$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob Burton
Kansas City, KS
Dec 10, 2012

This is the way to do it!!

This was my first time doing an all inclusive resort. But let me tell you, whether it is your first or 15th you will feel like it doesn't get any better then this place. The staff is so kind and acomindating. I definitely recommend you stay on the adult side. You have access to better restaurants and the beach is cleaner and staff if much nicer. You have access to all the restaurants of course but you will only want to eat at the ones on the adult side. There is nothing better then the tapas restaurant at night. The food there is five star. The buffet in the lobby for breakfast is top notch too with a great variety of god from around the world. Look for Juan Pablo he made our trip do much better due to his kindness. Stay at this resort, do yourself a favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

When and if it rains. Don't get down. Go to the bar and pull up a seat and Carlos will make the rainiest day into a great one with his incredible drinks and kindness.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinLKJ
Business
Texas
Aug 17, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing, beautiful, fun vacation

Everything was just as it should be for arrival and check-in. Room was excellent. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful throughout our stay. One day (out of 8) they were late getting towels to the room, but otherwise it was perfect. Bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows, never ran out of hot water, minibar was kept stocked as was coffee bar, plenty of bottled water, room service was fast enough (we only used it for breakfast, and that was delicious), dinner restaurants were excellent with no reservations or much wait, lunch poolside was ok, same menu daily so it gets a little old, cookouts on the beach were nice, dive shop onsite was good, diving just OK (should have been on other part of island for that), beach area was beautiful, some seaweed in water, but not too much, plenty of lounge chairs, nice juice/smoothy bar at the beach, and wait staff circulated often enough. Beach bar close by (closed at 6 PM) and good drinks. There were excursion vendors on beach, but when told 'no' would leave easy enough. Tourist shopping next door (walk down beach) has typical fare, but beware, they are sharks! Won't tell you how much, until you amass a basket full of stuff, won't take 'no' easily. Golf course (we played the 9 hole) was nice, grounds beautiful and well kept. Main resort next door was nice also, buffet was typical, service in buffet area not so great, shopping was nice for a resort, casino (think truck stop) not so much. Was very nice and quite at the Royal and louder/busier next door, but to be expected with kids and that many more people. Loved the adults only atmosphere at the Royal. Compared to Mexico where we usually go, it felt more confined (must go with an excursion anywhere, can't easily catch a cab and explore). Would recommend to anyone looking for a grown-up vacation in a beautiful destination. Extra note: we booked and paid for the vip transfer and should have just gone with the free transfer, its the same company, and upon return to the airport, got put on the regular bus anyway. As this hotel is the first one after the airport, the bus would have come here first so the extra expense wasn't justified. Live and learn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy the extra cost vip transfer, it looks confusing in the booking process so we booked it. Turns out, its all the same so save your money. Do take the Segway Ecotour!!! Beach vendors sell it and it was so much fun :)

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingDrew
Business
Short Hills
Jul 23, 2013

CATALONIA ADULT

Honestly the Adult side was overrated. Unless your looking for a quiet resort that does not go above and beyond for there guest then by all means Enjoy!! I stayed for 6 nights, but I enjoyed the family side a lot better then the Adult side. The food was very basic and repetitive. The family side had a huge buffet with various selections of food. I would recommend doing the Bavaro Runner Excursion to really enjoy what D.R. has to offer. I'm 30 y/o the adult side of the resort was like staying in a beautiful outdoor library; very quite very by the books just stuck up people talking about work and money.. If your young and wanna have fun stay away from here. Now if your into very strict rules and quite setting with no entertainment or activities this is the resort for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bavaro Runner Excursion

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmclem
Business
Rochester, NY
Jun 26, 2013

Wonderful Couples Getaway!

We absolutely adored our stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort. We stayed at the adults-only, and I can't recommend it enough! It was relaxing, quiet, peaceful, yet still fun. The food was great at our resort. We also had access to the full family resort next door, but our food was much better. Even the "buffet" breakfast and dinner had some form of integrated a la carte service. We were well taken care of, and we had a private beach that was a long way away from any other resort. The pools are very nice and the beach is even better. We would definitely return to this resort if that means anything! *One drawback, if anything, would maybe be the mini bar. They only put 2 beers in it per day, but you can get anything from any of the bars so we were well taken care of in the drink department.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are souvenir stands set up a ways down the beach (not on the resort). They will try to give you "free" necklaces and take you to their stand, but they will rip you off. A repeated "No Thank You" works great. No need to be mean, but no need to be a pushover either.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeanSandy
Business
Naz PA
Jun 24, 2013

Paradise

Couldn't ask for anything more. Service, staff, food, beaches, drinks, all were fantastic. Going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cja95
Business
New York,ny
Jun 18, 2013

Not Recommended

Rude staff, mold above the AC vent by our bed, Dead lizard on the living room chair, towels were not replenish on a daily basis and the food was disgusting Ugh. NEVER AGAIN..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deana M
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 15, 2013

absolutely amazing! best honeymoon ever!

