Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main... See full review

  • hilaryvernon
  • Aug 26, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marvelo
santiago, chile
Apr 7, 2011

Over booking

we couldnt arrive to this hotel because they were over booked but we have a compensation for the same days for free for oun next trip!! :) and was a greats days in NH Royal beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveling hashbrown
bergen county, nj
May 22, 2010

1st time punta cana

upon entering resort. was greeted with drinks and offered lunch since we were early, that was awesome. we were starving since the flight. choosing the royal side was definitely better BUT if i were to do it again, i would have gone for the upgraded suite where you get your own personal plunge pool. swim 24/7 if you like, you own it for the entire stay. we only had 1 issue, room 3601 had broken AC, just had working vent fan and ceiling fan. the humidity stunk up the room and we tried to get it resolved for 2 days until we finally realized nothing can be fixed over the phone. finally we approached the front desk and they determined it could not be fixed at that time and we were moved to the next door. thanks cairo. food was excellent in the cata tapa as well as the steak house. if you're plannig on breakfast at the buffet, definitely have your omelets made - tastes a lot better with your ingredients. like a previous reviewer said, don't worry about weather if only scattered showers. it was sunny until 5ish PM there and rained for only 1 hour. they had a MJ concert, the performance was awesome. i really thought they brought MJ back to life. i guess that's how it felt to be in a MJ concert. all was free and if it was not they would let you know. no surprises, which was good. another that should have had was free shuttle to airport but i originally booked a car rental but economy was no where on site. took a $30 taxi instead. car rental would have been nice as an adventure. kayaking was good. beach was peaceful and you can walk for miles to the right of the resort and sometimes there's no one around, like you're in a secluded beach. nudity is also permitted. bring atleast 1 pair of closed toe footwear for their semi casual dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cata tapa and steak

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
triphoplvr
Minneapolis
Feb 18, 2014

Not as good as some of the reviews say. Not as bad either.

We stayed here for our honeymoon during the week of February 10, 2014. DISCLAIMER: This was our first time in the Dominican, so I don't have any comparison. GOOD: - The room and grounds were nice and appeared as advertised. - After our special Valentine's Day dinner on the beach, we came back to our room to find it decorated with rose pedals and towel animals. Very nice touch. - They had a party on the beach one night for guests that was very nice. BAD: - Took three calls to get a hammock for our balcony. Being that was a major reason we booked here, that was disappointing. - Called multiple times for new/additional pillows to no avail. - Hotel seemed to allow/employ people constantly hassling guests to take day trips. The lobby and beach were swarming with salespeople. Even the towel guy was trying to sell excursions! This is not my idea of relaxing. Leave me alone! AVERAGE: - Food was hit or miss. Highly recommend the tapas restaurant by the infinity pool for dinner and the pizza place by the bar pool for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chunky
West Covina California
Aug 23, 2011

Relaxing Vacation

Good location. Nice comfortable setting for relaxation. The eating places left little to be desired. Food was very bland and not that great. Would probably try a different hotel if I ever go back. Staff was OK, friendly but don't go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. I'd give it a 3 star rating, nothing higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chimay23
chicago, il
Apr 2, 2011

Beautiful resort but would NOT recommend

First the resort stated that they could not find our reservation even after showing them our confirmation information from cheap tickets. Essentially they were blaming cheap tickets, which may or not be true. It sounded like this happens frequently because they said this sometimes happens. After waiting for 1 hour they finally tell us that they will be upgrading us (sounds great but keep reading..) so they bring us to our room which was called the privelaged section. It was located right by the beach. The decor in the room was not 4 star but they did have a hot tub. The shower was tiny and the shower floor was the cheap plastic. After roaming around, we learned that the privelaged section is the upgraded section for the catalonia side not the royal side. (The catalonia side is the 3-3.5 star sister resort.) It irritated us because they failed to tell us this and we spoke to the receptionist twice. We approached the desk again to question our upgrade. They finally clarified that we were placed at the other resort but we could utilize all of the amenities of the royal side. Well we wanted what we paid for and wanted to move to the royal side even if the room would be further from the beach. They tried to convince us that our room was way better than the royal side but if we wanted to move it would have to be the next day. So we agreed and stayed in the "upgraded" room for one night. My husband ordered room service - hamburger because we read reviews that it was good. We forgot we were Not in the royal side. The burger was disgusting. It looked like someone stepped on it. We didn't eat it. Any way, we moved into the royal side the next day and the room was way more amazing than the privelaged side! Plus the burger on the royal side was awesome. We ordered it 3 times! Also we know they did the same thing to another couple the next day because when you stay at the catalonia side you get blue beach towels but if you stay at the royal, you get tan and brown striped ones. We saw that another couple had the blue towels on the royal side the next day. If the receptionist was not so shady about the rooms, I would recommend this resort despite the room issue, but because they tried to trick us, I can not recommend this resort. If you've already booked, then enjoy the food! Lobster and steak at the sea side dinner restaurant were great. The breakfast buffet was okay. The mediterranean restaurant also had good food. The tapas restaurant was okay. Food was mediocre there. Snorkeling was not that great. We saw 1 fish. Kayaking was fun. We missed out on the catamaran boats due to the wind. People like to save chairs but we would just take them if no ones been sitting there for 30 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your souveniers from the local sellers down the beach. They will overprice everything but be firm. We were able to bring their price down over 50% both separate times we shopped there from different vendors.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lost1876
Cleveland, OH
Jul 22, 2012

