$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas De Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couples on Vacation
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 7, 2014

Friends vacation

My husband and I went on this trip with two other couples. It was great! Very relaxing, and such a fun time. All the restaurants were tasty and very easy to get a table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A couple bucks for bartenders and servers goes a long way in getting that extra great service!

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Forney's
Business
Belmont, NC
Aug 6, 2014

Great Anniversary trip

This was our first international vacation, and it was in celebration of our 25th anniversary. Overall, it was a good trip. The hotel grounds, pools, and beach were Beautiful!! We enjoyed all of the restaurants with the exception of Mexican. The drink service was good everywhere, but we found it to be better if you showed appreciation to your wait staff. They remembered you from previous days and showed their appreciation. Our only complaint was the humidity/dampness of the room. It caused a mildew smell and our sheets seemed damped when we turned in for the night. They staff cleaned the rooms superbly each day, which was a plus for us. Overall great stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great entertainment nightly on the family side. You have to walk over (or catch the hotel shuttle) if interested, but worth it. After the first day, we found our way by foot, and we enjoyed the walk over and back.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJJack
Business
Chicago
Jul 31, 2014

Royal Stay

My wife and I stayed five nights without the kids to unwind from stressful jobs. The adult side is perfect if this is what you are looking for (I would also recommend the family side but not for an over 30 couples trip). The grounds were well maintained, and compared to other resorts I have stayed, found walking distance to be fairly quick to all locations even from 46 which is the closest to the main entrance. I found the food to be very good but we ate on the adult side and would have to admit I am not a picky eater. We booked one excursion to the local island. It is an all day event and it took a little talking into from my wife as it involved having to get up early via alarm clock. Later I believe I saw a half-day excursion but I am not sure who it was through. Try out the kyaks and the catamarans are free to use but require reservations if you do not know how to use it you will need to hire a captain ($35). I am a novice sailor and would have read up in advance to learn the controls before taking it out on the ocean... I just stuck with the kyak. I do not think the price can be beat for this high quality of resort. The weather was beautiful every day with a solid non annoying breeze. Everyone was friendly from the staff to the other customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi fare is a set $30 one way and they are lined up ready to go. If you book a group transfer in advance to save money you will be waiting for the bus to fill and I found the savings to be minimal.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Figue
Business
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Jul 28, 2014

Terrible experience

The hotel is beautiful, but the service of housekeeping and room service were awful. Housekeeping forgot to take care of trash, towels, minibar. Room service information is takes by a person in the front desk, 4 out 5 we never got exactly what we order. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was good in average

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karapetyan
Business
Torrance, California
Jul 26, 2014

Relaxing Vacation...Not so good Resort

The resort needs a lot of maintenance to bring it up the the level of at least 4 stars. Here are a few things that I noticed that need work: 1. Rooms need to be cleaner and ready when guest arrive. I arrived to a room that had a couple of burnt out light bulbs, running toilet, and no batteries in the tv remote. After calling the front desk 3 times I gave up on it and just fixed the remote situation myself by using my camera batteries and I fixed the running toilet. 2. The staff needs to smile more. The staff needs to understand that this is a service industry that they are in and people are on vacation so that they get treated like royalty during their stay. Only a hand full of staff members were always perking but the rest looked like they did not want to help you out or they just did not want to be there. 3. Safety. I saw 3 people fall on the tile around the pool. They need to change that tile so that it is not slippery. One lay feel and broke her arm and I saw her the next day with a cast. What a horrible way to spend your vacation. 4. Room Service. Horrible timing and food preparation. It takes them 30 mins to bring the food and when it arrives the hot meals are already cold and the cold ones look like they were prepared the day before. I am not a really picky person but if I were, I can write a lot more things that they need to improve on. Overall, my trip was relaxing but I didn't like the fact that I booked a 4.5 star resort but it turned out to be a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HawkInMidwest
Business
Iowa
Jul 11, 2014

Disappointed- We will never stay at another Catalonia property

It took 4 different rooms and 2 days to get checked in. Room #1 was completely under construction. Room #2 was flooded and had about 2 inches of water throughout the entire room.. Room #3 smelled horribly of mold/mildew. Finally, on the second day, Room #4 was adequate. It took a total of about 6 hours of standing in the lobby for the staff to get our room figured out. The hotel management was absolutely inept at solving any issues... and frankly didn't care. I don't know how many times we heard, "Trust me, we will take care of this." Only to get nothing taken care of... we basically had to complain for 2 days to get a suitable room. We ended up on some weird timeshare presentation that was somehow connected to the hotel. It was some sort of vacation exclusive club they marketed from the moment you walked in the door. In the end it wasted another 3-4 hrs. of our time. The salesman basically harassed us until we finally agreed to hear the presentation. Throughout our stay we tried to avoid these salespeople but they were always around wanting a high-five or fist bump. They just made you want to avoid all the common areas in general. Food was okay throughout both resorts. The waiters/staff were usually pretty slow... especially at getting water. Italian Restaurant at the other resort was very bad. All the other restaurants were average. Beaches were nice but there was a lot of moss/seaweed along the beach. Both pools were okay and usually not too busy. Bartenders mixed good drinks... they were above average. In conclusion- The lobby staff ruined our experience from the moment we checked into the hotel. We will never return to any "Catalonia" property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not take part in the "Exclusive Club" presentation they push on you from the moment you get checked into the hotel. Total waste of time.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P and K newlyweds
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2014

Recommend the Adult Side

We really enjoyed staying on the adult side (Royal Side) of the hotel. You have access to the family side, but you can easily stay on the adult's only side and enjoy the beach, pools, bars, and restaurants. The service is better on the Royal side, and you get to meet some great staff members. The overall quality of food, drinks, and service is better on the Royal side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

When the staff learn you are new, they will ask you to set up an "orientation" (sales) meeting. They will tempt you with a free welcome gift and continue the pressure during your stay. It is not a mandatory meeting, and will likely waste 2 hours of your first day.

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCSG
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2014

Good for the price

We spent 1 week at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. This is my fourth time to the DR and first time to the CRB. Overall, the resort was a good value for our money, but we would not return to this hotel. The beach was small but nice with plenty of shade. There are no other hotels in this location so walking on the beach wasn't as enjoyable as usual. The pools were also small but the grounds were well kept and the resort looked great. We found the food at this resort to be below the average all inclusive resorts we have been to. Also, the restaurants on the other side are not as good and I wouldn't recommend going on that side. We found the rooms to be spacious, but a bit dark. We also had a number of things broken in our room. Lastly, while the staff was friendly, service was often very very slow. Overall, good adults only resort for the price we paid, but wouldn't recommend this resort to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bentley15
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 16, 2014

Go for the Exclusive Swimming Pool Suite

My husband and I just returned from a week-long stay at this resort. We had a fabulous time. We spent the whole week in our own pool, which was the best part of this resort. If you can swing it, definitely stay in one of the Exclusive Swimming Pool Suites. The staff is fantastic, the resort is beautiful and the experience is for those looking for a quiet, relaxing trip. The food was ok -- but we do not travel for the food. Overall, a great resort. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikebom
Business
Marietta, ga
Jun 6, 2014

Amazing honeymoon

This was an incredible experience. The food was great, the service was outstanding, the property and amenities were perfect. It was well worth the money. Would go back again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai and Spanish restaurants were great.

Back to menu Return to top