$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main... See full review

  • hilaryvernon
  • Aug 26, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I will keep going back!
Chicago, IL
Jan 19, 2011

Royal Bavaro Catalonia Review 1/11

We had a very good time on our trip. This was my 2nd visit to this resort but my husbands 1st. We were at the resort for a week and didnt want to leave. We actually never left the resort for adventures or stores. We were happy with just relaxing by the infinity pool and the beach. Our flight was delayed a day so we had to stay in another hotel and it was nothing compared to the Bavaro Royal. I would highly recommend this resort, Royal side, which is adult only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Wake up early in the morning or before you even go to breakfast and find a spot on the beach or by either of the 2 pools and place your towels on the area you want. It is nice to have a nice place by the water, and saving them early is the key!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Jun 21, 2010

Great Stay!

Hotel was great. The Royal side is the way to go. The staff is super friendly and most everyone speaks perfect english. Not the maids, but you dont really have to talk to them. The airport ride is only about 20 minutes which is great. This is one of the closest hotels. [...] The only down sides to the room were that we would sometimes find these little bugs that would normally show up when the maids put fresh flowers in the room. A quick wipe with a towel and they were gone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The specialty dining options are the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine and Eli
long island, NY
May 19, 2013

great vacation

Great overall experience. Wish there was more entertainment at the adults only section. Alcohol tasted watered down at the main resort. Would definitely recommend the adults only section as you can use the facilities at both the main resort and the adults only section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main resort has 4 restaurants and much better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago.IL
Feb 21, 2010

Great vacation

The trip was great overall with no complaints. The majority of the time was spent sitting by the pool relaxing as was the plan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antoinette NJTransplant
PA
Sep 7, 2012

Amazing for Couples

As soon as we got to the hotel, which was just a short drive from the airport, we were greeted with drinks and cool towels - a truly telling experience of the exceptional service at this hotel. The rooms were amazing and exceeded our expectations. The beach did have a bit of sea weed and the water wasn't as clear as I'd hope but to be fair the stormy weather could've caused this. Overall a tropical paradise and great couple's getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surrey, BC
May 14, 2010

Nice Resort!

The only bad part was the beach, it had seaweed in the water and in the sand which was not truly "white sand". We went on an excursion and the beach we were driven to was spotless with white sand. Other than that the resort was perfect. Keep in mind that you are in a "third world" country so it will not be up to North American standards. The food was very good. Blue Cheese steak at Thalassa for lunch was AMAZING (when it was on their menu). We never got bored of the food and we ate 2 dinners every night...lol...not including room service at night The rooms were clean (there were some musty and sweaty smells occasionally) but having travelled to more undeveloped countries (Vietnam, Thailand, etc.) this hotel is quite nice for the country it is in. The liquor at the bar was "good stuff" brands that we see in North America

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market down by the beach which sells souvenirs. Just walk down to the beach and turn right and keep walking for about a minute; you'll see a sign. They are very aggressive and set very high prices to start. You must barter it down to at least half of what they initially say. Ex. Picture frame they say is $48 we got for $15 or less. Wear long pants or insect repellent to the market. I got flea bites or something there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schenectady, NY
May 31, 2011

Serene Relaxation

We travel 3-5 times a year to different Carribbean locations. This hotel was situated in the middle of nowhere. It was almost silent every night and the only entertainment were the weak performances by the hotel staff. However, it was stunningly beautiful. We walked around and looked at the water, pools included, every day. We wanted quiet relaxation for a week. We read books, played computer games, and sat by the pool. The rooms are very sexy and include a jacuzzi tub that keeps things interesting. No bugs or cleanliness problems in the hotel at all. We're glad we stayed on the adult side and came back rested. The food was gross. In the last two days I figured out how to make grilled cheese in a toaster, so I wouldn't starve. I'm not a picky eater, so this wasn't a make or break for me. If we ever go back to DR. I'll pick a place more lively for our age group (28, 31) I also wouldn't spring for the massage. They were done by young girls who giggled the whole time. Overall, I have to recommend it for being classy, clean, and serene. But just make sure this is what you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you go to the shows. There's nothing else to do and you'll needs something to talk about. If you lead a busy life and just want to relax for a few days...book it today.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby & Stefanie
New York
Jan 23, 2011

50th Birthday getaway for my boyfriend .

We enjoyed the beach , very relaxing and the weather was perfect for the 5 days we were there. We did the couples massages on the beach , very nice . Walked over every night to the other side to enjoy dinner . The grounds are kept very nice . The staff was very good and pleasant to be around . We would definitely go back again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese was over all the best . Then would be the Mexican .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 14, 2011

I'd go again!

The Catalonia Royal Bavaro is a beautiful and comfortable place. Seating at the beach, pools and in the restaurants is abundant. You can find whatever you want - peace or a party. They get all the little details right e.g. daily delivery of beach towels to your room. The food is good, but most is not stellar. At the end of the day, I had a lovely week in paradise with good food, drinks, and new friends. I think my only complaint is that while there's ample seating on the private beach, there's only one waiter for the whole thing. I waited endlessly for cocktails. The bar is only a short walk away, so that's just being lazy, but a little pampering there would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

One important piece of advice: you have access to the Catalonia Bavaro (The family resort) as well, but don't even bother. Nothing there is good at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Jan 27, 2010

Relaxed and Rejuvenated

This hotel is so totally relaxing. The Royal side of the Catalonia lets you escape the hoopla and just chill out at the beautiful infinity pool and the beach. There were always lots of free chairs, and lots of space, yet you were also free to enjoy all the facilities and dining and shows etc. at the regular Catalonia, which was only a short walk away. It was great, and soooooo relaxing. Truly a paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

For a quick, light lunch, stroll over to the regular Catalonia and try the wonderful pizza at the snack-bar by the pool. We did this almost everyday, rather than have a sit-down lunch. One other tip - bring an english/spanish dictionary, as there is limited English spoken here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search