$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
212 reviews
Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property... See full review

  • Mikebom
  • Jun 6, 2014
One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food... See full review

  • Uncle Skip
  • May 24, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 212
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HawkInMidwest
Iowa
Jul 11, 2014

Disappointed- We will never stay at another Catalonia property

It took 4 different rooms and 2 days to get checked in. Room #1 was completely under construction. Room #2 was flooded and had about 2 inches of water throughout the entire room.. Room #3 smelled horribly of mold/mildew. Finally, on the second day, Room #4 was adequate. It took a total of about 6 hours of standing in the lobby for the staff to get our room figured out. The hotel management was absolutely inept at solving any issues... and frankly didn't care. I don't know how many times we heard, "Trust me, we will take care of this." Only to get nothing taken care of... we basically had to complain for 2 days to get a suitable room. We ended up on some weird timeshare presentation that was somehow connected to the hotel. It was some sort of vacation exclusive club they marketed from the moment you walked in the door. In the end it wasted another 3-4 hrs. of our time. The salesman basically harassed us until we finally agreed to hear the presentation. Throughout our stay we tried to avoid these salespeople but they were always around wanting a high-five or fist bump. They just made you want to avoid all the common areas in general. Food was okay throughout both resorts. The waiters/staff were usually pretty slow... especially at getting water. Italian Restaurant at the other resort was very bad. All the other restaurants were average. Beaches were nice but there was a lot of moss/seaweed along the beach. Both pools were okay and usually not too busy. Bartenders mixed good drinks... they were above average. In conclusion- The lobby staff ruined our experience from the moment we checked into the hotel. We will never return to any "Catalonia" property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not take part in the "Exclusive Club" presentation they push on you from the moment you get checked into the hotel. Total waste of time.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P and K newlyweds
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2014

Recommend the Adult Side

We really enjoyed staying on the adult side (Royal Side) of the hotel. You have access to the family side, but you can easily stay on the adult's only side and enjoy the beach, pools, bars, and restaurants. The service is better on the Royal side, and you get to meet some great staff members. The overall quality of food, drinks, and service is better on the Royal side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

When the staff learn you are new, they will ask you to set up an "orientation" (sales) meeting. They will tempt you with a free welcome gift and continue the pressure during your stay. It is not a mandatory meeting, and will likely waste 2 hours of your first day.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCSG
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2014

Good for the price

We spent 1 week at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. This is my fourth time to the DR and first time to the CRB. Overall, the resort was a good value for our money, but we would not return to this hotel. The beach was small but nice with plenty of shade. There are no other hotels in this location so walking on the beach wasn't as enjoyable as usual. The pools were also small but the grounds were well kept and the resort looked great. We found the food at this resort to be below the average all inclusive resorts we have been to. Also, the restaurants on the other side are not as good and I wouldn't recommend going on that side. We found the rooms to be spacious, but a bit dark. We also had a number of things broken in our room. Lastly, while the staff was friendly, service was often very very slow. Overall, good adults only resort for the price we paid, but wouldn't recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bentley15
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 16, 2014

Go for the Exclusive Swimming Pool Suite

My husband and I just returned from a week-long stay at this resort. We had a fabulous time. We spent the whole week in our own pool, which was the best part of this resort. If you can swing it, definitely stay in one of the Exclusive Swimming Pool Suites. The staff is fantastic, the resort is beautiful and the experience is for those looking for a quiet, relaxing trip. The food was ok -- but we do not travel for the food. Overall, a great resort. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikebom
Marietta, ga
Jun 6, 2014

Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property and amenities were perfect. It was well worth the money. Would go back again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai and Spanish restaurants were great.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fiorella Vega
Long Island NY
Jun 4, 2014

First trip to Punta Cana

To star it was beautiful hotel the food was amazing (exempt for the room service food was pretty awful) The staff was amazing and the best cocktails where at the piano bar. One of the disappointing parts of the all inclusive that the massages where not included which in my personal believe they should have had at least one complementary one to try it. Also at the caps tapa restaurant by the fountain when we went i think the AC was broken and i was dying of heat was not able to enjoy my meal. Recommendations for stay: -If you want to buy souvenir just get them at the hotel next door their is no sales man trying to sell you something. -You have access to the hotel next door but food was not worth venturing off ( the food of the hotel was really good) - If you want good cocktail drinks just get them at the piano bar they served it the right way, instead of plastic little cups -Avoid getting room service unless you have to it was not good at all We had done the sonoa island excursion which was a beautiful excursion sand was amazing and the water was turquoise. We did the excursion the first day this i think set me off for the beach on the resort. The beach at he resort had lots of algae and the can't change that but the the infinity poll made up for the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are from new york and are use to amazing pizza the pizza in the resort is not that great the bread and the cheese is goof but sauce is lacking flavor.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPS2
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jun 3, 2014

