$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
173 reviews
great resort

amazing experience. highly recommend. property is gorgeous. See full review

  • Jon G.
  • Feb 16, 2015
relaxing vacation

The hotel was great, beautiful surrounding, the staff was great very hospitable and funny, the room... See full review

  • Marivi
  • Feb 4, 2015
Intimate, all-suite Punta Cana hotel boasts private pools, modern rooms

With poolside suites and beachfront dining, Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive encourages couples and singles to fully retreat to vacation mode. The all-suite hotel bears a mix of honeymoon suites, junior suites and suites with direct access to private pools. Access to a sister hotel expands the leisure options, but many guests choose to spend time on site at the full-service spa or massage palapas on the beach.

Highlights
  • All-suite resort on Bavaro Beach
  • Spa with sauna, hydromassage showers and Turkish bath
  • 14 suites with private pools
  • Massage palapas on the beach
  • Tapas restaurant and juice bar
Rooms

Couples and singles appreciate the contemporary style of the rooms of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. A collection of junior suites, honeymoon suites and suites with direct access to private pools highlights furniture with sleek lines, open layouts (including roomy terraces) and in-room Jacuzzis. Look for extra touches, too, including a mini-bar stocked with drinks, beer and snacks, a LCD TV, pool towels and Wi-Fi Internet access. Honeymoon suites are steps away from a private lake.

Features

Guests have access to the amenities at sister resort Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Golf & Casino Resort, but many choose to unwind on site. With a full-service spa  -- home to a Turkish bath, sauna and hydrotherapy showers -- and beachfront massage palapas, the property encourages blissful private time. Visitors can also use the Internet room and library for free.

Dining

Alfresco dining enhances the experience at Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only – All Inclusive. Guests can pull up a chair on the patio at Thalassa, which specializes in Mediterranean fare, or request a lakeside table at tapas restaurant CATA TAPA. A juice bar and deli -- both by the beach -- are suited for light, casual dining. A la carte restaurants require long pants, sleeves and closed-toe shoes for men and chic attire for women.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (on Playa Bavaro)
  • El Cortecito (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Cap Cano (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (26.1 mi/42 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Honeymoon Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed, furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing. Fruit basket and sparkling wine at arrival
Superior Junior Suite
Room with one king bed includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub and independent shower.
Deluxe Junior Suite
Room more spacious with one king bed , furnished in a modern luxury style,includes air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone with direct outside line, safe box, fridge with soft drinks & beer,coffee maker, hairdryer, terrace or balcony with hammock, living area, ceiling fan, complete bathroom with hairdryer, round in room bath tub, independent shower, iron and table of ironing

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant Thalassa
'Thalassa' exclusive restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a la carte, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant Catatapa
"Cata Tapa", Spanish specialty of Tapas. To dinner in a romantic ambience next to lake. (dress code: formal)
A la Carte restaurant
Enjoy all the Specialty restaurant of the sister property, Catalonia Bavaro beach, Golf & Casino. Mexican, Steack House, Italian and Japonese(only one with reservation), only for dinner.
Snacks Sea Blue
"Sea Blue" a-la-carta, situated next to the beach and pool in a lounge style(for lunch, open till 06:00PM).And the other sanck and pizzeria at the Catalonia Bavro Beach.
Buffets
Enjoy the 2 buffet situate at the sister property.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pamike15
Business
lancaster, pa
Jan 14, 2014

expected more from a "5 star"

the resort is a lot bigger than it looks on its website. i wanted more of a relaxing vacation, not a hike. the restaurants, pools, bars, beach are very spread out. and walking is the only means of transportation. the service could be good, or it could be very bad. so when you sit down to eat, and order a drink to go with it, you might get it 50% of the time. the majority of the staff seam irritated most of the time. of course, there's an exception to every rule. they weren't all like that. but even a handful is too much. (and that's being generous) another problem is the resort is really crowded. we rarely ate at the buffets because we felt we were always in the way. the pools never had enough chairs. the beach has a lot of palm trees so finding a spot out of the shade can be a challenge...unless you want to go to the family side. overall, it wasn't horrible. i would call it a very average all inclusive resort. most resorts have these problems, i was just expecting more. the rooms, however, are excellent. they are much better than your average hotel, and bigger. and the maids did a good job of keeping everything clean. i hope this review helped you in choosing a resort. p.s. the guys on the beach, trying to sell you excusions, are very annoying. not sure why they let them on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LindHat
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Jan 2, 2014

Great stay in between flights

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton one night in between flights from Punta Cana and LAX. It was clean, comfortable, and a great night's sleep!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victor2150
Business
Columbia SC
Oct 29, 2013

Great Vacation!!!!!

