$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
162 reviews
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main... See full review

  • hilaryvernon
  • Aug 26, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nandopatty
Business
NJ
May 31, 2010

Relaxing in paradise.

Catalonia Royal Bavaro couples only offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. It's the first hotel resort close to punta cana airport just 20 min away. Friedly staff and exceptional room service. A la carte dining at its main restaurant(Talassa) and no reservation to enjoy other theme restaurants. But we only went to Rodeo (steak house and Tapas restaurant which offers small portions of delicious staffed calamari and other delicious unfilling portions of mushroom sauce. Although weather was wet for three days we enjoyed sunshine and we both got a tan. There is no nighly show but you can hop to its sister hotel Catalonia which is more for family and nighlife activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandywine, MD
Jun 28, 2011

Getaway

Everything was great the hotel did everything to try and make your vacation and stay the most relaxing. The hotel will do everything for you so you will not have to lift a finger except walk to the beach or pool that is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not use your credit card when booking excursions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Feb 21, 2010

***** Only for Adults LOVED IT

The experience was amazing....Service was great, the pool is awasome and the rooms are very modern and beautiful. Since it is a hotel for adults only, it was very relax and at the same time fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericton, NB
Jan 3, 2011

Excellent hotel

I have stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the Dominican, and this hotel is by far the best that I have ever stayed at. Any negative comments that others may have written are unfounded. From great staff to crystal clean rooms to outstanding food, there is no better place out there that provides so much support to their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Detroiters
Business
MI
Nov 21, 2010

Absolutely Beautiful Resort!

The Royal Catalonia Bavaro was absolutely beautiful. Great rooms, good food, beautiful beaches, decent entertainment, and plenty of good drinks to go around. We've never done an AI before and we were worried that we would be bored to stay at the same place all week, but we could have stayed for another week + easily. The resort is huge and you get access to the other side as well. To make your trip more enjoyable, bring 1 Damp Rid thing to get rid of the humidity and accompanying smell. Bring a triple outlet adapter if you have gadgets (there aren't many outlets in the rooms). Bring a ton of singles to tip the staff (they really appreciate the tips and work hard enough to warrant a couple bucks per meal). There is some decent snorkeling right off the beach as well. All restaurants had good food (although you can always just order something else if you don't like a dish). Our favorites were the Italian and the Tapas. Enjoy your trip - you can't go wrong at this beautiful property!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to do one activity, make it the segway tour. It was $90 for the two of us and lasted 1.5 hours or so. These are fun to ride around on, safe and allow you to take a mini-tour of a local neighborhood and the next resort down the beach. You will see the guys on segways at the resort all week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miquet
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Jan 15, 2011

"Best vaction ever"

My goal was to relax and enjoy my surroundings. I wanted beach, sun, water, and not have to worry or lift a finger. My goals were met on all accounts. The people were friendly and bent over backwards to accommodate my every wish. For an all inclusive, the food was exceptional and the service was great. If I wanted more activities, the Catalonia Bavaro was next door and I was able to participate in thier activities. I plan on returning for another get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BOSTONJAB
Business
MA
Jan 8, 2011

Awesome Experience

Our main purpose was to catch a week of rest and relaxation. The experience was absolutely fantastic. Everything about the trip was great and quite frankly I'd go back to the same hotel in a second. The quality of the food and the service were first class and everyone from hotel waiters to managers made sure we were enjoying ourselves. I speak English and Spanish but my wife only speaks English but that was never a problem, they made her feel as one of their own and she couldn't be happier...She LOVED it as much as I did!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your appetite as there are 4 theme restaurants within the resort (tapas, japanese, caribbean, french/spanish cuisine)...And remember, meals in a Spanish country are always 3-course meals...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit
Aug 15, 2010

