$326 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelhopefully
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 2, 2010

It was just okay!

Check-in was very difficult (3 rooms, all preferred club) because the rooms were misrepresented -- an oceanview room is actually quite far from the ocean, which you can barely see. So, that's not a problem if you don't expect that you'll be right on the ocean! Partial oceanview rooms don't even face the water. The preferred club manager did change all of our rooms to "better" locations, but the view was impossible to change since there are probably only 5 suites in the entire resort that actually view the ocean. We expected more due to the fact that we paid hundreds of extra dollars per room to be in an oceanview, versus a partial oceanview or tropical view. The resort is showing its age, and the rooms have deteriorated due to the humidity and elements. The sheets on our beds were damp every day, and no amount of air conditioning in the room (or keeping the fan on) helped to dry them out! I will say that based on prior reviews, we expected there to be many mosquitoes.. I only got one bite the entire time and wore no repellant. They fumigated our rooms once during our stay, too. The beaches aren't kept very clean (lots of plastic straws, cigarette butts, tree branches), though there were workers sweeping up tree debris right at the waterline throughout the day. The food was just okay, and you pretty much eat the same thing every day, just displayed in a different way. There are limited vegetarian options at dinner, but we never went hungry if we went to the buffet. Others in the party said the beef, chicken, and seafood were "just okay" and could have been better quality for the price we paid overall. The spa massage was nice, but the masseuse didn't speak English (which is fine, the resort is in a Spanish-speaking country), so it was difficult to communicate what you wanted. Overpriced, even when using a resort coupon. Two people in our party decided to do horseback riding on the beach with Rancho El Diferente, which was fun! The only setback was that we had to drive 1 hour and 15 minutes each way (the guide promised a 40 minute drive) to the ranch, in an open-back truck with extreme diesel exhaust to inhale the whole drive. Make sure you get basic horse steering instruction from the ranchers if you are not horse-experienced, otherwise they will assume you'll be fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are traveling in a group, be sure to send someone in your party to the hostess approximately 1-1.5 hours before you want to eat, to get your party on the waiting list. There are no reservations accepted at the restaurants in this resort, and the hostesses will NOT give you an estimated time you might be seated.. they can only give you a pager, and you just wait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york NY
Jul 29, 2010

Fairly decent

The front desk checked me in quickly and efficiently and I went up to my room. To my surprise there was only one bed in the room. Since I was traveling with my grandmother who was standing right next to me as I was checking in, this was surprising. So I simply called the front desk who promptly told me that there were no rooms available at this time. I decided that maybe calling was considered rude in this country so I made the decision to walk back across to the front desk. However I was could not leave immediately as I had to wait for the porter to bring up my bags, a supposedly five minute process that took half an hour. I was told to call again later on the day and they won that round as I eventually gave up and walked away. After calling and going down there a few more times, I decided to give up completely. So I shared a bed for the duration of the stay. I quickly determined not to make it too much of a problem. However, the malevolent room seemed also as determined to disrupt my good intentions. I tried to set up the ironing board and it refused to sit up on its little haunches and chose instead to slump over onto one side. I turned the iron on and poured water into it lifted it in the traditional way that one would hold an iron and all the water promptly flowed out through the plug. Since I had no intention of being found dead by electrocution, clutching an old iron in a foreign country, I called the front desk and asked for an iron. I am still waiting on that iron. The room was consistently damp which should be expected in the tropical atmosphere but one would assume that that would be the perfect opportunity to constantly change everything everyday. 'Twas not to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDenio04
Business
Kenosha, WI
Jul 27, 2010

Excelente!!!

Very nice place. The people are very friendly but they run on island time meaning this run a little slow at some of the resturants. This was my best vacttion that i can remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring small bills ones and fives are hard to come buy. I brought all $100's and $50's and it was hard to break them. I wish it was easier to do because i would have liked to tip more often. The people there are so good they deservied it. One more thing bring sunscreen it costs $30 dollars to buy it there!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mamaroneck NY
Jul 26, 2010

Great Value, Great Fun

This was our third Dreams experience, so you can see that we are fans. We also stayed at Dreams Puerto Vallarta and Dreams Punta Cana. I cannot say which one I preferred. Each one seemed to have it's own strong points. I do wish people wouldn't hog the pool chairs. Although management makes a claim that they check every 20 minutes, I didn't find that to be the case.The towel booth doesn't open until 8am, and when I walked out at 7:30am, all the chairs with umbrellas seemed to have towels and or books on them, but there were probably only 6 or so people at the pool! I mentioned this to the girl who gave me the towels and she just smiled and shrugged. A wonderful beach. The water was clear and warm. Much easier to find an umbrella chair at the beach. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. It was probably the best food out of the three other Dreams we've been to. The entertainment here was not as good as the others, but still quite enjoyable. We tried twice to see a movie on the beach with no success. No movie. No signs up to let us know of the cancellation. All in all, a very nice vacation for the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Excellent vacation!

