$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
212 reviews
Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property... See full review

  • Mikebom
  • Jun 6, 2014
One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food... See full review

  • Uncle Skip
  • May 24, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cyrilwood
Buffalo, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2011

worst in 25 yrs of travel

If you request royal catalonia you will be down graded when you get there. It is a total scam. You pay for a good room and get an old room with poor plumbing. They place they put you is where the nitely "music" is so loud, until 12:30 am. that your bed shakes.The food is poor, dogs barking at 3:00 am. They accept american money, but have every countries flag flying except the american flag. If this is the first place you visit, you will never again to Pinta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Apple Valley
Oct 18, 2008

Very Disappointing

My wife and I stayed at the Catalonia Royal from Oct 11 thru the 18. The ac was not working. Very warm in our room. We were told that the building we were in was with out air-conditioning. They were trying to fix it. On the 5th day after complaing many times they finnally moved us to a different building. As far as the food goes we were very suprised at how they undercook there food. The omlets were runny and the bacon raw or very under cooked. I had a hamberger at an outdoor grill by the pool one day and it was red in the middle. My wife oderer a steak one night and they never aksed how she wanted it cooked so it came very rare. Not to mention seeing cockroaches in the buffet area. Sorry for being so negative but this is true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cja95
New York,ny
Jun 18, 2013

Not Recommended

Rude staff, mold above the AC vent by our bed, Dead lizard on the living room chair, towels were not replenish on a daily basis and the food was disgusting Ugh. NEVER AGAIN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annoymous 2012
Philadelphia, usa
Nov 17, 2012

Nightmare holiday

Worst resort ever stayed in: 1) check in was like going to Walmart refund section. 2) staff can't speak English. So communication was really bad. 3) food was not 5 star. It was 1 star. Holiday inn is better. 4) spa was broken and no one would repair anything. 5) ground is uneven and very cobbly. Take trainers, or hiking shoes. 6) showers were cold. They have no hot water. We felt dirty everyday. 7) whole resort was full of smokers everywhere, air felt very polluted. 8) common areas were not very clean. So many flies everywhere, especially on beach when they do lunchtime barbecue.. It's full of ants and bugs. 9) it's a very Spanish hotel. If you speak Spanish it will help you. 10) food was revolting, got very sick by the third day. Stomach cramps, loose stools, shivers, body aches , etc.. 11) best part of the trip was flying back home last night. 12) had to go doctor this morning.. 13) good luck to those who go here, hope this info helps..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Apple Valley
Oct 18, 2008

Very Disappointing

My wife and I stayed at the Catalonia Royal from Oct 11 thru the 18. The ac was not working. Very warm in our room. We were told that the building we were in was with out air-conditioning. They were trying to fix it. On the 5th day after complaing many times they finnally moved us to a different building. As far as the food goes we were very suprised at how they undercook there food. The omlets were runny and the bacon raw or very under cooked. I had a hamberger at an outdoor grill by the pool one day and it was red in the middle. My wife oderer a steak one night and they never aksed how she wanted it cooked so it came very rare. Not to mention seeing cockroaches in the buffet area. Sorry for being so negative but this is true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ivanhoe
Mt. vernon Ia
Mar 7, 2010

the good and the bad

WE always had plenty to eat and drink The staff always frendly but only a few spoke english. the excursion were not very good We had more fun golfing and biking There are alot better places to go . Do not use coco tours as your suttle service they stiffed us on our way back to the airport and we had to take a taxi it cost us aextra $30 dollers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try all of them it will be worth it

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ivanhoe
Mt. vernon Ia
Mar 7, 2010

the good and the bad

WE always had plenty to eat and drink The staff always frendly but only a few spoke english. the excursion were not very good We had more fun golfing and biking There are alot better places to go . Do not use coco tours as your suttle service they stiffed us on our way back to the airport and we had to take a taxi it cost us aextra $30 dollers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try all of them it will be worth it

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pamike15
lancaster, pa
Jan 14, 2014

expected more from a "5 star"

the resort is a lot bigger than it looks on its website. i wanted more of a relaxing vacation, not a hike. the restaurants, pools, bars, beach are very spread out. and walking is the only means of transportation. the service could be good, or it could be very bad. so when you sit down to eat, and order a drink to go with it, you might get it 50% of the time. the majority of the staff seam irritated most of the time. of course, there's an exception to every rule. they weren't all like that. but even a handful is too much. (and that's being generous) another problem is the resort is really crowded. we rarely ate at the buffets because we felt we were always in the way. the pools never had enough chairs. the beach has a lot of palm trees so finding a spot out of the shade can be a challenge...unless you want to go to the family side. overall, it wasn't horrible. i would call it a very average all inclusive resort. most resorts have these problems, i was just expecting more. the rooms, however, are excellent. they are much better than your average hotel, and bigger. and the maids did a good job of keeping everything clean. i hope this review helped you in choosing a resort. p.s. the guys on the beach, trying to sell you excusions, are very annoying. not sure why they let them on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vikky
New Jersey
Nov 1, 2010

Gorgeous Hotel TERRIBLE service

I took my family there and was very embraced. I have never wrote a bad review, but the service of this hotel made me do so. I was surprised how mean and not helpful was the stuff, everything was a problem, just like pulling teeth. Gorgeous resort though, very nice rooms, comfortable chairs, but WORST SERVICE EVER. It's even funny that they didn't want to change me $20 in singles so I can leave TIP for THEM. It's suppose to be all inclusive resort and when my husband in the Italian restaurant wanted to order extra appetizer, they didn't let him (one per person), consider that my mom didn't have any. I called the manager/waiter (I guess they are really trying to save some cash) he was really rude. My parents room wasn't cleaned until 6pm. They make absolutely no effort to make you happy or help you. they even make the face that they doing you a favor, No smile what so ever even if you leave tip. I just can't explain it, towels weren't changed, people in the stores are extremely mean if you are not Spanish. they never have change. If you are going with the large group and don't care a thing for the service this is the place for you. Food is good, but restaurant's don't have A/C, so get ready to sweat, cooks talking on the phone while cooking(in Japanese restaurant). Main buffet has large selection, but taste terrible. I would never go back there. You better go elsewhere. Service seriously turned us completely off :( We complained to the manager, absolutely nothing changed. :( Last time we went to Dreams palm beach Punta cana, service was outstanding. would rather go back there (though the beach chairs are not the most comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

great intertainment :)

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelor SLC
Salt Lake City
Feb 23, 2013

Very bad!

I must start by saying we are complete foodies and I thought I had gone to Fat Camp! Came home hungry because the food was inedible. The staff was lazy and slow, it would take 3 and sometimes 4 calls to get anything done. The room was clean and comfortable but that was the east of this vacation. All I can say is we will never return and I hope they hire someone who can figure out what vacation travelers want in an all inclusive. Simply put they offer one Beer, they have no Salsa of any kind and everyone on our trip (15 people) came home with Montezuma's revenge! We returned home last night and had been sick most of the trip and are still suffering today! Beware if you are thinking of this destination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top