Nice gesture, but unfortunately he did not show at all and we had to lug the bags down three flights of stairs (no elevators here). That sure left a bad last impression. Overall the trip was good. The beach is superb and food and drinks plentiful. Unfortunately the service at this resort is not up to standard. If I were to return to Punta Cana I would definitely not stay at Dreams Palm Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Himitsu and Seaside Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 20, 2009

Dreams was a nightmare

When we arrived we were told to wait 30 minutes before our room would be ready, well that became 2 hours. We had our 19 month old son, and my 80 year old Dad, so we were not very happy to wait 2 hours for a room. Our room was fine, however my parents' room did not have a t.v., had a broken lamp, among other things. It took them an hour to locate a new room for them. The food and entertainment was mediocre at best. The hotel policy is not to reserve beach/pool chairs but everyone does, and everyday someone would move our stuff! The guests were rude, and classless. The best part of the resort is the coffee shop, I will not recommend this resort to anyone! We have been to many AI, and loved them, such as Couples Swept Away in Jamaica, RIU Palace in Mexico, but Dreams was by far the worst. Be prepared to wait hours for dinner, since they don't take reservations. Be aware of the shady casino, one night my husband kept winning at the table game, the next night he went back and did not hit not once, and he was betting non-stop. It happened to other guests as well. Do NOT waste your money at the Spa, it was by far the worst service ever. I can go on and on, but I feel I've said enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon Smith
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Punta Cana, My disappointing experience in the DR

We arrived to find out that our room was not ready even though we arrived one hour after check-in. We were fine and decided to use this time to check out the amenities, have a drink and eat. Because our room wasnt ready, we received an upgrade to a suite, which was great. The room size was more than enough for two people and it was a nice surprise. However, the smell of mildew was strong, which I guess is to be expected. The food has a lot to be desired. I was not impressed with the buffet or the restaurants. The menu selection was limited at the restaurants and the food was mediocre at best. The staff was extremely pleasant and they brought a great energy to the resort. Overall, I am happy I went, but I will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J C Hols
Business
Indiana, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Definitely not a 5* location!!

This resort was not a 5 star...... The rooms were dirty and the bar in the room was not stocked on a daily basis. We went down for a wedding and we had 8 rooms booked....my husband and I got to see 4 room and they were all dirty and none of the shower heads worked. We have stayed at a # of all inclusive resorts and we would never be back to this one. I'm not knocking all of the Dreams...because we stayed at the dreams in Cancun and it was nice! The staff (Simon and Gasolina) were AMAZING!!!!!!! They always tried to do anything and everything you wanted. We went in January and the pools were freezing (there were only about 5 people in them the whole time we were there). The food was ok...it was quantity over quality!!!!! My friend got married on the beach and the wedding was amazing and stunning but that had little to do with the Dreams...it was the ocean that was stunning! Overall....I would never ever ever go back to the Dreams Palm Beach in D.R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Find Gasolina (he is so funny and nice)....we called him usher!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JG14889
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 26, 2012

average hotel

overall the resort is nice and you will have a good time, but several things need improvement - we're stuck with a double bed all week and hotel did nothing to remedy the situation - food was average - while some workers did a great job, overall service was not good - room fridge was never stocked and no selection -phone did not work -blackjack dealers have no personality and just try to deal cards as fast as possible, not even giving you a chance to play in many cases -showers have no door, so the entire bathroom floods every time you take a shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WhiteLight
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 3, 2012

All Inclusive...Less the Service

In my mind, when booking at an All Inclusive, service is what you’re paying extra for. Food & drinks can be had anywhere. But, Service is what makes a property shine. Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana does not shine as far as the service aspect goes. Rooms are cleaned late, Mini-Bar not stocked, and servers are slow and often have to be asked multiple times for simple things like more water. Kitchens are extremely slow and concierge’s service will give you a different answer each time you ask the same question. As for the beach, they try to keep it clean. But making small piles of the rotting seaweed till it is dry enough to hall it away is a stinking eyesore. Pool areas are nice and drinks are strong. So if that’s what you’re looking for and you can drink a lot…go for it. Otherwise avoid spending your monies here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top