$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
212 reviews
Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property... See full review

  • Mikebom
  • Jun 6, 2014
One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food... See full review

  • Uncle Skip
  • May 24, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (212)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claire bear 07
New Jersey
Jul 2, 2012

really bad experience

was not what i expected especially after reading the reviews... this was my honeymoon. When my husband and I arrived we waited 3 hours to get to a room. The BED SHEETS WERE DAMP every night.. There were plenty of mosquitos in the room (got so many bites).. GOT FOOD POISONING at the restaurant from the pork ribs. The last three days of the vacation were a waste because my husband and i COULD NOT leave the room how SICK we were. Also found a bug in my food. We attempted to ride horses on the beach, THERE was a 17 year old kid who took us off the resort and did not understand one bit of english; we passed SHACKS and scary locals who wanted us to go into their shops to buy things, so five minutes into the ride we turned around because it was sooo SCARY. the horses looked malnourished. the beach turned into a dirty unkept beach. WE sure wasted 200 bucks on that. also the guy who sold us the tickets to go horse riding, told us that other couples would be there, but when we got there it was just my husband and I, which made it even more scary. definitely NOT what i expected. THE ONLY POSITIVE THING WAS THE STAFF. THEY WERE NICE PEOPLE AND VERY ACCOMODATING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigcatml
Long island , NY
Jun 11, 2012

Great relaxing getaway

Everything was great !! Service, food, everything was located in walking distance, Staff was friendly, however english is a second language, so be patience Nice and quiet, beaches were combed everyday, small adult resort, you can use the adjacent resort facilities as well i also like the dress code for eating, restaurant service was excellent as well, tipping is appreciated by the staff too definitely a 4 star, i would like to try a five star next or return here, very close to airport as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure gentlemen bring pants to wear for dinner

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed vacation
Indiana
Jun 4, 2012

great vacation

We stayed on the adults only side. The rooms, pools, and beach area were amazing. The resort was very clean and staff were always working hard. The dinners were excellent especially the japanese restaurant and the tapas place. Wished there was a better lunch and breakfast option....just buffets and the only sit down place was just okay. It is a big resort with alot of walking but very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punter
USA
May 10, 2012

Vacation

The facilities were modern and relatively clean. Saw a few bugs in the room during the stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was mediocre, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you also visit the neighboring Catalonia Bavaro resort next door. The circus act was entertaining.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bwm81
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Honeymoon

Very nice resort with multiple pools and a beautiful beach. Overall we enjoyed our trip. Staff was nice and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coco puff
Richmond, VA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Quiet hotel, and sister hotel needs some help

The piano bar is only open Tuesday, Friday and Saturday so there is no other entertainment on the Royal side other than the beach party on Thursday evening and the music, food and staff did a great job of putting together. The beach is nice and clean but the swimming area before hitting the reef and the storm drain is not very far out. You can walk for miles up and down the beach but be prepared for the trash you will see once leaving the resort beach. We had a shortage of loungers around the pool and the beach for 2 days due to a fire in another hotel and people were housed at the Royal. There was always a shortage of lounge chairs around the main pool and people are laying claim to chairs well before 8.00. Our room was always clean and fresh towels and we had no complaints there. The food on the Royal side is a mater of preference, to us some was good and some was not so good, you would have to decide for yourself. The staff are polite and appreciated the tips we left and the service on the Royal side was pretty good overall. On the sister side, we ate at the Mexican and the Steak house and it was the worst service and worst food ever. It took in both restaurants 40 minutes to get our first course which we promptly left along with 85% of the other food we ordered. The buffet had lots of selection, some tasted good others not so good. The Japanese was our best meal. We did not try the Italian. The nightly shows were not the best we had ever seen, but entertaining for an hour with a good strong drink in hand. The casino.... a good portion of the machines were out of service. I play Blackjack and most of the dealers were nice and appreciated the tips if I was winning, but of course I lost in the end. The sadest thing was the dogs that roam the property in the evening, starving. As an animal lover this was painful to see. Couple of tips..... take house shoes as the tiles in the room are a little uneven and cold to bare feet. Ladies take your own hairdryer if you have long hair otherwise it will take hours to dry also take a good conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Start low with your price

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAWK
Pennsylvania, USA
Mar 20, 2012

IT WAS NICE

IT IS A GREAT PLACE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR NO NOISE, EARLY NIGHTS ,IF YOU JUST WANT TO RELAX ON THE BEACH OR SIT NEXT TO POOL . JUST 20 MINUTES FROM AIRPORT , THE GROUNDS OF THE RESORT ARE WONDERFUL, THERE IS NO NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT, YOU COULD NEXT STORE TO THE FAMILY RESORT BUT THE SHOWS ARE BAD , ROOMS ARE CLEAN , STAFF VERY NICE , FOOD IS GOOD . BAR GLASSES TOO SMALL, BRING YOUR OWN TRAVEL CUP , THEY WILL FILL IT UP ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

THERE IS NONE

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Vacationer08
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Relaxing Vacation

My husband and I stayed here for our 4th anniversary and LOVED it. The food could use a little work but when it is FREE really thats what we expected. We had a wonderful time the specialty restaurants were GREAT. They get an A plus for the Italian, Mexican and Steak house...All in all GREAT VACATION and I would def visit again... One complaint would be the smell of the room upon arrival smells like mildew but because I read this on someone else's review I knew to take some frebreeze and it cleared it right up!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
noamela
Toronto, ON, Canada
Feb 14, 2012

Quiet Paradise

this hotel is haven on earth. hotel grounds are very beautiful and well maintained. rooms are very clean and very big. all 3 restaurants serve good and high qulity food. the juice bar on the beach is very nice touch that we enjoyed daily. the beach is amazing and water very calm. the hotel is extremly quiet day and night so if you are looking to chill down and relax this is the place but if you are looking for excitment and party life, I would suggest to check other resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Saona island is a must see. we booked the tour with Seavis and it was absolutly amazing

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jared31
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Not bad...

Not bad for the price. Decent food and okay entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top