$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rutger
Nashville , Tennessee
Jan 28, 2013

Amazing royal side

Staff member Yeisy was the best concierge around! Had honeymoon package and the 2 minor issues we encountered she solved immediately! Restraunts on the family side leave a bit to be desired but as its inclusive who can complain. The royal side adults restraunts however are as high end as you can get. Thalassa restraunt at the entrance was amazing and when we return we will frequent this restraunt to try the rest of the dishes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you only use the attractions that are offered at the desk in entrance for professional people. The ones that walk around the beech are not backed by hotel and so the quality isn't their

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vitya
Business
Kansas City
Sep 15, 2013

Perfect couple vacation

Location of Catalonia Royal Bavaro is pretty close to Punta Cana airport: just 20 min to drive. Our registration was quick and smooth and we have a welcome drinks. Prior to Trip we contact Hotel by e-mail and request the room on 2-nd floor facing the Pool. We got exactly what we request. Food: not perfect but very good. Drinks: very good. Beach: a lot of shade. Ocean: shallow on Royal Side, but deep enough on Family Side (2 min to walk). Entertainment on Family Site. Overall we have a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoversLane
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2013

Couples Alone Time

Nice vacation for couples, no kids in sight. The room service was great only wish that the room had a more pleasant smell but lucky for me I brought my Lysol :) The resort had lovely well kept grounds. My only complaint was me and hubby got bored after a day or so because there wasn't much to do at this resort so this place is definitely not for an all girls or guys trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodeo Steakhouse is the closest you'll get to American dining just don't try the crab cakes, nothing close to what you can get in MD.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinLKJ
Business
Texas
Aug 17, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing, beautiful, fun vacation

Everything was just as it should be for arrival and check-in. Room was excellent. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful throughout our stay. One day (out of 8) they were late getting towels to the room, but otherwise it was perfect. Bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows, never ran out of hot water, minibar was kept stocked as was coffee bar, plenty of bottled water, room service was fast enough (we only used it for breakfast, and that was delicious), dinner restaurants were excellent with no reservations or much wait, lunch poolside was ok, same menu daily so it gets a little old, cookouts on the beach were nice, dive shop onsite was good, diving just OK (should have been on other part of island for that), beach area was beautiful, some seaweed in water, but not too much, plenty of lounge chairs, nice juice/smoothy bar at the beach, and wait staff circulated often enough. Beach bar close by (closed at 6 PM) and good drinks. There were excursion vendors on beach, but when told 'no' would leave easy enough. Tourist shopping next door (walk down beach) has typical fare, but beware, they are sharks! Won't tell you how much, until you amass a basket full of stuff, won't take 'no' easily. Golf course (we played the 9 hole) was nice, grounds beautiful and well kept. Main resort next door was nice also, buffet was typical, service in buffet area not so great, shopping was nice for a resort, casino (think truck stop) not so much. Was very nice and quite at the Royal and louder/busier next door, but to be expected with kids and that many more people. Loved the adults only atmosphere at the Royal. Compared to Mexico where we usually go, it felt more confined (must go with an excursion anywhere, can't easily catch a cab and explore). Would recommend to anyone looking for a grown-up vacation in a beautiful destination. Extra note: we booked and paid for the vip transfer and should have just gone with the free transfer, its the same company, and upon return to the airport, got put on the regular bus anyway. As this hotel is the first one after the airport, the bus would have come here first so the extra expense wasn't justified. Live and learn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy the extra cost vip transfer, it looks confusing in the booking process so we booked it. Turns out, its all the same so save your money. Do take the Segway Ecotour!!! Beach vendors sell it and it was so much fun :)

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingDrew
Business
Short Hills
Jul 23, 2013

CATALONIA ADULT

Honestly the Adult side was overrated. Unless your looking for a quiet resort that does not go above and beyond for there guest then by all means Enjoy!! I stayed for 6 nights, but I enjoyed the family side a lot better then the Adult side. The food was very basic and repetitive. The family side had a huge buffet with various selections of food. I would recommend doing the Bavaro Runner Excursion to really enjoy what D.R. has to offer. I'm 30 y/o the adult side of the resort was like staying in a beautiful outdoor library; very quite very by the books just stuck up people talking about work and money.. If your young and wanna have fun stay away from here. Now if your into very strict rules and quite setting with no entertainment or activities this is the resort for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bavaro Runner Excursion

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 22, 2013

2013 vacation

Nice Stay...relaxing, and quiet we stayed on the couples only side and it was an easy hop over to the family side of the hotel to find additional dining and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 15, 2013

Anniversary 2013

We stayed on the couple only side of the hotel it was nice, and relaxing, but if you are looking for entertainment you would have go to the family side ....it was good to go to the family side for entertainment and then come back and RELAX on the couple only side...the food was 'Ahhhh" nothing to write home about overall our vacation was good....I would recommend this place for people looking for a nice quiet retreat. I recommend doing the excursions if you are staying for a week or more or u will be bored out of your mind..."The Party Boat and Zip Lining is a must do we enjoyed this the most"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmclem
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Wonderful Couples Getaway!

We absolutely adored our stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort. We stayed at the adults-only, and I can't recommend it enough! It was relaxing, quiet, peaceful, yet still fun. The food was great at our resort. We also had access to the full family resort next door, but our food was much better. Even the "buffet" breakfast and dinner had some form of integrated a la carte service. We were well taken care of, and we had a private beach that was a long way away from any other resort. The pools are very nice and the beach is even better. We would definitely return to this resort if that means anything! *One drawback, if anything, would maybe be the mini bar. They only put 2 beers in it per day, but you can get anything from any of the bars so we were well taken care of in the drink department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are souvenir stands set up a ways down the beach (not on the resort). They will try to give you "free" necklaces and take you to their stand, but they will rip you off. A repeated "No Thank You" works great. No need to be mean, but no need to be a pushover either.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeanSandy
Business
Naz PA
Jun 24, 2013

Paradise

Couldn't ask for anything more. Service, staff, food, beaches, drinks, all were fantastic. Going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cja95
Business
New York,ny
Jun 18, 2013

Not Recommended

Rude staff, mold above the AC vent by our bed, Dead lizard on the living room chair, towels were not replenish on a daily basis and the food was disgusting Ugh. NEVER AGAIN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deana M
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 15, 2013

absolutely amazing! best honeymoon ever!

We were here on my honeymoon and we had the absolute best time!! The staff there was so friendly!! And the food was very good (but we did spend some not so comfortable nights on the toilet). The excursions were fun but we had so much people coming up and trying to sell us the same exact thing so it got frustrating after awhile, but you just have to learn how to say no and keep walking. Other than that the bars were great and entertainment was very fun and funny! We would definately come here again if we have the chance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Low ball the price, odds are the stuff is over priced and you can get it to go lower!! Even the excursions can be negotiated

Back to menu Return to top