$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveling hashbrown
Business
bergen county, nj
May 22, 2010

1st time punta cana

upon entering resort. was greeted with drinks and offered lunch since we were early, that was awesome. we were starving since the flight. choosing the royal side was definitely better BUT if i were to do it again, i would have gone for the upgraded suite where you get your own personal plunge pool. swim 24/7 if you like, you own it for the entire stay. we only had 1 issue, room 3601 had broken AC, just had working vent fan and ceiling fan. the humidity stunk up the room and we tried to get it resolved for 2 days until we finally realized nothing can be fixed over the phone. finally we approached the front desk and they determined it could not be fixed at that time and we were moved to the next door. thanks cairo. food was excellent in the cata tapa as well as the steak house. if you're plannig on breakfast at the buffet, definitely have your omelets made - tastes a lot better with your ingredients. like a previous reviewer said, don't worry about weather if only scattered showers. it was sunny until 5ish PM there and rained for only 1 hour. they had a MJ concert, the performance was awesome. i really thought they brought MJ back to life. i guess that's how it felt to be in a MJ concert. all was free and if it was not they would let you know. no surprises, which was good. another that should have had was free shuttle to airport but i originally booked a car rental but economy was no where on site. took a $30 taxi instead. car rental would have been nice as an adventure. kayaking was good. beach was peaceful and you can walk for miles to the right of the resort and sometimes there's no one around, like you're in a secluded beach. nudity is also permitted. bring atleast 1 pair of closed toe footwear for their semi casual dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cata tapa and steak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Dec 5, 2010

the good, the bad

Not enough restaurants in Royal, especially for breakfast and lunch, the breakfast place is located ½ mile from the beach, and you need to wait to be served and until they bring you your omelet you want just to go back, the lunch place at the beach serves mostly cheeseburgers with French fries and you need to wait to be seated, and wait for a waiter to bring them to you, and wait for a cup of coffee forever, we had to call front desk every day for towels because maids always miss some: face towels or beach towels or etc., they bring pillows without pillow cases- had to call again, there is no pitch in the shower stall so you always will stand in the 3 inches of water, rooms are dump-need dehumidifiers, the beach is very short- there are no adjacent hotels so forget about long beach walks- it takes 10 minutes to walk along the hotel and then you will face no man's land covered with garbage on both sides of the property, water is also not that clean as at other hotels located at Bavaro beach, this one is not actually at Bavaro beach. Overall it should not have more that 3 Dominican stars compare to other resorts, e.g. Majestic, Iberostar, Melia, Princess that have 4 stars. Also, nobody speaks English, I mean AT ALL, nothing, not a letter. Waiters do not know words "bread and butter", maids do not know words "towels". Front desk people know a few words, and that's about it. We visited a half dozen other places in Punta Cana and never had a language problem but here. So complains and requests were useless. They just do what they've been told to do every day, and if you ask for something that is not specifically written in their instructions they would not even know what it is, e.g. how come you need a pillow case with you pillow?!, or butter with bread?!or hot coffee ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tried of the smoke
Business
ny
Aug 24, 2010

boring,food,pool, and beach

to far away from town. They had ony one smoking section. Therefore you were forced to breath smoke on the beach,pool and at show time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for more sun...
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2010

Beautiful Property -but not going again

I was on a trip with 9 other friends (some couples, some singles) - an annual vacation to an all inclusive and we decided to try the Dominican. The resort was beautiful with large pools and a great beach and the rooms were spacious but other than that I run out of great things to say. It was rainy season so it rained every day and the mosquitoes were TERRIBLE so you didn't even want to sit outside at night. The rooms were spacious but smelled awful - think musty, moldy old basement smell... And then all of our clothes smelled like that for the rest of the trip! Also, don't expect any of your swim suits or sweaty workout clothes to ever fully dry while you're there. Even in the rooms it's soooo humid that nothing ever dries out! Food was subpar - the hibachi grill/Japanese place was the best by far! We were hoping to explore the downtown area and the VERY friendly woman at the front desk, Angela (who speaks great English!) told us it was a short walk (about a mile) from the resort to the Punta Cana. But when we started our excursion out, we stopped immediately at the resort gates when there were armed guards with large, large guns protecting the property. we just thought, "if they need those size guns to keep whatever is 'out there' from coming on to the resort, do we really need to be 'out there'??". I'm just not sure how safe it is to leave the resort - and it's unfortunate because if you can't explore some of the local culture I feel as if it was a wasted trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 24, 2010

