$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
192 reviews
Just Relax!

The resort is smaller than others but it has the best bang for the buck. The food is great, the... See full review

  • Brian
  • Apr 30, 2015
Great Escape!!!!

I did travel with my wife to visit this hotel. It was dream vacation!!! The weather was great( we... See full review

  • Piotr K.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cyrilwood
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2011

worst in 25 yrs of travel

If you request royal catalonia you will be down graded when you get there. It is a total scam. You pay for a good room and get an old room with poor plumbing. They place they put you is where the nitely "music" is so loud, until 12:30 am. that your bed shakes.The food is poor, dogs barking at 3:00 am. They accept american money, but have every countries flag flying except the american flag. If this is the first place you visit, you will never again to Pinta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annoymous 2012
Business
Philadelphia, usa
Nov 17, 2012

Nightmare holiday

Worst resort ever stayed in: 1) check in was like going to Walmart refund section. 2) staff can't speak English. So communication was really bad. 3) food was not 5 star. It was 1 star. Holiday inn is better. 4) spa was broken and no one would repair anything. 5) ground is uneven and very cobbly. Take trainers, or hiking shoes. 6) showers were cold. They have no hot water. We felt dirty everyday. 7) whole resort was full of smokers everywhere, air felt very polluted. 8) common areas were not very clean. So many flies everywhere, especially on beach when they do lunchtime barbecue.. It's full of ants and bugs. 9) it's a very Spanish hotel. If you speak Spanish it will help you. 10) food was revolting, got very sick by the third day. Stomach cramps, loose stools, shivers, body aches , etc.. 11) best part of the trip was flying back home last night. 12) had to go doctor this morning.. 13) good luck to those who go here, hope this info helps..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cja95
Business
New York,ny
Jun 18, 2013

Not Recommended

Rude staff, mold above the AC vent by our bed, Dead lizard on the living room chair, towels were not replenish on a daily basis and the food was disgusting Ugh. NEVER AGAIN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apple Valley
Oct 18, 2008

Very Disappointing

My wife and I stayed at the Catalonia Royal from Oct 11 thru the 18. The ac was not working. Very warm in our room. We were told that the building we were in was with out air-conditioning. They were trying to fix it. On the 5th day after complaing many times they finnally moved us to a different building. As far as the food goes we were very suprised at how they undercook there food. The omlets were runny and the bacon raw or very under cooked. I had a hamberger at an outdoor grill by the pool one day and it was red in the middle. My wife oderer a steak one night and they never aksed how she wanted it cooked so it came very rare. Not to mention seeing cockroaches in the buffet area. Sorry for being so negative but this is true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Lover 13
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 8, 2014

Not a relaxing stay.

Unfortunately, I wouldn't be packing my bags to stay there again. We expected a nice relaxing stay on the beach but it definitely wasn't. I wrote a little description of the main things below: Rooms: Not good at all. They smelt really badly of mold and was constantly humid/moist. We were not sure if it was because of the humidity or because there was just no ventilation in the rooms. The air conditioner in our room was also not working. I did not have one comfortable night sleep while I was there. The couple we went away with actually had to move rooms because their original room smelt extra awful. Beach: It was pretty, but there was so much seaweed in the water. The employees there were working hard at sweeping it away but they were fighting a losing battle. I was expecting clear water, I got the opposite. Restaurants/Bars: If you like meat, you may be excited about the Rodeo Stead House - don't be. The food is absolutely awful there. The two restaurants that I found were pretty good: Cata Tapa and Sea Blue. The rest were not very good. The Piano Bar at the front of the hotel is nice for drinks. Amenities: The pools were nice and the spa was okay. I received my first massage there which I was expecting to be wow'd by - it was only alright. They do have excursions that you can pay extra for. We signed up for two. Big disappointment was no jet skiing. Staff: Extremely nice however there was definitely a language barrier. Be prepared to know a little Spanish or else it will be hard to communicate. Another Note: Everyone I was with got really sick. Luckily I just didn't feel that great a couple nights. We were unsure if it was from the room's or the food. Overall, it was just not what we expected. We were really disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring bug spray! At night, the mosquitoes are everywhere. We were eaten alive. We had to purchase a expensive bug spray at their convenient store. Wish we just had it with us!

