$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustin Hutch
Business
Cleveland
Mar 21, 2014

Beautiful Place

The only issue I had was with the TV in the room. There was no volume the night we arrived and the maintenance who was not English speaking did the same thing I did by going through the settings. The sound cut in and out for the first few nights and our TV wasn't replaced and I gave up. One night the sound came back on and we simply left the TV on and turned the volume down when leaving the room. That being said everything else was spectacular. Beautiful resort and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFNY
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2014

Good Hotel

Nice hotel but it is part of the Catalonia Resort next door which is not as nice... Most of restaurants are next door and doesn't worth it to be honest Restaurant inside the Royal Catalonia are a lot better even if most of the time they run out of food before end of dinner . Rooms are nice, beach is beautiful Best thing is no children so very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerseygirlie
Business
New Jersey
Mar 7, 2014

Couples Vacation

It was wonderful, Food was great ,The Beach was beautiful . Resort was very clean We had a great time . I will go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
triphoplvr
Business
Minneapolis
Feb 18, 2014

Not as good as some of the reviews say. Not as bad either.

We stayed here for our honeymoon during the week of February 10, 2014. DISCLAIMER: This was our first time in the Dominican, so I don't have any comparison. GOOD: - The room and grounds were nice and appeared as advertised. - After our special Valentine's Day dinner on the beach, we came back to our room to find it decorated with rose pedals and towel animals. Very nice touch. - They had a party on the beach one night for guests that was very nice. BAD: - Took three calls to get a hammock for our balcony. Being that was a major reason we booked here, that was disappointing. - Called multiple times for new/additional pillows to no avail. - Hotel seemed to allow/employ people constantly hassling guests to take day trips. The lobby and beach were swarming with salespeople. Even the towel guy was trying to sell excursions! This is not my idea of relaxing. Leave me alone! AVERAGE: - Food was hit or miss. Highly recommend the tapas restaurant by the infinity pool for dinner and the pizza place by the bar pool for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trophy Husband
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Feb 9-16, Catalonia Royal Bavaro

First time in DR and it was great. Catalonia Royal grounds were beautiful and you have the benefit of the larger family-side Catalonia Bavaro Beach. Food was good, staff was 90% great (now and then we ran into someone who had no interest in helping us). We were regular tippers and found my stack of dollar bills to be most helpful in better service and gratefully accepted by the staff. BTW, I had an issue of no hot water in my room (it was my failure to understand the faucet) and when I called the front desk I had someone to assist my in less than 5 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Found that many guests at the Royal did not know they had access to the family-side Catalonia Bavaro Beach. Take advantage of the other restaurants on theat side, they were pretty good and Royal guest don't need reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
have case will travel
Business
Largo,Fl
Jan 16, 2014

First experience with Adults Only

The hotel was awesome It was so quiet and peaceful, if you wanted it that way. Having the option to join in on the fun worked well for us. The staff tried very hard to please and they did. Will go back to Catalonia Royal again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Just enjoy. Loved the soft music played all day long on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pamike15
Business
lancaster, pa
Jan 14, 2014

expected more from a "5 star"

the resort is a lot bigger than it looks on its website. i wanted more of a relaxing vacation, not a hike. the restaurants, pools, bars, beach are very spread out. and walking is the only means of transportation. the service could be good, or it could be very bad. so when you sit down to eat, and order a drink to go with it, you might get it 50% of the time. the majority of the staff seam irritated most of the time. of course, there's an exception to every rule. they weren't all like that. but even a handful is too much. (and that's being generous) another problem is the resort is really crowded. we rarely ate at the buffets because we felt we were always in the way. the pools never had enough chairs. the beach has a lot of palm trees so finding a spot out of the shade can be a challenge...unless you want to go to the family side. overall, it wasn't horrible. i would call it a very average all inclusive resort. most resorts have these problems, i was just expecting more. the rooms, however, are excellent. they are much better than your average hotel, and bigger. and the maids did a good job of keeping everything clean. i hope this review helped you in choosing a resort. p.s. the guys on the beach, trying to sell you excusions, are very annoying. not sure why they let them on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LindHat
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay in between flights

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton one night in between flights from Punta Cana and LAX. It was clean, comfortable, and a great night's sleep!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victor2150
Business
Columbia SC
Oct 29, 2013

Great Vacation!!!!!

It was absolutely the best!!! We enjoyed everything about this location, it was an anniversary / honeymoon trip.... One thing I will say is be very careful when taking the excursions... The "Pirate Adventure" was not worth the money....Otherwise very pleased....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is always something to do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex Mak
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 27, 2013

Perfect for two

Food good, staff very polite, helpful, snorkeling very good right from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top