$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 11, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main... See full review

  • hilaryvernon
  • Aug 26, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nailitoff
Tennessee
May 20, 2013

pretty good

I liked this palce pretty good but i thought the Catalonia in Tulum was much better.The food was not as good as we had hoped.We got a few good dinners in the specialty restaraunts.The pools are descent and the beach was pretty awesome.My wife did not like all of the topless women everywhere.The grounds are immaculate and the staff were very friendly and accomadating.One thing we thought was stupid is that you book adults only but 3 restaraunts are on the other property and you're eating with kids and one of the reasons I booked adults only was so i didn't have to eat with kids.All in all thogh I had fun but If I go back to Punta Cana I might try a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you do Jungle excursion stay away from Compay.They tried to sell me video of our trip.I gave them 10 dollars when we got back and they told me I could bring 10 more at 8 in the morning or after and pick it up at the front desk.After getting the run around for about 30 minutes there was no video but I did get my 10 dollars back.One of the women that went with us did get hers but they tried to charge her 20 more dollars because somebody had changed the 10 to 20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape cod, ma.
May 30, 2011

Great place. But bring your own food!

Hotel was beautiful, very clean beautifully furnished room. Amazing grounds and views. Staff was amazing. Very eager to help. It is helpful to know a bit of spanish here in order to communicate with some of the employees. The beach was great. And maje sure to get yourself a banana mama!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants arent very good. The lunch buffet was the best followed by the restaurant adjacent to the hotel lobby. The japanese was ok as well. The tapas restaurant was aweful! And the restaurant by the beach was so- so at best! Try to eat the local dishes bc they are the best. (fried salami and mangu, tostones etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mafe Solano
Washington, DC, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Good but not great

This hotel is located very close from the airport - 20 minutes maximum, so consider it well located. The hotel itself (lobby, bathrooms, restaurants, the pool, etc) is pretty and well maintain. The beach has a lot of algae and the hotel has one person cleaning them up, but their system is not modern so even though they try to keep it clean the beach is always dirty. The breakfast is really good but the rest of the food is very very bad, I read about the food in other reviews so I was kind of prepared, but that still affect me... the only restaurant I recommend is the italian (decent food, don't expect anything great). The spa is really nice but sadly it is expensive and the staff is not professionals, so I would not recommend it. The hotel is very tranquil, but if you want to hear music and do activities with other people, you can just walk to the other resort.... however I would say that the activities are not great (music, presentations) the casino looks kind of old... I think overall the hotel is neither bad nor great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Engagement Vacation
New York, New York
Nov 22, 2010

All in all - Excellent vacation

Excellent food, lots of choices. A bit of a language barrier (brush up on your Spanish). Bring small bills for tipping, not easy to get cash. Entertainment was cool, checked out a Michael Jackson show and a Circe De Solei type show. Overall, great trip. Would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Did a glass bottom boat tour - lame. Save your money and don't do that one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Barcelona, Spain
Apr 6, 2010

Relax, relax & more relax

Rally good all-inclusive hotel, although there were a VIP group that focused all staff's attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmclem
Rochester, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Wonderful Couples Getaway!

We absolutely adored our stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort. We stayed at the adults-only, and I can't recommend it enough! It was relaxing, quiet, peaceful, yet still fun. The food was great at our resort. We also had access to the full family resort next door, but our food was much better. Even the "buffet" breakfast and dinner had some form of integrated a la carte service. We were well taken care of, and we had a private beach that was a long way away from any other resort. The pools are very nice and the beach is even better. We would definitely return to this resort if that means anything! *One drawback, if anything, would maybe be the mini bar. They only put 2 beers in it per day, but you can get anything from any of the bars so we were well taken care of in the drink department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are souvenir stands set up a ways down the beach (not on the resort). They will try to give you "free" necklaces and take you to their stand, but they will rip you off. A repeated "No Thank You" works great. No need to be mean, but no need to be a pushover either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoversLane
Maryland
Aug 23, 2013

Couples Alone Time

Nice vacation for couples, no kids in sight. The room service was great only wish that the room had a more pleasant smell but lucky for me I brought my Lysol :) The resort had lovely well kept grounds. My only complaint was me and hubby got bored after a day or so because there wasn't much to do at this resort so this place is definitely not for an all girls or guys trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodeo Steakhouse is the closest you'll get to American dining just don't try the crab cakes, nothing close to what you can get in MD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesseua
Phoenix,az
Aug 7, 2010

Great staff!!

Great hotel!!! We mostly stayed on the royal side, as food/service was horrible on catalonia bavaro. Casino also sucks, but we didnt plan on gambling much anyways. Beach is green, not blue! Plus has a lot of seaweed. But hotel cant help that. If you want blue waters, go to mexican riviera or other carribean location! Do not do Saona Island excursion!!! Total ripoff. They drop you off at a beach worse than the hotel's for 3 hours with nothing to do that couldnt be done at hotel. Instead, take an excursion that includes visiting Macao Beach---gorgeous!!! We did extreme buggy 1/2 day and fell in love with macao beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't use coco tours for transport between airport and hotel. They make you meet with a representative that tries to sell you excursions. Our rep didnt make our appt and i wasted time trying to contact him. Just take a taxi to hotel. Drivers are supposed to show you rates for each hotel (can also look up rates online so you dont get ripped off).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHP1
Atanta, Georgia
Jan 27, 2013

Alomst great family getaway

The hotel was beautiful with a lot of amenities. When we got into our room, unexpectedly saw a double twin beds, instead of a king size bed. We got into the shower and realized that the water was building up in the shower area and not being drained. We reported this to the front desk, but nothing was done about it. We left the room for dinner and when we came back from the dinner, we noticed a strong smell of toilet has sreaded to the entire room. We reported the bad smell to the strong desk and nothing was done about it. We asked to be moved to another room in another buiding or a higher floor on the same building abd we were told that they don't have rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dine in restaurants were great and in a short distance from our room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane WA
Feb 1, 2010

Fun in the Sun

Great Resort.When we got there before check in time,we were told to go have lunch & drinks while they got our room ready.(they held our baggage in a locked closet).The adult side was worth the extra $.Plenty of beach chairs, no waiting for dinner or drinks. The beach was combed several times a day.We got the least expensive room and it was beautiful. Marbel bathroom,circular tub,king bed,livingroom & balconie w/hammock.People were friendly & helpful.When we checked out since our shuttle didn't come for 5 hrs,we were able to put our luggage in closet & continue to use pool & restaurants,bars. They even offered a shower.They even had lobster on several of the dinner menus.We could have had it every nite if we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take extra sun screen. The hotel sells it but it was $20 bottle. Also the hotel doesn't give lotion in their amenities so take some. And it is also expensive in the shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search