$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
213 reviews
Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property... See full review

  • Mikebom
  • Jun 6, 2014
One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food... See full review

  • Uncle Skip
  • May 24, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 213
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wendykroy
Connecticut
Oct 20, 2009

Great Beach/Pool Getaway

The staff was extremely friendly. Basic Spanish is helpful, but the staff will work to understand you. The room was always cleaned, but the things that were provided were a little hit or miss, (Towels, floor mats, etc.) It might have been because it was off season, but everything was included--all food, all alcohol, everything. It was a beautiful location, especially good for beach/pool people. I would recommend for couples, friends, or singles who are looking to relax and not have to worry about anything. An amazing experience. I can't wait to go back. Transportation with Coco Tours was inconsistent. My plane was re-routed to Santo Domingo and I tried to contact Coco Tours to change my arrival time pick up. They hung up on me twice. Luckily, the airline wound up providing transportation directly to the hotel, so it wasn't an issue. And, I did not have any issues getting back to the airport for my return flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wendykroy
Connecticut
Oct 20, 2009

Great Beach/Pool Getaway

The staff was extremely friendly. Basic Spanish is helpful, but the staff will work to understand you. The room was always cleaned, but the things that were provided were a little hit or miss, (Towels, floor mats, etc.) It might have been because it was off season, but everything was included--all food, all alcohol, everything. It was a beautiful location, especially good for beach/pool people. I would recommend for couples, friends, or singles who are looking to relax and not have to worry about anything. An amazing experience. I can't wait to go back. Transportation with Coco Tours was inconsistent. My plane was re-routed to Santo Domingo and I tried to contact Coco Tours to change my arrival time pick up. They hung up on me twice. Luckily, the airline wound up providing transportation directly to the hotel, so it wasn't an issue. And, I did not have any issues getting back to the airport for my return flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ from Vegas
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2014

Amazing time!

Our room was a beautiful suite next to the pool, and the air conditioning was a big plus. The front desk people were very helpful, and we were able to book all our excursions there. It would have been nice if they had told us what we needed to bring to prepare for each excursion though, as sometimes we showed up without proper attire, without expecting a 3-hour bus ride, etc. My advice is to go online to see each excursion's tips prior to going on them. The food was wonderful, and I'm a vegetarian. I still had plenty of options everywhere. AMERICANS---BRING LOTS OF SINGLE DOLLAR BILLS! We got ripped off exchanging money into pesos at the airport, and it was super difficult to find change anywhere at the resort. The ATM only gives pesos, so you have to make a trip to the bank on the resort, and they were stingy with the ones (although I wanted them so I could tip everybody, which you think they'd support). Overall, the beach here is amazing, the location is perfect, and I loved being away from the busy kid resort next door. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mafe Solano
Washington, DC, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Good but not great

This hotel is located very close from the airport - 20 minutes maximum, so consider it well located. The hotel itself (lobby, bathrooms, restaurants, the pool, etc) is pretty and well maintain. The beach has a lot of algae and the hotel has one person cleaning them up, but their system is not modern so even though they try to keep it clean the beach is always dirty. The breakfast is really good but the rest of the food is very very bad, I read about the food in other reviews so I was kind of prepared, but that still affect me... the only restaurant I recommend is the italian (decent food, don't expect anything great). The spa is really nice but sadly it is expensive and the staff is not professionals, so I would not recommend it. The hotel is very tranquil, but if you want to hear music and do activities with other people, you can just walk to the other resort.... however I would say that the activities are not great (music, presentations) the casino looks kind of old... I think overall the hotel is neither bad nor great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustin Hutch
Cleveland
Mar 21, 2014

Beautiful Place

The only issue I had was with the TV in the room. There was no volume the night we arrived and the maintenance who was not English speaking did the same thing I did by going through the settings. The sound cut in and out for the first few nights and our TV wasn't replaced and I gave up. One night the sound came back on and we simply left the TV on and turned the volume down when leaving the room. That being said everything else was spectacular. Beautiful resort and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punter
USA
May 10, 2012

Vacation

The facilities were modern and relatively clean. Saw a few bugs in the room during the stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was mediocre, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you also visit the neighboring Catalonia Bavaro resort next door. The circus act was entertaining.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for more sun...
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2010

Beautiful Property -but not going again

I was on a trip with 9 other friends (some couples, some singles) - an annual vacation to an all inclusive and we decided to try the Dominican. The resort was beautiful with large pools and a great beach and the rooms were spacious but other than that I run out of great things to say. It was rainy season so it rained every day and the mosquitoes were TERRIBLE so you didn't even want to sit outside at night. The rooms were spacious but smelled awful - think musty, moldy old basement smell... And then all of our clothes smelled like that for the rest of the trip! Also, don't expect any of your swim suits or sweaty workout clothes to ever fully dry while you're there. Even in the rooms it's soooo humid that nothing ever dries out! Food was subpar - the hibachi grill/Japanese place was the best by far! We were hoping to explore the downtown area and the VERY friendly woman at the front desk, Angela (who speaks great English!) told us it was a short walk (about a mile) from the resort to the Punta Cana. But when we started our excursion out, we stopped immediately at the resort gates when there were armed guards with large, large guns protecting the property. we just thought, "if they need those size guns to keep whatever is 'out there' from coming on to the resort, do we really need to be 'out there'??". I'm just not sure how safe it is to leave the resort - and it's unfortunate because if you can't explore some of the local culture I feel as if it was a wasted trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chunky
West Covina California
Aug 23, 2011

Relaxing Vacation

Good location. Nice comfortable setting for relaxation. The eating places left little to be desired. Food was very bland and not that great. Would probably try a different hotel if I ever go back. Staff was OK, friendly but don't go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. I'd give it a 3 star rating, nothing higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for more sun...
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2010

Beautiful Property -but not going again

I was on a trip with 9 other friends (some couples, some singles) - an annual vacation to an all inclusive and we decided to try the Dominican. The resort was beautiful with large pools and a great beach and the rooms were spacious but other than that I run out of great things to say. It was rainy season so it rained every day and the mosquitoes were TERRIBLE so you didn't even want to sit outside at night. The rooms were spacious but smelled awful - think musty, moldy old basement smell... And then all of our clothes smelled like that for the rest of the trip! Also, don't expect any of your swim suits or sweaty workout clothes to ever fully dry while you're there. Even in the rooms it's soooo humid that nothing ever dries out! Food was subpar - the hibachi grill/Japanese place was the best by far! We were hoping to explore the downtown area and the VERY friendly woman at the front desk, Angela (who speaks great English!) told us it was a short walk (about a mile) from the resort to the Punta Cana. But when we started our excursion out, we stopped immediately at the resort gates when there were armed guards with large, large guns protecting the property. we just thought, "if they need those size guns to keep whatever is 'out there' from coming on to the resort, do we really need to be 'out there'??". I'm just not sure how safe it is to leave the resort - and it's unfortunate because if you can't explore some of the local culture I feel as if it was a wasted trip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chunky
West Covina California
Aug 23, 2011

Relaxing Vacation

Good location. Nice comfortable setting for relaxation. The eating places left little to be desired. Food was very bland and not that great. Would probably try a different hotel if I ever go back. Staff was OK, friendly but don't go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. I'd give it a 3 star rating, nothing higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top