$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 10, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
170 reviews
Great 5 year honeymoon trip!

We stayed for 12 days and had an awesome time! Our room 4412 was right by the pool. The... See full review

  • Brittany R.
  • Jan 15, 2015
AWESOME GET AWAY

I enjoyed the stayed...I was looking for a place to relax and this placed provided that... See full review

  • IMARTI.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindaB105
Business
Georgia
Oct 15, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

The room had a funky smell and the bathroom was dirty when we first arrived. Overall it was a great value and they came to clean and tidy up a few times a day. I definitely wouldn't recommend the place for the food but the drinks were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shanclark85
Business
San Antonio Texas
Sep 15, 2012

Amazing

We just arrived back from our stay at Catalonia royal bavaro and it was amazing! The staff are so attentive and nice. The resort is beautiful. All the staff work so hard all day keeping the resort in amazing shape. From raking and cleaning the beach to keeping the rooms spotless. The speciality restaurants are where it's at, the buffetts are hit or miss. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antoinette NJTransplant
Business
PA
Sep 7, 2012

Amazing for Couples

As soon as we got to the hotel, which was just a short drive from the airport, we were greeted with drinks and cool towels - a truly telling experience of the exceptional service at this hotel. The rooms were amazing and exceeded our expectations. The beach did have a bit of sea weed and the water wasn't as clear as I'd hope but to be fair the stormy weather could've caused this. Overall a tropical paradise and great couple's getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gela313
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Aug 23, 2012

Great vacation

Friendly staff, gorgeous beach, beautiful pools and rooms, great choice of restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lost1876
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 22, 2012

Save your money and do a 5-star resort

Horrible food-not well prepared, cheap quality, little selection. Not very friendly staff-many very annoying, slow service. Beach is great-water very nice. Cockroaches in rooms, cleaning not that good, very limited mini fridge selection. Room service menu very limited. Not enough power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mafe Solano
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Good but not great

This hotel is located very close from the airport - 20 minutes maximum, so consider it well located. The hotel itself (lobby, bathrooms, restaurants, the pool, etc) is pretty and well maintain. The beach has a lot of algae and the hotel has one person cleaning them up, but their system is not modern so even though they try to keep it clean the beach is always dirty. The breakfast is really good but the rest of the food is very very bad, I read about the food in other reviews so I was kind of prepared, but that still affect me... the only restaurant I recommend is the italian (decent food, don't expect anything great). The spa is really nice but sadly it is expensive and the staff is not professionals, so I would not recommend it. The hotel is very tranquil, but if you want to hear music and do activities with other people, you can just walk to the other resort.... however I would say that the activities are not great (music, presentations) the casino looks kind of old... I think overall the hotel is neither bad nor great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DocR
Business
Suffern, NY
Jul 15, 2012

A "Royal" Disappointment

We had read mixed reviews about the Royal Catalonia Bavaro, but had high hopes. Upon arrival, we drove past the Catalonia Bavaro which was very nice. With high hopes for the "Royal" Catalonia we were quite disappointed when we pulled up and it looked more liked we were staying in the back maintenece area. After checking in, we were shown to our room which was unsatisfactory at best. The bed was basically a box spring with a sheet on top, the shower looked like it had not been updated since 1970 nor had been cleaned in a while. We are not ones to complain; however the room was unacceptable. We complained to the front desk and they showed us another room that was not in any better condition. The manager offered us an upgrade for a discount of $10 per night- big deal! In the meantime we were carting our own luggage around from room to room in the heat after a long day of travel. Our upgraded room was more to our liking. Unfortunately we had to pay $$$. The breakfast was poor and we ended up skipping it all but 2 mornings. Lunch at the pool restaurant was decent and dinner was actually very good at the Tapas restaurant. All other restaurants were poor. When asked for a Malibu Bay Breeeze, we were given a glass with straight malibu. Pina Colados along with any mixed drink with juice were quite distatsteful. No top shelf alcohol nor beer besides Dominican beer was available. Staff, including concierge desks, spoke little English, so it was very hard to communicate even though we can speak a bit of Spainish it did not help, otherwise they were friendly.Each time we went to concierge desk, they were never present. We stayed in the resort the entire trip- it was very quiet and relaxing. The pool was nice but the overall hotel needs to be updated. It is quite run down. We stayed at other resorts elsewhere that are far superior to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tapas restaurant was the ONLY decent restaurant. Service was great! Food was good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claire bear 07
Business
New Jersey
Jul 2, 2012

really bad experience

was not what i expected especially after reading the reviews... this was my honeymoon. When my husband and I arrived we waited 3 hours to get to a room. The BED SHEETS WERE DAMP every night.. There were plenty of mosquitos in the room (got so many bites).. GOT FOOD POISONING at the restaurant from the pork ribs. The last three days of the vacation were a waste because my husband and i COULD NOT leave the room how SICK we were. Also found a bug in my food. We attempted to ride horses on the beach, THERE was a 17 year old kid who took us off the resort and did not understand one bit of english; we passed SHACKS and scary locals who wanted us to go into their shops to buy things, so five minutes into the ride we turned around because it was sooo SCARY. the horses looked malnourished. the beach turned into a dirty unkept beach. WE sure wasted 200 bucks on that. also the guy who sold us the tickets to go horse riding, told us that other couples would be there, but when we got there it was just my husband and I, which made it even more scary. definitely NOT what i expected. THE ONLY POSITIVE THING WAS THE STAFF. THEY WERE NICE PEOPLE AND VERY ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigcatml
Business
Long island , NY
Jun 11, 2012

Great relaxing getaway

Everything was great !! Service, food, everything was located in walking distance, Staff was friendly, however english is a second language, so be patience Nice and quiet, beaches were combed everyday, small adult resort, you can use the adjacent resort facilities as well i also like the dress code for eating, restaurant service was excellent as well, tipping is appreciated by the staff too definitely a 4 star, i would like to try a five star next or return here, very close to airport as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure gentlemen bring pants to wear for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed vacation
Business
Indiana
Jun 4, 2012

great vacation

We stayed on the adults only side. The rooms, pools, and beach area were amazing. The resort was very clean and staff were always working hard. The dinners were excellent especially the japanese restaurant and the tapas place. Wished there was a better lunch and breakfast option....just buffets and the only sit down place was just okay. It is a big resort with alot of walking but very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top