$365 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
165 reviews
Beautiful Resort with Great amenities and Amazing Staff

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful quick trip. We didn't want to leave and we plan on going back... See full review

  • Dawn Allen
  • Nov 19, 2014
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHP1
Business
Atanta, Georgia
Jan 27, 2013

Alomst great family getaway

The hotel was beautiful with a lot of amenities. When we got into our room, unexpectedly saw a double twin beds, instead of a king size bed. We got into the shower and realized that the water was building up in the shower area and not being drained. We reported this to the front desk, but nothing was done about it. We left the room for dinner and when we came back from the dinner, we noticed a strong smell of toilet has sreaded to the entire room. We reported the bad smell to the strong desk and nothing was done about it. We asked to be moved to another room in another buiding or a higher floor on the same building abd we were told that they don't have rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dine in restaurants were great and in a short distance from our room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goettej
Business
Watertown, SD 57201, USA
Feb 10, 2013

Nice Hotel

Hotel was nice, beach was nice with seaweed but was always picked up throughout the day. The only downfall for me was the food, it was a hit and miss kind of thing. Overall I recommend the hotel, its nice to have the adults side where its more relaxed and also have the family side steps away for fun activities and a more lively pool bar and pool. Lots of sand, palm trees and plenty of places to grab a drink or bite to eat. The snorkeling done at the hotel isnt the best but you just pay a deposit and use the mask and snorkel for an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not telling you
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 16, 2013

10 day Winter get away

Overall very good experience. Staff every friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hotscot and latin
Business
london
Feb 12, 2013

great adults only 5 star

Great hotel , great food , the blue beach cafe all day is a great option for late beakfasts this spa is nice 100 dollars for an hour and 20 massage in the early mornigs the cleaning and generall niose levels in the hotel could be better but the staff overall are fantastic, they try this is the carribean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

blue beach cafe good food all day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Travelr
Business
Northville, MI
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel, wonderful staff

Our first visit to this Hotel, 3rd to Punta Cana: The rooms were large, clean, beds comfortable, peaceful. Staff couldn't be better, nicer, or more attentive. Room service food came HOT! Only wish the tub was a jacuzzi. Pool area clean, plenty of shaddy spots. Beach cool breeze. Fruit smoothy station nice touch and very good! Lunch Bar-b-Q each day good. Dissappointed in food at restaurants and entertainment both poor. Had problem with something I ate & sick for 3 days, UGH! (never had this problem before on other visits) Nightly shows were very poor, same performers each night & not very good at all. Several others we met had the same experience with the food & opinion of the entertainment. Back to the Majestic Elegance next time. People of Punta Cana are WONDERFUL they make the trip! Get out of the resort and see the country & people, you will keep coming back each year like us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Safari trip is well worth it! Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine and Eli
Business
long island, NY
May 19, 2013

great vacation

Great overall experience. Wish there was more entertainment at the adults only section. Alcohol tasted watered down at the main resort. Would definitely recommend the adults only section as you can use the facilities at both the main resort and the adults only section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main resort has 4 restaurants and much better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nailitoff
Business
Tennessee
May 20, 2013

pretty good

I liked this palce pretty good but i thought the Catalonia in Tulum was much better.The food was not as good as we had hoped.We got a few good dinners in the specialty restaraunts.The pools are descent and the beach was pretty awesome.My wife did not like all of the topless women everywhere.The grounds are immaculate and the staff were very friendly and accomadating.One thing we thought was stupid is that you book adults only but 3 restaraunts are on the other property and you're eating with kids and one of the reasons I booked adults only was so i didn't have to eat with kids.All in all thogh I had fun but If I go back to Punta Cana I might try a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you do Jungle excursion stay away from Compay.They tried to sell me video of our trip.I gave them 10 dollars when we got back and they told me I could bring 10 more at 8 in the morning or after and pick it up at the front desk.After getting the run around for about 30 minutes there was no video but I did get my 10 dollars back.One of the women that went with us did get hers but they tried to charge her 20 more dollars because somebody had changed the 10 to 20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmclem
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Wonderful Couples Getaway!

