$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not telling you
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 16, 2013

10 day Winter get away

Overall very good experience. Staff every friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hotscot and latin
Business
london
Feb 12, 2013

great adults only 5 star

Great hotel , great food , the blue beach cafe all day is a great option for late beakfasts this spa is nice 100 dollars for an hour and 20 massage in the early mornigs the cleaning and generall niose levels in the hotel could be better but the staff overall are fantastic, they try this is the carribean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

blue beach cafe good food all day

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Travelr
Business
Northville, MI
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel, wonderful staff

Our first visit to this Hotel, 3rd to Punta Cana: The rooms were large, clean, beds comfortable, peaceful. Staff couldn't be better, nicer, or more attentive. Room service food came HOT! Only wish the tub was a jacuzzi. Pool area clean, plenty of shaddy spots. Beach cool breeze. Fruit smoothy station nice touch and very good! Lunch Bar-b-Q each day good. Dissappointed in food at restaurants and entertainment both poor. Had problem with something I ate & sick for 3 days, UGH! (never had this problem before on other visits) Nightly shows were very poor, same performers each night & not very good at all. Several others we met had the same experience with the food & opinion of the entertainment. Back to the Majestic Elegance next time. People of Punta Cana are WONDERFUL they make the trip! Get out of the resort and see the country & people, you will keep coming back each year like us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Safari trip is well worth it! Don't miss it.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine and Eli
Business
long island, NY
May 19, 2013

great vacation

Great overall experience. Wish there was more entertainment at the adults only section. Alcohol tasted watered down at the main resort. Would definitely recommend the adults only section as you can use the facilities at both the main resort and the adults only section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main resort has 4 restaurants and much better food.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nailitoff
Business
Tennessee
May 20, 2013

pretty good

I liked this palce pretty good but i thought the Catalonia in Tulum was much better.The food was not as good as we had hoped.We got a few good dinners in the specialty restaraunts.The pools are descent and the beach was pretty awesome.My wife did not like all of the topless women everywhere.The grounds are immaculate and the staff were very friendly and accomadating.One thing we thought was stupid is that you book adults only but 3 restaraunts are on the other property and you're eating with kids and one of the reasons I booked adults only was so i didn't have to eat with kids.All in all thogh I had fun but If I go back to Punta Cana I might try a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you do Jungle excursion stay away from Compay.They tried to sell me video of our trip.I gave them 10 dollars when we got back and they told me I could bring 10 more at 8 in the morning or after and pick it up at the front desk.After getting the run around for about 30 minutes there was no video but I did get my 10 dollars back.One of the women that went with us did get hers but they tried to charge her 20 more dollars because somebody had changed the 10 to 20.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmclem
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Wonderful Couples Getaway!

We absolutely adored our stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort. We stayed at the adults-only, and I can't recommend it enough! It was relaxing, quiet, peaceful, yet still fun. The food was great at our resort. We also had access to the full family resort next door, but our food was much better. Even the "buffet" breakfast and dinner had some form of integrated a la carte service. We were well taken care of, and we had a private beach that was a long way away from any other resort. The pools are very nice and the beach is even better. We would definitely return to this resort if that means anything! *One drawback, if anything, would maybe be the mini bar. They only put 2 beers in it per day, but you can get anything from any of the bars so we were well taken care of in the drink department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are souvenir stands set up a ways down the beach (not on the resort). They will try to give you "free" necklaces and take you to their stand, but they will rip you off. A repeated "No Thank You" works great. No need to be mean, but no need to be a pushover either.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.Atkins
Business
Virginia
Jun 12, 2013

