$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great vacation

The hotel was awesome and the rooms absolutely beautiful. The food, especially at the main... See full review

  • hilaryvernon
  • Aug 26, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHP1
Atanta, Georgia
Jan 27, 2013

Alomst great family getaway

The hotel was beautiful with a lot of amenities. When we got into our room, unexpectedly saw a double twin beds, instead of a king size bed. We got into the shower and realized that the water was building up in the shower area and not being drained. We reported this to the front desk, but nothing was done about it. We left the room for dinner and when we came back from the dinner, we noticed a strong smell of toilet has sreaded to the entire room. We reported the bad smell to the strong desk and nothing was done about it. We asked to be moved to another room in another buiding or a higher floor on the same building abd we were told that they don't have rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dine in restaurants were great and in a short distance from our room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbkinbalt
Baltimore , Md
Jan 20, 2013

Worth the money

The Staff were very friendly the food was ok some better then other over all we had a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feeling Froggie
N. Las Vegas, Nevada
Jan 18, 2013

Great Vacation

I thought the hotel had a lot of veriety. If you want to relax you can do so. If you want to party there is plenty of that. Did a few tours (boogie carts and pirate party boat) had a lot of fun. Experience was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen the Beach Bum
New York, NY
Dec 16, 2012

Great Vacation

We had a great time! The Catalonia Royal Bavaro had a relaxing and laid back atmosphere. The food was good and the hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and spoke many languages. A huge plus to this resort was being able to use the sister resort's amenities next door, which were also inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob Burton
Kansas City, KS
Dec 10, 2012

This is the way to do it!!

This was my first time doing an all inclusive resort. But let me tell you, whether it is your first or 15th you will feel like it doesn't get any better then this place. The staff is so kind and acomindating. I definitely recommend you stay on the adult side. You have access to better restaurants and the beach is cleaner and staff if much nicer. You have access to all the restaurants of course but you will only want to eat at the ones on the adult side. There is nothing better then the tapas restaurant at night. The food there is five star. The buffet in the lobby for breakfast is top notch too with a great variety of god from around the world. Look for Juan Pablo he made our trip do much better due to his kindness. Stay at this resort, do yourself a favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

When and if it rains. Don't get down. Go to the bar and pull up a seat and Carlos will make the rainiest day into a great one with his incredible drinks and kindness.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooner Coach
Atlanta, GA
Dec 2, 2012

Will not be going back

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and fruit in our room. A very nice touch. Our room was very hot. Our air conditioner only made the room humid, our clothes and towels stayed wet most of the trip. There was not another room that we could switch to. Our hair dryer did not work for the first two days, finally we did have someone come and put in a new one. The sheets did not get changed while we were there, even when we put the card on the pillow and we even tipped our cleaning woman. The reason I know this is from the stain on the sheet and the hole in the pillow case. There was a language barrier with the staff when we voiced all of these concerns. The food was just okay on the resort. The neighboring resort did not have good food there. We went to the buffet for breakfast one morning, but did not go back after we saw birds landing on the cheese. The pools were both nice and relaxing. Either one you will need to get to early. We also did a dolphin explorer excursion that was the highlight of our trip if you get a chance to do that! Overall, I should have done a little more homework before choosing a place to stay. There were negative reviews with each place I looked at, and I just assumed every place there could be someone who has a negative experience, no matter how nice the place is. Who knows, maybe I am that person now?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Cata Tapa was the best place to eat. Took a few days for us to realize, but everything there was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Nov 23, 2012

Relaxing Quiet Vacation Spot

Great value. Great room and cleanliness. Food was great for dinner. Rest of meals were okay, not amazing. Perfect spot for a quiet relaxing spot. Not much to do other than enjoy the food/drinks/pool/beach. If you're looking for lots of activities and shows this isn't the place for you. If you're happy bumming out by the pool/beach/room it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Night
Bronx,NY
Nov 23, 2012

Our Trip to Punta Cana

Before i start off i must say my wife and i had an amazing time. We liked almost everything about this hotel except for a few things. The food was tasty in most restaurants we went with a few exceptions. The Mexican restaurant needs special coordination they are lacking it. the room service is lacking effort as well. The food was extremely disgusting and the guy answering the phone at night was very unprofessional and had a stinky attitude. Aside from that everyone was very nice and welcoming. We had the best time of our lives here and we would for sure go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
annoymous 2012
Philadelphia, usa
Nov 17, 2012

Nightmare holiday

Worst resort ever stayed in: 1) check in was like going to Walmart refund section. 2) staff can't speak English. So communication was really bad. 3) food was not 5 star. It was 1 star. Holiday inn is better. 4) spa was broken and no one would repair anything. 5) ground is uneven and very cobbly. Take trainers, or hiking shoes. 6) showers were cold. They have no hot water. We felt dirty everyday. 7) whole resort was full of smokers everywhere, air felt very polluted. 8) common areas were not very clean. So many flies everywhere, especially on beach when they do lunchtime barbecue.. It's full of ants and bugs. 9) it's a very Spanish hotel. If you speak Spanish it will help you. 10) food was revolting, got very sick by the third day. Stomach cramps, loose stools, shivers, body aches , etc.. 11) best part of the trip was flying back home last night. 12) had to go doctor this morning.. 13) good luck to those who go here, hope this info helps..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Mom and Dad
MN
Oct 23, 2012

Perfect Escape!

My husband and I have three young kids and we wanted a quiet getaway to relax, recharge, and just escape. This hotel was perfect for that! It was all-inclusive so we just carried a little cash around for tips. The staff was excellent and there were always drinks just footsteps (or a quick swim) away. Both pools were perfect for lounging and swimming. The beach was lovely too. The food at the restaurant was wonderful too- we ate breakfast and dinner there and were very pleased. We did not do anything other than relax in the sun, swim, nap, eat and drink. There were more opportunities to do other things, but that is not what we wanted. The resort that was attached was much livelier if that if that is your style, but that isn't what we wanted. My only 'complaint' was that our room, although gorgeous, was a little musty smelling. We spent very little time in there anyway so that bothered us very little. The beds were comfortable and we even had a little balcony with a hammock. We were there in the end of October and it was beautiful every day (88-90 degrees). Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search