$253 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
165 reviews
Beautiful Resort with Great amenities and Amazing Staff

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful quick trip. We didn't want to leave and we plan on going back... See full review

  • Dawn Allen
  • Nov 19, 2014
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingDrew
Business
Short Hills
Jul 23, 2013

CATALONIA ADULT

Honestly the Adult side was overrated. Unless your looking for a quiet resort that does not go above and beyond for there guest then by all means Enjoy!! I stayed for 6 nights, but I enjoyed the family side a lot better then the Adult side. The food was very basic and repetitive. The family side had a huge buffet with various selections of food. I would recommend doing the Bavaro Runner Excursion to really enjoy what D.R. has to offer. I'm 30 y/o the adult side of the resort was like staying in a beautiful outdoor library; very quite very by the books just stuck up people talking about work and money.. If your young and wanna have fun stay away from here. Now if your into very strict rules and quite setting with no entertainment or activities this is the resort for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bavaro Runner Excursion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pamike15
Business
lancaster, pa
Jan 14, 2014

expected more from a "5 star"

the resort is a lot bigger than it looks on its website. i wanted more of a relaxing vacation, not a hike. the restaurants, pools, bars, beach are very spread out. and walking is the only means of transportation. the service could be good, or it could be very bad. so when you sit down to eat, and order a drink to go with it, you might get it 50% of the time. the majority of the staff seam irritated most of the time. of course, there's an exception to every rule. they weren't all like that. but even a handful is too much. (and that's being generous) another problem is the resort is really crowded. we rarely ate at the buffets because we felt we were always in the way. the pools never had enough chairs. the beach has a lot of palm trees so finding a spot out of the shade can be a challenge...unless you want to go to the family side. overall, it wasn't horrible. i would call it a very average all inclusive resort. most resorts have these problems, i was just expecting more. the rooms, however, are excellent. they are much better than your average hotel, and bigger. and the maids did a good job of keeping everything clean. i hope this review helped you in choosing a resort. p.s. the guys on the beach, trying to sell you excusions, are very annoying. not sure why they let them on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ivanhoe
Business
Mt. vernon Ia
Mar 7, 2010

the good and the bad

WE always had plenty to eat and drink The staff always frendly but only a few spoke english. the excursion were not very good We had more fun golfing and biking There are alot better places to go . Do not use coco tours as your suttle service they stiffed us on our way back to the airport and we had to take a taxi it cost us aextra $30 dollers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try all of them it will be worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HawkInMidwest
Business
Iowa
Jul 11, 2014

Disappointed- We will never stay at another Catalonia property

It took 4 different rooms and 2 days to get checked in. Room #1 was completely under construction. Room #2 was flooded and had about 2 inches of water throughout the entire room.. Room #3 smelled horribly of mold/mildew. Finally, on the second day, Room #4 was adequate. It took a total of about 6 hours of standing in the lobby for the staff to get our room figured out. The hotel management was absolutely inept at solving any issues... and frankly didn't care. I don't know how many times we heard, "Trust me, we will take care of this." Only to get nothing taken care of... we basically had to complain for 2 days to get a suitable room. We ended up on some weird timeshare presentation that was somehow connected to the hotel. It was some sort of vacation exclusive club they marketed from the moment you walked in the door. In the end it wasted another 3-4 hrs. of our time. The salesman basically harassed us until we finally agreed to hear the presentation. Throughout our stay we tried to avoid these salespeople but they were always around wanting a high-five or fist bump. They just made you want to avoid all the common areas in general. Food was okay throughout both resorts. The waiters/staff were usually pretty slow... especially at getting water. Italian Restaurant at the other resort was very bad. All the other restaurants were average. Beaches were nice but there was a lot of moss/seaweed along the beach. Both pools were okay and usually not too busy. Bartenders mixed good drinks... they were above average. In conclusion- The lobby staff ruined our experience from the moment we checked into the hotel. We will never return to any "Catalonia" property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not take part in the "Exclusive Club" presentation they push on you from the moment you get checked into the hotel. Total waste of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Figue
Business
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Jul 28, 2014

Terrible experience

The hotel is beautiful, but the service of housekeeping and room service were awful. Housekeeping forgot to take care of trash, towels, minibar. Room service information is takes by a person in the front desk, 4 out 5 we never got exactly what we order. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good in average

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chimay23
Business
chicago, il
Apr 2, 2011

