$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelor SLC
Business
Salt Lake City
Feb 23, 2013

Very bad!

I must start by saying we are complete foodies and I thought I had gone to Fat Camp! Came home hungry because the food was inedible. The staff was lazy and slow, it would take 3 and sometimes 4 calls to get anything done. The room was clean and comfortable but that was the east of this vacation. All I can say is we will never return and I hope they hire someone who can figure out what vacation travelers want in an all inclusive. Simply put they offer one Beer, they have no Salsa of any kind and everyone on our trip (15 people) came home with Montezuma's revenge! We returned home last night and had been sick most of the trip and are still suffering today! Beware if you are thinking of this destination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingDrew
Business
Short Hills
Jul 23, 2013

CATALONIA ADULT

Honestly the Adult side was overrated. Unless your looking for a quiet resort that does not go above and beyond for there guest then by all means Enjoy!! I stayed for 6 nights, but I enjoyed the family side a lot better then the Adult side. The food was very basic and repetitive. The family side had a huge buffet with various selections of food. I would recommend doing the Bavaro Runner Excursion to really enjoy what D.R. has to offer. I'm 30 y/o the adult side of the resort was like staying in a beautiful outdoor library; very quite very by the books just stuck up people talking about work and money.. If your young and wanna have fun stay away from here. Now if your into very strict rules and quite setting with no entertainment or activities this is the resort for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bavaro Runner Excursion

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ivanhoe
Business
Mt. vernon Ia
Mar 7, 2010

the good and the bad

WE always had plenty to eat and drink The staff always frendly but only a few spoke english. the excursion were not very good We had more fun golfing and biking There are alot better places to go . Do not use coco tours as your suttle service they stiffed us on our way back to the airport and we had to take a taxi it cost us aextra $30 dollers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try all of them it will be worth it

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HawkInMidwest
Business
Iowa
Jul 11, 2014

Disappointed- We will never stay at another Catalonia property

It took 4 different rooms and 2 days to get checked in. Room #1 was completely under construction. Room #2 was flooded and had about 2 inches of water throughout the entire room.. Room #3 smelled horribly of mold/mildew. Finally, on the second day, Room #4 was adequate. It took a total of about 6 hours of standing in the lobby for the staff to get our room figured out. The hotel management was absolutely inept at solving any issues... and frankly didn't care. I don't know how many times we heard, "Trust me, we will take care of this." Only to get nothing taken care of... we basically had to complain for 2 days to get a suitable room. We ended up on some weird timeshare presentation that was somehow connected to the hotel. It was some sort of vacation exclusive club they marketed from the moment you walked in the door. In the end it wasted another 3-4 hrs. of our time. The salesman basically harassed us until we finally agreed to hear the presentation. Throughout our stay we tried to avoid these salespeople but they were always around wanting a high-five or fist bump. They just made you want to avoid all the common areas in general. Food was okay throughout both resorts. The waiters/staff were usually pretty slow... especially at getting water. Italian Restaurant at the other resort was very bad. All the other restaurants were average. Beaches were nice but there was a lot of moss/seaweed along the beach. Both pools were okay and usually not too busy. Bartenders mixed good drinks... they were above average. In conclusion- The lobby staff ruined our experience from the moment we checked into the hotel. We will never return to any "Catalonia" property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not take part in the "Exclusive Club" presentation they push on you from the moment you get checked into the hotel. Total waste of time.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Figue
Business
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Jul 28, 2014

Terrible experience

The hotel is beautiful, but the service of housekeeping and room service were awful. Housekeeping forgot to take care of trash, towels, minibar. Room service information is takes by a person in the front desk, 4 out 5 we never got exactly what we order. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good in average

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JC Bos
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Would never go back...