It was absolutely the best!!! We enjoyed everything about this location, it was an anniversary / honeymoon trip.... One thing I will say is be very careful when taking the excursions... The "Pirate Adventure" was not worth the money....Otherwise very pleased....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is always something to do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex Mak
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 27, 2013

Perfect for two

Food good, staff very polite, helpful, snorkeling very good right from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vitya
Business
Kansas City
Sep 15, 2013

Perfect couple vacation

Location of Catalonia Royal Bavaro is pretty close to Punta Cana airport: just 20 min to drive. Our registration was quick and smooth and we have a welcome drinks. Prior to Trip we contact Hotel by e-mail and request the room on 2-nd floor facing the Pool. We got exactly what we request. Food: not perfect but very good. Drinks: very good. Beach: a lot of shade. Ocean: shallow on Royal Side, but deep enough on Family Side (2 min to walk). Entertainment on Family Site. Overall we have a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoversLane
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2013

Couples Alone Time

Nice vacation for couples, no kids in sight. The room service was great only wish that the room had a more pleasant smell but lucky for me I brought my Lysol :) The resort had lovely well kept grounds. My only complaint was me and hubby got bored after a day or so because there wasn't much to do at this resort so this place is definitely not for an all girls or guys trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodeo Steakhouse is the closest you'll get to American dining just don't try the crab cakes, nothing close to what you can get in MD.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinLKJ
Business
Texas
Aug 17, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing, beautiful, fun vacation

Everything was just as it should be for arrival and check-in. Room was excellent. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful throughout our stay. One day (out of 8) they were late getting towels to the room, but otherwise it was perfect. Bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows, never ran out of hot water, minibar was kept stocked as was coffee bar, plenty of bottled water, room service was fast enough (we only used it for breakfast, and that was delicious), dinner restaurants were excellent with no reservations or much wait, lunch poolside was ok, same menu daily so it gets a little old, cookouts on the beach were nice, dive shop onsite was good, diving just OK (should have been on other part of island for that), beach area was beautiful, some seaweed in water, but not too much, plenty of lounge chairs, nice juice/smoothy bar at the beach, and wait staff circulated often enough. Beach bar close by (closed at 6 PM) and good drinks. There were excursion vendors on beach, but when told 'no' would leave easy enough. Tourist shopping next door (walk down beach) has typical fare, but beware, they are sharks! Won't tell you how much, until you amass a basket full of stuff, won't take 'no' easily. Golf course (we played the 9 hole) was nice, grounds beautiful and well kept. Main resort next door was nice also, buffet was typical, service in buffet area not so great, shopping was nice for a resort, casino (think truck stop) not so much. Was very nice and quite at the Royal and louder/busier next door, but to be expected with kids and that many more people. Loved the adults only atmosphere at the Royal. Compared to Mexico where we usually go, it felt more confined (must go with an excursion anywhere, can't easily catch a cab and explore). Would recommend to anyone looking for a grown-up vacation in a beautiful destination. Extra note: we booked and paid for the vip transfer and should have just gone with the free transfer, its the same company, and upon return to the airport, got put on the regular bus anyway. As this hotel is the first one after the airport, the bus would have come here first so the extra expense wasn't justified. Live and learn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy the extra cost vip transfer, it looks confusing in the booking process so we booked it. Turns out, its all the same so save your money. Do take the Segway Ecotour!!! Beach vendors sell it and it was so much fun :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelingDrew
Business
Short Hills
Jul 23, 2013

CATALONIA ADULT

Honestly the Adult side was overrated. Unless your looking for a quiet resort that does not go above and beyond for there guest then by all means Enjoy!! I stayed for 6 nights, but I enjoyed the family side a lot better then the Adult side. The food was very basic and repetitive. The family side had a huge buffet with various selections of food. I would recommend doing the Bavaro Runner Excursion to really enjoy what D.R. has to offer. I'm 30 y/o the adult side of the resort was like staying in a beautiful outdoor library; very quite very by the books just stuck up people talking about work and money.. If your young and wanna have fun stay away from here. Now if your into very strict rules and quite setting with no entertainment or activities this is the resort for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bavaro Runner Excursion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 22, 2013

2013 vacation

Nice Stay...relaxing, and quiet we stayed on the couples only side and it was an easy hop over to the family side of the hotel to find additional dining and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Lanier
Business
Dallas
Jul 15, 2013

Anniversary 2013

We stayed on the couple only side of the hotel it was nice, and relaxing, but if you are looking for entertainment you would have go to the family side ....it was good to go to the family side for entertainment and then come back and RELAX on the couple only side...the food was 'Ahhhh" nothing to write home about overall our vacation was good....I would recommend this place for people looking for a nice quiet retreat. I recommend doing the excursions if you are staying for a week or more or u will be bored out of your mind..."The Party Boat and Zip Lining is a must do we enjoyed this the most"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top