$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPS2
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jun 3, 2014

Good budget adults-only all-inclusive

We found a really good deal for this hotel so going in our expectations were lowered. However, the food was great, our room was clean and the staff were nice enough. The first day our top-floor room was hot so I called about the A/C. I'm not sure if they fixed anything but it felt better after that. The resort looks a little dated in some areas but the beach has plenty of shade even if it doesn't get too deep. We are glad we booked the Royal side. The other side had more going on but the service and food quality did not seem to be as good and it's a lot harder to find shade around the pool or beach They also had more people trying to sell excursions. We booked a buggy trip with Adventure Boogies through the rep that also handled our airport transfers. In summary, this is a good, but not the best, resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caribbean Explorer
Business
California
Jun 1, 2014

I would not give it 5*

It was our first time in DR, and I can't tell how this hotel compares to other DR hotels, but judging by hotels in other countries, I would not give it 5*. Here is why: 1. The service in the restaurants is super slow. Royal Bavaro is more or less okay. With the worst service there being in Snack Sea Blue. There they can keep you waiting for a hot dog for 40 minutes. But if you go for a dinner to the sister property restaurants, be ready to wait 40 min for an appetizer, and another 40 min for an entree, and in one of their restaurants we waited almost an hour for 2 orange juices... Because of such service in sister property we ended up dining only in Thalassa restaurant in Royal Bavaro, where the service is good, but I didn't like the food (been there 4 times, ordered 4 different dishes, and didn't like any of them), though I should say my husband liked their New York Strip steak and kept ordering it every evening. 2. Some hotel staff on the beach is super annoying trying to sell you "excursions". It got to the point where I already didn't want to go to the beach just to avoid speaking with the staff again, because every time I saw them they tried to sell me something. 3. The towel system is crazy - they give you a card which you have to exchange for a towel, and then when you bring a towel back, you get your card back. I guess it was created to make talking with the staff about "excursions" inevitable. Every morning you go there to get a towel, they will be trying to sell you something. 4. It's impossible to find an umbrella on the beach after 10 am. We chose this hotel, because we expected that due to the small size and private beach, we would be able to get an umbrella with no problem. But that was not the case. There are a couple of trees as well that kind of give you shade, but very often all those shady places are also occupied. 5. It is super humid in the room, which made our staying there uncomfortable. There is no ventilation in the bathroom or in the room, so all humidity just stays there and humid DR climate makes it even worse. 6. The waiter service on the beach is almost non-existent. Yes, there is a person or two walking once in 2-3 hours taking away empty glasses and asking if we want something to drink. But I don't think it's enough. In most of the cases we had to go to the bar ourselves to get us some drinks. 7. The wi-fi service is very poor and slow. But there were good things as well: 1. The beach is amazing! If you don't take into the account the shade problem, the beach itself and the water is great! 2. The natural juices on the beach is a great service. Loved it! 3. The grounds are beautiful, and the hotel size is perfect - not too big, and not too small. 4. Royal Bavaro is a pretty quite hotel, so if you are looking for a quite and calm vacation it might fit the bill. All in all, for us it was a 3* stay in a 3.5* hotel. I would recommend this hotel if the price was less expensive, but for such a price I would expect something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I liked breakfast in Thalassa, and lunch in sister property's buffets. In Thalassa the lunch choice is a la carte with very limited selection in salad bar. We went there once and had to leave, because couldn't find anything to our liking.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle Skip
Business
Mifflintown, Pa.
May 24, 2014

One very beautiful resort..........

This hotel was everything we expected and more. The grounds were overwhelmingly beautiful, the food was excellent for the most part and well presented. There was one time my wife didn't get what she ordered but I blame that on the language barrier, was no big deal as the food was still awesome. The staff went out of their way to help you with any problems if you should have any. The drinks were great and they were not stingy with the alcohol. The pool area was always clean as were the rooms. I think the A/C could have bee a little better in our room but that is just me. All in all we had an incredible vacation at a fair price and YES we would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlito Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
May 15, 2014

