$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmclem
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Wonderful Couples Getaway!

We absolutely adored our stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort. We stayed at the adults-only, and I can't recommend it enough! It was relaxing, quiet, peaceful, yet still fun. The food was great at our resort. We also had access to the full family resort next door, but our food was much better. Even the "buffet" breakfast and dinner had some form of integrated a la carte service. We were well taken care of, and we had a private beach that was a long way away from any other resort. The pools are very nice and the beach is even better. We would definitely return to this resort if that means anything! *One drawback, if anything, would maybe be the mini bar. They only put 2 beers in it per day, but you can get anything from any of the bars so we were well taken care of in the drink department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are souvenir stands set up a ways down the beach (not on the resort). They will try to give you "free" necklaces and take you to their stand, but they will rip you off. A repeated "No Thank You" works great. No need to be mean, but no need to be a pushover either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 15, 2013

Anniversary 2013

We stayed on the couple only side of the hotel it was nice, and relaxing, but if you are looking for entertainment you would have go to the family side ....it was good to go to the family side for entertainment and then come back and RELAX on the couple only side...the food was 'Ahhhh" nothing to write home about overall our vacation was good....I would recommend this place for people looking for a nice quiet retreat. I recommend doing the excursions if you are staying for a week or more or u will be bored out of your mind..."The Party Boat and Zip Lining is a must do we enjoyed this the most"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.Atkins
Business
Virginia
Jun 12, 2013

Summer Trip

This resort was great from the moment we checked in up until the day we left. We had an amazing younger lady check us in, go over maps and amenities, gave us a ride to the room on a cart with our luggage, and gave us a once over of the room. We opted for the suite room with the private pool, which I would highly recommend as it is worth every penny. If you do go that route, make sure you bring a float as we had to buy one for our pool. What really made the pool worth the cost for us was when my wife or I was having some stomach problems, we were still able to be in the sun all day and the water in our pool but still be close to the room. The entire staff, on both sides of the resort, was great and fun to speak to. Everyone spoke some english and would converse with me in Spanish until I had to tell them to slow down because I'm not quite fluent. Room service, house keeping, bar tenders, hostesses, and beach staff were all amazing. I was never completely sure on tips as some people seemed offended an some didn't. If you decide to tip only one person the whole time, I would recommend to tip the person who restocks your fridge. After a tip we found that instead of putting more things in we didn't drink we got only what we were drinking (sprite, water, and beer) and he left extras out for us to put in the fridge when we made more room. I would recommend eating on both sides of the resort. There are far more choices on the "family" side and the restaurants seem to be bigger on that side also. The entire seven nights we were there we only had to wait for a table once. I would also recommend going to the Japanese restaurant early to get seating without having to wait. As stated in other reviews, the beach was great, get there early for a thatch covering (before 8 AM), men clean it all day long and it looked great. There is good snorkeling that you can do right there without having to pay for an actual excursion. Just be sure to have $20 for a security deposit that you get back when you return the snorkel gear. The only small complaints that I had at all was our door to our room did not shut completely flush to the floor. It was a space of less than 1/2 an inch, but during our trip we found three crabs and two lizards in the room. It was not a big deal as we took pictures and it made for good stories. We were a little disappointed with some of the food though. We've traveled to all inclusive before in Mexico and expected something the same. I think the biggest place for improvement is the buffet that they offer. A lot of the fresh fruit and vegetables lacked flavor, and a lot of the times the selection could have been bigger. It's not enough for me to not recommend this resort and honestly it's the only real complaint we had, a small complaint at that. Overall we loved it. The room was amazing and it overlooked the main pool closest to the beach, the people were great and the restaurants (not the buffet) were all very good. It's also great to not hear small children screaming, crying, and jumping in pools nonstop!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you land in the airport be ready to pay a $10 tourist tax for each person in your party. I didn't see this mentioned anywhere else and thought it needed to be mentioned. Tip your fridge stocker as they'll reward you with more of what you're actually drinking. Make sure you at least wander around the pool area of the "family" side. They have a lot of good food options that are just beside the pools that we didn't know about until we started wandering.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmarie613
Business
Maryland
Jun 5, 2013