Beautiful Beach

This was the most relaxing vacation. The beach was wonderful-warm waters, white sand, plenty of chairs, excellent service. One day the chef prepared paella over a wood fire-on the beach! Amazing and delicious. The room was spotless, the grounds were well manicured, cleanliness was the order of the day! Great water pressure in the shower, plenty of towels, robes, and of course, clean. We ate at the Tapas, Steak and Japanese restaurants. The beachfront restaurant serves the best calamari and California rolls-delicious. I will say the Steak rest. does a unique "Maryland" crab cake- well,let's just say it was like a sheet cake, made with potatoes, served cold. But the steak, to die for. And, let's not forget, I had paella and sangria on the beach!! I can't say enough about the wonderful staff. My Spanish is limited, can you say ola and adios, but I was able to communicate without a problem. Thankfully, their English is better than my Spanish. But let me add- Kindness and courtesy are universal, pack them in your carry-on luggage, that way these items don't get lost en route and they are with you for the duration.(Also, if plan on golfing, pack plenty of balls, cost $20.00/3 balls)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

On your return flight, get to the airport a minimum of four hours before your flight. The service is extremely slow,and if you couple that with the large number of families/groups in line with ten or more pieces of bulging luggage, doing the luggage shuffle (removing items to meet the 50lb limit)-you will feel like you are never going to make it out of the line. If you get to the airport three hours early, thinking you'll have time to pick up that Presidente t-shirt and a bottle of Dominican rum at the the duty free- Forget it, ain't gonna happen! You'll be lucky to make your flight. And if you think making it out the line is getting over the hump, think again. Once you go through Customs and stand behind people still filling out the form, you get the gate. Now, you must walk (outside on the tarmac) what seems like a mile(sweating like a pig)to your plane, where, once again, your boarding pass and passport are re-checked. Now success! No, wait, the plane is only half full, and you must now sit(in A/C(!)and wait for the other passengers that are really humping trying to make their flight, because they got to airport two hours before their flight. Arriving at the airport two hours before your flight could result in mucho frustration(aka-MELTDOWN) and a missed flight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wendykroy
Business
Connecticut
Oct 20, 2009

Great Beach/Pool Getaway

The staff was extremely friendly. Basic Spanish is helpful, but the staff will work to understand you. The room was always cleaned, but the things that were provided were a little hit or miss, (Towels, floor mats, etc.) It might have been because it was off season, but everything was included--all food, all alcohol, everything. It was a beautiful location, especially good for beach/pool people. I would recommend for couples, friends, or singles who are looking to relax and not have to worry about anything. An amazing experience. I can't wait to go back. Transportation with Coco Tours was inconsistent. My plane was re-routed to Santo Domingo and I tried to contact Coco Tours to change my arrival time pick up. They hung up on me twice. Luckily, the airline wound up providing transportation directly to the hotel, so it wasn't an issue. And, I did not have any issues getting back to the airport for my return flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJJack
Business
Chicago
Jul 31, 2014

Royal Stay

My wife and I stayed five nights without the kids to unwind from stressful jobs. The adult side is perfect if this is what you are looking for (I would also recommend the family side but not for an over 30 couples trip). The grounds were well maintained, and compared to other resorts I have stayed, found walking distance to be fairly quick to all locations even from 46 which is the closest to the main entrance. I found the food to be very good but we ate on the adult side and would have to admit I am not a picky eater. We booked one excursion to the local island. It is an all day event and it took a little talking into from my wife as it involved having to get up early via alarm clock. Later I believe I saw a half-day excursion but I am not sure who it was through. Try out the kyaks and the catamarans are free to use but require reservations if you do not know how to use it you will need to hire a captain ($35). I am a novice sailor and would have read up in advance to learn the controls before taking it out on the ocean... I just stuck with the kyak. I do not think the price can be beat for this high quality of resort. The weather was beautiful every day with a solid non annoying breeze. Everyone was friendly from the staff to the other customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi fare is a set $30 one way and they are lined up ready to go. If you book a group transfer in advance to save money you will be waiting for the bus to fill and I found the savings to be minimal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top