Let me start off by saying I have never written a review on a hotel/vacation but our experience was so bad I feel compelled to. Stayed here 1 week with my fiancé and another couple in Oct 2014. We have been to many all inclusive resorts so have a pretty good idea of when we are getting quality for our money and when we aren't. In retrospect, we should have known something was "up" when we got such a good deal. Let me start off by saying the smell in the rooms was HORRIBLE - both ours and our friends'. We stayed in Villa 46. The minute we walked in all we could breathe was must and mold. We called the front desk immediately, an employee came down to our room, agreed it smelled, and moved us (after the manager told us "make sure you are happy with the next room because I am not moving you again."). When we were going back to the original room to finish grabbing our luggage, the employees were spreading potpourri all over the room. Yup just covering up the smell for the next unlucky family to check in. The best part is our "new" room smelled worse than the first. My husband found black mold all over the bed posts and curtains. The kind of black mold that would shut places down in the US. Major problem #2: the food. almost every single plate we had in 7 days for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, was unedible. 3/4 of us got sick from cross contamination. I actually lost weight on my vacation. If you get a drink at any of the outdoor/beach/pool bars, the cups have a film of all the different frozen drinks that were previously in them. Poor to non-existant cleansing. The only thing I could stomach was the gnocci from the Italian restaurant at the sister resort nextdoor. For a week. Beach is small.. lots of shade. Lots of seaweed (they were doing their best to clean it but there is just too much). Lobby is nothing special. Old couches. Really nothing to look at. On a positive note the staff (besides the managers we came across) were very friendly. Definitely helped to speak a good amount of Spanish. Bottom Line: Don't stay here. Spend the extra money and stay at the Hard Rock down the street. We are still talking about how disappointed we are in our stay after we looked forward to it for so long. We couldn't wait to come home. It was so bad that a coworker of mine was supposed to be staying here next week but I URGED her to change to a different hotel which she did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
triphoplvr
Business
Minneapolis
Feb 18, 2014

Not as good as some of the reviews say. Not as bad either.

We stayed here for our honeymoon during the week of February 10, 2014. DISCLAIMER: This was our first time in the Dominican, so I don't have any comparison. GOOD: - The room and grounds were nice and appeared as advertised. - After our special Valentine's Day dinner on the beach, we came back to our room to find it decorated with rose pedals and towel animals. Very nice touch. - They had a party on the beach one night for guests that was very nice. BAD: - Took three calls to get a hammock for our balcony. Being that was a major reason we booked here, that was disappointing. - Called multiple times for new/additional pillows to no avail. - Hotel seemed to allow/employ people constantly hassling guests to take day trips. The lobby and beach were swarming with salespeople. Even the towel guy was trying to sell excursions! This is not my idea of relaxing. Leave me alone! AVERAGE: - Food was hit or miss. Highly recommend the tapas restaurant by the infinity pool for dinner and the pizza place by the bar pool for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFNY
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2014

Good Hotel

Nice hotel but it is part of the Catalonia Resort next door which is not as nice... Most of restaurants are next door and doesn't worth it to be honest Restaurant inside the Royal Catalonia are a lot better even if most of the time they run out of food before end of dinner . Rooms are nice, beach is beautiful Best thing is no children so very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jared31
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Not bad...

Not bad for the price. Decent food and okay entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coco puff
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Quiet hotel, and sister hotel needs some help

The piano bar is only open Tuesday, Friday and Saturday so there is no other entertainment on the Royal side other than the beach party on Thursday evening and the music, food and staff did a great job of putting together. The beach is nice and clean but the swimming area before hitting the reef and the storm drain is not very far out. You can walk for miles up and down the beach but be prepared for the trash you will see once leaving the resort beach. We had a shortage of loungers around the pool and the beach for 2 days due to a fire in another hotel and people were housed at the Royal. There was always a shortage of lounge chairs around the main pool and people are laying claim to chairs well before 8.00. Our room was always clean and fresh towels and we had no complaints there. The food on the Royal side is a mater of preference, to us some was good and some was not so good, you would have to decide for yourself. The staff are polite and appreciated the tips we left and the service on the Royal side was pretty good overall. On the sister side, we ate at the Mexican and the Steak house and it was the worst service and worst food ever. It took in both restaurants 40 minutes to get our first course which we promptly left along with 85% of the other food we ordered. The buffet had lots of selection, some tasted good others not so good. The Japanese was our best meal. We did not try the Italian. The nightly shows were not the best we had ever seen, but entertaining for an hour with a good strong drink in hand. The casino.... a good portion of the machines were out of service. I play Blackjack and most of the dealers were nice and appreciated the tips if I was winning, but of course I lost in the end. The sadest thing was the dogs that roam the property in the evening, starving. As an animal lover this was painful to see. Couple of tips..... take house shoes as the tiles in the room are a little uneven and cold to bare feet. Ladies take your own hairdryer if you have long hair otherwise it will take hours to dry also take a good conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Start low with your price

Back to menu Return to top