$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chimyers
Couples
Knoxville, Tn
Jun 14, 2013

Excellent Honeymoon

We went for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. This was my first all-inclusive experience, first adults only experience, and first Caribbean experience. After reading the reviews I didn't expect the food to be all that great, but I was impressed with the dinners on the adults only side, and for breakfast and lunch there was a huge selection and everything I had was good, not great. You definitely will not go hungry. The adults only side is awesome. It is so quiet and relaxing. I have never been to a beach where there aren't kids squealing. Many people we spoke to were return guests, which says a lot to me. During some excursions we went to some huge resorts but I liked the size of this one because you can walk to everything. Overall it was a fantastic trip. My only complaints are that when we went to dinner on the other side of the resort the food and service wasn't as good. Also, the Discotheque opens a little later than I would have liked, but maybe that is just a sign I am getting old :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We went on the Pirate Cruise excursion sold by the guys in yellow shirts on the beach, which included snorkeling. The excursion was the special of the month and we had an AWESOME time.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deana M
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 15, 2013

absolutely amazing! best honeymoon ever!

We were here on my honeymoon and we had the absolute best time!! The staff there was so friendly!! And the food was very good (but we did spend some not so comfortable nights on the toilet). The excursions were fun but we had so much people coming up and trying to sell us the same exact thing so it got frustrating after awhile, but you just have to learn how to say no and keep walking. Other than that the bars were great and entertainment was very fun and funny! We would definately come here again if we have the chance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Low ball the price, odds are the stuff is over priced and you can get it to go lower!! Even the excursions can be negotiated

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinLKJ
Couples
Texas
Aug 17, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing, beautiful, fun vacation

Everything was just as it should be for arrival and check-in. Room was excellent. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful throughout our stay. One day (out of 8) they were late getting towels to the room, but otherwise it was perfect. Bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows, never ran out of hot water, minibar was kept stocked as was coffee bar, plenty of bottled water, room service was fast enough (we only used it for breakfast, and that was delicious), dinner restaurants were excellent with no reservations or much wait, lunch poolside was ok, same menu daily so it gets a little old, cookouts on the beach were nice, dive shop onsite was good, diving just OK (should have been on other part of island for that), beach area was beautiful, some seaweed in water, but not too much, plenty of lounge chairs, nice juice/smoothy bar at the beach, and wait staff circulated often enough. Beach bar close by (closed at 6 PM) and good drinks. There were excursion vendors on beach, but when told 'no' would leave easy enough. Tourist shopping next door (walk down beach) has typical fare, but beware, they are sharks! Won't tell you how much, until you amass a basket full of stuff, won't take 'no' easily. Golf course (we played the 9 hole) was nice, grounds beautiful and well kept. Main resort next door was nice also, buffet was typical, service in buffet area not so great, shopping was nice for a resort, casino (think truck stop) not so much. Was very nice and quite at the Royal and louder/busier next door, but to be expected with kids and that many more people. Loved the adults only atmosphere at the Royal. Compared to Mexico where we usually go, it felt more confined (must go with an excursion anywhere, can't easily catch a cab and explore). Would recommend to anyone looking for a grown-up vacation in a beautiful destination. Extra note: we booked and paid for the vip transfer and should have just gone with the free transfer, its the same company, and upon return to the airport, got put on the regular bus anyway. As this hotel is the first one after the airport, the bus would have come here first so the extra expense wasn't justified. Live and learn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy the extra cost vip transfer, it looks confusing in the booking process so we booked it. Turns out, its all the same so save your money. Do take the Segway Ecotour!!! Beach vendors sell it and it was so much fun :)

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vitya
Couples
Kansas City
Sep 15, 2013

Perfect couple vacation

Location of Catalonia Royal Bavaro is pretty close to Punta Cana airport: just 20 min to drive. Our registration was quick and smooth and we have a welcome drinks. Prior to Trip we contact Hotel by e-mail and request the room on 2-nd floor facing the Pool. We got exactly what we request. Food: not perfect but very good. Drinks: very good. Beach: a lot of shade. Ocean: shallow on Royal Side, but deep enough on Family Side (2 min to walk). Entertainment on Family Site. Overall we have a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victor2150
Couples
Columbia SC
Oct 29, 2013

Great Vacation!!!!!

It was absolutely the best!!! We enjoyed everything about this location, it was an anniversary / honeymoon trip.... One thing I will say is be very careful when taking the excursions... The "Pirate Adventure" was not worth the money....Otherwise very pleased....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is always something to do

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex Mak
Couples
New Hampshire
Oct 27, 2013

Perfect for two

Food good, staff very polite, helpful, snorkeling very good right from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Skip
Couples
Mifflintown, Pa.
May 24, 2014

One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food was excellent for the most part and well presented. There was one time my wife didn't get what she ordered but I blame that on the language barrier, was no big deal as the food was still awesome. The staff went out of their way to help you with any problems if you should have any. The drinks were great and they were not stingy with the alcohol. The pool area was always clean as were the rooms. I think the A/C could have bee a little better in our room but that is just me. All in all we had an incredible vacation at a fair price and YES we would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikebom
Couples
Marietta, ga
Jun 6, 2014

Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property and amenities were perfect. It was well worth the money. Would go back again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai and Spanish restaurants were great.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
morris co, nj
May 11, 2010

just amazing

my girlfriend and I just got back from d.r. and it was amazing, from the minute we got off the plane and were shuttled to the hotel we were in awe, the grounds are very well kept and quite tropical and that was at the regular resort, as we headed to the royal side we were welcomed at the desk with a nice cool beverage and a wonderful smile, the room was ready in moments and it was very clean and we were thankful it had a dehumidifier, the king bed was a little hard for her but comfortable for me, as far as the room goes the only gripe is very slippery terra cotta floors, be careful. During the week we thoroughly enjoyed the pool and bar, and the food was very good, try the japanese place and the steak house, beach was very nice and quite private, and all in all we will go back, the staff is friendly (be kind to your bartenders, look for [...], [...] or [...] at the pool bar) the atmosphere is fun and relaxing and the people you will meet are very nice and you just may make friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

lots of sunscreen, waterproof if accessible, remember to bring it with you, neccisities can get very expensive on site

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
philadelphia pa
Mar 29, 2011

Great quiet time

Great for both beach and poolside relaxation. Adults only part of resort is small enough to give quiet time but you can go over to larger resort side for more actinides. Good food and outstanding service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top