$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
162 reviews
Friends vacation

My husband and I went on this trip with two other couples. It was great! Very relaxing, and such a... See full review

  • Couples on Vacation
  • Aug 7, 2014
Royal Stay

My wife and I stayed five nights without the kids to unwind from stressful jobs. The adult side is... See full review

  • JJJack
  • Jul 31, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 19, 2010

Nice Hotel

This is a nice hotel. We chose the Royal option and it was well worth it. While we got to enjoy all of the features of the standard hotel, we were able to escape to our Royal side whenever we wanted to get away from the crowds for some peace and quiet. Both of the pools and the beach on the Royal side are much less noisy and crowded. The Royal side also has a restaurant that only Royal guests can visit and I was happy to see lobster tail on the menu. Our room was the junior suite and it was awesome. Great tub in the room and nice balcony. You also might want to ask for a dvd player when you check in since there may be a waiting list to receive one (we had a 2 day wait). The mini fridge was stocked when we got to the room but we quickly requested more beer and water. We tipped our maid when she brought us the extra drinks, which put us on her good side. For the rest of the trip, she made sure to keep the fridge full of beer and water. The bed was a little bit stiff but it was easy enough to ignore since everything else was like paradise. All of the restaurants were great, especially the Japanese, but we did not try the Italian after hearing bad reviews from other guests. Most of the staff spoke some English so there wasn't really much of a problem for us non-Spanish speakers but it definitely helps to know some basic Spanish phrases especially to communicate with the maid and room service. My girlfriend ordered room service in English and the food never arrived. About 2 hours later, I called and ordered in Spanish and the food was there within 30 minutes. We also booked a fishing trip through our hotel and the crew didn't speak English but that didn't stop us from landing a huge Marlin! Overall it was a great trip and we felt like we got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time checking the weather before you go. We checked before we went and the internet said rain showers every day! We were a bit discouraged but when we got there, we had sun every day with a few scattered (quick) showers.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schenectady, NY
May 31, 2011

Serene Relaxation

We travel 3-5 times a year to different Carribbean locations. This hotel was situated in the middle of nowhere. It was almost silent every night and the only entertainment were the weak performances by the hotel staff. However, it was stunningly beautiful. We walked around and looked at the water, pools included, every day. We wanted quiet relaxation for a week. We read books, played computer games, and sat by the pool. The rooms are very sexy and include a jacuzzi tub that keeps things interesting. No bugs or cleanliness problems in the hotel at all. We're glad we stayed on the adult side and came back rested. The food was gross. In the last two days I figured out how to make grilled cheese in a toaster, so I wouldn't starve. I'm not a picky eater, so this wasn't a make or break for me. If we ever go back to DR. I'll pick a place more lively for our age group (28, 31) I also wouldn't spring for the massage. They were done by young girls who giggled the whole time. Overall, I have to recommend it for being classy, clean, and serene. But just make sure this is what you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you go to the shows. There's nothing else to do and you'll needs something to talk about. If you lead a busy life and just want to relax for a few days...book it today.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tobboating
St. Louis, MO
Oct 31, 2010

Catalonia Royal Bavaro

The Royal side of the Catalonia Bavaro was great, nice pools, awesome deluxe suit, good food, felt like royalty with my silver bracelet that got us into all the restaurants in both resorts without any wait. The specialty restaurants on the Bavaro side were good, we tried the Italian, Japanese and the Steak House twice, but we did not like any of the buffets and always ended up going back to the Royal side for breakfast and lunch. The thing that ruined our whole trip was we forgot a bag on the Coco Tour bus that brought us to the hotel ( the tour group [...] uses in Punta Cana) our concierge helped us call our representative, [...] immediately, who supposedly called the driver but the bag was no where to be found. There was only one other couple on the bus and they came from our same flight and I doubt they took it. We lost our cameras, I-touch, cell phone charger, tip money,dive cards and the keys to our car for when we got home. The Coco tour representative was only on the other side of our resort for 1 1/2 hours early in the morning, was late the morning we had scheduled to meet with him the day after we arrived and didn't show the morning we were supposed to schedule our return ride to the airport. Luckily there are a lot of other very nice people in the Dominican and someone helped us from another travel company. The bus was also late picking us up to take us back to the airport and dropped us off at the wrong terminal. So over all the resort was great but the company that Orbitz chooses to do business with is unreliable and shady. I would not use orbitz again to go to Punta Cana. This was our 3rd trip to that area, and have never had any problems when we booked through different travel agencies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Engagement Vacation
New York, New York
Nov 22, 2010

All in all - Excellent vacation

Excellent food, lots of choices. A bit of a language barrier (brush up on your Spanish). Bring small bills for tipping, not easy to get cash. Entertainment was cool, checked out a Michael Jackson show and a Circe De Solei type show. Overall, great trip. Would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did a glass bottom boat tour - lame. Save your money and don't do that one.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussie in NC
Boone, NC
Aug 3, 2009

Nice - but be careful!