Summer Trip

This resort was great from the moment we checked in up until the day we left. We had an amazing younger lady check us in, go over maps and amenities, gave us a ride to the room on a cart with our luggage, and gave us a once over of the room. We opted for the suite room with the private pool, which I would highly recommend as it is worth every penny. If you do go that route, make sure you bring a float as we had to buy one for our pool. What really made the pool worth the cost for us was when my wife or I was having some stomach problems, we were still able to be in the sun all day and the water in our pool but still be close to the room. The entire staff, on both sides of the resort, was great and fun to speak to. Everyone spoke some english and would converse with me in Spanish until I had to tell them to slow down because I'm not quite fluent. Room service, house keeping, bar tenders, hostesses, and beach staff were all amazing. I was never completely sure on tips as some people seemed offended an some didn't. If you decide to tip only one person the whole time, I would recommend to tip the person who restocks your fridge. After a tip we found that instead of putting more things in we didn't drink we got only what we were drinking (sprite, water, and beer) and he left extras out for us to put in the fridge when we made more room. I would recommend eating on both sides of the resort. There are far more choices on the "family" side and the restaurants seem to be bigger on that side also. The entire seven nights we were there we only had to wait for a table once. I would also recommend going to the Japanese restaurant early to get seating without having to wait. As stated in other reviews, the beach was great, get there early for a thatch covering (before 8 AM), men clean it all day long and it looked great. There is good snorkeling that you can do right there without having to pay for an actual excursion. Just be sure to have $20 for a security deposit that you get back when you return the snorkel gear. The only small complaints that I had at all was our door to our room did not shut completely flush to the floor. It was a space of less than 1/2 an inch, but during our trip we found three crabs and two lizards in the room. It was not a big deal as we took pictures and it made for good stories. We were a little disappointed with some of the food though. We've traveled to all inclusive before in Mexico and expected something the same. I think the biggest place for improvement is the buffet that they offer. A lot of the fresh fruit and vegetables lacked flavor, and a lot of the times the selection could have been bigger. It's not enough for me to not recommend this resort and honestly it's the only real complaint we had, a small complaint at that. Overall we loved it. The room was amazing and it overlooked the main pool closest to the beach, the people were great and the restaurants (not the buffet) were all very good. It's also great to not hear small children screaming, crying, and jumping in pools nonstop!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you land in the airport be ready to pay a $10 tourist tax for each person in your party. I didn't see this mentioned anywhere else and thought it needed to be mentioned. Tip your fridge stocker as they'll reward you with more of what you're actually drinking. Make sure you at least wander around the pool area of the "family" side. They have a lot of good food options that are just beside the pools that we didn't know about until we started wandering.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmarie613
Business
Maryland
Jun 5, 2013

Great vacation

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Catalonia Royal. We had a wonderful vacation - property was gorgeous, wonderful staff for the most part , room was large and clean. The only couple o complaints: --Food was hit or miss. It was always presented beautifully, but some dishes were just not good at all (I ordered grouper one day and snapper another; both had an inedible, slimy texture and not good flavor); but other dishes were great, such as most chicken dishes and vegetarian options. Just stay away from the seafood, which is sad, considering you're on the ocean! --The hotel can't do much about this, but people routinely put towels over the "best" beach lounge chairs every day, "reserving them" (even though hotel does not reserve loungers); my husband and I would be at the beach usually by 7:45am to find almost all beachfront chairs taken by placing towels and perhaps a personal bag or hat on the chair; we'd be on the beach for TWO OR MORE HOURS and those same chairs were still no occupied; we did not want to start any arguments with guests so never took off the towels and personal items, but there should be a rule in place that is a chair is not occupied by a HUMAN BEING within 30-45min, then it's free game to whomever is on the beach. These were minor things - the vacation was fabulous; lots of activities to choose from; if you don't take advantage of the activities offerred, you may get bored, so do it! Bars were definitely not lacking; I don't like sweet sugary drinks so I usually ordered wine, beer, or champagne, or asked for a mixed drink of my own choice, which was never a problem. Great stay!!! Will consider again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoversLane
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2013

Couples Alone Time

Nice vacation for couples, no kids in sight. The room service was great only wish that the room had a more pleasant smell but lucky for me I brought my Lysol :) The resort had lovely well kept grounds. My only complaint was me and hubby got bored after a day or so because there wasn't much to do at this resort so this place is definitely not for an all girls or guys trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodeo Steakhouse is the closest you'll get to American dining just don't try the crab cakes, nothing close to what you can get in MD.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPS2
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jun 3, 2014

Good budget adults-only all-inclusive

We found a really good deal for this hotel so going in our expectations were lowered. However, the food was great, our room was clean and the staff were nice enough. The first day our top-floor room was hot so I called about the A/C. I'm not sure if they fixed anything but it felt better after that. The resort looks a little dated in some areas but the beach has plenty of shade even if it doesn't get too deep. We are glad we booked the Royal side. The other side had more going on but the service and food quality did not seem to be as good and it's a lot harder to find shade around the pool or beach They also had more people trying to sell excursions. We booked a buggy trip with Adventure Boogies through the rep that also handled our airport transfers. In summary, this is a good, but not the best, resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top