$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 22, 2013

2013 vacation

Nice Stay...relaxing, and quiet we stayed on the couples only side and it was an easy hop over to the family side of the hotel to find additional dining and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoversLane
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2013

Couples Alone Time

Nice vacation for couples, no kids in sight. The room service was great only wish that the room had a more pleasant smell but lucky for me I brought my Lysol :) The resort had lovely well kept grounds. My only complaint was me and hubby got bored after a day or so because there wasn't much to do at this resort so this place is definitely not for an all girls or guys trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodeo Steakhouse is the closest you'll get to American dining just don't try the crab cakes, nothing close to what you can get in MD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPS2
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jun 3, 2014

Good budget adults-only all-inclusive

We found a really good deal for this hotel so going in our expectations were lowered. However, the food was great, our room was clean and the staff were nice enough. The first day our top-floor room was hot so I called about the A/C. I'm not sure if they fixed anything but it felt better after that. The resort looks a little dated in some areas but the beach has plenty of shade even if it doesn't get too deep. We are glad we booked the Royal side. The other side had more going on but the service and food quality did not seem to be as good and it's a lot harder to find shade around the pool or beach They also had more people trying to sell excursions. We booked a buggy trip with Adventure Boogies through the rep that also handled our airport transfers. In summary, this is a good, but not the best, resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fiorella Vega
Business
Long Island NY
Jun 4, 2014

First trip to Punta Cana

To star it was beautiful hotel the food was amazing (exempt for the room service food was pretty awful) The staff was amazing and the best cocktails where at the piano bar. One of the disappointing parts of the all inclusive that the massages where not included which in my personal believe they should have had at least one complementary one to try it. Also at the caps tapa restaurant by the fountain when we went i think the AC was broken and i was dying of heat was not able to enjoy my meal. Recommendations for stay: -If you want to buy souvenir just get them at the hotel next door their is no sales man trying to sell you something. -You have access to the hotel next door but food was not worth venturing off ( the food of the hotel was really good) - If you want good cocktail drinks just get them at the piano bar they served it the right way, instead of plastic little cups -Avoid getting room service unless you have to it was not good at all We had done the sonoa island excursion which was a beautiful excursion sand was amazing and the water was turquoise. We did the excursion the first day this i think set me off for the beach on the resort. The beach at he resort had lots of algae and the can't change that but the the infinity poll made up for the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are from new york and are use to amazing pizza the pizza in the resort is not that great the bread and the cheese is goof but sauce is lacking flavor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, NH
May 11, 2010

relaxing, just not that tasty

We upgraded to the junior suite for $15 dollars more a day. After viewing some other rooms we realized that it was pretty much the same as the regular suite. The layout was wonderful. We stayed on the royal side and after visiting the regular side are very glad we did. There was never any lines or too many people around on the royal side. The only complaint I have was about the food service a few of the restaurants staff members were clearly un happy with there job and the service reflected it. On the other hand there were some very friendly servers and we tipped accordingly. Also the restaurant tuscana the food was quite bad. Like a bad day at the olive garden. I am not one to complain but it was bad. were talking freezer burn on the desserts and cannaloni that looked like it came out of the can! now to the good. The restaurant Tapas on the royal side was amazing. Great atmosphere, service and food quality. The rooms were nice. I wish we upgraded to one of the suites with a private pool. They looked awsome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Spring
May 17, 2011

Wonderful Time

We selected this all inclusive location for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier. The staff were wonderful, the room was exactly as describe and the variety of food can't be beat. You have to try the pork ribs at Capa Tapa. You can't beat the drinks and entertainment were fabulous. You really can't go wrong with this resort; we're already planning our next trip back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 21, 2010

Great Stay!