Well, overall very pretty. Most staff speak little to no English. Food is geared heavily to Europeans (most guests were from Spain). No real Carribean flair. Most restaurants were excellent, but my wife got very ill at Mikado's restaurant (she is at the doctors today after five days of trouble). Beautiful beach. Couples - stick to the Royal side. Expect to possibly have to change rooms. If you get one that is musty with poor AC; insist on a change - we had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Mikado's!

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poszepszynska
Pennsylvania,US
Nov 28, 2010

nice hotel

kept nice and clean,very good food at a la carte restaurants, buffet was avarage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin
Jan 4, 2010

Very relaxing on the adults side!

Overall we really liked the resort. The food was pretty good, but not exquisite. In the Japanese restaurant they really tried hard, but the food was far from authentic. The restaurants on the adults side were better. If you can, definitely pay for the adults only side if you want peace. The beach is quite, there are awesome pools and literally no one bothers you. The staff in general were descent, but they aren't personable necessarily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The fruit juice bar on the adults side is awesome! Also, the volleyball court on the other side is well maintained.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vincthecat
Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Dec 19, 2010

excellent stay!

We were at the catalonia royal bavaro from dec 1 to 15th 2010. In general, this hotel is excellent for the price we paid. Take COCO TOURS for your transfers from/to the airport, they are wonderful! Private transport, first to arrive at the airport! We took an excursion with them ( Saona island)and it was fun. The representative from Coco tours at the hotel is [...] and he is great!POSITIVES: - Service is unbelieveble, 5*+++++++! ( tip or no tip)- Drinks are very good and strong with international brands.- Food at the royal side ( Thalassa, Catatapa and Sea Blue ) is EXCELLENT!- Very quiet and relax atmosphere. - Grounds are very well maintained and beautiful.- Golf is included ( 18 holes wonderful)- Plenty of chairs and palapas at the beach and at both pools anytime of day.- Internet is free and worked well.- check-in and check out ultra fast.- No wait at any restaurant.- Italian, steakhouse, crepes and pizzeria restaurant we very good at the Catalonia (other side)- Superior junior suites are very spacious and well equiped. Mini-bar was always stocked daily (4 bottles of water, 6 soft drinks 600ml, 4 Brahma beers in bottles, oreo cookies and nuts).- Michael Jackson show and Circus show are a must. - Infinity pool is awesome- Breakfast at the buffet at the catalonia bavaro side is MUCH BETTER than at the thalassa. More choices. - Gym is great on both sides. - The hotel is 15 minutes from the airport; short ride- the entire site is not big so easy to walk.- the pianist at the lobby bar is great!- coffee is excellent at the royal side ( but strong!)- coral barrier in the ocean directly at the hotel: great for snorkeling when the water is clear. NEGATIVES:- Superior junior suites need some touch-up - Musty smell in our room but not much- maids are inconsistent in there work. - DO NOT pay 15$ per person per day to upgrade to the deluxe junior suite,does not worth it. - Many staff members do not speak english.- The Spa on both sides are small and deceiving.- casino is a joke- japanese and mexican restaurant are not good.- we can walk on the beach but there is no other complex near the hotel and many garbage along the way, very isolated. - Lobby and the entrance at the royal side is deceiving for a 5 star hotel. - beach as seaweeds but staff are always removing them. - buffet for dinner at the catalonia bavaro side is not good. The Catalonia Royal Bavaro is very good and has a excellent value. We would recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a phone card in advance because it is really expensive at this resort to phone home. A calling card at the hotel is 20$ (vending machine) and it only has 20 minutes ( 1$/min!!!!). If you don't buy a phone card ; 3$ per minute wth the hotel!

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago.IL
Feb 21, 2010

Great vacation

The trip was great overall with no complaints. The majority of the time was spent sitting by the pool relaxing as was the plan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toluca, Mexico
Sep 2, 2010

Good Experiencie

My husband and I spent a good time in this hotel. In my opinion I did not like the soda that put in the drinks, this soda is the machine and the drinks dont have the same flavor with a machine soda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search