Great vacation

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Catalonia Royal. We had a wonderful vacation - property was gorgeous, wonderful staff for the most part , room was large and clean. The only couple o complaints: --Food was hit or miss. It was always presented beautifully, but some dishes were just not good at all (I ordered grouper one day and snapper another; both had an inedible, slimy texture and not good flavor); but other dishes were great, such as most chicken dishes and vegetarian options. Just stay away from the seafood, which is sad, considering you're on the ocean! --The hotel can't do much about this, but people routinely put towels over the "best" beach lounge chairs every day, "reserving them" (even though hotel does not reserve loungers); my husband and I would be at the beach usually by 7:45am to find almost all beachfront chairs taken by placing towels and perhaps a personal bag or hat on the chair; we'd be on the beach for TWO OR MORE HOURS and those same chairs were still no occupied; we did not want to start any arguments with guests so never took off the towels and personal items, but there should be a rule in place that is a chair is not occupied by a HUMAN BEING within 30-45min, then it's free game to whomever is on the beach. These were minor things - the vacation was fabulous; lots of activities to choose from; if you don't take advantage of the activities offerred, you may get bored, so do it! Bars were definitely not lacking; I don't like sweet sugary drinks so I usually ordered wine, beer, or champagne, or asked for a mixed drink of my own choice, which was never a problem. Great stay!!! Will consider again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 22, 2013

2013 vacation

Nice Stay...relaxing, and quiet we stayed on the couples only side and it was an easy hop over to the family side of the hotel to find additional dining and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoversLane
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2013

Couples Alone Time

Nice vacation for couples, no kids in sight. The room service was great only wish that the room had a more pleasant smell but lucky for me I brought my Lysol :) The resort had lovely well kept grounds. My only complaint was me and hubby got bored after a day or so because there wasn't much to do at this resort so this place is definitely not for an all girls or guys trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodeo Steakhouse is the closest you'll get to American dining just don't try the crab cakes, nothing close to what you can get in MD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPS2
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jun 3, 2014

Good budget adults-only all-inclusive

We found a really good deal for this hotel so going in our expectations were lowered. However, the food was great, our room was clean and the staff were nice enough. The first day our top-floor room was hot so I called about the A/C. I'm not sure if they fixed anything but it felt better after that. The resort looks a little dated in some areas but the beach has plenty of shade even if it doesn't get too deep. We are glad we booked the Royal side. The other side had more going on but the service and food quality did not seem to be as good and it's a lot harder to find shade around the pool or beach They also had more people trying to sell excursions. We booked a buggy trip with Adventure Boogies through the rep that also handled our airport transfers. In summary, this is a good, but not the best, resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fiorella Vega
Business
Long Island NY
Jun 4, 2014

First trip to Punta Cana

To star it was beautiful hotel the food was amazing (exempt for the room service food was pretty awful) The staff was amazing and the best cocktails where at the piano bar. One of the disappointing parts of the all inclusive that the massages where not included which in my personal believe they should have had at least one complementary one to try it. Also at the caps tapa restaurant by the fountain when we went i think the AC was broken and i was dying of heat was not able to enjoy my meal. Recommendations for stay: -If you want to buy souvenir just get them at the hotel next door their is no sales man trying to sell you something. -You have access to the hotel next door but food was not worth venturing off ( the food of the hotel was really good) - If you want good cocktail drinks just get them at the piano bar they served it the right way, instead of plastic little cups -Avoid getting room service unless you have to it was not good at all We had done the sonoa island excursion which was a beautiful excursion sand was amazing and the water was turquoise. We did the excursion the first day this i think set me off for the beach on the resort. The beach at he resort had lots of algae and the can't change that but the the infinity poll made up for the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are from new york and are use to amazing pizza the pizza in the resort is not that great the bread and the cheese is goof but sauce is lacking flavor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, NH
May 11, 2010

relaxing, just not that tasty

We upgraded to the junior suite for $15 dollars more a day. After viewing some other rooms we realized that it was pretty much the same as the regular suite. The layout was wonderful. We stayed on the royal side and after visiting the regular side are very glad we did. There was never any lines or too many people around on the royal side. The only complaint I have was about the food service a few of the restaurants staff members were clearly un happy with there job and the service reflected it. On the other hand there were some very friendly servers and we tipped accordingly. Also the restaurant tuscana the food was quite bad. Like a bad day at the olive garden. I am not one to complain but it was bad. were talking freezer burn on the desserts and cannaloni that looked like it came out of the can! now to the good. The restaurant Tapas on the royal side was amazing. Great atmosphere, service and food quality. The rooms were nice. I wish we upgraded to one of the suites with a private pool. They looked awsome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Spring
May 17, 2011

Wonderful Time

We selected this all inclusive location for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier. The staff were wonderful, the room was exactly as describe and the variety of food can't be beat. You have to try the pork ribs at Capa Tapa. You can't beat the drinks and entertainment were fabulous. You really can't go wrong with this resort; we're already planning our next trip back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top