We were here on my honeymoon and we had the absolute best time!! The staff there was so friendly!! And the food was very good (but we did spend some not so comfortable nights on the toilet). The excursions were fun but we had so much people coming up and trying to sell us the same exact thing so it got frustrating after awhile, but you just have to learn how to say no and keep walking. Other than that the bars were great and entertainment was very fun and funny! We would definately come here again if we have the chance!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Low ball the price, odds are the stuff is over priced and you can get it to go lower!! Even the excursions can be negotiated

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chimyers
Business
Knoxville, Tn
Jun 14, 2013

Excellent Honeymoon

We went for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. This was my first all-inclusive experience, first adults only experience, and first Caribbean experience. After reading the reviews I didn't expect the food to be all that great, but I was impressed with the dinners on the adults only side, and for breakfast and lunch there was a huge selection and everything I had was good, not great. You definitely will not go hungry. The adults only side is awesome. It is so quiet and relaxing. I have never been to a beach where there aren't kids squealing. Many people we spoke to were return guests, which says a lot to me. During some excursions we went to some huge resorts but I liked the size of this one because you can walk to everything. Overall it was a fantastic trip. My only complaints are that when we went to dinner on the other side of the resort the food and service wasn't as good. Also, the Discotheque opens a little later than I would have liked, but maybe that is just a sign I am getting old :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We went on the Pirate Cruise excursion sold by the guys in yellow shirts on the beach, which included snorkeling. The excursion was the special of the month and we had an AWESOME time.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.Atkins
Business
Virginia
Jun 12, 2013

Summer Trip

This resort was great from the moment we checked in up until the day we left. We had an amazing younger lady check us in, go over maps and amenities, gave us a ride to the room on a cart with our luggage, and gave us a once over of the room. We opted for the suite room with the private pool, which I would highly recommend as it is worth every penny. If you do go that route, make sure you bring a float as we had to buy one for our pool. What really made the pool worth the cost for us was when my wife or I was having some stomach problems, we were still able to be in the sun all day and the water in our pool but still be close to the room. The entire staff, on both sides of the resort, was great and fun to speak to. Everyone spoke some english and would converse with me in Spanish until I had to tell them to slow down because I'm not quite fluent. Room service, house keeping, bar tenders, hostesses, and beach staff were all amazing. I was never completely sure on tips as some people seemed offended an some didn't. If you decide to tip only one person the whole time, I would recommend to tip the person who restocks your fridge. After a tip we found that instead of putting more things in we didn't drink we got only what we were drinking (sprite, water, and beer) and he left extras out for us to put in the fridge when we made more room. I would recommend eating on both sides of the resort. There are far more choices on the "family" side and the restaurants seem to be bigger on that side also. The entire seven nights we were there we only had to wait for a table once. I would also recommend going to the Japanese restaurant early to get seating without having to wait. As stated in other reviews, the beach was great, get there early for a thatch covering (before 8 AM), men clean it all day long and it looked great. There is good snorkeling that you can do right there without having to pay for an actual excursion. Just be sure to have $20 for a security deposit that you get back when you return the snorkel gear. The only small complaints that I had at all was our door to our room did not shut completely flush to the floor. It was a space of less than 1/2 an inch, but during our trip we found three crabs and two lizards in the room. It was not a big deal as we took pictures and it made for good stories. We were a little disappointed with some of the food though. We've traveled to all inclusive before in Mexico and expected something the same. I think the biggest place for improvement is the buffet that they offer. A lot of the fresh fruit and vegetables lacked flavor, and a lot of the times the selection could have been bigger. It's not enough for me to not recommend this resort and honestly it's the only real complaint we had, a small complaint at that. Overall we loved it. The room was amazing and it overlooked the main pool closest to the beach, the people were great and the restaurants (not the buffet) were all very good. It's also great to not hear small children screaming, crying, and jumping in pools nonstop!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you land in the airport be ready to pay a $10 tourist tax for each person in your party. I didn't see this mentioned anywhere else and thought it needed to be mentioned. Tip your fridge stocker as they'll reward you with more of what you're actually drinking. Make sure you at least wander around the pool area of the "family" side. They have a lot of good food options that are just beside the pools that we didn't know about until we started wandering.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmarie613
Business
Maryland
Jun 5, 2013

Great vacation

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Catalonia Royal. We had a wonderful vacation - property was gorgeous, wonderful staff for the most part , room was large and clean. The only couple o complaints: --Food was hit or miss. It was always presented beautifully, but some dishes were just not good at all (I ordered grouper one day and snapper another; both had an inedible, slimy texture and not good flavor); but other dishes were great, such as most chicken dishes and vegetarian options. Just stay away from the seafood, which is sad, considering you're on the ocean! --The hotel can't do much about this, but people routinely put towels over the "best" beach lounge chairs every day, "reserving them" (even though hotel does not reserve loungers); my husband and I would be at the beach usually by 7:45am to find almost all beachfront chairs taken by placing towels and perhaps a personal bag or hat on the chair; we'd be on the beach for TWO OR MORE HOURS and those same chairs were still no occupied; we did not want to start any arguments with guests so never took off the towels and personal items, but there should be a rule in place that is a chair is not occupied by a HUMAN BEING within 30-45min, then it's free game to whomever is on the beach. These were minor things - the vacation was fabulous; lots of activities to choose from; if you don't take advantage of the activities offerred, you may get bored, so do it! Bars were definitely not lacking; I don't like sweet sugary drinks so I usually ordered wine, beer, or champagne, or asked for a mixed drink of my own choice, which was never a problem. Great stay!!! Will consider again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mama Jen
Business
Lincoln, NE
May 24, 2013

Wonderful week with my hubby

I just got back from a wonderful week with my husband, I loved this resort. The staff are wonderful people and make the resort an excellent place to relax and enjoy yourself. We were on the adults only side but had access to the larger family side as well. It is an all-inclusive resort with many excursions that you can take from the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top