catalonia royal bavaro

The ground was just beautiful, everything was green, the trees and flowers just gorgeous but that was it. Right after i arrived i was placed in the room in the building closer to the beach, which i learned later was more expensive, but people at desk simply forgot to mention it to me and expected me to pay. The pools were great, but it was hard to find a space under the umbrella. The rooms were standard, definitely not 5 star, and the shower was strangely located right in front of the entrance door, and the shower had no door at all. The balcony was ok, except the fact that it was noisy ( the little native village played loud music to attract the shoppers )for most of the time(9 am-5pm) so if you really want to have cup of coffee and relax on the balcony...is not going to happen. The food was really awful, maybe i am a little bit too critical, but i got food poisoning and i was not the only one.!!!! The grilled food mostly meat and fish was undercooked, raw in the middle burned on the outside so watch out. Besides, the were many flies on food and in the eating area. If you have sensitive stomach stick to fried foods cause the lettuce and some veggies were full of dirt. Really. But if you get sick and have to visit the doctor, just be adviced that the doctor do not accept traveler's insurance from people coming from US. So, you have to pay up. Just to see a doctor 100$ plus the cost of the medication. Entertainment, poooooooor, 2 stars the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chunky
Business
West Covina California
Aug 23, 2011

Relaxing Vacation

Good location. Nice comfortable setting for relaxation. The eating places left little to be desired. Food was very bland and not that great. Would probably try a different hotel if I ever go back. Staff was OK, friendly but don't go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. I'd give it a 3 star rating, nothing higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlito Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
May 15, 2014

Relaxing getaway

Resort is nicely kept and very close to the airport approx. 10 minute ride. The room was spacious but the 1st. floor of Bldg. 18 the view is not the best it faces the service entrance to the Tapas restaurant and foliage. There was a water leak around the toilet and the light had a short and it required several attempts to turn it off. The mini refrigerator did not get the beverages cold enough. We reported it to the person who upon check in gave us an orientation of the resort but nothing was done. The pool by the beach provided the best shade and was less crowed then the pool by the lobby of the resort. We stayed away from the lobby area because of the constant sales pitch to attend Timeshare presentation it got very annoying every time we had to go by the lobby. The piano bar and one of the restaurants I are located in the lobby. The beach was nice but it was to wind during our week there. This resorts does offer lobster buy their is a separate charge for it. I found the food portions small for me. We took the Bavaro's Runners Safari excursion. We really enjoyed this. It offers a small variety of places to see. It includes horse back riding a visit to a cave and a coffee mill. I think if the resort would provide a flyer with the daily events and the menus for the restaurants in the room every night it would improve the stay. We had to always ask the employees what events they had at night. Lacked any transportation to the merchants and mall in the area. The employees were very friendly and always happy to assist you. Over all the resort was nice for the price but I will not return due to the sales pitches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCSG
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2014

Good for the price

We spent 1 week at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. This is my fourth time to the DR and first time to the CRB. Overall, the resort was a good value for our money, but we would not return to this hotel. The beach was small but nice with plenty of shade. There are no other hotels in this location so walking on the beach wasn't as enjoyable as usual. The pools were also small but the grounds were well kept and the resort looked great. We found the food at this resort to be below the average all inclusive resorts we have been to. Also, the restaurants on the other side are not as good and I wouldn't recommend going on that side. We found the rooms to be spacious, but a bit dark. We also had a number of things broken in our room. Lastly, while the staff was friendly, service was often very very slow. Overall, good adults only resort for the price we paid, but wouldn't recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlito Miami
Business
Miami
Feb 3, 2015

First Punta Cana vacation

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The constant pitch to attend a sales seminar got very annoying. It's worse in the lobby. The resort is small and so is the beach area of the resort. There is another resort next to this one that you can visit but you get the sales pitch there also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnny lam
Business
BROOKLYN
Feb 4, 2015

vacation

the hotel say 5 stars but I'm think really only 3.5 close to 4 the most... most of the visitors are french and they are not that nice the staffs are good the only problem is when I'm about to check out try to call the front desk and the bell boy desk and no ones answer the phone to help us the luggages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

would recommend this hotel only for the good price the beach is not nice and clean only stayed in my room cause with my own swimming pool the room is facing the fountains my room number is 3407

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top