$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
211 reviews
Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property... See full review

  • Mikebom
  • Jun 6, 2014
One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food... See full review

  • Uncle Skip
  • May 24, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 211
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbkinbalt
Baltimore , Md
Jan 20, 2013

Worth the money

The Staff were very friendly the food was ok some better then other over all we had a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Night
Bronx,NY
Nov 23, 2012

Our Trip to Punta Cana

Before i start off i must say my wife and i had an amazing time. We liked almost everything about this hotel except for a few things. The food was tasty in most restaurants we went with a few exceptions. The Mexican restaurant needs special coordination they are lacking it. the room service is lacking effort as well. The food was extremely disgusting and the guy answering the phone at night was very unprofessional and had a stinky attitude. Aside from that everyone was very nice and welcoming. We had the best time of our lives here and we would for sure go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lost1876
Cleveland, OH
Jul 22, 2012

Save your money and do a 5-star resort

Horrible food-not well prepared, cheap quality, little selection. Not very friendly staff-many very annoying, slow service. Beach is great-water very nice. Cockroaches in rooms, cleaning not that good, very limited mini fridge selection. Room service menu very limited. Not enough power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cyrilwood
Buffalo, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2011

worst in 25 yrs of travel

If you request royal catalonia you will be down graded when you get there. It is a total scam. You pay for a good room and get an old room with poor plumbing. They place they put you is where the nitely "music" is so loud, until 12:30 am. that your bed shakes.The food is poor, dogs barking at 3:00 am. They accept american money, but have every countries flag flying except the american flag. If this is the first place you visit, you will never again to Pinta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnsoncolombia
Medellín, Antióquia, Colombia
Oct 12, 2011

Great Honeymoon

Honeymoon was the best part of our marriage due to Catalonia Royal. We meet great people there, service people was very kind and were always looking how to make you confortable. Poolbar is great, nice caribbean music and the coctails are delicious. Best restaurant for us: Japanese.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for a lobster in Catatapa restaurant, they charge a little bit, but it definitely worth.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vikky
New Jersey
Nov 1, 2010

Gorgeous Hotel TERRIBLE service

I took my family there and was very embraced. I have never wrote a bad review, but the service of this hotel made me do so. I was surprised how mean and not helpful was the stuff, everything was a problem, just like pulling teeth. Gorgeous resort though, very nice rooms, comfortable chairs, but WORST SERVICE EVER. It's even funny that they didn't want to change me $20 in singles so I can leave TIP for THEM. It's suppose to be all inclusive resort and when my husband in the Italian restaurant wanted to order extra appetizer, they didn't let him (one per person), consider that my mom didn't have any. I called the manager/waiter (I guess they are really trying to save some cash) he was really rude. My parents room wasn't cleaned until 6pm. They make absolutely no effort to make you happy or help you. they even make the face that they doing you a favor, No smile what so ever even if you leave tip. I just can't explain it, towels weren't changed, people in the stores are extremely mean if you are not Spanish. they never have change. If you are going with the large group and don't care a thing for the service this is the place for you. Food is good, but restaurant's don't have A/C, so get ready to sweat, cooks talking on the phone while cooking(in Japanese restaurant). Main buffet has large selection, but taste terrible. I would never go back there. You better go elsewhere. Service seriously turned us completely off :( We complained to the manager, absolutely nothing changed. :( Last time we went to Dreams palm beach Punta cana, service was outstanding. would rather go back there (though the beach chairs are not the most comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

great intertainment :)

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tried of the smoke
ny
Aug 24, 2010

boring,food,pool, and beach

to far away from town. They had ony one smoking section. Therefore you were forced to breath smoke on the beach,pool and at show time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tried of the smoke
ny
Aug 24, 2010

boring,food,pool, and beach

to far away from town. They had ony one smoking section. Therefore you were forced to breath smoke on the beach,pool and at show time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surrey, BC
May 14, 2010

Nice Resort!

The only bad part was the beach, it had seaweed in the water and in the sand which was not truly "white sand". We went on an excursion and the beach we were driven to was spotless with white sand. Other than that the resort was perfect. Keep in mind that you are in a "third world" country so it will not be up to North American standards. The food was very good. Blue Cheese steak at Thalassa for lunch was AMAZING (when it was on their menu). We never got bored of the food and we ate 2 dinners every night...lol...not including room service at night The rooms were clean (there were some musty and sweaty smells occasionally) but having travelled to more undeveloped countries (Vietnam, Thailand, etc.) this hotel is quite nice for the country it is in. The liquor at the bar was "good stuff" brands that we see in North America

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market down by the beach which sells souvenirs. Just walk down to the beach and turn right and keep walking for about a minute; you'll see a sign. They are very aggressive and set very high prices to start. You must barter it down to at least half of what they initially say. Ex. Picture frame they say is $48 we got for $15 or less. Wear long pants or insect repellent to the market. I got flea bites or something there.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surrey, BC
May 14, 2010

Nice Resort!

The only bad part was the beach, it had seaweed in the water and in the sand which was not truly "white sand". We went on an excursion and the beach we were driven to was spotless with white sand. Other than that the resort was perfect. Keep in mind that you are in a "third world" country so it will not be up to North American standards. The food was very good. Blue Cheese steak at Thalassa for lunch was AMAZING (when it was on their menu). We never got bored of the food and we ate 2 dinners every night...lol...not including room service at night The rooms were clean (there were some musty and sweaty smells occasionally) but having travelled to more undeveloped countries (Vietnam, Thailand, etc.) this hotel is quite nice for the country it is in. The liquor at the bar was "good stuff" brands that we see in North America

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market down by the beach which sells souvenirs. Just walk down to the beach and turn right and keep walking for about a minute; you'll see a sign. They are very aggressive and set very high prices to start. You must barter it down to at least half of what they initially say. Ex. Picture frame they say is $48 we got for $15 or less. Wear long pants or insect repellent to the market. I got flea bites or something there.

Back to menu Return to top