$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kropper
Couples
Long Island, NY
Oct 17, 2012

fabulous all inclusive

We had a great vacation at this hotel. Our room was gorgeous, the bed was comfortable, it was kept very clean. My one complaint is that the shower did not have hot water, it was lukewarm at best. The tub did have hot water. The food was great for the most part. The Japanese restaurant was not great-the beef was overcooked. My favorite restaurant was Sea Blue, I loved every meal I had there. The bartenders was terrific, every drink was better than the last. Overall very happy with the resort and would definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

don't go to the shops outside of the hotel (down the beach), the vendors come to the hotel once a week. They came Friday night when we were there.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ from Vegas
Friends
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2014

Amazing time!

Our room was a beautiful suite next to the pool, and the air conditioning was a big plus. The front desk people were very helpful, and we were able to book all our excursions there. It would have been nice if they had told us what we needed to bring to prepare for each excursion though, as sometimes we showed up without proper attire, without expecting a 3-hour bus ride, etc. My advice is to go online to see each excursion's tips prior to going on them. The food was wonderful, and I'm a vegetarian. I still had plenty of options everywhere. AMERICANS---BRING LOTS OF SINGLE DOLLAR BILLS! We got ripped off exchanging money into pesos at the airport, and it was super difficult to find change anywhere at the resort. The ATM only gives pesos, so you have to make a trip to the bank on the resort, and they were stingy with the ones (although I wanted them so I could tip everybody, which you think they'd support). Overall, the beach here is amazing, the location is perfect, and I loved being away from the busy kid resort next door. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustin Hutch
Friends
Cleveland
Mar 21, 2014

Beautiful Place

The only issue I had was with the TV in the room. There was no volume the night we arrived and the maintenance who was not English speaking did the same thing I did by going through the settings. The sound cut in and out for the first few nights and our TV wasn't replaced and I gave up. One night the sound came back on and we simply left the TV on and turned the volume down when leaving the room. That being said everything else was spectacular. Beautiful resort and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFNY
Couples
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2014

Good Hotel

Nice hotel but it is part of the Catalonia Resort next door which is not as nice... Most of restaurants are next door and doesn't worth it to be honest Restaurant inside the Royal Catalonia are a lot better even if most of the time they run out of food before end of dinner . Rooms are nice, beach is beautiful Best thing is no children so very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerseygirlie
Couples
New Jersey
Mar 7, 2014

Couples Vacation

It was wonderful, Food was great ,The Beach was beautiful . Resort was very clean We had a great time . I will go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
triphoplvr
Couples
Minneapolis
Feb 18, 2014

Not as good as some of the reviews say. Not as bad either.

We stayed here for our honeymoon during the week of February 10, 2014. DISCLAIMER: This was our first time in the Dominican, so I don't have any comparison. GOOD: - The room and grounds were nice and appeared as advertised. - After our special Valentine's Day dinner on the beach, we came back to our room to find it decorated with rose pedals and towel animals. Very nice touch. - They had a party on the beach one night for guests that was very nice. BAD: - Took three calls to get a hammock for our balcony. Being that was a major reason we booked here, that was disappointing. - Called multiple times for new/additional pillows to no avail. - Hotel seemed to allow/employ people constantly hassling guests to take day trips. The lobby and beach were swarming with salespeople. Even the towel guy was trying to sell excursions! This is not my idea of relaxing. Leave me alone! AVERAGE: - Food was hit or miss. Highly recommend the tapas restaurant by the infinity pool for dinner and the pizza place by the bar pool for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trophy Husband
Couples
New Jersey, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Feb 9-16, Catalonia Royal Bavaro

First time in DR and it was great. Catalonia Royal grounds were beautiful and you have the benefit of the larger family-side Catalonia Bavaro Beach. Food was good, staff was 90% great (now and then we ran into someone who had no interest in helping us). We were regular tippers and found my stack of dollar bills to be most helpful in better service and gratefully accepted by the staff. BTW, I had an issue of no hot water in my room (it was my failure to understand the faucet) and when I called the front desk I had someone to assist my in less than 5 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Found that many guests at the Royal did not know they had access to the family-side Catalonia Bavaro Beach. Take advantage of the other restaurants on theat side, they were pretty good and Royal guest don't need reservations.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
have case will travel
Couples
Largo,Fl
Jan 16, 2014

First experience with Adults Only

The hotel was awesome It was so quiet and peaceful, if you wanted it that way. Having the option to join in on the fun worked well for us. The staff tried very hard to please and they did. Will go back to Catalonia Royal again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Just enjoy. Loved the soft music played all day long on the beach.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pamike15
Couples
lancaster, pa
Jan 14, 2014

expected more from a "5 star"

the resort is a lot bigger than it looks on its website. i wanted more of a relaxing vacation, not a hike. the restaurants, pools, bars, beach are very spread out. and walking is the only means of transportation. the service could be good, or it could be very bad. so when you sit down to eat, and order a drink to go with it, you might get it 50% of the time. the majority of the staff seam irritated most of the time. of course, there's an exception to every rule. they weren't all like that. but even a handful is too much. (and that's being generous) another problem is the resort is really crowded. we rarely ate at the buffets because we felt we were always in the way. the pools never had enough chairs. the beach has a lot of palm trees so finding a spot out of the shade can be a challenge...unless you want to go to the family side. overall, it wasn't horrible. i would call it a very average all inclusive resort. most resorts have these problems, i was just expecting more. the rooms, however, are excellent. they are much better than your average hotel, and bigger. and the maids did a good job of keeping everything clean. i hope this review helped you in choosing a resort. p.s. the guys on the beach, trying to sell you excusions, are very annoying. not sure why they let them on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LindHat
Couples
Los Angeles,CA
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay in between flights

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton one night in between flights from Punta Cana and LAX. It was clean, comfortable, and a great night's sleep!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victor2150
Couples
Columbia SC
Oct 29, 2013

Great Vacation!!!!!

It was absolutely the best!!! We enjoyed everything about this location, it was an anniversary / honeymoon trip.... One thing I will say is be very careful when taking the excursions... The "Pirate Adventure" was not worth the money....Otherwise very pleased....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is always something to do

Back to menu Return to top