Relaxing getaway

Resort is nicely kept and very close to the airport approx. 10 minute ride. The room was spacious but the 1st. floor of Bldg. 18 the view is not the best it faces the service entrance to the Tapas restaurant and foliage. There was a water leak around the toilet and the light had a short and it required several attempts to turn it off. The mini refrigerator did not get the beverages cold enough. We reported it to the person who upon check in gave us an orientation of the resort but nothing was done. The pool by the beach provided the best shade and was less crowed then the pool by the lobby of the resort. We stayed away from the lobby area because of the constant sales pitch to attend Timeshare presentation it got very annoying every time we had to go by the lobby. The piano bar and one of the restaurants I are located in the lobby. The beach was nice but it was to wind during our week there. This resorts does offer lobster buy their is a separate charge for it. I found the food portions small for me. We took the Bavaro's Runners Safari excursion. We really enjoyed this. It offers a small variety of places to see. It includes horse back riding a visit to a cave and a coffee mill. I think if the resort would provide a flyer with the daily events and the menus for the restaurants in the room every night it would improve the stay. We had to always ask the employees what events they had at night. Lacked any transportation to the merchants and mall in the area. The employees were very friendly and always happy to assist you. Over all the resort was nice for the price but I will not return due to the sales pitches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nice and easy
Business
camillus ny
May 10, 2014

great getaway

my second time in catalonia royal ,friendly people great place for vacation Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicole needed a vacation
Business
Nebreaksa
May 10, 2014

Royal catalonia

Staff were wonderful, beautiful location, beautiful beach, a great place for couples. I went with a friend but we still had fun. I love that we could go to the other resort. It had more entertainment and dining options. Food was okay. My friend is a picky eater. So she did not like the food. I love food and am not very picky so for the most part I enjoyed it. Was okay- considering it is a all inclusive resort. Drinks were good, and a little tip ensured that they were free flowing. The beach was by far the best thing about this resort. The resort on both sides is very beautiful. Our room had a decent air conditioner and ceiling fan... The room was definitely set up for couples. We requested a room with two beds and did get it. The shower does not have a closing door on it. The jacuzzi was also out in the open so being with a friend- we didn't utilize it. Also our room smelled like a jungle. So bring some febreeeze or something . It is just so humid and nothing seems to dry. After being at the resort for three days, I had to write a note asking the cleaning staff to change our sheets. They did with the note and a little tip. My last thoughts- great place for couples, very quiet resort with the option of going next door. Tipping though not required gets you better service. Do not eat dominican hamburgers, they spice it and it tastes weird. Try the coffee, don't take a picky eater here, especially if they do not enjoy trying new things. I would come here again, good resort for the price and no kids!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The catamaran excursion was fun. We did the "dual adventure" with the buggies, and the catamaran went in the carribean side

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IDalMo
Business
Staten Island New York
Apr 29, 2014

Perfect vacation

My husband and I had a wonderful time! The staff was so kind and helpful. As far as the hotel we will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ from Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 19, 2014

Amazing time!

Our room was a beautiful suite next to the pool, and the air conditioning was a big plus. The front desk people were very helpful, and we were able to book all our excursions there. It would have been nice if they had told us what we needed to bring to prepare for each excursion though, as sometimes we showed up without proper attire, without expecting a 3-hour bus ride, etc. My advice is to go online to see each excursion's tips prior to going on them. The food was wonderful, and I'm a vegetarian. I still had plenty of options everywhere. AMERICANS---BRING LOTS OF SINGLE DOLLAR BILLS! We got ripped off exchanging money into pesos at the airport, and it was super difficult to find change anywhere at the resort. The ATM only gives pesos, so you have to make a trip to the bank on the resort, and they were stingy with the ones (although I wanted them so I could tip everybody, which you think they'd support). Overall, the beach here is amazing, the location is perfect, and I loved being away from the busy kid resort next door. I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustin Hutch
Business
Cleveland
Mar 21, 2014

Beautiful Place

The only issue I had was with the TV in the room. There was no volume the night we arrived and the maintenance who was not English speaking did the same thing I did by going through the settings. The sound cut in and out for the first few nights and our TV wasn't replaced and I gave up. One night the sound came back on and we simply left the TV on and turned the volume down when leaving the room. That being said everything else was spectacular. Beautiful resort and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFNY
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2014

Good Hotel

Nice hotel but it is part of the Catalonia Resort next door which is not as nice... Most of restaurants are next door and doesn't worth it to be honest Restaurant inside the Royal Catalonia are a lot better even if most of the time they run out of food before end of dinner . Rooms are nice, beach is beautiful Best thing is no children so very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top