Save your money and do a 5-star resort

Horrible food-not well prepared, cheap quality, little selection. Not very friendly staff-many very annoying, slow service. Beach is great-water very nice. Cockroaches in rooms, cleaning not that good, very limited mini fridge selection. Room service menu very limited. Not enough power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coco puff
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Quiet hotel, and sister hotel needs some help

The piano bar is only open Tuesday, Friday and Saturday so there is no other entertainment on the Royal side other than the beach party on Thursday evening and the music, food and staff did a great job of putting together. The beach is nice and clean but the swimming area before hitting the reef and the storm drain is not very far out. You can walk for miles up and down the beach but be prepared for the trash you will see once leaving the resort beach. We had a shortage of loungers around the pool and the beach for 2 days due to a fire in another hotel and people were housed at the Royal. There was always a shortage of lounge chairs around the main pool and people are laying claim to chairs well before 8.00. Our room was always clean and fresh towels and we had no complaints there. The food on the Royal side is a mater of preference, to us some was good and some was not so good, you would have to decide for yourself. The staff are polite and appreciated the tips we left and the service on the Royal side was pretty good overall. On the sister side, we ate at the Mexican and the Steak house and it was the worst service and worst food ever. It took in both restaurants 40 minutes to get our first course which we promptly left along with 85% of the other food we ordered. The buffet had lots of selection, some tasted good others not so good. The Japanese was our best meal. We did not try the Italian. The nightly shows were not the best we had ever seen, but entertaining for an hour with a good strong drink in hand. The casino.... a good portion of the machines were out of service. I play Blackjack and most of the dealers were nice and appreciated the tips if I was winning, but of course I lost in the end. The sadest thing was the dogs that roam the property in the evening, starving. As an animal lover this was painful to see. Couple of tips..... take house shoes as the tiles in the room are a little uneven and cold to bare feet. Ladies take your own hairdryer if you have long hair otherwise it will take hours to dry also take a good conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Start low with your price

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Dec 5, 2010

the good, the bad

Not enough restaurants in Royal, especially for breakfast and lunch, the breakfast place is located ½ mile from the beach, and you need to wait to be served and until they bring you your omelet you want just to go back, the lunch place at the beach serves mostly cheeseburgers with French fries and you need to wait to be seated, and wait for a waiter to bring them to you, and wait for a cup of coffee forever, we had to call front desk every day for towels because maids always miss some: face towels or beach towels or etc., they bring pillows without pillow cases- had to call again, there is no pitch in the shower stall so you always will stand in the 3 inches of water, rooms are dump-need dehumidifiers, the beach is very short- there are no adjacent hotels so forget about long beach walks- it takes 10 minutes to walk along the hotel and then you will face no man's land covered with garbage on both sides of the property, water is also not that clean as at other hotels located at Bavaro beach, this one is not actually at Bavaro beach. Overall it should not have more that 3 Dominican stars compare to other resorts, e.g. Majestic, Iberostar, Melia, Princess that have 4 stars. Also, nobody speaks English, I mean AT ALL, nothing, not a letter. Waiters do not know words "bread and butter", maids do not know words "towels". Front desk people know a few words, and that's about it. We visited a half dozen other places in Punta Cana and never had a language problem but here. So complains and requests were useless. They just do what they've been told to do every day, and if you ask for something that is not specifically written in their instructions they would not even know what it is, e.g. how come you need a pillow case with you pillow?!, or butter with bread?!or hot coffee ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlito Miami
Miami, Florida
May 15, 2014

Relaxing getaway

Resort is nicely kept and very close to the airport approx. 10 minute ride. The room was spacious but the 1st. floor of Bldg. 18 the view is not the best it faces the service entrance to the Tapas restaurant and foliage. There was a water leak around the toilet and the light had a short and it required several attempts to turn it off. The mini refrigerator did not get the beverages cold enough. We reported it to the person who upon check in gave us an orientation of the resort but nothing was done. The pool by the beach provided the best shade and was less crowed then the pool by the lobby of the resort. We stayed away from the lobby area because of the constant sales pitch to attend Timeshare presentation it got very annoying every time we had to go by the lobby. The piano bar and one of the restaurants I are located in the lobby. The beach was nice but it was to wind during our week there. This resorts does offer lobster buy their is a separate charge for it. I found the food portions small for me. We took the Bavaro's Runners Safari excursion. We really enjoyed this. It offers a small variety of places to see. It includes horse back riding a visit to a cave and a coffee mill. I think if the resort would provide a flyer with the daily events and the menus for the restaurants in the room every night it would improve the stay. We had to always ask the employees what events they had at night. Lacked any transportation to the merchants and mall in the area. The employees were very friendly and always happy to assist you. Over all the resort was nice for the price but I will not return due to the sales pitches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becky Maz
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2013

Pluses but Considerable Minuses

The staff is exceptionally nice and helpful. The room was spacious and included an extremely large bath tub that I used nightly. A nice perk was that room service was included in the package so I often had breakfast on my balcony. There was also a great juice bar. Unfortunately, the area outside was extremely loud, the door is knocked on frequently by various staff unless you put on the do not disturb sign even in the middle of the day, the food was really poor to the point that I had gastrointestinal issues that prevented me from leaving my room for a day, the beach was rocky, the ocean was caked with seaweed and the buoys prevented you from swimming out past it, and there weren't enough sun-shielding umbrellas so I burned splotches of skin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search