$326 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretare Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 13, 2010

Not as described. Disappointed!

When we checked in we were given a room with many broken things such as a recessed light fixture hanging from the ceiling, lightbulbs out from the ceiling fan, a clogged (with hair YUCK) jacuzzi/shower, a broken lock on the door, a broken hinge on the wooden window from the room to the jacuzzi, a moldy pillow and a broken shelf in the bathroom! When I complained they said they could not offer me another room that was comparable unless I paid more $ to upgrade! They tried to fix some things but they did not succeed! The next day I complained again and they gave us another room that was available but not what we paid for. They were not accomodating at all! The breakfast and lunch buffet style was not good at all however, the dinner was very good. Wine is not included and it is extremely expensive so if you are wine drinker do not go here. A bottle that would only cost $15 in the US will run you about $45 at this hotel. The property is quite small and only has one main pool, a children's pool and a pool for the preferred guests who pay more money. The beach was very nice but it seemed like every lounge chair was broken! In addition, when we put on the life vests for the water sports they smelled so bad we could not bear it and were unable to participate in many water sports. We also booked the transfer from hotel to airport and the man who was to arrange the transfer was not there both times when he told us to go see him which was alarming as this was two hours before we were supposed to be picked up for our return flight home. The hotel did take care of our transfers right away. In terms of the entertainment staff, they were actually quite good in getting the guests involved and being personable. As for the casino staff, they were miserable and rude! I do want to say that housekeeping was great and they did a great job in maintaining our room very clean. The hotel was just built in 2008 but it presents as having been there much longer than that. This was not exactly a cheap hotel so we were disappointed. I would probably never stay here again. For young groups traveling to party this is a fine hotel so long as you get a cheap deal on it. For couples who want luxury, great food and drinks, skip this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2010

Just Ok

The hotel was ok- it was open and breezy which was nice. There were two negatives for me. The first being that people saved chairs for hours and hours. I would go out to the pool/beach/preferred club areas at 9 or 10 (after breakfast) and there were no chairs available. Every day I had to drag a chair up from the beach to a spot in the sun/pool. One day I witnessed about 8 chairs being saved by one women. Her party showed up sometime around 1pm. The hotel states you cannot save for more than 20 minutes but it is not enforced and the employees don't do anything about it. I wasn't a huge fan of the food. I found most of it to be bland. The French restaurant was probably the best, though the service is that one was the worst of the ones we went too (all but the Italian). If I go back to the DR, I don't think I'd stay at Palm Beach. I'd give Dreams another shot, as people rave about it but just not this location- it didn't do it for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat Hibachi, go about an hour + before the time you'd like to eat. They do 3 seatings, and they fill up quickly. To eat at about 8:30-9, we had to go in and get a beeper around 7-7:30. They don't take reservations so plan ahead!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Nov 25, 2010

Great stay

The staff at the resort was outstanding, and they surpassed all of our previous resort experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hibachi experience is wonderful for children, and we recommend getting there a few minutes before the restaurant opens (@ 6 pm) to get one of the 3 tables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Nov 5, 2010

good one

good one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Renton WA
Nov 4, 2010

Exceeded expectations

The staff was terrific, and seemed genuinely happy. Beautiful, relaxed place. The wedding package went wonderfully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Nov 3, 2010

Couples Retreat

The resort was not too far from the airport which made that nice. Upon arriving at Dreams Punta Cana we were treated like royalty in the preferred club. The resort itself is very clean and beautiful. The restaurants were nice but the food isnt what we were used too. Unfortunatly cocotours mislead us in the information provided for our excursion to saona island, travel time was told to be 1 1/2 hours from hotel to boat, and from the boat to saona was to be 45 min. The total time for that was over 4 hours. The only complaint we had was at check-out we had made arrangements the night before for bell hop to arrive at our room at 6 am. That never happened even after calling again in the am, so we had to roll our bags the whole way out to the van. Coco tours also was to transport us back to the airport and we were to contact them the day before, which we tried to do several times with no luck. That made out last evening rather stressful instead of enjoyable. Finally the preferred club got ahold of cocotours and finalized our travel back to the airport....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Just enjoy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2010

EXCELLENTAY

Just got back yesterday. One word for you. "EXCELLENTAY" Pro: you better believe it when it says all inclusive; we didn't pay a penny for food or drinks. The hotel staffs are super friendly. You cannot find a hint of attitude even with a flashlight. The entertainment staff keep us laughing all day long with their silly English and crazy activity. The buffet was not bad. The Italian restaurant and the French restaurant were great. The Mexican and the Japanese restaurant need a lot of improvement on the their food. Some excursions are great (Super mega truck, Boogie ride, Horse back riding) Live music every night. Different activity every night. Casino with new dealer that is not quite good with counting the number (she try to take my money when I got 21 lol..) Con: our room could use some renovation. There are some leaking through the ceiling and rust by the shower. The Spa was ok. The staff wasn't really know ledged. The facility wasn't awesome. For the money we paid for the spa, we were expecting a lot more. Nobody mention anything about that 4 out 5 restaurants require pants. All I got was shorts and trunks. End up buying one in the market. Don't expect too much for the nightlife. I saw many girls dress up for the disco and end up drinking and watch the Yankee games. Would i go back? Hell yeah! I complaint doesn't mean everything sucks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

1. Check out the coco tour ( By the Cafe)for the super mega truck excursion. My girlfriend and i had a blast. We ride the giant truck into the montain full of bumpy road. went to a beautiful beach. And drink rum and coke the DR style 2. The Boogie ride ( By the pool side bar)excursion is off the hook.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
falls church,va
Oct 6, 2010

Great choice for vacation!

The service was the best part! The food was great - several selections to choose from: at buffet(world cafe) place and japense, french, mexican spots. Just in case you don't want to go to beach, there are pools also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

World Cafe is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank28
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Sep 28, 2010

Amazing hotel, great vacation!

Great service, very friendly staff, amazing beaches. It exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Choose from a variety of restaurantes with great food, all inclusive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca.
Sep 24, 2010

don't buy gound transportation from Coco

Ground transportation from Coco tours was not good.. had to wait 45 minutes at the ariport on arrival, and was returned to the airport more than 3 hours early.. Lost an entire morning of vacation.. During a slow season, getting to the airport 3 hours early is too much...and yet, that is what the shuttles do... For a hotel that is less than 20 minutes from the airport....skip the shuttle and enjoy the resort. Taxi fares should be set , so you know what to expect. Very disappointed Also was told that during full moons, the water is churned up, and snorleling is not good. I don't know if this is true all the time. Wish they had had authentic merengue band every night. It is the DR after all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The stone fell out of the ring I bought within one day of arriving home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top