Beautiful resort but would NOT recommend

First the resort stated that they could not find our reservation even after showing them our confirmation information from cheap tickets. Essentially they were blaming cheap tickets, which may or not be true. It sounded like this happens frequently because they said this sometimes happens. After waiting for 1 hour they finally tell us that they will be upgrading us (sounds great but keep reading..) so they bring us to our room which was called the privelaged section. It was located right by the beach. The decor in the room was not 4 star but they did have a hot tub. The shower was tiny and the shower floor was the cheap plastic. After roaming around, we learned that the privelaged section is the upgraded section for the catalonia side not the royal side. (The catalonia side is the 3-3.5 star sister resort.) It irritated us because they failed to tell us this and we spoke to the receptionist twice. We approached the desk again to question our upgrade. They finally clarified that we were placed at the other resort but we could utilize all of the amenities of the royal side. Well we wanted what we paid for and wanted to move to the royal side even if the room would be further from the beach. They tried to convince us that our room was way better than the royal side but if we wanted to move it would have to be the next day. So we agreed and stayed in the "upgraded" room for one night. My husband ordered room service - hamburger because we read reviews that it was good. We forgot we were Not in the royal side. The burger was disgusting. It looked like someone stepped on it. We didn't eat it. Any way, we moved into the royal side the next day and the room was way more amazing than the privelaged side! Plus the burger on the royal side was awesome. We ordered it 3 times! Also we know they did the same thing to another couple the next day because when you stay at the catalonia side you get blue beach towels but if you stay at the royal, you get tan and brown striped ones. We saw that another couple had the blue towels on the royal side the next day. If the receptionist was not so shady about the rooms, I would recommend this resort despite the room issue, but because they tried to trick us, I can not recommend this resort. If you've already booked, then enjoy the food! Lobster and steak at the sea side dinner restaurant were great. The breakfast buffet was okay. The mediterranean restaurant also had good food. The tapas restaurant was okay. Food was mediocre there. Snorkeling was not that great. We saw 1 fish. Kayaking was fun. We missed out on the catamaran boats due to the wind. People like to save chairs but we would just take them if no ones been sitting there for 30 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your souveniers from the local sellers down the beach. They will overprice everything but be firm. We were able to bring their price down over 50% both separate times we shopped there from different vendors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marvelo
Business
santiago, chile
Apr 7, 2011

Over booking

we couldnt arrive to this hotel because they were over booked but we have a compensation for the same days for free for oun next trip!! :) and was a greats days in NH Royal beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jared31
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Not bad...

Not bad for the price. Decent food and okay entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coco puff
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Quiet hotel, and sister hotel needs some help

The piano bar is only open Tuesday, Friday and Saturday so there is no other entertainment on the Royal side other than the beach party on Thursday evening and the music, food and staff did a great job of putting together. The beach is nice and clean but the swimming area before hitting the reef and the storm drain is not very far out. You can walk for miles up and down the beach but be prepared for the trash you will see once leaving the resort beach. We had a shortage of loungers around the pool and the beach for 2 days due to a fire in another hotel and people were housed at the Royal. There was always a shortage of lounge chairs around the main pool and people are laying claim to chairs well before 8.00. Our room was always clean and fresh towels and we had no complaints there. The food on the Royal side is a mater of preference, to us some was good and some was not so good, you would have to decide for yourself. The staff are polite and appreciated the tips we left and the service on the Royal side was pretty good overall. On the sister side, we ate at the Mexican and the Steak house and it was the worst service and worst food ever. It took in both restaurants 40 minutes to get our first course which we promptly left along with 85% of the other food we ordered. The buffet had lots of selection, some tasted good others not so good. The Japanese was our best meal. We did not try the Italian. The nightly shows were not the best we had ever seen, but entertaining for an hour with a good strong drink in hand. The casino.... a good portion of the machines were out of service. I play Blackjack and most of the dealers were nice and appreciated the tips if I was winning, but of course I lost in the end. The sadest thing was the dogs that roam the property in the evening, starving. As an animal lover this was painful to see. Couple of tips..... take house shoes as the tiles in the room are a little uneven and cold to bare feet. Ladies take your own hairdryer if you have long hair otherwise it will take hours to dry also take a good conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Start low with your price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lost1876
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 22, 2012

Save your money and do a 5-star resort

Horrible food-not well prepared, cheap quality, little selection. Not very friendly staff-many very annoying, slow service. Beach is great-water very nice. Cockroaches in rooms, cleaning not that good, very limited mini fridge selection. Room service menu very limited. Not enough power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top