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robert H.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Diarrhea for days

So much poo. Everyone was pooing. First day was okay. Second day was okay. Third day the poo's started happening. Fourth day: poo. Fifth day: poo. Sixth day: poo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pamike15
Business
lancaster, pa
Jan 14, 2014

expected more from a "5 star"

the resort is a lot bigger than it looks on its website. i wanted more of a relaxing vacation, not a hike. the restaurants, pools, bars, beach are very spread out. and walking is the only means of transportation. the service could be good, or it could be very bad. so when you sit down to eat, and order a drink to go with it, you might get it 50% of the time. the majority of the staff seam irritated most of the time. of course, there's an exception to every rule. they weren't all like that. but even a handful is too much. (and that's being generous) another problem is the resort is really crowded. we rarely ate at the buffets because we felt we were always in the way. the pools never had enough chairs. the beach has a lot of palm trees so finding a spot out of the shade can be a challenge...unless you want to go to the family side. overall, it wasn't horrible. i would call it a very average all inclusive resort. most resorts have these problems, i was just expecting more. the rooms, however, are excellent. they are much better than your average hotel, and bigger. and the maids did a good job of keeping everything clean. i hope this review helped you in choosing a resort. p.s. the guys on the beach, trying to sell you excusions, are very annoying. not sure why they let them on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vikky
Business
New Jersey
Nov 1, 2010

Gorgeous Hotel TERRIBLE service

I took my family there and was very embraced. I have never wrote a bad review, but the service of this hotel made me do so. I was surprised how mean and not helpful was the stuff, everything was a problem, just like pulling teeth. Gorgeous resort though, very nice rooms, comfortable chairs, but WORST SERVICE EVER. It's even funny that they didn't want to change me $20 in singles so I can leave TIP for THEM. It's suppose to be all inclusive resort and when my husband in the Italian restaurant wanted to order extra appetizer, they didn't let him (one per person), consider that my mom didn't have any. I called the manager/waiter (I guess they are really trying to save some cash) he was really rude. My parents room wasn't cleaned until 6pm. They make absolutely no effort to make you happy or help you. they even make the face that they doing you a favor, No smile what so ever even if you leave tip. I just can't explain it, towels weren't changed, people in the stores are extremely mean if you are not Spanish. they never have change. If you are going with the large group and don't care a thing for the service this is the place for you. Food is good, but restaurant's don't have A/C, so get ready to sweat, cooks talking on the phone while cooking(in Japanese restaurant). Main buffet has large selection, but taste terrible. I would never go back there. You better go elsewhere. Service seriously turned us completely off :( We complained to the manager, absolutely nothing changed. :( Last time we went to Dreams palm beach Punta cana, service was outstanding. would rather go back there (though the beach chairs are not the most comfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

great intertainment :)

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claire bear 07
Business
New Jersey
Jul 2, 2012

really bad experience

was not what i expected especially after reading the reviews... this was my honeymoon. When my husband and I arrived we waited 3 hours to get to a room. The BED SHEETS WERE DAMP every night.. There were plenty of mosquitos in the room (got so many bites).. GOT FOOD POISONING at the restaurant from the pork ribs. The last three days of the vacation were a waste because my husband and i COULD NOT leave the room how SICK we were. Also found a bug in my food. We attempted to ride horses on the beach, THERE was a 17 year old kid who took us off the resort and did not understand one bit of english; we passed SHACKS and scary locals who wanted us to go into their shops to buy things, so five minutes into the ride we turned around because it was sooo SCARY. the horses looked malnourished. the beach turned into a dirty unkept beach. WE sure wasted 200 bucks on that. also the guy who sold us the tickets to go horse riding, told us that other couples would be there, but when we got there it was just my husband and I, which made it even more scary. definitely NOT what i expected. THE ONLY POSITIVE THING WAS THE STAFF. THEY WERE NICE PEOPLE AND VERY ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DocR
Business
Suffern, NY
Jul 15, 2012

A "Royal" Disappointment

We had read mixed reviews about the Royal Catalonia Bavaro, but had high hopes. Upon arrival, we drove past the Catalonia Bavaro which was very nice. With high hopes for the "Royal" Catalonia we were quite disappointed when we pulled up and it looked more liked we were staying in the back maintenece area. After checking in, we were shown to our room which was unsatisfactory at best. The bed was basically a box spring with a sheet on top, the shower looked like it had not been updated since 1970 nor had been cleaned in a while. We are not ones to complain; however the room was unacceptable. We complained to the front desk and they showed us another room that was not in any better condition. The manager offered us an upgrade for a discount of $10 per night- big deal! In the meantime we were carting our own luggage around from room to room in the heat after a long day of travel. Our upgraded room was more to our liking. Unfortunately we had to pay $$$. The breakfast was poor and we ended up skipping it all but 2 mornings. Lunch at the pool restaurant was decent and dinner was actually very good at the Tapas restaurant. All other restaurants were poor. When asked for a Malibu Bay Breeeze, we were given a glass with straight malibu. Pina Colados along with any mixed drink with juice were quite distatsteful. No top shelf alcohol nor beer besides Dominican beer was available. Staff, including concierge desks, spoke little English, so it was very hard to communicate even though we can speak a bit of Spainish it did not help, otherwise they were friendly.Each time we went to concierge desk, they were never present. We stayed in the resort the entire trip- it was very quiet and relaxing. The pool was nice but the overall hotel needs to be updated. It is quite run down. We stayed at other resorts elsewhere that are far superior to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tapas restaurant was the ONLY decent restaurant. Service was great! Food was good!

Back to menu Return to top