Hotel was great. The Royal side is the way to go. The staff is super friendly and most everyone speaks perfect english. Not the maids, but you dont really have to talk to them. The airport ride is only about 20 minutes which is great. This is one of the closest hotels. [...] The only down sides to the room were that we would sometimes find these little bugs that would normally show up when the maids put fresh flowers in the room. A quick wipe with a towel and they were gone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The specialty dining options are the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 19, 2010

Nice Hotel

This is a nice hotel. We chose the Royal option and it was well worth it. While we got to enjoy all of the features of the standard hotel, we were able to escape to our Royal side whenever we wanted to get away from the crowds for some peace and quiet. Both of the pools and the beach on the Royal side are much less noisy and crowded. The Royal side also has a restaurant that only Royal guests can visit and I was happy to see lobster tail on the menu. Our room was the junior suite and it was awesome. Great tub in the room and nice balcony. You also might want to ask for a dvd player when you check in since there may be a waiting list to receive one (we had a 2 day wait). The mini fridge was stocked when we got to the room but we quickly requested more beer and water. We tipped our maid when she brought us the extra drinks, which put us on her good side. For the rest of the trip, she made sure to keep the fridge full of beer and water. The bed was a little bit stiff but it was easy enough to ignore since everything else was like paradise. All of the restaurants were great, especially the Japanese, but we did not try the Italian after hearing bad reviews from other guests. Most of the staff spoke some English so there wasn't really much of a problem for us non-Spanish speakers but it definitely helps to know some basic Spanish phrases especially to communicate with the maid and room service. My girlfriend ordered room service in English and the food never arrived. About 2 hours later, I called and ordered in Spanish and the food was there within 30 minutes. We also booked a fishing trip through our hotel and the crew didn't speak English but that didn't stop us from landing a huge Marlin! Overall it was a great trip and we felt like we got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time checking the weather before you go. We checked before we went and the internet said rain showers every day! We were a bit discouraged but when we got there, we had sun every day with a few scattered (quick) showers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Schenectady, NY
May 31, 2011

Serene Relaxation

We travel 3-5 times a year to different Carribbean locations. This hotel was situated in the middle of nowhere. It was almost silent every night and the only entertainment were the weak performances by the hotel staff. However, it was stunningly beautiful. We walked around and looked at the water, pools included, every day. We wanted quiet relaxation for a week. We read books, played computer games, and sat by the pool. The rooms are very sexy and include a jacuzzi tub that keeps things interesting. No bugs or cleanliness problems in the hotel at all. We're glad we stayed on the adult side and came back rested. The food was gross. In the last two days I figured out how to make grilled cheese in a toaster, so I wouldn't starve. I'm not a picky eater, so this wasn't a make or break for me. If we ever go back to DR. I'll pick a place more lively for our age group (28, 31) I also wouldn't spring for the massage. They were done by young girls who giggled the whole time. Overall, I have to recommend it for being classy, clean, and serene. But just make sure this is what you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you go to the shows. There's nothing else to do and you'll needs something to talk about. If you lead a busy life and just want to relax for a few days...book it today.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tobboating
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 31, 2010

Catalonia Royal Bavaro

The Royal side of the Catalonia Bavaro was great, nice pools, awesome deluxe suit, good food, felt like royalty with my silver bracelet that got us into all the restaurants in both resorts without any wait. The specialty restaurants on the Bavaro side were good, we tried the Italian, Japanese and the Steak House twice, but we did not like any of the buffets and always ended up going back to the Royal side for breakfast and lunch. The thing that ruined our whole trip was we forgot a bag on the Coco Tour bus that brought us to the hotel ( the tour group [...] uses in Punta Cana) our concierge helped us call our representative, [...] immediately, who supposedly called the driver but the bag was no where to be found. There was only one other couple on the bus and they came from our same flight and I doubt they took it. We lost our cameras, I-touch, cell phone charger, tip money,dive cards and the keys to our car for when we got home. The Coco tour representative was only on the other side of our resort for 1 1/2 hours early in the morning, was late the morning we had scheduled to meet with him the day after we arrived and didn't show the morning we were supposed to schedule our return ride to the airport. Luckily there are a lot of other very nice people in the Dominican and someone helped us from another travel company. The bus was also late picking us up to take us back to the airport and dropped us off at the wrong terminal. So over all the resort was great but the company that Orbitz chooses to do business with is unreliable and shady. I would not use orbitz again to go to Punta Cana. This was our 3rd trip to that area, and have never had any problems when we booked through different travel agencies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top