This hotel has a lot of free activities. You don't have to leave the resort, tons of activities, water activities, childrens activities, dance lessons, etc etc. Great food and drinks. Simon is the best server at the beach. Dress code require for evening restaurant, guys bring at least two pants. We recomend the french restaurant. It's better if you come with some freinds to have more fun. We recomend the boggie but you have to pay though. This resort has everything very impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The french restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark Rich
Business
Temecula,Ca
Jun 21, 2010

Honest Review

The best part of the Hotel is the Staff and grounds. The food is average at best. If you are a foodie do not go here, you will be disappointed. The beach was clean, but when we happen to go there, there was a lot of sea grass in the water and on the beach. They came by and cleaned it often but it was still all over the water and on the beach. The rooms were a disappointment, the images that they show you are of the honeymoon suite and not what you actually get. Also be warned that the rooms smell musty/moldy, we spoke to several other people at the airport and they all had the same situation at the other resorts. Entertainment was ok. If you do decide to go here pay for the preferred package, [...] at the preferred desk will remember you and accommodate you as best as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the day trip to the carribean side of the island. They take you on a catamaran to an island state park that has the most beautiful water you ever saw

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thorny
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jun 11, 2010

Dreams review

I was there for a friends weeding which was great. Great room, Good liquor, food average, staff excellent, Air Conditioning average at best. I suggest getting a personal photography session (no cost unless you buy photos) fantastic. We went snorkeliong with the stingrays and sharks which was pretty cool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lamb was best thing on menu whether it was in French restaurant, buffey, or seaside grill. Try all the restaurants out. Didn't enjoy Japanese- no sauces

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DB and Family
Business
Boston
Jun 6, 2010

Dreams Palm Beach - June 2010

This was our third time staying at Dreams Palm Beach - it is a wonderful hotel with great service for both adults and children. It is the perfect size - not too large and everything is easily accessible. The restaurants and food was good and "no reservations required" - and finally no need to wear an arm band - nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

we went on the dune buggy trip - it was fun - get prepare to get really dirty!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Jack - the mustach man.
Business
Moshannon, PA
May 31, 2010

Fantastic Getaway

We were treated excellent from the time we arrived. There was plenty to do, we went out on the party boat to snorkel - it was great. The entire staff at Dreams was excellent, very clean place, felt completely safe. Will definitely go back. Thank you for the great time Sugar Rey!!However, we would hope not to be booked with Coco Tours as our pick up group. Our pick up van never showed to pick us up. Our rep, [...], was at the hotel at our pick up time and was called but never came to talk to us for about 40 minutes after the first call was make to him from a Dreams staff member. Luckily, we did make it to the airport to catch our flight, but through another agent. very disappointed with Cocotours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

was disappointed with the fact that in order to eat in the restaurants men need long pants. However, the buffet was great-

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
May 29, 2010

Just ok...

Pretty standard all inclusive resort. Service is ok- great at times- bad at others- slow when restaurants are busy. My one complaint is that the main lobby along with some of the restaurants are not in enclosed buildings but rather in open air structures. If you've ever been the DR, you know the it is always hot and humid, and having lounge and eating space without air conditioning is kind unbearable. Other than that, nice pools, pretty nice people, nice beach and pretty nice bang for your buck. Don't do the romantic dinner- its kind of a waste of money. They give you too much food and by the time your on the main course you can barely eat anything else. It's nice to have a table on the beach by the ocean, but for no money at all you can take a walk or even sit on chairs with that special someone on the same beach with the same view with the drink of your choice. Go that route

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

When in the Casino playing blackjack be careful. The dealers either don't know what they are doing, or are very good at acting like they don't know how to add in an effort to increase their odds and take your money when your not paying attention (I assume the prior)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top