Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
165 reviews
Beautiful Resort with Great amenities and Amazing Staff

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful quick trip. We didn't want to leave and we plan on going back... See full review

  • Dawn Allen
  • Nov 19, 2014
pre birthday getaway

More then I expected. Food was good, service was great. I wish we would have had more of the... See full review

  • BFF for life
  • Aug 30, 2014
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

18.6362 -68.3442
Area served
Punta Cana, Domican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ).
Area description
A magnificent resort with private, white sandy beaches, crystalline Caribbean waters, palm trees lining the coast and abundant vegetation throughout the complex. Coral reefs along the beach allow guest to enjoy the rich marine life of the Caribbean Sea. Playa Bavaro (Punta Cana) one of the best beach areas in the Dominican Republic.

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melvatorres
Business
Philadelphia
May 23, 2013

Fantastic birthday vacation

Omg this was the first time I went there , I had the best time of my life and o travel before to other countries but nothing like this country. The hotel is amazing and the most important thing is the stuff they made my vacation worth it. They smiled every single time they were fun social they make u feel like if your there family. Our favorite one was Hector Ramirez we love him and treated us so good that we are going back in 2 months for my boyfriend birthday. The only thing I didn't like was that everything was so expensive they over charge stuff but after that the best time of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Peaceful hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nailitoff
Business
Tennessee
May 20, 2013

pretty good

I liked this palce pretty good but i thought the Catalonia in Tulum was much better.The food was not as good as we had hoped.We got a few good dinners in the specialty restaraunts.The pools are descent and the beach was pretty awesome.My wife did not like all of the topless women everywhere.The grounds are immaculate and the staff were very friendly and accomadating.One thing we thought was stupid is that you book adults only but 3 restaraunts are on the other property and you're eating with kids and one of the reasons I booked adults only was so i didn't have to eat with kids.All in all thogh I had fun but If I go back to Punta Cana I might try a different place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you do Jungle excursion stay away from Compay.They tried to sell me video of our trip.I gave them 10 dollars when we got back and they told me I could bring 10 more at 8 in the morning or after and pick it up at the front desk.After getting the run around for about 30 minutes there was no video but I did get my 10 dollars back.One of the women that went with us did get hers but they tried to charge her 20 more dollars because somebody had changed the 10 to 20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine and Eli
Business
long island, NY
May 19, 2013

great vacation

Great overall experience. Wish there was more entertainment at the adults only section. Alcohol tasted watered down at the main resort. Would definitely recommend the adults only section as you can use the facilities at both the main resort and the adults only section.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main resort has 4 restaurants and much better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Travelr
Business
Northville, MI
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel, wonderful staff

Our first visit to this Hotel, 3rd to Punta Cana: The rooms were large, clean, beds comfortable, peaceful. Staff couldn't be better, nicer, or more attentive. Room service food came HOT! Only wish the tub was a jacuzzi. Pool area clean, plenty of shaddy spots. Beach cool breeze. Fruit smoothy station nice touch and very good! Lunch Bar-b-Q each day good. Dissappointed in food at restaurants and entertainment both poor. Had problem with something I ate & sick for 3 days, UGH! (never had this problem before on other visits) Nightly shows were very poor, same performers each night & not very good at all. Several others we met had the same experience with the food & opinion of the entertainment. Back to the Majestic Elegance next time. People of Punta Cana are WONDERFUL they make the trip! Get out of the resort and see the country & people, you will keep coming back each year like us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Safari trip is well worth it! Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peggy H
Business
Marietta, GA
May 2, 2013

Great place to deconpress

Wonderful staff. The upgraded room suite was enjoyable and full of nice touches.....Great beach and the pools were clean and well maintained. The food and drinks were B+ A- but over all very good experence and look forward to returning to this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The sister property is a short walk, but gives more options then whats offered by the one property

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago couple bb
Business
Chicago
Apr 8, 2013

Service could have been better

Overall our experience was mixed. The beach and weather were very nice. The food and amenities were also above average for an all-inclusive. Definitely a sleepy vibe to the resort in general... which is good if you are trying to relax. If you can afford the swimming pool suites (which come at a steep premium) they appeared to be quite nice. Otherwise the rooms were average. The resort swimming pools were not very clean; even dirty on some days. There are two pools, yet only one with any food/bev service at all. The bar service at the pool was tragic. The service in general at the resort was far below average compared to all-inclusives we have visited in Mexico and Costa Rica. Finally three days into our week vacation, we are confident someone put 'something' in our beverages at or near the pool bar. By 5:30 that day, after only a few drinks we were both incredibly dizzy. We both got extremely sick all night and much of the morning; to the point we had to see the medical staff at the resort. They claimed we were over-exposed however, the likelihood of both my wife and I having some type of "over-exposure" at the exact same time is almost zero. I understand reporting this type of incident at an internet site is a bit unconventional, but we did try to contact the hotel management after our return and they would not reply to our email. Our main concern in this matter is for others to be cautious and to avoid similar situations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk (early in your stay) around the neighbor resort which has shared amenities. They have more to offer in the way of dining and food options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becky Maz
Business
New York, NY
Apr 6, 2013

Pluses but Considerable Minuses

The staff is exceptionally nice and helpful. The room was spacious and included an extremely large bath tub that I used nightly. A nice perk was that room service was included in the package so I often had breakfast on my balcony. There was also a great juice bar. Unfortunately, the area outside was extremely loud, the door is knocked on frequently by various staff unless you put on the do not disturb sign even in the middle of the day, the food was really poor to the point that I had gastrointestinal issues that prevented me from leaving my room for a day, the beach was rocky, the ocean was caked with seaweed and the buoys prevented you from swimming out past it, and there weren't enough sun-shielding umbrellas so I burned splotches of skin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vicstrip
Business
Miami Fl.
Apr 1, 2013

Great Staff but place needs some work

We went here for our Honeymoon. The outside of the resort looks pretty plain (the Adult only side) Not much to see on the resort. but when you go across to the family side the resort is more tropical with tiki hut style hall ways beautiful reception area and where most of the restaurants are. The food wasn't the best. The drinks since it was all inclusive i guess it means cheap. and they tasted pretty bad at any of the bars. The room was very nice. Our only complaint was the a/c semi worked. We called for it to be repaired and they looked at it but not much changed after the repair. We arrived to warm drinks in the mini fridge which didnt actually get cold till about the end of the 2nd day. The staff was very friendly ad helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeanSandy
Business
Naz PA
Mar 25, 2013

EXCELLENT!

Absolutely perfect describes this resort. Food, staff, facilities, grounds, beach, all of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vogel the great
Business
York, Pennsylvania
Mar 7, 2013

Amazing all inclusive resort

Everything and anything was all included in this trip. Not one complaint. Best vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't change your money. Just bring a hundred in ones for tipping that's it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top