Good budget adults-only all-inclusive

We found a really good deal for this hotel so going in our expectations were lowered. However, the food was great, our room was clean and the staff were nice enough. The first day our top-floor room was hot so I called about the A/C. I'm not sure if they fixed anything but it felt better after that. The resort looks a little dated in some areas but the beach has plenty of shade even if it doesn't get too deep. We are glad we booked the Royal side. The other side had more going on but the service and food quality did not seem to be as good and it's a lot harder to find shade around the pool or beach They also had more people trying to sell excursions. We booked a buggy trip with Adventure Boogies through the rep that also handled our airport transfers. In summary, this is a good, but not the best, resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caribbean Explorer
California
Jun 1, 2014

I would not give it 5*

It was our first time in DR, and I can't tell how this hotel compares to other DR hotels, but judging by hotels in other countries, I would not give it 5*. Here is why: 1. The service in the restaurants is super slow. Royal Bavaro is more or less okay. With the worst service there being in Snack Sea Blue. There they can keep you waiting for a hot dog for 40 minutes. But if you go for a dinner to the sister property restaurants, be ready to wait 40 min for an appetizer, and another 40 min for an entree, and in one of their restaurants we waited almost an hour for 2 orange juices... Because of such service in sister property we ended up dining only in Thalassa restaurant in Royal Bavaro, where the service is good, but I didn't like the food (been there 4 times, ordered 4 different dishes, and didn't like any of them), though I should say my husband liked their New York Strip steak and kept ordering it every evening. 2. Some hotel staff on the beach is super annoying trying to sell you "excursions". It got to the point where I already didn't want to go to the beach just to avoid speaking with the staff again, because every time I saw them they tried to sell me something. 3. The towel system is crazy - they give you a card which you have to exchange for a towel, and then when you bring a towel back, you get your card back. I guess it was created to make talking with the staff about "excursions" inevitable. Every morning you go there to get a towel, they will be trying to sell you something. 4. It's impossible to find an umbrella on the beach after 10 am. We chose this hotel, because we expected that due to the small size and private beach, we would be able to get an umbrella with no problem. But that was not the case. There are a couple of trees as well that kind of give you shade, but very often all those shady places are also occupied. 5. It is super humid in the room, which made our staying there uncomfortable. There is no ventilation in the bathroom or in the room, so all humidity just stays there and humid DR climate makes it even worse. 6. The waiter service on the beach is almost non-existent. Yes, there is a person or two walking once in 2-3 hours taking away empty glasses and asking if we want something to drink. But I don't think it's enough. In most of the cases we had to go to the bar ourselves to get us some drinks. 7. The wi-fi service is very poor and slow. But there were good things as well: 1. The beach is amazing! If you don't take into the account the shade problem, the beach itself and the water is great! 2. The natural juices on the beach is a great service. Loved it! 3. The grounds are beautiful, and the hotel size is perfect - not too big, and not too small. 4. Royal Bavaro is a pretty quite hotel, so if you are looking for a quite and calm vacation it might fit the bill. All in all, for us it was a 3* stay in a 3.5* hotel. I would recommend this hotel if the price was less expensive, but for such a price I would expect something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

I liked breakfast in Thalassa, and lunch in sister property's buffets. In Thalassa the lunch choice is a la carte with very limited selection in salad bar. We went there once and had to leave, because couldn't find anything to our liking.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Skip
Mifflintown, Pa.
May 24, 2014

One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food was excellent for the most part and well presented. There was one time my wife didn't get what she ordered but I blame that on the language barrier, was no big deal as the food was still awesome. The staff went out of their way to help you with any problems if you should have any. The drinks were great and they were not stingy with the alcohol. The pool area was always clean as were the rooms. I think the A/C could have bee a little better in our room but that is just me. All in all we had an incredible vacation at a fair price and YES we would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlito Miami
Miami, Florida
May 15, 2014

Relaxing getaway

Resort is nicely kept and very close to the airport approx. 10 minute ride. The room was spacious but the 1st. floor of Bldg. 18 the view is not the best it faces the service entrance to the Tapas restaurant and foliage. There was a water leak around the toilet and the light had a short and it required several attempts to turn it off. The mini refrigerator did not get the beverages cold enough. We reported it to the person who upon check in gave us an orientation of the resort but nothing was done. The pool by the beach provided the best shade and was less crowed then the pool by the lobby of the resort. We stayed away from the lobby area because of the constant sales pitch to attend Timeshare presentation it got very annoying every time we had to go by the lobby. The piano bar and one of the restaurants I are located in the lobby. The beach was nice but it was to wind during our week there. This resorts does offer lobster buy their is a separate charge for it. I found the food portions small for me. We took the Bavaro's Runners Safari excursion. We really enjoyed this. It offers a small variety of places to see. It includes horse back riding a visit to a cave and a coffee mill. I think if the resort would provide a flyer with the daily events and the menus for the restaurants in the room every night it would improve the stay. We had to always ask the employees what events they had at night. Lacked any transportation to the merchants and mall in the area. The employees were very friendly and always happy to assist you. Over all the resort was nice for the price but I will not return due to the sales pitches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top