We absolutely adored our stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort. We stayed at the adults-only, and I can't recommend it enough! It was relaxing, quiet, peaceful, yet still fun. The food was great at our resort. We also had access to the full family resort next door, but our food was much better. Even the "buffet" breakfast and dinner had some form of integrated a la carte service. We were well taken care of, and we had a private beach that was a long way away from any other resort. The pools are very nice and the beach is even better. We would definitely return to this resort if that means anything! *One drawback, if anything, would maybe be the mini bar. They only put 2 beers in it per day, but you can get anything from any of the bars so we were well taken care of in the drink department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are souvenir stands set up a ways down the beach (not on the resort). They will try to give you "free" necklaces and take you to their stand, but they will rip you off. A repeated "No Thank You" works great. No need to be mean, but no need to be a pushover either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 15, 2013

Anniversary 2013

We stayed on the couple only side of the hotel it was nice, and relaxing, but if you are looking for entertainment you would have go to the family side ....it was good to go to the family side for entertainment and then come back and RELAX on the couple only side...the food was 'Ahhhh" nothing to write home about overall our vacation was good....I would recommend this place for people looking for a nice quiet retreat. I recommend doing the excursions if you are staying for a week or more or u will be bored out of your mind..."The Party Boat and Zip Lining is a must do we enjoyed this the most"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.Atkins
Business
Virginia
Jun 12, 2013

Summer Trip

This resort was great from the moment we checked in up until the day we left. We had an amazing younger lady check us in, go over maps and amenities, gave us a ride to the room on a cart with our luggage, and gave us a once over of the room. We opted for the suite room with the private pool, which I would highly recommend as it is worth every penny. If you do go that route, make sure you bring a float as we had to buy one for our pool. What really made the pool worth the cost for us was when my wife or I was having some stomach problems, we were still able to be in the sun all day and the water in our pool but still be close to the room. The entire staff, on both sides of the resort, was great and fun to speak to. Everyone spoke some english and would converse with me in Spanish until I had to tell them to slow down because I'm not quite fluent. Room service, house keeping, bar tenders, hostesses, and beach staff were all amazing. I was never completely sure on tips as some people seemed offended an some didn't. If you decide to tip only one person the whole time, I would recommend to tip the person who restocks your fridge. After a tip we found that instead of putting more things in we didn't drink we got only what we were drinking (sprite, water, and beer) and he left extras out for us to put in the fridge when we made more room. I would recommend eating on both sides of the resort. There are far more choices on the "family" side and the restaurants seem to be bigger on that side also. The entire seven nights we were there we only had to wait for a table once. I would also recommend going to the Japanese restaurant early to get seating without having to wait. As stated in other reviews, the beach was great, get there early for a thatch covering (before 8 AM), men clean it all day long and it looked great. There is good snorkeling that you can do right there without having to pay for an actual excursion. Just be sure to have $20 for a security deposit that you get back when you return the snorkel gear. The only small complaints that I had at all was our door to our room did not shut completely flush to the floor. It was a space of less than 1/2 an inch, but during our trip we found three crabs and two lizards in the room. It was not a big deal as we took pictures and it made for good stories. We were a little disappointed with some of the food though. We've traveled to all inclusive before in Mexico and expected something the same. I think the biggest place for improvement is the buffet that they offer. A lot of the fresh fruit and vegetables lacked flavor, and a lot of the times the selection could have been bigger. It's not enough for me to not recommend this resort and honestly it's the only real complaint we had, a small complaint at that. Overall we loved it. The room was amazing and it overlooked the main pool closest to the beach, the people were great and the restaurants (not the buffet) were all very good. It's also great to not hear small children screaming, crying, and jumping in pools nonstop!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you land in the airport be ready to pay a $10 tourist tax for each person in your party. I didn't see this mentioned anywhere else and thought it needed to be mentioned. Tip your fridge stocker as they'll reward you with more of what you're actually drinking. Make sure you at least wander around the pool area of the "family" side. They have a lot of good food options that are just beside the pools that we didn't know about until we started wandering.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top